223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Leisure Lake Membership Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (815) 741-9405
CGID3534

Leisure Lake Membership Resort

Camp Information
Sites
233
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   7   9   8   8   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
The only reason I give them a 6 is because the property is gated. The female staff member was very helpful but the manager/owner was unfriendly. Our site had a concrete pad too small for our 40. In order to get my jacks on the concrete, I had to use leveling pads under my tag axle. Our site had a bit of litter left on the site. After a heavy rain, the gravel road was a mess. Their are a lot of long term units and some were in very bad shape. We will NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
We enjoyed our stay for almost a month. Gated grounds and easy access once inside. Most roads are gravel/base and good, but mixed with fine dust. It gets on and in everything, but for few days after a rain, no dust. Sites are mostly level and gravel with shade and grass. Water, power, sewer, and Wi-Fi were up to specs and convenient. Always several staff busy with upkeep and they were constructing 40+ new sites. Friendly neighbors and plenty of entertainment for kids. Staff was friendly, accommodating and kept the grounds tidy. It is on our return list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
We find it hard to call this campground a resort. Campground did not have our reservation when we arrived. However, the staff was friendly and did provide us a campsite. This style of bookkeeping concerns us, as if it was a holiday week we wouldn’t have been provided a campsite. The campground is very close to 2 major freeways, which procedure a lot noise inside the park. Many campers were long term, and these RVs appeared rough and presented a negative look on the park. Arrived at our site which needed much cleaning. The fire pit AND the site were full of trash. Campsites are close together. Many of the buildings need much TLC, including the bathrooms. DirecTV (free standing satellite) had no issue getting a signal. Verizon phone was able to get 4G. Wi-Fi was weak and not reliable. Campground is one hour from Chicago. Grocery stores and dining are about 15 minutes from campground. Campground includes mini golf course, lake, clubhouse and beach lake. Roads were wide and provide easy access into your site. Many sites include full trees, so if you have a roof top satellite, inform the office during checkup or when making reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Our site was level, good hookups. WiFi was fair. Good Verizon cell and broadband. Sites are narrow. Most of the park full of seasonal guests. Many are well-kept. Others full of junk, despite innumerable rules. I-55 highway noise pretty bad. May be best option near Chicago, but not a great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Had a great stay. Went into Chicago for a few days and manager was very helpful on how to take the train into city so we did not have to drive. Beautiful park that is well maintained. WiFi worked good. If in area will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
Good clean campground as close to Chicago as you can get. Must be a GS member or purchase membership to stay here. They prefer you to call a few days beforehand but accept drive ins if they have room. Wifi worked well. Dust wasn't an issue as it rained several times during our stay. Rates are $36/day, $217/week, $750/month (no metered elec). Both Verizon and ATT had strong signals. I've visited this CG several times and they continue to make small improvements. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Rate reflects Good Sam discount for a 30-amp, W/E/S back-in site. We did not have a problem with dust during our 2 day stay. The campground staff were more than helpful at check-in and after. When I had a problem with the electrical hook-up, they promptly came to my rescue and repaired MY PROBLEM without any hassle. Thanks! Good level sites, fair over-the-air television, and very good Wi-Fi reception. While we did not use the showers or restrooms, they appeared adequate. Unlike a previous review, we had great water pressure and found the directions right on. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We've visited 60 different campgrounds across the US and Canada this past year. I hereby declare Leisure Lake as the dustiest campground in America! Unless it has recently rained, the dust off the gravel roads is horrible. But other than that, and low water pressure, this is an okay CG given its close proximity to Chicago. I agree with recent reviewers on their comments. Weekly rate is $217 for a 50 Amp site. We'll return since there are very few options in suburban Chicago. Be polite to the staff and they will be civil to you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is a nice RV Park, with full hookups. The streets and sites are gravel and it was very dusty. We were on the main drive way with a nice view of the lake, but you couldn't sit outside for the dust. They need a water truck on the main road that goes through the park. They no longer take Passport America, but they do take Good Sam. And they do take reservations. No cable but we were able to get satellite. Lots of trees. The rating would have been higher was it not for the dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
