223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Triple J RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (785) 483-0305
CGID3547

Triple J RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   6   8   4   6   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
It is located right off the interstate, so it was a little loud. There was mini golf on site, and we really wanted to play, but couldn't due to time constraints. The pull-through was plenty large enough for us. All our amenities worked great. The lady that worked there "just happened" to still be up at 1am when we pulled in. She registered us and guided us to our site. It was very kind of her. I would camp here again in the future and I would recommend it to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
OK overnight park. Owner was nice and the site was fine. Only problem was traffic noise from I-70. If there had not been a south wind the noise would have been much less. However during a western Kansas summer there is always a south wind. A/C and closed windows solved that problem. The park is VERY convenient to the highway. A pizza place, Subway, and a family restaurant are within walking distance. Rate cited is with a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
We stay here often. They're always friendly. Some trees, well graveled, level sites, lots of pull-throughs which we've used when hauling the sailboat behind the fifth wheel. They recently added an addition for overflow when they're full. Kids seem to like the play area. Very recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This park is relatively quiet and the hosts are quite helpful with suggestions about where to eat. The alternating parking means the front steps are within a few feet of the neighbor's. Oddly, the small miniature golf course has large animals who have taken up residence. The amenities are minimal and many of the residents are long timers. OK for a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This is the Passport America rate, including tax and 50 amp fee. Stayed one night. Friendly, helpful host. The first site we were going to be in had partially blocked access to a rig our length, by a neighboring site's car. Host immediately led us to a different site that we easily fit into. Gravel roads and pads. Grass between pads. They are expanding and building additional pads to the north of the existing sites. Some long term tenants. Good place for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
The park itself was fine. The restroom/shower was next to the laundromat (public). Owners had several cats and while I did not see litter boxes, the overwhelming smell of urine left me wishing I had used our shower. Otherwise the spaces were large, the area was quiet, and it was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Lots of cats in the office and on site. No good place to walk dog. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We stayed one night in a 35' Class A with a tow. We fit in the space and we were level. All hook ups were easy and well located. We had a nice table outside though the wind was so strong we could barely stand up. The camp is plain with gravel sites and grass around sitting areas. The staff was very nice and welcoming. They obviously take pride in their business and appreciate those who stay with them. We would surely stay again. It is not a deluxe place but it is very comfortable. It is easy to get to and close to a good restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Good place to stop for the night on the way through Kansas. Restaurants close buy, fuel also. Nice and clean. Friendly people. Will stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Easy on/off from Interstate 70; near freeway, so some noise. Sites are gravel, level, and pull through. Good stop over park when traveling through. We have stayed here twice before and would stay again. Good restaurant called Fossil Station within walking distant with a good cheap pizza/pasta and salad bar buffet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Easy access from interstate. Walking distance from a restaurant and bar. Nice playground. Easy pull-through. Very windy part of Kansas, but constant breeze helped with temp over 100. Clean bathroom with enclosed shower, toilet and sink all in one room just like home...but only one for each gender. Courteous people at the front desk. Only took a few minutes from walking into office before we were led to our (nice and flat) spot and were hooked up. A little dusty, but good over-night stay and would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Conveinent right off I-70. The park has 2 reindeer that run around through the mini golf course. Nice pull throughs and you can walk to McDonald's. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Great stop-over park if you are going from A to B. Big Rig friendly. Owner very friendly and accommodating. Good restaurant very close, plus other "fast food" places. Park can be a little dusty sometimes: depending on your location/site. We have stayed here before and would probably stay again if going across Kansas on I-70. Internet good, but not secure. Rate is the Passport fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
