223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Florence Marina State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (229) 838-6870
CGID3539

Florence Marina State Park

Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   2   8   10   8   9   3   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
Sites were big and partially shaded. Level, gravel, fire ring and grill. Bath houses were clean and well stocked. The DNR Ranger is very friendly and drove through the campground several times each day. The civilian staff were friendly and were willing to help, if needed. The camp host took us on a boat ride to see wildlife and went above and beyond to help our friends try to fix some plumbing issues. Breaker went bad and they fixed it within 20 minutes, of course it was during the day. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone. Nice center with info on the area. Live "gator" in a tank to look at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
Nice park, well kept, lots of amenities for a state park-cable tv, full hookup. Waterfront sites would make it a 9- 10. We chose a Very large pull thru site on end. Easy access in and out for our 45' motorhome. Poor AT&T service. Go see Providence Canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
This park is absolutely awesome. It's quiet, has plenty of shade and probably the nicest bathhouse I seen at a state park. Sites are spacious, and all sites have sewer hookup, and cable, not all sites have 50 amp but some do. All sites are well marked and easily to tell where the boundaries of the sites are. We are in site 22 it has a concrete pad, others are grass and gravel no one seem to have an issue leveling. A drawback for some, not us, is that it is in a remote location. The closest town for supplies is about 20-25 miles away; fuel/gas could be found a little closer but wouldn't depend on it. Ranger said in the summer months they stay pretty full but this time of year it's very quiet. A visit to Michele's seafood is a must for a great seafood buffet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
I don't understand the positive remarks. This is the worst park we have stayed at. You can't tell where the campsite's are, to many leaves. At times very noisy. Have to travel by car to fish. campsites not maintained, trash, burn pits not cleaned out. would never stay here again... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$29
The guy who checked us in was a friendly guy who could have been in a movie...smooth fellow. He said we had selected the best park in Georgia for our stay and he was probably right. I have not stayed in many Georgia parks, but it was as good as any park I have been in. If they had WiFi and were closer to a store or restaurant, I would have rated them a 10. The cable TV was excellent. They have many pull-thru spaces and I had many to choose from. Providence Canyon is only about a 10 minute drive away. I highly recommend the trek. The marina that was part of the park looked really good, but I did not have my boat with me. Two guys came in near me who had a 30' travel trailer and a pontoon boat in tow behind it...never seen that much in tow before. They had plenty of room for both and the tow truck in their pull-thru camping space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
This is a beautiful campground in a lovely wooded area. The sites are large and well spaced. We camped here all summer because we were in the area on business. It is very well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It does not get much use and on most nights there were only a few campers in the campground. It is located on a large lake with a fishing pier and marina. There is also a nice playground and putt-putt golf. It is in a remote area and is very peaceful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This park overall was pretty nice. Great fishing, great photo ops! Staff and host were very friendly! The grass was excessively high! They began cutting the day we were leaving because July 4th was that week. They had a pool, but it was covered and locked up. Don't know why. You could not swim in the lake, because it had lots of alligators. Planning on staying in one of their cabins next year and bringing a bass boat though! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
What a beautiful park this is! We really enjoyed our stay here and loved walking around the picturesque woods and checking out the lake. No WiFi to speak of and AT&T internet and phone were useless. We had to use our Verizon internet and phone while here and those didn't work so well either. The cable is maybe 12 channels but you don't usually see cable at a state park anyways. They had just opened the renovated bathrooms while we were there and everything was clean and worked good. We would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
We camped during spring break and expected this park to be busy. However, the only sites left were "overflow" which consisted of a large grassy area with hook-ups scattered about. Several campers were almost touching. The fact that several real campsites had been reserved to only hold someone's boat trailer made this a little tough to handle. The host said he couldn't do anything about it, although that was clearly against Ga State Park Rules. We were very disappointed. It is a short drive to Providence Canyon so at least we saw that. Closest real store is over 20 miles, so take what you need. Bathrooms were dirty and in disrepair. The pool is closed and the tennis court has grass and moss growing on it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
A nice stop for a night over. But put me in mind of private concessionaires taking over and not really providing the needed upkeep. Some tables were the worse for the wear as was the restroom facilities. They were clean, but well used and showed it. Many pull through sites and very open. It put me in mind of a fish camp, where the guys go to fish all day, care about their catch, their boats and a good meal at days end and that's all. At $27 minus a senior discount of 20%, but add the $5 park pass totaled $26.60. Not bad, but Bluff Creek Access, a corp park, a few mile north in Alabama is gorgeous and a whole lot cheaper with the America Beautiful pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Due to budget cuts, the pool will not be open again this year (2010). Also some of the facilities are beginning to show wear, specifically the shower house. The drain was very sluggish and water pooled at your feet. However, overall, I think this campground offers good value. It's only $27 and it includes cable TV and sewer. One suggestion: get all your groceries and supplies before you get there. The nearest full-size grocery store is 20 miles away. You have to go to Columbus or Eufaula for a decent restaurant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