The manager is not friendly. The pool is open until 8 pm. He said get out at 7:50. He said Get OUT, instead of being nice about it. The roads are dirt and very dusty. Otherwise, it is a very nice campground. The pool is large and warm. The pond was nice for the little ones. We would stay there again in our motorhome. Also, the directions to the park are not clear, the signs are small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This is a membership only park. You can get a site with a Good Sam's membership. Big open areas for activities including a nice lake and wide open fields for your pets. Pull throughs are narrow with not a lot of room between sites. The management team do make you feel a little less than welcome because of their "regulars" who stay there. Not very friendly and I probably will book another campground next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$26
For the Chicago area, there aren't many RV park options. But Leisure Lake is a fine park as long as you are a Passport America/Escapees/Good Sam member (required). They don't take reservations, but you can call and verify if they have openings. I saw a lot of grumbling in other reviews about the staff, but I had no issues. Just follow the rules and enjoy your stay. Can be noisy if your site is close to the Interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
After reading the reviews, we were a little concerned about staying here due to the "rude" person who works there. We thought he had left since the comments had improved. He is still there and apparently he is in charge of the place. There is a gate that requires a key card. We had to ring the buzzer before we checked in. He approached us and before we could even say anything he said "I SHOULD HAVE LET YOU SIT THERE ANOTHER 10 MINUTES!" Nice, don't you think? The place itself is nice except for the handwritten signs that are in a few places. You are required to either pay a $5 deposit for the key card or leave your membership card with them. The highway noise is quite loud and I didn't think the dust would bother me, but it really is dusty there. Be careful when doing laundry as the iron level is high in the water. We stayed here for a month. We probably should have paid for a day or two to make sure we liked it before paying for the entire month upfront. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We stayed here because it was the closest park that we could find to Chicago. It is also a Passport America park so a lot of days are half price. There is a Good Sam discount on the other days. It's by two freeways so a sound machine is good for sleeping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Positive experience. I was quite worried going into the office after all the horror stories on this site but was pleasantly surprised when a nice, friendly lady helped me out. Nice, really clean pool and my daughter loved the "beach-pond". Good, free Wi-Fi. Quite dusty. Many permanents, but well kept. Price reflects a Passport America discount. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very nice park with a lot of amenities. There are full time residents here, but everyone is very nice, and spots are kept very clean. They even had a magic show on Saturday night. Will stay here whenever we're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
The main complaint with this CG is that they do not have Cable. With 233 sites, and this close to Chicago, cable would be an asset. The dust was pretty bad but it is a CG, s that is to be expected. They use your membership card (Good Sam, Etc) as collateral for a gate card, so make sure you have a current one with you. Overall, we would stay here again if we come back to Chi-Town, cable would be great tho. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Membership Only Campground. Call if you are a member of any type of RV Club: (Passport America, Good Sam, Escapees, FMCA, AARP), etc., as they accept several clubs. This is a secure gated community that offers several activities (pool, lake, min golf, tennis, etc). The park is well maintained with a great staff. Grocery stores nearby on Rte 59. Nice park except for the dust, caused by the roads in the park. The only other negative was the poor quality Wi-Fi (Clear wireless), which had download speeds choked below 400k, upload speeds were above 800k. This is the first time I have seen this scenario. May stay here when in the Chicago area. We camped here for 3+ weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Park has great access to CG and Chicago in general. Pull through, big rig (friendly) and has a great view of a lake. Anytime again, when in the Chicago area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Membership Only Campground - However do call if you are a member of any type of RV Club, (Good Sam, Escapees), etc., as they accept several clubs. This is a secure gated community that offers several activities (pool, lake, tennis, etc). The park is well maintained with a great staff. Grocery stores nearby. A lovely park and will definitely stay here when in the Chicago area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Nice facility geared toward annual membership. Good Sam and Passport America membership is accepted. They do not take reservations, but you should call ahead for space availability. Only negatives are interstate traffic noise and tall trees that blocked our dome satellite. Don't follow GPS directions, use the directions on their website. Plenty of space for our 45 foot RV with toad attached. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Rated quoted is pa. Good Verizon voice. Good air TV. Some noise from freeways, but not too bad (at least with windows closed). Lake on property. Level gravel sites. Good free wifi at sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