Stayed here one night on our way to Colorado. The campground was adequate but could definitely use some updating and tender loving care. There were permanents on site that made the park look old and dated. I would probably look somewhere else the next time I drove this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Nice little park for an overnight. They had some reindeer in the old miniature golf course, which were nice for the kids to feed. They are doing some work to upgrade. Right off the interstate, easy to get to, and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This is nice park with very friendly hosts who lead you to your site in a golf cart and make sure you are positioned in your site properly to you can use the hookups. They have great cable TV, and the WiFi works great at long as not too many people are using it at the same time. The park is right next door to the "Oil Patch Museum", and walking distance to several restaurants, and about 1.5 miles from the local IGA supermarket. The 50 amp power is strong, and consistent, and the hookups are all modern, and nicely done. We just stayed overnight here, but would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
Good gravel roads. Flat sites long enough to stay hooked up to toad. Great laundry. Good cable was extra. Close to I-70 but not noisy. Miniature golf course had two reindeer wondering around on it so I doubt it could be used (bring a shovel). Dog owners beware: there were many sand burrs on the sites. Many areas of stored items (junk). Good for an overnight. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
Campground was easy to find. Had pull through sites. Only had 1 bathroom and shower. Bathroom and showers were very clean. For a over night stay was perfect. We used passport America and the rate was $15. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Triple J Camper Park was a very convenient park to stop going through Kansas. The sites were very large, so access was very convenient. There was only one bathroom for male/females. The bathrooms needed cleaning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
I was not impressed with this CG at all. When we arrived at 2pm, there wasn't anyone in the office to receive us. I understand that family run CGs may require the employees to do other things but at least hang a sign. The water was down for the afternoon and most of the evening due to a mistake by an employee and it took five hours to fix. The playground was over run with weeds, rusted out equipment, and infested with a beehive. The mini golf they advertise was pathetic. How hard is it to take a broom to it once in a while? Then, there was a lawnmower cutting grass about 10 feet from our MH at 6am. Really?!?! The cable was so poor, only 3 channels came in well enough to watch. But the worst thing is the WiFi. When I went to tell the front office, the owner dialed the number to the provider and handed me the phone to deal with them. I'm sorry but this problem should be taken care of by the business not the customer. I usually like to add a comment about something good about every CG I have reviewed. This one is really tough. The power worked good. I guess that's a plus. Oh, and there wasn't much traffic noise from the highway considering how close we were to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Triple J was a nice place to stay on our return trip home down 70. The park was pretty full, and it looked like all vehicles were parked pretty close together throughout. It's not really a place you're going to want to stay for an extended period of time. There isn't much to do there, and there isn't much nearby. If you need a place to spend the night, it is perfect. We were greeted by VERY friendly people who helped us get into our spot and settled, and gave us space and quiet time when we needed it after being on the road all day. Everything was clean, and everything worked. It may be small, and it may be tight, but it is well kept, safe, and super friendly. Anytime we are coming home through Kansas we will stop and say hello to the folks at the Triple J and try to spend the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
For overnight, this was a nice park. It's far enough off the interstate to be quiet, behind the Phillips 66 station and down a long road. But you can see the interstate. Our site was big and roomy. The lady that checked us in also took us to our site. She did it all...and was friendly. We felt comfortable and at home here. There was a storm that night and the neighbor that lived there came to check on us. Upon leaving the road was muddy, but we got out with no problem. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
It was hot and the campground was nearly full; nevertheless voltage remained solidly above 120. There is some shade in the gravel sites. Gravel is fresh making for clean sites without any mud. Overnight sites were narrow and RV's were packed pretty tightly, but it worked OK for a one night stay. Sites for longer stays were more spacious. My site was very level and I did not need to unhitch at all. Restrooms were individual bathrooms with sink, toilet and shower; they were clean and a pleasure to use. The only problem was a backed up sewer connection necessitating a site switch so that I could dump. Rate is for Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Convenient overnight stop. Easy on off freeway. They have some long pull-throughs with new electrical boxes. Water pressure good. Host friendly. There may have been a few full time, permanent sites in this park.. The have two reindeer that have a pen which encompasses an older "crazy golf" site that the animals run through. Not in use for humans any more. I was told that at Christmas the park is set up as Santa's workshop for children. In this part of Kansas there is not a lot of RV parks. This one is not fancy but OK. We stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
Price reflects the Passport America rate. It's a small park, with old facilities, but very adequate for an overnight. There is only one shower/bathroom each for men and women; not fancy, but reasonably clean. Eclectic would be a good description: there were caribou in the fenced area that used to be a miniature golf course. (??) Three block walk to Pizza Hut or Subway. Some noise from the interstate, but not bad. No doubt in it's day, it was a nice park. Now, it's kind of dated. We would stay here again for an overnight, passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
