206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Llano Grande Lake Park Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (956) 565-2638
CGID3578

Llano Grande Lake Park Resort

Camp Information
Sites
1000
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   7   7   8   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$27
This is the first time we have ever stayed at a resort style park and it was a wonderful experience. I am a quilter and what I was able to do with the group paid for the trip on its own. The swimming pools are fabulous as are the hot tubs. The park is very bicycle friendly. There is so much going on that it would take more than a month being here to figure it all out. Would certainly consider coming back here. Terrific experience. The electric is extra and the WiFi is free and fabulous. The best WiFi we have ever had and that is important to us as Canadians for staying in touch with family. The owner of this park and his employees need to be congratulated on getting the RV experience totally right here!! Recognizing some of the discount clubs might be a plan for even a couple of days of stays over a week. Just a thought!! Our rate was was the per diem of the 28 day month of February. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$27
We were very impressed with this park when we first arrived, but as the month wore on, our enthusiasm ebbed ever so slightly. The park is divided into three sections, east, west and north. The north is the newest section, mostly spacious, pull-thru sites and has it's own pool and hot tub. It also costs about $100 a month more. There are lots of sites in the older sections that are level, plenty big enough and sometimes even pull-thru. And besides, the older sections are much closer to the activity centers. The pool in the north section may be new, but it's also out in an open field with little protection from the wind. The adjacent golf course is pretty basic and charges residents about $29 for 18 holes. You can do a lot better on the price by going to an online golf site to get a tee time. The WiFi is the best we have ever encountered on the road. The half-mile road leading to the park is a little rough and is also posted as having an 8-ton limit, which means most of the rigs in the park got there illegally. The water is very hard and has a bad odor most days, but they do sell drinking water for 25 cents a gallon. Electricity is extra and cost us just over $100 for the month. Everyone seemed very friendly, but we quickly found that the cliques, particularly in the older sections, are well established and hard to crack. We were totally overwhelmed by all the activities going on in the park. One month wasn't long enough to sort them all out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$27
As others stated there's 3 areas: North, West, & East. I've stayed here 3 or 4 months for the last 5 years in the North section. Facilities are outstanding. Roads are asphalt, pads are level, long, and concrete. Hot tub and pool is large and in the ground. Tennis courts are in two locations. Prices are based on the monthly rate that varies from low in the off season to the highest in Feb. Electricity costs us around $55 but we're in a 30 ft RV. Motor coaches seem to run around $100 per mo. About 25 ft of green grass lies between the pads. Pads are about 15 ft wide and 65-70 ft long. All the roads are wide and pull-thrus are easy access even for 45 ft buses. Motor homes and 5th wheels are the most popular choice. About half of the winter months are filled with Canadians. Friendliness is probably more personal. If you go out and visit there's plenty of people to talk to. The water is hard and doesn't really taste good. I'm not a water drinker so it doesn't bother me. Tall palm trees are spaced 2 per green spots. The view in the park is outstanding. The wind blows almost daily, but it probably holds down the bugs. They aren't really a problem. We plan on returning here in Dec 2014 so that's the best recommendation. The West section is cheaper, but personally I don't care for it. It's more crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
Although there are a lot of RV parks up and down Hwy 83, one who had visited them all said this was probably the best. East section is the original part with very narrow, short RV spaces. North section is the newest with nice landscaping and apparently level cement pads. We stayed in West section on what used to be a strip of premier sites. Way out of level that took the front wheels of the coach off the ground. Moved one lot to the right, kept wheels on ground but created a massive first step. Wi-Fi was excellent. The water pressure was good but the taste was atrocious. Activities geared to the older crowd. While the park is nicely maintained, surrounding area is unattractive. Rate based on monthly charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Llano Grande RV Resort is a 55+ destination park but it has it some plus & minus points worth addressing. On the plus side: the sites in the north end/new part of the park are concrete, level, spacious and easily accommodated our towed vehicle and motorhome. The full hookups included cable TV and a VERY weak, frustratingly unreliable, intermittent but free Wi-Fi signal. Their at-site cable provided in park viewing of the pools, activity center, laundry facility and tennis courts to name just a few sites from our TV in the rig. This allowed the viewer to determine if there were available courts, if washer/dryers were