Nice campground.staff very friendly and grounds well maintained. Five minutes to train to go to Chicago. Close to stores and directions to go places were easily given at registration office. Wi-Fi worked great. will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Rating may be skewed because it was a holiday weekend, so we did not get the Passport America rate (which was not mentioned when we made reservation). This park was crowded and noisy. Our biggest complaint has to do with making reservations for sites that have an easy line of sight for a satellite dish on roof, and get to the site to find a big ole tree there. Being a holiday weekend all sites are booked. We also feel it should be a rule that someone working in the office should at least have walked or driven through the park. Before we paid we asked about the dish and was told it was ok. Doubt we will ever stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We did not stay at Leisure Lakes Resort. We called three weeks prior to our visit and were told they did not take reservations but we'd get a site as long as we were a club member. When we got there, after driving six hours, I entered the office to register. He took my Good Sam card and began to charge me for a site. I asked if we might be able to look through the campground first before paying. He tossed the Good Sam card back at me, told me to make a U-turn and leave. We left.- Floored by his nastiness! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Not only would I not return, we didn't stay. I should have gone with my gut from the moment I tried to book a spot back in March. The staff made it apparent at the time that we were an inconvenience for even wanting to stay at the park. Instead we drove from DC at 5 in the morning to Joliet to get to the park by 7 PM. We arrived at 6:55 and the man was not happy to see us. When I went inside to pay, the lady (who I only assume was nice because I didn't deal with her for very long) told the General Manager that a site had decided to extend their stay and his words were "figures". Not exactly encouraging from a customer to hear that another customer is not wanted. When I didn't have my Good Sam card on me he said that he shouldn't let me stay (after being gruff with some young patrons who just wanted to buy snacks), I offered to leave and he told me to go ahead. This park is not worth the headache. I can not imagine any camper feeling welcome here at all. Either they need new management or the park needs to close, because the attitude of the general manager does not welcome customers. We ended up staying at the Hollywood Casino nearby and although they don't have on site sewer they were very kind and had many people move over from leisure lakes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Don't know what happened to some former reviewer. Our GPS led us to the resort (I-55N Exit 251, left over interstate, next left, go 1.5 miles) and we got a friendly welcome from the staff in the office. Our rate is the Passport America. Nice resort with a fishing lake. Separate lake for swimming with beach and a realy big pool too. Restrooms looked freshly painted and very clean. Laundry facilities new and clean. Sites with full hookup. Wi-Fi (included in rate) worked well. Not so good: roads and sites are gravel with a lot of dust inside which means you will stay in a dust cloud if a car or golf cart pass by. They have 3 site areas. We got a site in 'Deer Trail'. These sites are pretty close together, no picnic table and a lot of noise from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
I called this park to book before I left in the next town over. They said "The campground is for members only, no outside bookings". They must have changed over since last review. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
One of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. closest park to Chicago area. Hard to find with GPS but called for directions and got there with no problem. Park is clean and well kept. Manager very nice but always busy. Would absolutely stay her again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Nice looking park with some trees and a small lake. Stayed here in the rain for two nights, the ground was very soft. 38' fifth wheel, pull thru 50 amp full hookups, gravel and level pads and roads. Drove to a nearby (15 miles?) train station to park and head into Chicago. Train was $7 per person for the entire weekend, make sure you check the train schedule since some do not run on the weekend. Employee was helpful and around when needed. It is a little tricky to find with GPS, make sure you call for easy directions. Yes there is some highway noise, but its next to the highway. The gates close at 7pm SHARP so there is NO late arrivals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