We stay here every year going to and from Denver. Each year they continue to make improvements. Family owned and friendly. Very accommodating to our requests each time. This year they've added new gravel to some sites and concrete patios along with very modern hookups. Wifi and cable tv work great. We just love this park because of the rural quiet Kansas atmosphere. Not big for entertainment, but it provides the perfect overnight or rest day stop for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
We chose this park over 2 others because they returned our call. It is close to I-70, road noise was not that bad. It seemed a little shady as they only take checks or cash for payment. Pretty much left us on our own after pointing to a site not too far from the "office" which was not fancy. No guide or written information. Although restrooms and laundry were in good condition. Actually, bathrooms looked fairly new our first impression was questionable. But all in all turned out okay. If traveling this way again would consider it, but also may try one of the others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
The three reviews prior to this are accurate. Passport rate shown. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable TV. Friendly staff. Close to I-70 but not very noisy for some reason. Great steak restaurant within walking distance. OK for an overnight stop and dinner out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Just a overnight stop. Sites are set up different but once you understand it is fine. Utilities worked fine. Easy on and off the interstate. Not much to pick from in this part of the state. Stayed here last year. Someone rated this CG poorly because of a personal contact with someone. In my 2 stops I have dealt with the owner or management and have not had a problem. The office is a little older but the CG is fine for an overnight We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$19
Interior roads and sites are dirt and gravel. We were in the pull thrus way to the west. These sites have no Cable TV. The Wi-Fi worked great. A little interstate noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Stayed here one night on our way to Colorado. Office looked okay from the outside, but small and dirty inside. Grounds not kept up. Noticed grassy area where the miniature golf course was located needed mowing and trimming. Playground messy and dirty. Spaces oddly arranged--we were parked end-to-end to another trailer. Glad we were just passing through. Surprised Trailer Life had this park rated higher than a one or two. One pro: their Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
The staff here was the most unfriendly staff we have experienced. Acted like they could care less. Campground was junky looking around the park buildings. Sometimes you get what you pay for. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$117
We called earlier in the day and was told the Passport was $12. Upon our arrival, the older man who checked us in gave us a rate of $16.90. We explained we did not need 50 amp, cable TV or WiFi, and he simply stated that you pay for all the "upgrades". We used the laundry, which is open to everyone in town. Washers were $2 and dryers 25 cents for 6 minutes. It was not too clean. Plus there were 3 cats and a dog roaming in and out: up on the "folding table" and all the chairs had pet hair all over them. We've stayed here once before, but this will be our last time here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Not much to choose from in the middle of Kansas. This was a pleasant surprise. Set up is a little different, but easy in and easy out. Not crowded when we went through so was nice and peaceful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Paid Passport rate of $16.90 which included 50 amp and CATV surcharges of $2 each plus tax. OK for a night or two as it is just off the interstate, but it is barely a 7. Real strange layout here. Most sites are double ended, double wide with curb sides facing in. So you could step out of your MH and be facing the steps of another one parked next to you. Very little room between them. They worked like pull throughs as it was not too busy. But you could end up with someone behind you or in front of you. Sites are gravel, not paved. Hookups were setup funny and were spaced well apart so it was a long reach to some, but they worked OK. The laundry is open to the public and most parked right in front of the office. So if you see cars when you come in, park so you can get around them. Laundry was good sized, $1.50 wash and .25 cents for 6 minute increments of dryer time. Waudby's Sports Bar & Grill on Main St just past 7th had very good daily specials and lots of TV's. It has a new owner Shanda and closes between 2 and 4 in the afternoon on weekdays only. Open all day on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Just ft. off I-70 with Passport America $15 or $27 without. This park is now asphalt and high firm gravel sites. Former post is wrong; there is no dirt or mud. Hook up's are great. Superior to 90% of KOA's we pay too much for. Some sites have concrete patio's and furniture. Sites up to 110' pull-thrus. Talked to owner, they have just put thousands into the park and it looks it; hook ups are fine. Great place overnight, or a week if you are exploring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
