214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (760) 786-3200
CGID3569

Sunset (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
270
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   8   9   7   6   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$6
The rate reflects a 50% discount with a Senior Pass. This campground is basically a large parking lot in the desert. The only reason that it gets a high rating is because it is in beautiful Death Valley National Park. It is just across the street from Furnace Creek campground, which is a little nicer with some trees and picnic tables at each site. Sunset does not take reservations. There is a dump station and fresh drinking water. There is also a restroom with flush toilets, but there are no showers. The campground is open from October through April. Satellite is not a problem since there are no trees. We were surprised that our Verizon phone worked; there is a cell tower at Furnace Creek. However, our Verizon data card did not work. The Visitor Center is a short walk away, and there are restaurants and a small (very expensive) store. There is also a gas station with very expensive gasoline and propane. Since we love Death Valley, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$6
Camping at Sunset is essentially boondocking, but with lots of neighbors and nearby amenities: a water source, clean and tidy restrooms with flush toilets, and one dump station. With no hookups, you depend on your rig's "consumables:" water, battery power, propane, and waste storage. But you can lug water a couple hundred yards in jerry cans, you can run your generator to recharge the batteries, and use the restrooms to minimize the impact on your black tank. We stayed here 4 days without having to move the rig to the dump station--primarily by dumping dishwater down the toilet: grey water storage turned out to be the limiting factor. Easy walking distance to the services at Furnace Creek, and impressive views of the mountains add to the appeal of Sunset Campground. The lack of hookups gets you closer to "camping" after all. Great experience. (The "no" answer about clean showers indicates there are no showers--not that they're unclean.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$12
Basically a very large gravel parking lot. There is a dump station with potable water available. There are flush toilets, but no showers. They also have dishwashing stations available. The sites are dusty, but this is the desert. No trees, no fire pits, and no picnic tables. Generator hours are from 7 am to 9 pm. This campground is across the street from the Furnace creek gas station (VERY EXPENSIVE) and general store (2 minute walk from campground) and restaurant. If you park in the SW corner of the campground you may be able to pick up a public Wi-Fi signal ($10.95 per day). There are showers across the street for $5. Propane is also available across the street. Most sites look level but are not. It may be difficult to level your rig as most sites will result in the rear tires off the ground to achieve optimal lighting orientation. There are 3 pay stations which are easy to use. Road noise was not an issue for us. Trailers running their generators from 7 am to 9 pm did bother us, but was better than the noisy tenters and fire pits in the Texas Spring Campground. We were able to receive more privacy in the Sunset campground versus the Texas Spring Campground. The Texas Spring Campground is a nicer location with regards to scenery. All three campgrounds, Sunset, Texas Spring, and Furnace Creek are within 1 mile of each other. Sunset is the least expensive and allows generator use, but no reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$6
The park roads are paved, site pads are well graveled, and dust was minimal. There are utility sinks near restrooms. There are no paths to restrooms between camp sites. One either walked the road to the restroom, or walked through sites. The dump station at north side of camp, and two dump stations less than a mile away. It is an easy walk across road to Furnace Creek Resort. Generator hours are 7AM - 9 PM. Many inconsiderate campers run their generators for hours, even though air conditioning was not needed. We attended the 49er Days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$14
Nice dry camping campground above Furnace Creek Resort and Texas Spring. Tables and fire pits at each site. Nice tent camping area too. No generators allowed so it is a nice place to enjoy the quiet and view the stars. Recommend Texas Spring if you need to use the generator. Easy access for big rigs. We would have stayed a few more days there but, there was a group camp at the north end of the park that was being utilized by a busload of kids whose diet probably consisted of Twinkies and Pepsi. They were pretty wound up by the end of the day so we were unable to enjoy a quiet evening, but, the kids had fun and we enjoyed watching them bounce around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$12
Good for overnight or a couple of days as a base station. Just a place to camp for a good price. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$12
The campground of last resort in Death Valley: basically just a parking lot with some dumpsters and a few restrooms with flush toilets. It worked just fine for one night (the stars were awesome), but we had planned on staying two. Couldn’t do it. Lots of generators running (allowed 7AM to 9PM), but surprisingly kind of fun. Great location close to Golden Canyon and Badwater and Zabriskie Point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$10
Dry camping, beautiful views, near small store, restaurant, golf and Furnace Creek Inn area. Quiet and peaceful, a little hot in April. Good centrally located spot for seeing Death Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2004
$10
This is probably the best campground at Furnace Creek for a large rig. It is really just a huge parking lot. Sites were not pull through, but you could either pull in or back in to a site. Sites are level and wide enough for slides and awnings. It is very easy for a big rig to get around. The nightly rate is $10, $5 with the Golden Age Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com