When my GPS couldn't find it, I should have taken this as a sign and gone someplace else. There is heavy road construction going on with the Frontage Road that the Park is located on so the GPS doesn't know where to go. We are traveling in a 39 footer towing a car so not knowing where to go became very traumatic at times. I can't blame the Park for this, but I can blame them for what happen next. They put us in a 50 amp site but we couldn't get any Dish reception. Next they put us in a 30 amp site that had low voltage. I lived through 2 stressful days of constantly watching the meter. For a very brief time I could run an A/C, but nothing else. One time I had nothing plugged in but the frig and coffee pot. I had to switch the frig to gas so I could continue brewing my coffee. When I wanted to heat the hot water for a shower I had to heat it with gas. Here I am paying for 30 amp electric but couldn't use it for A/C, frig, hot water or much of anything else. Hadn't seen all the sights so I was going to stay a 3rd day but decided I couldn't handle the stress of possibly ruining my A/C. Give this Park some time to recover from the construction work and update their electrical systems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Very nice park. Big, with lots of stuff to do. A bit of freeway noise, especially at night. Nice amenities. We paid $39 with our 15% Escapees discount. Rated it 7 because of freeway noise and traffic in the park in front of our rig. Lots of dust. Great view of the lake, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
6 words: Traffic noise; Dirty restrooms and showers! That's just the begining. There are a lot of permanent / member campers here. Quite a few of them are not well kept, along with their sites. Also, although the owner is a Good Sam Club member, he decided to not accept the Good Sam Club member discount because there was a NASCAR Race in town. What a Gouging! I wouldn't minded paying full price so much if the park wasn't so bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This is a membership park. Must be a member of Passport or Good Sam to stay here. They may accept other membership clubs, but if not PA or GS, call first to verify. Price is based on PA or Good Sam discounts with the base being $50. Park is constantly being improved. Two years ago our site was water & electric, this year it is full hookup. Next year the laundry will be better. There is a book exchange in the workout room next door to the laundry, but the selection was small (ask for enter code to workout room at the office). WiFi is available at the office, but not at each site. The 'pool' has a natural beach. Our site was on the highway side and traffic noise was evident, but not intrusive. We have stayed in this park twice and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Beware!! When we got here, I was blown away! From what you read and see online, this looks like a nice park. NO WAY! It looks like it was stuck in the 70's. Park needs repairs and updating real bad. I attempted to make camp, the kid in the office told me what sites I could not reach water with two 25-foot hoses. Too many seasonal campers and run down sites. Has old fences falling down, lawnmowers and junk in and around the campers. After we couldn't hook up to water I had enough. I got my money back and we got out of Dodge. Went to the Empress Casino close by. Compared to this place the Empress was the Four Seasons. I won't be going back anytime soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Rate of $26 reflects the Passport American discount. We stayed here 3 days before the holiday and decided to extend our stay over the July 4 weekend holidays, no discount ($50). Well worth the cost. We've travelled over 7,000 miles so far and this is the nicest, most relaxing park we've stayed in yet. Lovely view of the lake, free paddle boats, fishing allowed (w/license), exercise room, swimming beach w/huge fountain in the middle to cool you off, swimming pool also. Miniature golf, volleyball nets, plenty to do, or just hang out. Only negative would be the somewhat dusty internal roads but it's doable. You will hear adjacent highway noise but we blocked out the sound, I guess, because it hasn't bothered us (hence, the 9 rating). Spaces are long and ample width for our 35ft w/3 slides. Laundry room a bit disappointing as it only had 3 washers and 2 dryers. No book exchange. Call for directions, our GPS would never have found it because of road construction/detours. We got a bit anxious when driving here when we saw the sign that said "no outlet." Don't worry, the park is at the end of the road. Gated and secure so you will get a card to enter. Employees very friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the local RV washer called 'Details' listed in the Leisure Lake brochure. He came to our site and did an awesome job washing and waxing our RV. (Highly recommend him.) We would definitely stay here again if we were travelling this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Rate without Good Sam discount. It was $50, way too much for this place but not a lot to choose from in the area. We called for a reservation and were told they don't take them. Arrived and were offered 30 amp w/sewer or 50 amp/no sewer. Despite what they told us, WiFi did not work at our site and we had to drive to the main building for a connection. No cable TV but we did use our antenna. There was trash on our site when we arrived. Could be a lovely place if a few upgrades are done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