This is a great park for a reasonable place to stay overnight between Denver and Saint Louis. The park was not busy when we were there, so a pull-thru with our 40-foot motor home was easily accomplished. The space was wide and pleasant. The park is close to the highway, and that is a bit noisy. There is a considerable amount of unsightly junk piled up by nearby sheds, and that was there when we stayed there two years ago. Still for the price, the convenient location, and the fact that all the hook-ups worked fine, this is a good park, and I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
We stayed here after a terrible day on the road. The rate was Passport America and cash was required. Although there were sites available we were placed on a site without a picnic table and far from the office that our Wi-Fi wasn't very good. There were a lot of trailers that seem to be permanent residents but we found that often on this trip. It was inexpensive but I wouldn't return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
OK for overnight stop, based on price paid. Site was pretty level, wide, and long enough. We would stop again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
We were looking for a spot near Hays to spend a couple of weeks, and we decided this was the best campground from Ellis to Russell. The campground was very clean and well run. The manager is always busy keeping the place looking good, and uses a golf cart to guide you to your spot. We enjoyed our stay and will come back. The internet and cable TV were worth the money. We are Passport customers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
Stopped for one night traveling between Denver and Kansas City. Chose this park because of Passport America. Nice pull through spot with full hookups, cable TV and WiFi. They charge an extra $2 each for 50amp, cable TV and WiFi. All extras are included in what I paid. This is a nice spot for an overnight stop over. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
Nothing bad about this park, except the side by side site layout. If the park is not crowded it would be fine. It looks like this was once a really nice park, but it’s a bit rundown. Some longer term residents but not too many. Reasonable rate with Passport America and a decent place for an overnight stop. Extremely convenient to interstate 70. Meridy’s Restaurant nearby has good food with reasonable prices, but it's nothing fancy. Not much in the town of Russell. Free WiFi at site. We would return for an overnight stay but only with the discounted rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Park has great WiFi, and wide pull through sites. It's close to the freeway. Looks like they have new electric hookups. Would use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Limped in here late after a long bad day! Had blowout that damaged trailer earlier on the interstate nearby. Staff very nice, lots easily accessible and level, but it was very windy! Staff sent us to a restaurant where we met a couple that knew a tire manager that opened at 6 AM on a SUNDAY MORNING at Kansasline Tire in Hayes, KS, just to sell us tires and a wheel. Recommend them highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We were amazed that they did not accept credit cards; cash or check only. The people at the desk seemed uncertain as to which rate to charge. The restrooms were two: one commode and shower stall for women and one for men. They were clean but certainly limited! Nice town, though, and Meridy's Restaurant nearby serves a hearty breakfast! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
People were friendly. I hope the new owners can fix this place up. It really does have a lot of potential but is really run down. I only saw three older permanent campers but they were in good shape. Don’t know if we stayed here on a bad night or what but the restrooms and laundry area were not all that clean. We stayed right by the office and the Wi-Fi was still pretty weak. You could hear some of the noise from the highway however the campground itself was quiet. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Sites were EXTREMELY level. I just had to pull in and that’s it! Did not have to unhook my vehicle. Made for a really easy start in the morning. Cable was great. I did not have enough cable to reach the center pole however the campground provided extra cable on the center poles so I could just use their cable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
This a a nice park, lots of grass, very level sites, some shade trees and an area for those that need a clear southern view for sat TV. Not fancy, but clean and the owners are nice and polite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
My wife's favorite campground! Enjoy a swing at each site. Sites were level, plus the water and electricity were good. Passport America rates honored. We will definitely stay here again if ever back in Russell, Kansas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
The campground 2 blocks off Interstate and as quiet as sleeping in a cemetery. The rate was for water, electric, sewer, cable TV and WiFi with no discount. It is an older campground with many older trailers but most seem to be kept up. The grounds clean and neat. It is more a Motel 6 or Super 8 than a Regency Hyatt. Our site was level. The WiFi signal was weak (2 bars out of 5) but no problem with log in or download.There were more cable channels than I needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is a food place to stay for an over night on the road. I called ahead for a reservation that morning and no advance deposit was required. I will be back on return trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