open for use or if the pools/hot tubs were too crowded. It is close to Progresso Nuevo, a nearby, safe, friendly, Mexican border town with optical, pharmaceutical, dental, dining and shopping services. The people here are genuinely friendly and the locals appreciate the Winter Texans. If you are a pet owner, their dog park is the best we have seen in six years of RVing and would only be better if they provided the dog pick up bags and a dog water fountain. On the negative side the sites do not provide a picnic table or fire ring. Most of our entire stay (four months) was extremely wet and windy and the wind here is a serious constant. It blows from 10 to 40 mph on any given day and on the few days it isn’t blowing you deal with mosquitoes and no-seeums. This makes for a sometimes frustrating day on their not even close to being a championship (their words) golf course. They will rationalize the condition of the course by saying that it was underwater last year but this doesn’t mitigate so-so/ragged condition of the fairways, the very uneven, seldom mowed/rolled greens, uneven tees, the fivesomes that routinely play the course, their league play that draws numbers from a hat to determine winners, their long grass mounds vice maintained sand traps that only trap/hide the ball and slow down play and their take it or leave attitude. Many veteran golfers/campers in Llano Grande buy a punch card and then go play other courses in the valley rather than lock themselves into this course. In the activities department, they only run events in their hall that generate a cash flow for the park rather than run events for the good will and enjoyment of the residents/campers. If you are a coffee/water drinker plan on buying bottled water. They sell it at .25 per gallon ( reasonable ) as the water from the provided water lines is incredibly hard, tastes very bad and will seriously water spot your vehicles if sprayed/blown on and left in place from the water sprinklers adjacent to every RV site. Allergies are an un-discussed/reported problem in this area. We developed almost cold/flu like symptoms (medically diagnosed bronchitis) once we had been here for about 3 weeks and they only went away once we departed the valley. Other campers in this and other park reported similar stories but they claim that allergy shots or meds will lessen the symptoms. We suspect it is the dust and sprayed fertilizers/insecticides from overhead crop duster aircraft that occasionally overfly the park that worsen these breathing problems. If you like Mexican or cowboy music you’ll find two acceptable American radio stations. If not, make sure your Sirius radio subscription is current. Renting a golf cart to get around saves wear and tear on your towed vehicle. We paid $650.00 for four month use of an electric cart. Mercedes has a large outlet mall facility and between McAllen and Harlingen you should find every type of store and restaurant you could want. 4G Verizon cell service is in the valley but is spotty and sometimes our 3G MiFi would not work either . Our daily park rate is based on the $2400.00 for four months, PAID UP FRONT plus the monthly electric charge (.15/kilowatt hour) which is higher than many out of park rates . If we could have been given a prorated refund for our unused days we would have hit the road. Based on the above we most probably would not return to the Rio Grande Valley and this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
As noted, a very nice park with every amenity. Lots of rules but no one follows them. A 55+ park but lots of residents younger. I would come again for the clean and well kept grounds, pool, facilities and the wide concrete pull throughs. 2 things I didn't like were the automatic sprinklers that soaked your RV every night and no sidewalks on main roads. With thousands of spots and all traffic on one through park road, walking anywhere (to dumpster, activities etc) was dangerous. Beyond those 2 concerns, its a great place. Rate was for 2 month winter stay, power extra. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Very friendly people, TONS of activities, nice pool/hot tub, wide, level sites, well-kept. Affiliated golf course not great. Town is a bit run down and not much there, but bigger/nicer towns and good shopping just about 15 minutes away in 2 directions. Also close to Progresso, Mexico, which was safe during the day and fun. Would recommend and would stay again. Price based on monthly rate. We stayed on the east end, which is cheaper and older, but very friendly and close to the main pool and rec center. A few of the sites in this section are occupied by full-timers and are a bit old and need some attention, but most are fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Stayed for 8 days. Great park! Best dog friendly park we have ever seen. Awesome off leash area with a lake. Lots of activities and the park was very well maintained. Front office welcome was disappointing: very abrupt. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$29