A lot of construction leading to the campground. Call for directions; DON'T use GPS. Very nice campground - interior roads can use some work (potholes). The site we were on was sloped very badly toward the front, and we had trouble leveling. Had to lift front of rig higher than we would have liked to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
If using your GPs, use Shorewood, Illinois for the town and this CG appears. There is a huge road construction project going on at the main road near this park, so it's a challenging drive. There is a card-entry gate and the host kept my PPA card until we returned the entry gate card; a bit irritating. This is a true campground with lots of amenities, but no cable TV, no WiFi at the sites, and the facilities are not convenient to your site. Need to drive to them. Our site was so near to the two freeways that noise was a real problem. Perhaps another site would be quieter. We'd probably not stay here again; but it is a pretty park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This campground has a nice, friendly staff. The beach is a little dirty, but it is nice for the children to play in the sand. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This private membership campground does accept Passport America and Camp Club USA members. Roads are gravel and somewhat narrow. Sites are gravel and grass, and long enough for most rigs. No cable, and I could not get network stations with the antenna. My site was satellite-friendly. Wifi only available in the office and worked fine. Campground is next to the intersection of two interstates so noise can be a problem. Our site was in an area furthest from the highways so it wasn't too bad. Many amenities which we could have used as guests. This is a large park so getting around could be an issue if you can't walk or don't want to use a vehicle. Many regulars have golf carts. Directions to the park were good and important, as there is a lot of road work going on in the area. Rate was based on a combination weekly/daily rate as we were there more than a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Large park with lake to fish or swim in. Large sites with lots of trees. We only stayed one night, but would stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Campground is built around the lake created from a dirt borrow pit when they built I80 and I55 interchanges. There was some truck noise from the interstate but was not excessive. This is primarily a membership park but does take guests. We were there for 3 weeks, it was the closest rv park to friends we were visiting in the Chicago area. Manager is very helpfull and is a hands on working manager, putting in long days, most every day. Wifi is available in the office for a fee as is fishing in the lake. Other amenities are included with site, pool and sand beach swim lake, basketball, mini golf. Ice and some rv items available in the office. We will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Park just opening for season and still a little rough, but nice. The manager was very helpful. We got caught in a detour due to a large accident on the freeway and delayed several hours. He patiently waited 3 hours past his office closing time to assist us when we got in. Didn't stay in the park much, went into Chicago and saw a Cubs game and the city. Facilities were dated but very clean. Had a pull through site with full hookups, glad I purchased extra hose and electric cord, as these were a little distance from sight and shared. Overall a great experience with the manager's help. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Very large park with nice grassy and treed sites. Large pool, swimming lake and fishing lake, complete with Canadian goose and what they leave behind. 30 amp only, and the FHU sites seemed to be used by seasonal and member camping only. Restrooms, showers and buildings in deplorable condition. Laundry room is terrible with 10-15 year old washers and dryers that showed their use. Had a sign posted that said iron in water will turn your whites yellow. We went into town for laundry and would not use restrooms or showers. This could be a very nice park with some upgrades to above. Located next to a cloverleaf of two major highways making it very noisy 24 hours a day. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We stayed here for a month. The beach is nice, but it should have its water drained every once in awhile. The pool was freezing. The website says it has a heated pool but I do not believe it is working. The pond is located in the middle of the park and includes lots of fish. Very pleasant place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$14
A very well kept campground with many thinks to do for the whole family, including a large stocked fishing lake. My gravel pad was a little out of level and pushed my MH to its limits to level. I was not able to get a full hookups site because adjoining pads share the same electrical and water posts. I needed a long 30 amp extension cord to get a sight that had sewage. They could not provide an extension. Finally, the latest Garmin GPS could not find the place because of street changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This is a Passport America resort. You need to follow the directions in the PA directory to get here as it is difficult to find, but worth it. Our campsite had a concrete pad, full hook-ups, 50 amp and partial shade. Resort is clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$8