The rate reflects Good Sam discount. Signs say new management and new attitude and our experience reflects this. The staff was very helpful, our site had been recently leveled with new gravel and grass was all neatly mowed throughout the park. There was good water pressure and good electrical levels as shown by our monitor. The cable had 71 channels, but I used a 25 foot cable to get to the connection centrally located for 4 sites. Be prepared. My sewer connection had no threads. It was just a drop in so we took extra steps when dumping to insure no problems. There were new screw in sewer connections at the sites next to us. We would stay here again for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$13
This campground is located right off I-70. It is fine for an overnight stop. The directions into the campground a difficult and you might miss it. The sites are level and easy to get in and out of. Passport America rate makes it a good deal. It was raining and there seemed to be fair drainage. I would not want to stay here for more than a night, but for an overnight it is fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$12
Nice easy in/out park for over night stops. Staff is ver friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We stayed here for a quick overnight stop. It looks like it was once a nice park but is now somewhat run-down. Still, easy access off I-70, large, level, gravel sites with some grass. Strong, fast Wi-Fi connection if you park near the office. There is a playground and, even though it was a little worse for wear, the kids seemed to enjoy it. I would stop here again for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Nice access with, long, wide sites. Friendly check in, and really big rig friendly. Passport America rate. Pet friendly, unfortunately there is not proper clean up! Watch your step. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
Easy access from highway, sites were level. Owner was very friendly and helpful. They only take cash or checks, no credit cards, gave us Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
The owner was very friendly and helpful. There was a sign on the office door when we arrived telling campers to pick a campsite and settle up with her when she got back. It was easy on and off I-70, and, although it's within 1/4 mile of the highway, you don't really hear the highway noise. The oil well museum closes in September, but there are plenty of rigs, bits, etc. to see outside. There is a great grocery store in Russell--Klema's Hometown Market. Many of the buildings in Russell are constructed of native limestone which is really neat. Russell is only 30 miles east of Hays where the Boot Hill Cemetery is located in addition to a buffalo herd, Historic Fort Hays, Sternberg Museum of Natural History, and other points of interest. We will definitely stay here when we're in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
This is a nice and peaceful park. If you inform the manager that you need WIFI she will put you in the best place to receive great WIFI for us that was in site number six. There is a good restaurant called Meridys very close that had really good fired chicken. There is also a interesting oil rig museum. We were only going to stay one night and ended up staying for several days. We would camp here again. It is very pet friendly and has nice pull through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
We stayed here for one night traveling through Kansas. Owner was friendly and helpful as this was our first campground. We stayed here on a Passport America discount. Despite being close to the interstate, the park was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
Stayed on Passport America discount. Easy off/on from the interstate. Level pull thru sites. Great oil drilling equipment meuseum accross the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
This park is very adequate for an overnight stay between St. Louis and Denver. They have large pull through sites. Full hookups and 50 amps. The sites were level. Picnic tables were at each site, but on the wrong side of the coach (since coaches are parked two abreast in opposite directions.) We used Passport America and for the price the park was just fine. Office person (owner, I believe) was very pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Lady that owns the park was very nice and helpful, escorted us to our site showing location of all hookups. Easy to get in and out, great for overnight. I would camp here again. Found it very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$14
We paid the Passport America rate. The sign-in staff member was irritating, telling another employee that here was "...another cheap set of campers." The campground itself was well worn but largely serviceable. The campground is subject to some blowing dust from the gravel roads and the eternal Kansas wind. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
An OK stop. Spaces are not marked so a 'pilot' takes you to your space. I stayed here 5 years ago and it has not changed much. Most people are 'seasonals'. Russell is a tired little town with brick streets. I was here on a Saturday - went downtown to find a hardware store - closed at noon. Most of the town closes at noon on Saturday. A lady owns the park. She does not do much maintenance. Everything looks like it needs updated. The laundry was dirty. We were going to do laundry but decided to wait till the next stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$21
They advertise as a Good Sam Park, but are not listed that way in Trailer Life Directory. Staff is friendly, but it is run "pretty loose". They do not take credit cards. Is convenient to I-70, easy on & off. Good restaurant close by within walking distance. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com