The nightly rate is for a 2 month stay. (Jan & Feb) Electric is extra. It would be hard to find fault with this place. We stayed in the north end and used that pool but there are 3 total all clean as a whistle. We wished we had a dog when we saw the dog area complete with its own lake. Activities are excellent. Nice little gym. Friendly residents. Big shuffleboard community and great shuffleboard courts. Nice rock shop. Good lunches for purchase at the rec. hall. Very close drive to Mexico and dentists there. Only drawback is that it is in Mercedes. Nothing to do once off the park property. Oh well! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This is a very nice resort. The staff is nice and friendly. It offers a lot of different activities. The sites are big. It's very clean. Progresso Mexico and great outlet mall are within 15 minutes. We camped here in our big rig and our site included a nice casita. It has 24/7 camera monitored security with a check in gate for visitors. It's 55 plus community , however grand kids are welcomed. Our stay was 30 days , however extended to 90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
This is a very nice, high end resort. We stayed in the north end which is the newest. The resort has all the activities you could possibly want. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Full security 24 hours. It has level wide pads. You could walk or ride your bike day or night with no fear. Was very quiet. Lots of shade on most sites. Nothing negative to say. We spent a month here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
The rate reflects monthly for three months plus power which is a ridiculous .17Kwh when most parks in the area charge .13Kwh. Without ever using the air conditioner and running our appliances on propane our power bill was still $100 per month. This is an everything available type of RV park with very good security. We were in the North lot, in my opinion the best area. The lots are very wide... park on concrete, large concrete patio and car parking and large lawn with palm trees. It is beautiful. Many channels on cable, internet available on either strong (newly upgraded) Wi-Fi or with a cable modem supplied free of charge. There are citrus trees and you can pick what you can use in a day whenever you want. Nice to have fresh grapefruit in the morning. The north pool is quite new and wonderful. The activity buildings are much too small for the amount of people that are there. The entertainment is usually very good and very reasonably priced. Most classes are included and those that aren't are reasonably priced. There is garbage pickup at your site twice a week which we found adequate. If necessary you can take your own to the central dump. Be sure to bring a bike because it is a long way from most of the park to the activities. One downside to a park this large with such mixed clientele(full time, part time and tourist) is that everyone seems to have their own groups and it is hard to break in. We liked the park but probably won't be back because we didn't care for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
If you are looking for a place to be as a Winter Texan, Llano Grande Resort is the place to be. We have been going there for 6 years and have booked again for 2010. It is pricey but we feel it is worth it because of all the amenities. We found all staff very friendly and willing to help when needed. We had a problem with the cable TV but it turned out to be at our end as we did not have our remote set to receive cable TV and did not do the auto channel searching. The cable internet works well and we chose to use it over the wireless. There are so many activities to chose from - you could be doing something every day. We have chosen to book our site in the older East end as we find everyone very friendly. Great place to spend the winter! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$45
The North section is the place to go with your rig. 73' pull throughs, all concrete and the park is very well laid out. Nice pool/hot tub. Friendly people. If you are towing a trailer this is however not the place to go unless its painted just like your motorhome. You can store it away from your site for a fee but most people have a trailer for a reason and want it with their rig. For this reason I give this place an RV unfriendly rating of 5. This rule is one of the most ridiculous I've heard of in my travels across the US. Makes no sense to turn away people because of a trailer. Otherwise a thumbs up for the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
This is the monthly rate, calculated by averaging Feb-Mar (high season). Electricity is extra for monthly stays at $.15 per KW. Cable TV (with HBO & Cinemax) is included. We parked in the North section. Nicely landscaped, clean, spacious, concrete sites. Sites in the North section are for sale. If sold during your stay, you may be moved to another site. Free Wi-Fi in North & West sections. During this time, free cable modem for internet access was available. North section has own pool and spa. From the North section, it’s a few blocks to the fitness and activity centers, and even further to the trash dump (unfortunately, trash pickup, at site, is only twice a week). This is a large park; many people use bikes or golf carts to get around. No problem with Verizon cell and Verizon air card. Park activities were winding down by mid-March. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
