218572 User submitted reviews online!!
John Martin Reservoir State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (719) 829-1801
CGID3560

John Martin Reservoir State Park

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   9   7   8   9   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
$20 per night was for a 30A electric on a level gravel site. All sites are very spacious. There is also a required park permit, which can be purchased on a daily or annual basis depending on how many parks you plan to visit in a year. There was a picnic table (on some sites with a shelter) and a fire ring. There is a dump station near the campground entrance. The scenery includes many huge trees that help shade the sites. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. We saw many western kingbirds and doves. Their songs filled the area. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park was very quiet during our stay but Iā€™m sure when it fills up during warmer weather, the noise level increases. The campground is 16-miles from town where there are most conveniences. We received somewhat limited AT&T cell phone service and slightly better Verizon data service. The park offers no Wi-Fi. We received a few OTA TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
While very popular during the summer months, the campground was nearly empty in early October. Most of the prime lakeside sites were vacant! Verizon voice and MiFi services were adequate. We would return to this State Park campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Gave it an 8 rating because there was no electric or lights in the women's side of the shower house. Otherwise great. Not much in the area to do other than fish. Colorado State Parks are almost too expensive for our tastes. We stayed here one night passing through, and would stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We didn't have a reservation when we arrived on a 4th of July weekend. The park was pretty full but we still were able to get a site (although it was not in the shade of the big trees that are in the campground). Lots of families as they had some type of family event going on earlier in the day. As others mentioned were were able to fill our tanks from one of the many spigots located around the campground. My only complaint was that the men's shower room was being cleaned in the morning when we were trying to leave. My wife went to take her shower and the coin changer didn't work but one of the showers provided "free" showers. Nice campground, I would stay there again. There is lots to see in the area along the Arkansas River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
A clean well maintained park. The sites are very large. Sites 1 ā€“ 28 have little or no shade. All other sites have shade. The sites are gravel and reasonably level. From our site (37) we had no problem receiving the DTV signal. Our Version cell signal was 3 bars (3G). The restrooms and showers were modern and clean. No soap provided in the restrooms. You have to pay 50 cents per 3 minutes for shower water. There is a coin laundry, fish cleaning stations, and a sand beach. The town of Hasty, 3 mile from the park, has a small store and a post office. The nearest town with a supermarket is Lamar CO, 24 mile south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
A good state park option in SE Colorado. Rate does not include daily park admission which is $7/day if you do not get an annual park pass. Sites are electric only but locations to fill your water tank are conveniently located. Good dump station. Park is known for its fishing and birding. Some sites have good shade while others are full sun so choose accordingly. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This is a nice state park. While you have to purchase a camping permit along with the nightly fees, it is a good place to stay. You need to check your water and waste tank levels before you park, as there is only electric hookup. The lake and grounds are below the dam, and very nice. There are many large trees (select open area for better satellite service) and large wide level sites. There are pull throughs and more backins, and directly along the lake are backins. Lots of wide open areas for dog exercise, although leash required. In the summer it would probably be pretty warm here, but in spring 2010 is was quite nice. Showers (for a fee) and restrooms are very clean, and there is even an inexpensive laundry room. We would definitely stay here again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
Super park at this time of year. Might not be so nice during the heat of the summer. Has extremely high water pressure; big sites, lots of trees, and flat gravel sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
We stayed at Lake Hasty Campground. The April 2005 review described this campground perfectly. We took one of the eight lakeside sites, and we had to leave one of our slideouts in about 2" from fully extended due to the trees on one side and the ramada on the other. The view of the lake out our windshield was worth it, though. The sites are gravel and are generally very large and level, and the interior roads (some paved, some gravel) are quite wide. Any size rig can navigate this campground. There are mature trees throughout the park, so satellite reception can be an issue. Good Verizon signal. Clean restrooms and showers, and a laundry with three washers and three dryers. Note that Colorado state parks require a $6/day Daily Pass in addition to the campsite fee. That brought our total to $26. Since we were here in the off-season (early April), we had our choice of sites. We will certainly return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
This is an adequate State Park. But it is way overpriced as it looks like it's just barely being taken care of! The grassy area was overgrown and needed mowing. This park has great potential, just needs some TLC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
Lovely trees and clean, shaded campground. Plenty of elbow room for every camper here. The lake at the campground seems to have adequate water. Saw several osprey and some waterfowl. Very little water above the dam, though. This is a very arid region. Don't come here expecting to do much boating - the water really is very low. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$16
An Army Corp of Engineer Park, John Martin Reservoir State Park is an oasis on the plains of southeastern Colorado. Located in the Lower Arkansas River Valley, visitors come to John Martin to take advantage of modern campgrounds, great fishing, un-crowded boating waters, diverse wildlife, and to see historical signs of the past. Camping is available at Lake Hasty Campground and Point Campground, with a total of 213 sites. Lake Hasty Campground consists of 109 campsites with 30 and 50 amp electrical service at each site. Water hydrants are available in the park but there are no water or sewer connections at the sites. A four-lane dump station with long approach and departure is in the park. There are two restrooms in the park with one supporting showers; showers are pay per use - $.50 for first 3 minutes, $.25 each additional 1.5 minutes. There is a playground in the park along with a large open field surrounded by campsites. About half the sites are shaded. Sites 31 – 38 are on Lake Hasty but may cause some parking issues for large rigs with multiple slide outs. This is due to trees on one side and a pavilion covering the picnic table on the other. Park is big rig friendly with several long camping sites and more than ample spacing between sites. The Point Campground is for basic camping and has no hookups. At the Park: Beach (Swimming), Bird Watching, Boat Ramp, Boating, Camper Services Bldg, Dump Station, Fishing, Fishing Licenses Sold, Group Campground, Group Pavilions Available, Group Picnic Area, Handicap Fishing Access, Hiking, Historical Site(s), Interpretative Programs, Jet Skiing, Laundry Facilities, Pay Phones Available, Photography, Picnicking, Playground, Sailing And Sailboarding, Pay Showers, Swimming, Visitor's Center, Water Skiing, Wildlife Watching Opportunity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$22
Strange: we stayed here in 2003 and it had been converted from COE to CO State control! Did the state give it back? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com