We had a blood-pressure raising experience just trying to get into this park. Getting to the park requires careful navigation. When we arrived at the front gate, we pressed the intercom button to ask for admittance, but there was a malfunction and we received a busy-signal type sound. When I used my cell phone to call the office to ask for admittance, the manager answered the phone and was very rude. He agreed to open the gate, but did not. When I called back, he yelled at me to use the intercom and then hung up on me. We were rescued by a very nice young woman from the office who walked out and opened the gate. She was so pleasant we chose to overlook the manager's behavior. The park is located at the intersection of two interstate highways which makes it extremely noisy if you are parked on the periphery. It does have nice facilities and is reasonably close to a Camping World and Chicago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
Sites are grass and gravel with a cement pad for the RV and picnic table. Well over half the spaces had unoccupied RVs on them. Almost all of those were well-maintained. They were big sites, although getting in to some of them with a 40-footer without driving on the grass was difficult. Park is well maintained. 214 sites; 101 have water/electric (30 amp) only. Most of those 101 sites with no sewer appeared to be seasonals. Two playgrounds for kids. Bathrooms and showers were clean and private. Clearly, March is the off-season. We were there during some heavy rains, and the grass parts of the sites were somewhat muddy. The staff appeared to be preparing the park for the busy season. It's across the road from a freeway and when the wind is right there is a lot of traffic noise, especially on the "Homestead" side of the park. We would happily stay there again, especially since the guy at the desk said we could use two 30-amp connections. With our cheater box, we could run both heat pumps as well as other appliances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
This was the first stop on our trip West. It was a Passport America Campground and a very nice park. The grounds appeared to be well kept. We were given a site with no sewer but it was a level cement pad. The washrooms and showers were clean but dated. The campground has a fairly large clubhouse which was being used on this day for a wedding. There are two bodies of water. One is a small lake for fishing etc and the other is a swimming pond. The park also has a swimming pool. Some seasonal sites as well. We would return to this park even for a few days to check out the area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
I would like to make you aware of a horrible experience I had at Leisure Lake. This past Saturday I went to Leisure Lake in Joliet, Illinois to spend the night for some tent camping. When I showed up with my guests, I informed the gentleman at the front desk that we were planning on spending the day there and wanted to pay for one night of camping plus the additional fees for my additional guests. I had called the day before and was told that it would be $20 per night with 4 free guests and $4 for each additional guest. My party included a total of 4 adults with 5 children. Well as soon as the man at the front desk saw us he said that he shouldn't be letting us in, we had too many cars (3) and the park was for members only and not to be used for spending a day at the campground. I informed him that I had called the day before to make sure it would be okay and was told that it would be okay, at that he slams my passport of America card on the desk and yells at me and my guests to get the hell out of there. He says that I had spoken to him the day before and he never told me that it was okay to spend the day at his campground, he said that I could only camp there if I had a trailer and no other way. I told him that we had tents and would be camping in tents but he refused to listen to me and threatened to call the police if we didn't leave. He was not aware that one of my guests was a Cook County Sheriff and witnessed the entire event. Not wanting to make a scene my guests and I left the campground very disappointed. I do not know what bothered this man that made him throw us out. About a month earlier my family and I went to Leisure Lake and purchased the Passport Of America there and spent the weekend there. We were so impressed with the campground that we thought it would be okay to take some friends so they can see and enjoy their facilities. My one guest, the Cook County Sheriff, is in the process of purchasing a travel trailer and was anxious to see their facilities but was disappointed with how we were treated. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$18
This is our 2nd visit to this membership park, (Coast to Coast) and we really enjoy it. The first time through was in early spring and while the park is open year round some of the sites and bathrooms didn't have water. But it was quiet! This last time, was great. Wide sites, plenty of grass and shade. A great little pond to fish in and seasonal activities. It was a great place to unwind for a few days. I'm not sure about price. As a Coast-to-Coast member it was $8 a day and we could extend beyond the 7 day max. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com