218131 User submitted reviews online!!
Great Sand Dunes Oasis RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (719) 378-2222
CGID3558

Great Sand Dunes Oasis RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   8   8   9   4   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Rate less 10% military discount. This campground has location, location, location. Nice store with gas and nice restaurant. By far it is the nearest full-service RV Park/Lodge to Great Sand Dunes National Park (GSDNP camp sites are too small and no RV hook-ups so not our choice). RV sites are up on a rise behind store, accessed by long well-maintained gravel road. Further up hill is tent area, lodge/motel, cabins. Spectacular views of sand dunes to right and San Luis Valley in front. Because RV sites are in a single row, everyone gets a wonderful view out the front. Twenty sites can accommodate any size rig, all pull-through (approach from next to hill), good 30 some 50 amp, sewer (also dump station), gravel with small trees between, level, picnic table, grill, fire ring, limited playground, clean showers and laundry. Sites are fairly close together but as much length as you need. Grills and fire rings are between sites and much too close to RVs. Saw flames 2’ high from a grill that made me shudder. Would move if someone used fire ring next us. Verizon 5-bar 4G data. Buildings are well-built but old with new roofs, reminds me of a summer camp environment, nothing fancy but good enough. Family owned for 30 years, pleasant staff. Especially enjoyed watching afternoon storms come across valley and dunes. Good hiking nearby. Elevation 8,000 ft. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
Great Sand Dunes NP campgrounds were full so we had to stay at this way overpriced gravel lot. Rough washboard entrance, irregular gravel parking lot, on a hill with a good view, but windy and dusty. Well, the restrooms were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Basically a parking lot with a single row of full hookup sites, a few trees, playground area, and a nearby building with restrooms and laundry. It's the closest park to the Sand Dunes that has hookups (campgrounds inside the park do not have hookups, do not support rigs longer than 34 feet, and often fill up by mid-day). Sites are a bit close together but are level gravel and include fire ring, grill, and picnic table. Hookups are well-placed. Nice view of the mountains and dunes. Convenience store and restaurant within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
We really loved this campground as did the other four couples we have been traveling with. The campground, while gravel, is more than adequate with full services. In addition, the campground restaurant's meals are great, especially their homemade pies! There is also gas and propane available on-site. The staff is incredibly friendly. Three suggestions, however; the campground staff needs to police people renting the cabins and rooms at the lodge, from wandering through the RV sites. Parents must keep their children quiet during quiet hours (especially early in the morning). And the grade of the road leading from the registration area to the RV section needs regrading. Which, if corrected, would bring the park up to a 9+. Nevertheless, we would definitely stay here again. Located just four miles from the spectacular Great Sand Dunes National Park. The views of the Sand Dunes, Sangre de Cristo Mountains, and surrounding landscape are unbeatable! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
The park itself is no resort by any means. However the sites are level, the grounds clean, and the facilities are close to all sites. Gas, a small grocery store and restaurant on site. Good food and PIES. Wonderful pies. Veterans get a discount. Friendly staff throughout. Almost shouting distance to the Sand Dunes. Each site is roomy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Fantastic views from camp sites. All gravel & mostly level sites. Perfect location to national park, handy store & restaurant on site. Friendly staff in store. No WiFi at our site, Verizon only had 3G. As noted in other reviews, the entrance road to the campground was a little rough but short and usable. Our 15 year old enjoyed sandboarding in the park (boards & sleds rented from store). Power Note: At the time, 6 of 20 spots were filled and I confirmed 118v at the wall socket after the AC started. But we only used the AC a limited amount of time since the weather was cooler at that elevation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Access road to campground fairly rough. Our site was a fairly level gravel pull-through. There was a table and fire ring provided as well. There was a serious problem with the electrical supply. Even with only 6 RVs in the campground the voltage was 102 volts. We elected to switch the fridge to propane and have our fantastic fans on to spare our A/C from burning out. Unfortunately it was hot and so was our motorhome. There is a rec room with old furniture (which smelled pretty bad). Other than the view of the dunes this place has absolutely no other redeeming value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This RV park overlooks the Great Sand Dunes and the view in the morning is incredible as the sun comes up on the mountains. If you've traveled a ways, it also has fuel and propane, which was a welcome sight for us. It was just a mile from the Great Sand Dunes. WiFi didn't work for us, but I'm starting to think from this trip that you should bring your cell Hotspot with you anytime you travel in RV parks. The host was very friendly and funny! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Great view and good full hookups - and that is all. Incoming road to RV section a disaster; extremely rough. But only show in town with hookups. Would stay again due to proximity to Dunes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Awesome place! Nice, level pull-throughs, and the views of the Sand Dunes and Mountains are incredible. About a mile away from the park entrance. The nights were clear and the weather was great. The store has everything you need, too. I would stay here again in a minute. The views were worth the stay. The National Park is breathtaking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Near the Dunes and Zapata Falls. Great view of the dunes. There is gas available out front and a restaurant next to the check in and gift shop. Pie cost us $4.50 per slice. Roads are rough and dusty. There is one sign that says "bump" however the bump extends up the whole driveway which is about a block long. Our faucet leaked profusely at their valve and had been duct taped in an effort to repair. Wanted to check out a couple of hours late but office would not allow it. Wanted to unhook RV for a couple of hours at an open parking area and they would not allow it. Poor customer service. Dumpster was overflowing with trash. Convenience is nice but the park is not. We won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
The people at the park were extremely friendly. There is a decent little store where you can buy t-shirts, etc. (cheaper than at the Visitor Center) as well as limited supplies. The playground equipment could use some updating but the kids did not seem to notice. There is very little shade but the views are spectacular. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
This campground is very sparse. It is basically a gravel parking lot. However, it is the closest RV park with hook ups to the Sand Dunes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
We arrived at 9:00 in the evening. The view was great! We drove around looking for a tent site, and when returning to a site we liked, we noticed our own tracks and no one elses. We started to setup our tent and noticed 3 GRAVE SITES right next to the site we had selected. When we went to the manager, he made up some story and then told us that the last person who had stayed at the site we had selected had committed suicide (with a laugh). It was very upsetting. No wonder we were the only campers who were going to stay there over the holidays. DO NOT STAY HERE. Drive another mile to the national park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$23
Sites are level gravel with picnic table and fire ring. Laundry and rec room were not open when we were there late in April, restrooms were cold. There is a store, a lodge, and cabins for rent. The campground itself is very serviceable but not exceptional; what is exceptional are the views of Great Sand Dunes National Park and surrounding mountains. This is a great location for access to the park and Zapata Falls. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com