220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Tanbark Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (615) 441-1613
CGID3535

Tanbark Campground

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   1   7   8   2   7   7   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
Older park, definitely built for 8' rigs before slide outs. Tightest we've been in quite some time. Sites quite unlevel, water pressure about 40 psi, and only two 50 amp sites (and in one site the cord is laying across the site from the junction box). Sewage all the way to the rear of the sites. Counted at least three couples who are allowed to let their dogs throughout the park off leash. Not a good experience, can't imagine trying to get in here after dark. Rate is with a Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Great park. Arrived late in the fog and owner let me check in the next morning. Wide pull-thorough and easy hookups. Easy access from interstate 40, short drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
We originally paid for 7 nights, but left after 4. The spaces were so tight we couldn't even open our awning. Lots of shade and it was a pretty quiet park considering we were only a mile from I-40. We had a very difficult time getting OUT of the park because of the way they have angled their roads and the position of the trees. Took us 3 tries to get around 1 corner because it was so tight. They say they have Wi-Fi, but it didn't really work the first 2 days we were there. It finally started working on day 3 and 4, but only sporadically. I usually drove a mile down the road to a McDonalds to get the Internet. I was able to use my cellphone inside the park and we did manage to get a satellite TV signal. Didn't use bathrooms or laundry so can't comment on that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
We pulled in and got the last space. They were a little tight. It was, however, a nice, quiet park with easy on and off Interstate 40. The reason for rating a 7 was the restrooms and shower area needed to be cleaned a little better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
This is great park if you are looking for a quiet place to relax or get off the road for the night. Their best attribute is peace and quiet and ease of use. Very easy to get to off of I-40, and we felt secure in the park. There are some permanent residents that are very nice and helpful. Did not see anything unkempt or shoddy looking. We will definitely stay here whenever we're in the area. Don't miss the Loveless Cafe and the Freshwater Pearl museum in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
We called a day ahead to reserve a site. When we arrived, they no longer had the promised site. Instead, we were given a much shorter and very narrow site. A car parked along the gravel road made it very difficult to enter the site To leave our neighbor had to move her toad. The very slow WiFi did not work until later in the night. The sewer connection may have been under some boards we never bothered to check on. The owners? stinking of smoke, apologized and discounted the Passport America 50 amp rate to a 30 amp rate. MacGyver is alive and well and living in this campground. Old trailers are partially covered by roofs, residential AC units are stuck through the sides of trailers, and trailers are nailed into parts of a small house.. One truck camper even has a satellite dome sticking on a pole above it. No recycling is offered. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$13
Good overnight park, power was good. Price reflects Passport America. Site was paved but our 36' RV and towed filled the complete pull through. They say call before hand if you were any longer but most sites were the same length as the one we were given. A lot of permanents there but the park was clean and maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$13
Nice park for an overnighter. Just off I-40. Up a gravel road. Nearly level asphalt pads. Nice, friendly staff. Full hookups. Didn't try the Internet or other amenities. Just stopped for the night. Looks to be a combination mobile home park; campground for seasonal or permanent residents and sites for travelers. Big dog walk but not fenced. We'd definitely stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$13
Passport America rate. Easy exit off highway I-40 heading west from Nashville. We stayed here one night. Quiet campground, asphalt pad site, pull through, very nice staff. The park is not something that you would want to stay a week at, overnight is good. Small, some permanent residents. We would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$13
We paid the Passport America rate for our site at this distinctly no-frills campground. The park has easy access from Interstate 40. The office staff was pleasant. The campground has gravel roads. Four blacktopped, 30 amp pull-through sites and a few additional 50-amp pull-through sites were readily available. Most of the other sites appeared to be occupied on a seasonal basis. The bathroom facilities were hard-used but clean. The free Wi-Fi was so slow one simply quit trying to use it. Overall, this is a decent over-nite stop at a bargain-basement price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
Rate quoted is Passport America, and the campground was about what we expected. The sites were not level and the road into the park was gravel. But we just wanted a place for the night and we were back on the road early the next morning. The staff was friendly but we only saw her for 5 minutes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
Used Magellan to get here as it is off the main drag (no highway noise). There is a large truck stop is across the interstate for fuel/food etc. The park is old, but, we had nice view of pasture when the frost came in overnight. The shower and restroom facility is old like the rest of the park, but, clean. This stop fit our day perfectly and managers were very nice. Got Good Sam rate. OH! Ask about which way to go when pulling out. I didn't hit anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