This would be a great park to visit if you planned to do some boating, however we like to hike. There is no hiking in the park. Some of the sites were beautiful pull-thru sites, but we had a site that backed right up to the one behind it. Fortunately, our friends were on that site. The pool is closed for this year due to funding issues. The park was clean and well-maintained. The staff was excellent: very friendly and efficient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Nice state park with gravel sites. Full hook-up is available along with cable TV, unusual for a State Park. Park Rangers and the Campground Host were very helpful and pleasant. The restrooms were okay, but need some work and/or updating. Several of the showers did not work and where they located the hooks in the changing area makes them useless for hanging anything. There was a shelve and a bench for placing items on, though. This is a great park for bike riding with several paved roads with uphill and downhill riding. Also, the nearby roads are not busy and are good for bike riding. The park is on a huge lake with a lot of birds and wildlife around. Witnessed several Great Blue Herons feeding their chicks high up in the trees by the lake. Canadian Geese were also plentiful. There is a nice Interpretive Center located in the Park. There are also cabin and efficiencies available for rent. There is a limited supply of dry goods and RV supplies at the registration office. This park is far from civilization and the closest town is 16 miles away with very limited store and gas options. Providence Canyon State Park is 10 miles down the road and worth the drive to see. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
Senior rate of $19.20 paid. As mentioned, the baths and laundry are dated. But the sewer was a nice bonus for a state park. Lots of nothing around here, great for some R and R. It is a good 20 miles to a full size market in Eufaula AL. We will come back if in the area. We just love the GA state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Florence Marina. We were encouraged by reviews that had been previously posted and decided to give it a try. The campground lived up to its reputation. Everyone that we encountered were extremely friendly and made us feel like we were part of the community. The only thing that keeps us from giving a perfect 10 is the bathhouse is starting to show its age. It is in need of updating. Several of the urinals in the men's restroom were broken and the metal coverings around the doors were rusting. If you go fishing, you need to we aware of the gators. We saw five gators that were 6-8 feet long. Also, be sure to visit Providence Canyon, it's worth the hike! We are looking forward to visiting again. They recommend that you have reservations before you come. Even though this is in a remote part of Georgia, it has been discovered by people from as far away as Canada that visit on a regular basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This was a great place! Very wooded and shady--felt like we actually got away. If you traveled with another rig, you can actually back in so backs are together and have one large area to hang out at. Swimming pool is nice--$1 a person when camping. Putt Putt available for $3 a person, but you can keep items all day. We did not get a chance to go on the lake, but it's about 15-20 min. from Westville (1800s town), Warm Springs and FDR's Little White House. We will DEFINITELY go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
We had a blast at this campground. We were there Memorial Day weekend and the they had a lot of activities for the kids to do. My kids met so many friends that they didn't want to leave. They really enjoyed the swimming pool. The bathroom was very clean. My only word of advice is to please bring a Isolated fan to put under your awning to keep away the gnats. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
A middle of nowhere CG, but great! Location on the river, with a big pool, all sites level with a few paved sites. Lots of open areas to run and play. Friendly staff and only a couple of long term rigs which may have been the staff. Overall an excellent CG which we will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
Nice campground, especially if you have kids. You may want to avoid staying anywhere near site 33 (this is 1 of the 2 camp hosts) and too many grandchildren to count are also in the RV with the host. The kids are wild, unruly, loud, and do nothing but yell to each other to communicate. The camp host (grandparents) don't seem to mind. The only time we had and peace and quiet was while they were away on an outing. Other than that, campground is very nice, lots of shade and big trees. The sites are spacious and pretty much flat. There are a few paved slots, but most are gravel. The best area is toward the back, away from the front entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
GREAT campsite.. My kids loved and my husband and I loved it.. Very peaceful. Didn't notice potholes as mentioned in an earlier post so maybe they fixed them. The kids loved the putt-putt. Paid $3 per child for the entire visit. Park ranger rode thru almost every hour. The showers do have a tendency to go hot/cold on you and when it is already cold outside it didn't feel good but that happens.. Do not depend on the general store for many supplies.. They had candybars and and a few snack and to my kids disappointment no ice cream freezer. There was a few things like garbage bags (that was a generic brand and they wanted almost 5 dollars for under 20 count) Anyhow the store is the only thing that really disappointed us but we got over it quickly.. If you stay here you really need to check out Westville and the Providence Canyon(little grand canyon). But please make sure in good health if you try to go to the bottom of the canyon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Wonderful campground! Quiet and peaceful. Brand new surface on blacktop, private showers with private dressing area for each shower, totally shaded, 2 pools, tennis courts, mini golf, fishing, boating, on beautiful river. Near historical sites. Has nature educational center and nature trails. Lots of squirrels and birds. Perfect for children. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Roads inside RV park are blacktop, some parts could use work due to pot holes. Sites range from blacktop to gravel and more or less level. Lake is large at 45,000 acres, equipment for kids to play on, min-golf, large pool, tennis, lots of trees, boat marina, fishing, boat ramp, and park was clean. Staff was nice at check in. Very nice place to spend some time. No noise in park. Park has great cabins to rent if you need them. Rating would be a 9 if pot holes were fixed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
Being from within 50 miles of this campground, it's known mostly for fishing, so I had not even considered this as a place for us to camp. A friend of my Mom's told her we should go and try it out to see if we liked it, there were other things to do when camping besides fishing. This is a nice campground, with mostly level sites. There is a small miniature golf course and a pool. The pool costs $2.00 per person, per day, but it was my favorite part because the pool is right on the river, it's just a very nice setting all the way around. There are 2 playgrounds with "adult" swings for sitting and wathcing children play. This park also has the Kirbo Interpretive Center, though we didn't get a chance to visit it on this trip. There is a small trading post. I understand from reading some of their literature, that there are alot of nature activities for kids that go on during the Summer, which is always nice. The park is patrolled by Park Rangers, that was a good feeling. The hosts are very nice and helpful. We'll definitely be coming back here to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Great place to camp. Be sure and bring fishing poles and bicycles. Almost all the sites are pull-thru and amost level. Loved the putt putt also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com