This park consists of 4 separate sections. The north section has the nicest lots and is the newest section for RV's and the most expensive. Two sections are much older with a mix of RV's and park models or mfg homes. The fourth area is essentially unsold lots for double wides, "golf course subdivision", that are available for rent until they are sold. This area does not have pull-through sites and the concrete pads are adequate, however surrounding grass is poorly maintained. The park advertises a "championship" golf course, however over the years it has deteriorated to a level of a below average municipal course, due to being poorly maintained, under watered, poorly managed, and no significant improvements. Green fees are somewhat cheap, but other courses provide better value. The park also has a popular dog park, but this feature also has attracted more dog owners with bigger and multiple dogs. Barking dog problems during both the day and night are ignored by management. Its not uncommon to see dogs off their leash during the day, and not uncommon to find dog waste on your lot upon daylight. The park has most of the activities and amenities that you would expect in this price range. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
This park is advertised as an RV Park and Golf Resort. While it is adjacent to a public golf course which is owned by the same company that owns the RV Park you do not receive any discount or benefit at the golf course for staying at the RV Park. Overall, it is a very nice park. However, the restrooms, showers, pools and hot tubs are not always cleaned properly. The owner has had the furnace removed in the rest rooms and showers in the older portions of the park which makes them uncomfortable in cool weather. His excuse was that since everyone in the park has a self contained unit they could use their own unit in cold weather. However, if you are staying at the more expensive and newer north end you have access to restrooms and showers with individual thermostats and heaters. They are locked and only residents of the north end can receive key cards to use them. It is a gated community and very secure. When there is not a guard on duty you must either use a clicker to open the gate or wait for the guard to return (sometimes it takes over 15 minutes). To resolve this problem the office will sell you a clicker for $30.00. If you have a dog this is an excellent park for you. They do have a nice dog park and very few restrictions on the type of dog you can have. Most of the RV Lots are pretty spacious. The Wi-Fi works pretty good 90% of the time. The cable TV is good except for the local channels which seem to have a lot of static on them. Overall it is an above average park but not a excellent one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
We stayed for the entire month of Jan., so the rate reflects the monthly charge. Electricity was extra. This park has three main areas and each was like its own CG. The new North part is as nice as it could be, but we were encouraged not to camp there, as we only had a 30 ft Travel Trailer. They really try to keep the new part for the motorhome and fiver set. We on the other hand were invited to park in the oldest part of the park where the 30 year old park models were. So we had the oldest bathrooms, (Clean) and the older laundry and pool. We were getting along with this OK, until one of the work campers decided that we were not following park rules with our dog. He blamed some dodo in his yard on us, even though we routinely cleaned up after our pet. Turned us in to the office and did his best to get us evicted. Made the whole month's stay miserable. You couldn't even sit outside because everyone stared at you. He had systematically turned all our neighbors against us. The activities in the park are wonderful, and the park is as nice as I have ever stayed in, in the new North part. Cable was good, and I had a cable modem for internet, which they provided with just a deposit, that they never charged to my credit card. My wife was so upset about the work camper neighbor, that she made me leave at the end of the month and vows she will never go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$21
The rate shown is based on the monthly rate. This is a very nice large park. The staff is excellent and very accommodating. We stayed in the North area. The sites were large with a 18' wide paved pad. 90+ channels of cable and WiFi are included with the monthly rate. A cable modem for Internet access is available free with a deposit. Electricity was a reasonable rate. The restroom and showers were large and are the nicest we have ever seen. The large, fenced dog walk area included a lake which our dogs enjoyed. The exercise room was well equipped and had a trainer to assist with our workouts. There are activities for everybody's interest. The swimming pools are excellent. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$45
We stayed here for 3 1/2 months (December 2007 to March 2008). We stayed in a site in the North section. Each site consists of a concrete pad about 70 feet long and about 20 feet wide. There is a nice grass area between each pad. There is a fenced area used as a dog walk. It has a small lake and a nice walking track surrounding the lake. The restrooms/showers can be entered only with a key card provided to the residents of the north section. They are very clean and spacious. The walls are floor to ceiling marble. The shower are at least 5 feet square and are floor to ceiling glass. There is a beautiful heated swimming pool. There are tennis courts. During the winter there is something going on in the main clubhouse almost every day. There are trips you may take into Mexico that you can book here in the clubhouse. (Mexico is only 5 miles from the park.) There is a fully equipped weight room. There is poolrooms with I think about 8 tables. There are shuffleboard courts. There is also a card room a library and also a fully equipped wood shop. An 18-hole golf course is right next door also. It is almost 2 miles to the nearest highway so there is no road noise. All in all a very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$32