This campground is adequate for an overnight stay while on the road, or as a home away from home if you're a construction worker. It is not a destination campground for someone looking for a nice getaway or vacation spot. The sites are very close together. It claims to be big rig friendly, but we barely had room to put the slides out, could not put the awning out, and I had to take my bike rack off the back because some part of the camper would be out in the road otherwise. There were a lot of permanent campers and some weren't what I would call well kept. The staff was friendly. Again, as an overnight it is okay. If you are in a large motorhome or fifth wheel, be cautious pulling in and out, as the roads are pretty tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
We just stayed here for a night but it was ample. Not sure about longer stays but it serves the purpose for a short stay. Rate reflects Passport America rate. Good voltage and water pressure and level site. We didn't even unhook, just put the jacks down. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$23
Everything is too close. Roads are narrow and trees need to be trimmed. Permanent residents are allowed to encroach on roadways with knickknacks and pattywacks. This makes for hard navigation though park . Also, if you have pets and need to walk them; the park if wet is muddy. The road in is very rough with pot holes. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2010
$12
About the only good things you can say about this campground is that it's right on the Interstate (without the noise) and at $12.50 for full hookups for Passport America members, it sure beats a Walmart parking lot. Oh, and the host is very friendly. It's small, the sites are tight, the WiFi is slow and the guy who takes the phone reservation doesn't tell the host. But we had no major problems getting in and out and leveling our RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
We went here because it is PPA, but would not consider it again. Mostly old campers with permanent residents. A few pull thru's, but none of the sites were anywhere near level and maxed out your leveling system can't level your rig. Little, or no maintenance has been done to this place. The residents here like to stay up late. They, also, drive noisy muffler vehicles late, and early. Big rigs can come here but not easily and maneuvering is difficult at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
This is a tired, poorly run campground with mostly homesteaders. We confirmed our arrival with the owner two weeks before our arrival and when we pulled in, we were a complete surprise to the host. Not cool. Sites are very, very tight and not level . The facilities are ancient but they appeared to be clean. While close to the highway we were not bothered by highway noise but one is about 8 miles from any fast food/restaurant/grocery store. The best thing about this CG is the very pleasant and helpful host and of course a nice PPA price for a FHU. Unhappily, all of the above considered, we would not plan on staying here again except in an absolute emergency and even then because of their sloppy reservation system you might not find an available space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
The campground is clean and the people are very friendly and helpful. The internet is poor. We are PPA and this is a good campground for sightseeing or commuting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$13
As noted this is a small park with limited amenities. That said, this was a great park to spend a few days and relax. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we were guided to our site. The sites are a little close but we had sufficient room to maneuver our rig with our toad. The PA rate was for full hook-up and a WiFi that worked fine. This park had more of what we are looking for in an overnight park than most. I would not hesitate to stay in this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$13
Small, but very nice park. My rate was for Passport America member. Sites are clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
For an over night stay this place is fine. It is very close to the interstate. Washrooms are clean but old with lots of hot water. The manager/owner is friendly. WiFi free and good. Site for pull through are paved but narrow and uneven. Take the time to level your rig as we did not and suffered for it. You will need about 3 inches or more of rise to level the site. For the price and convenience I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$13
Nice campground for an overnight stay, quiet. Some pull thrus are paved and some are gravel. Manger was quite helpful and polite. Would stay here again no problem. People who complain aren't thinking about the value for their dollar, so don't be fooled. If you want a pool and all the annemeties then go to the nearest KOA or expensive park. This is a great value for $13 and beats being a boonmoocher at Walmart! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
We were traveling through and found the campground great for overnight. The campground is close to the interstate, which we wanted. The access road was rocks, but it was short. As we drove up, the office was already closed, but a gentleman, who lives on premise came up and told us to pick out any site available (all had full connections), and he accepted our club discount. Yes, there are others that must stay long-term and their campers aren't modern, but that didn't affect our stay. We chose a pull through site, plenty of room for us and enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
We disconnected the Jeep and drove in. The access road is 1/4 mile gravel; dust. The interior roads and pads are gravel. (Dust!) Sites are extremely narrow and not level. Very old, permanent homesteader type campers occupying most of the sites. Would not want to stay in this park and cannot recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2004
$18
We didn't actually end up staying here. We spoke with the owners before our arrival, found them pleasant and made reservations for a week's stay. It is supposedly big rig friendly. You may actually be able to get into these tight sites but be prepared to set your chairs out on your neighbors sewer hose. We decided that we didn't want to spent the week cramped up and started to leave. The owner came out and insisted the sites were big enough. On our way out, the turn around was so narrow we scrapped along the trees. Wouldn't recommend this park to any buggy over 32 feet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com