214753 User submitted reviews online!!
Shoal Creek Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (770) 945-9541
CGID3528

Shoal Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   2   7   7   8   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$43
The park is in need of work. It appears that there has been little or no maintenance on the park since October 2013. We were here January 10. There is tree limbs on sites and roadways, fire pits are full of debris, trash, cans, ashes, many sites still have paper tags from Oct 27 checkout still hanging. This could be a great campground, but someone needs to start doing some work around here. We used passport and paid $43 for first nite and got second nite free - so for $22 it was not a bad deal and the lake front sites are awesome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We camped on the first loop to the right in the open lakefront lots. Our stay was good. The only thing we didn't enjoy about the campsites was the deteriorating camper pad and site layout. When you step out of the camper, within 4 feet of your door, the asphalt pad has a steep drop off. The picnic table area is down a few steps on a small concrete pad. There is not much level space to the sites so, watch your step. It was not small kid (toddler) friendly at all. We had a great view of the lake and the local area boat ramp, but along with the view comes the noise created by the weekend boaters. We were close to the entrance gate and after the gate security is gone, there is still lots of traffic in and out of the gate's exit side. We will probably camp here again, but only due to it being one of the campgrounds that opens early in the year and stays open long after labor day. These are older camp sites that have not been maintained or updated. The price is somewhat steep for the quality and lack of maintenance. We found the dumpstation backed up, overflowing, and not wanting to drain. Some of the regulars leaving the campground stopped to check on the dump station and said this was a normal condition for this campground. This was our first stay here so only another visit will tell more. Obviously, we expected a little more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
This campground is run by Lake Lanier Resorts and is slowly being allowed to "run down" by the resort management. The security is very bad. Gates are left unlocked and day trippers come in for free and use bathrooms and campsites for free. Night time security had to be called twice and over an hour later they showed up. During the week the campground can be nice, but PARTY boats show up on weekends, beach, and party's use the bathrooms, trash the sites and leave. The bathrooms were built in the 1950's and reflect their age. Beautiful sites, BUT NOT SAFE WITH CHILDREN. Too many outsiders/non-camper's use this facility. Observed out of control drinking and open drug use...all were reported with no proper resolution. Poor security. Camp office only open 10:30-3 pm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$39
Stayed here for four nights and mostly enjoyed it. Sites are nicely wooded and ours (103) was long and very wide, although the pad was a bit narrow. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bath house fixtures need repair and were dirty when we arrived, but the staff cleaned when we asked about it. This seems to be a hangout for local night-time partiers, but they were mostly on the other side of the park and it wasn't too noisy where we were. There is a problem with locals running their dogs off-leash, which made for some tense moments between one of our dogs and a pit bull. A night-time staff presence and enforcement of a few rules would help make this a first-rate park. Generally though, problems were fairly minor and this was a good place for this area. We'd probably stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$21
Nice place, a little far to the picnic areas other then that it is Beautiful. Bathrooms were a little dirty when we were there, however that could have been a bad time. For the most part it was very nice, we would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$42
The campground is now managed by Lake Lanier Island Resort. We had site #9 that was level and long enough for our 37' MH plus dolly. There were several more back-in sites that would be long enough. Bathrooms could use improvement but were clean. Camp staff was very helpful and friendly. While the campground does not have full hookups, they do have honey wagon service for a fee. Campground does accept Passport America for 2 nights. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Shoal Creek Campground has been closed for a while and has just reopened this weekend (Memorial Day 2009). I made reservations through Lake Lanier Islands, which I understand now owns and operates this campground. It is a beautiful campground, very woodsy and directly on Lake Lanier. Be aware that the lots are small and narrow. I had a difficult time getting a site to fit my 30' motorhome with three slides, but the camp hosts are very accommodating and we enjoyed a very nice weekend here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This is a nice park in a nice area. It's main attraction is waterfront sites, views and watersports, access to the lake and lake beach etc. It's a public campground. It also has pretty easy access to the interstate. It is important to note that while I didn't stay here, I do live in the area. This camp has some great sites and some sites I wouldn't stay at. I hope I'm not letting the cat out of the bag but here goes. Sites 1-19 are great. Can't go wrong with sites numbered in the low to mid 40's. And Sites in the low 60's are right on this quiet little cove on the west side of the campground. Looks well maintained and it's not difficult to find maintenance personnel out and about. There is a train track somewhat close by but the train only comes by once or twice a night and would only potentially be a disturbance for tent campers or those in fabric structures. There is a hiking trail great for dogs. Lots of nice beaches with a sand-like soil. Be careful what trees you park under if right on the water as some of them look like they're hanging by a thread and have half or more of their root systems eroded away. Its too bad this campground is not open year round. The access on the sites I mentioned have easy access to the water and the lake is calm and suitable for small watercraft such as kayak, conoe and so on. If you get tired of that, you're close to everything in this camprground. Every restaurant chain you can think of and a very nice mall are not that far away. Don't stay out too late so you don't get locked out. Like the previous reviewer said it looks like big rigs would be a challenge. Possible, particularly the lower numbered sites but challenging due to narrow winding roads. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
Ok for the price; needs to be updated. The CG was clean, just getting old. This place relly isnt for big rigs, we had 39.2 ft motorhome and it was tight. We had one site but had to move to another because it was to small for us. On Reserve USA it said drive way was 60 feet but it was on the side of a cliff. The camp hosts moved us to site 103 and I was able to fit fine and open all 3 slides. Had to go out of the park and come back in to turn around. I would go back again. It was peaceful but we did hear a train horn far off. The camp host are very helpful and friendly. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com