The park and the site we had are as good as we have seen. However, the Wi-Fi in the North section was very poor. The cable channels provided left a lot to be desired as well unless you speak Spanish. This is a really big place and you pretty much need a golf cart to get around. It is pretty much a destination park and once you arrive you do want to leave it, there is not much around this area. Plus a lot of road construction on US-83. We spent two nights and went looking for a better place to spend a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This is a beautiful, spacious park. We visited in June of 2007 as we are scouting out a place to be a Winter Texan. This fits the bill. Great facilities, close to shopping, but secluded at end of the road so no highway noise. Next to a golf course. Will definitely consider this one of two or three parks for future winters. It was very empty in June. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
Monthly rate quoted--rates change by month and section of the park. We stayed in the new north section. The sites are so beautiful, meticulous, and spacious with small palm trees and fruit trees. Their are grapefruit and orange trees around the park which you are invited to pick from. Everyone was so friendly. This is the best place we have ever stayed with many amenities. We were handed a "Resident Handbook" upon arrival. The rules promote a positive experience for all. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. Only complaint would be one office person had a bit of an attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
Outstanding park; the best I have ever been to. Huge pads in the north section. This place has everything you would expect for a winter Texan to need. A huge park with a full / excellent wood-working shop, a 9 table pool room, Grapefruit trees (free) at most sites, 3 pools and 3 laundrys. Rec room has many activities, and the Sat. breakfasts and Wed. dinners were 1st rate. I'm going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$32
A 55+ campground set up mainly for winter Texans but has daily/weekly campers. In quiet location well away from interstate. Office small but efficient. Has a wide range of facilities including golf course and tennis courts. Access roads are good but watch the junctions. Has a new northern section with all pull-thru sites which are fully serviced, wide and flat. Cable TV did not work while staying there for three nights. Excellent dog walk areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2006
$36
It’s a Very nice park with a new north section for large rigs. We spent two months in this park which has a clean and open feeling. Nice 18ft. wide concrete spaces to park on surrounded by grass with grapefruit trees. You can easily wash your rig on this huge pad. New area has its own mailbox bank. Park is located away from town and typically quiet except for workers cutting grass, trimmers and blowers frequently cleaning pads and roads every few days. Park entrance is two miles from expressway down a side street. Watch out for chuck holes and dump trucks (business entrance) and low hanging branches. There is still construction on off ramp this year. But once you're parked, it's not too bad to traverse in a car. Unfortunately it’s about 5 -6 miles to stores and restaurants which is a negative and about 45 minutes to McAllen. It’s a great place for walking. They separate dog spaces to the perimeter areas. New park models going up in this new section as well. Nice place to try if you don't mind being away from town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$36
There is just too much to tell about. The best thing is to go to the website and check out the amenities and photos. The Wi-fi didn't work well but we were supplied with a cable box for internet at no cost. On a monthly rate, the electric is extra and is very expensive..15kwh It cost us about $3.00 per day and we only used the AC for 3 hours one day. The north lots are huge and well maintained. Citrus trees on most lots plus groves in the park for residents use. The golf is discounted for residents. This park is about six miles from Progresso Mexico where most gringos go for dental work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$24
Great park to spend the winter months but we had a bad experience. We chose the park because of the "free golf", free high speed internet, and exercise room - all of which were unavailable to us because we arrived on a Sat. The office is closed on weekends during the summer which they define as April-Oct. The guard was very helpful but it was her first day on the job. In order to use any of the services the office has to issue equipment for the TV and internet, keys for exercise room, and pass for golf which turned out not to be free. There is no one available to do these on the weekend and I was rudely informed on Mon. A.M. that all of the parks in the Rio Grande Valley are like this in the "summer". No adjustment was made to our charges for lack of services. With that said, this is still a beautiful park with loads of amenities. They are adding on a new section. There are oodles of park models, both old and new, and it appears most "winter" people have purchased their sites. Easy access off I-10 and plenty of services and shopping the the nearby town of Mercedes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com