206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Parkview Riverside RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (830) 232-4006
CGID3583

Parkview Riverside RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   10   7   9   5   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
Rate is with Good SAMs discount. Park located across Rio Frio River with easy access to river for tubing. We were one of only two motorhomes in park, rest variety of campers, 5th wheelers, etc. Sites in need of repair and mostly were not level. Did not use baths, showers, Wi-Fi or cable. No play area and construction buildings very visible from sites. Very friendly staff, security guard at gate and owner ready to help if necessary. A lot of road construction on many of the roads in the area...we would not return. But if you want tubing in the river stop here. Very pricy $$$$$. Sites not maintained... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$19
Rate reflect Passport America discount. Very nice park located right on the Rio Frio river. Very friendly and helpful office staff. Some of the sites in the park are not very level, but ours was perfect. Laundry is clean and in good order. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
This park is on the quiet side of the Frio river across from Garner State Park. The sites are mostly level and the grounds are well maintained. We found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. The camp store is well stocked and reasonably priced for a camp store. The river is very wide and slow moving in this area, great for just laying in the tube. There are only two river access points one metal stairs the other a improved road/trail. It would be nice if there were one more access point up closer to the front of the park. The per night fee seemed a bit high given the amenities but not way out of line with others in the area. Verizon cell service is not available but AT&T is available. The park has a good Wi-Fi system but charges $2 per day for service. In my opinion this is the nicest privately owned park on the Frio. We stayed almost a week and enjoyed our stay, we will most assuredly be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$46
We stay each year over Memorial Day and we love this park. The sites do require leveling but that's the only negative I can find. We always stay in #75 which is not riverfront but has a huge shade tree and lots of yard space behind your rig that is also shaded. The restrooms are always clean and tidy (even over the holiday) and the staff is always friendly. We will stay here again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Very good campground to stay at (off season). If you don't like crowds, stay away in summertime. When we camped, it was nice and quiet, plenty of space. Walking distance to the river. Easy back-ins and lots of pull throughs. Only remark: they should take a little bit more care at the park with the grass and roads. Staff is very friendly. We certainly will come back, stayed here with PPA. You pay $2 a day for Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
The park workers and guests are extremely friendly and everyone is having a good time. The view of the Frio River and Old Baldy Mountain are just fantastic. Not all sites are river viewable, however, there are several ways to get down to the river. The closest good grocery store is about a 25 minute drive. This park is very quiet and great for viewing wildlife. Restrooms and laundry rooms are kept very clean and have easy access from anywhere in the park. The site pads are sand and small gravel which can make for a mess in your car or motorhome (when wet). We spent over a month in a 40' motorhome and would gladly come back for a longer "Winter Texan" stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
Rate is passport America. WI-FI is $2 per day extra. This is an older park with mostly seasonals. This park has an odd layout which results a hodge podge look and feel. Interior roads are quite narrow but because of the layout traffic is two way! Things could get hairy when two rigs meet going in opposite directions. Parking areas were relatively level but it's a thin layer of gravel over dirt. It rained so the whole pad became a soupy mess. WI-FI is very good as are the restrooms and laundry. For those who choose to stay in this park should be advised that the road fords a creek if you come from the south. It runs all year. We will stay elsewhere if we visit this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
A small but decent convenience store on-site, hosts very accommodating. Our site not quite level, but noticed that management is leveling the pads and installing patios which will be nice. Most river-side sites were set up for nose-in motorhomes, but will work for back-in trailers if you don't mind snaking your hookups under your trailer to connect on the opposite side. Sewer hookups on both sides; however. Quiet and restful, lots of shady sites, and friendly folks. We are repeat visitors and will certainly come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Based on a weekly rate. Very clean park. A majority of the sites are pull-thru, tho not the ones near the river. You have river access after scaling 2 flights of stairs, located between site 9 & 10. Right across the river from Garner SP. Garner can get a little noisy on weekends, so this is a nice alternative. Bathrooms/showers a little old but well maintained. Cable worked well, tho it had only about 10 channels. Wi-Fi costs $2/per day per device. What this means if you have 2 I-phones and a laptop it will cost you $6/day, a little cheesy IMHO but the system itself was fairly fast and dependable. One other thing: If you are coming to this park from Uvalde, don't try and use County Rd 150 from the south, it crosses the river but is often covered by water. Go a little further north to FM1050, then pass up Garner SP entrance and turn right just after the bridge. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$29
What a gem! We've stayed across the river at Garner State Park before, but it was full so we tried this private CG. Quite a few snowbirds here, and they seem to be very social. Beautiful full hookup sites right on the Frio River. Small store onsite but no other amenities; golf course nearby; Wi-Fi very good but they charge $3 for each 24-hr connection to Tengo. Bathrooms and showers very clean, and the whole place is so quiet! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
We planned a great week on the Frio with 18 other friends. Some camped in cabins and some at other RV parks. Unfortunately, when we wanted to get together at this campground or have others just pick us up for activities, Parkview insisted we pay $5.00 per car coming in and $3 per person. One friend paid $11 (overcharged) to come visit us for 30 minutes, others paid the $11 per couple to visit a couple of hours at the motorhome. We paid $18 for 6 people to come eat with us, but others were so disgusted by this time they didn't come. The staff were abrupt, rude, and very uncaring about our dilemma. Add in that the cable only gave us 5 channels, the internet was down for 2 days plus the $41 per day and this was a very expensive place to stay. We won't stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
After completing our fourth trip to this park in three years, I am pleased to say that it is still the best RV park in Concan. As mentioned by another reviewer they do charge for additional guest; but this policy keeps the riff-raff (for lack of a better word) out of the park and helps maintain the security of the park, which is filled with families and children (not party goers). I do defend and am happy with this policy and it is part of the reason that we enjoy this park. On our last trip we had 36 people between RV parks and cabins in our group and we just meet down on the river and dined at the cabins where there was no surcharge. That being said, the sites do require some leveling but the access to the river, proximity to Garner State Park, the cleanliness of the facilities and the parkstore make up for a level pad. We have our reservations already booked to return next year. I highly recommend this park for anyone wanting a peaceful, family oriented park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$16
Great winter-time park. Rates w/ Passport America are the best in town. Lots of activities at the clubhouse. Quiet park - very secluded area. Matrix Internet for fee available - limited cable channels but sufficient. I would recommend access from the back way rather than off hwy 83 - river could be up as it was when we came in and crossing it was a bit precarious. Enter via FM1050 instead. Explore and relax in the Hill Country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Good location close to the Rio Frio like so many Rv Parks in this area. Park is very basic with gravel roads and sites. This made it very hard for our small dogs to walk.The gravel got the inside of our Motorhome pretty dirty, too. We stayed here for one night since they were fully booked for 4th of July. The park is gated, but we had the impression that this has nothing to do with security (this park is in the middle of nowhere) but more with money. We had moved to the park next door and tried to see friends who stayed there. My husband and I could not get to them (thanks to a controlled gate) without paying $ 11 visitors fee. We would not stay here by choice again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
This is an awesome park. We stayed in a riverside space, and the view was great. There was plenty of shade, and the spaces have more than enough room. They have very good water pressure, and we had excellant cell phone coverage (ATT). We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
This was the first time to stay at this park. it was very clean and the staff was polite. You can not see the river from most of the sites, but water access is just a short walk. The park is small and secure. I have two children (9&11) and I had no problem letting them ride around and play in the park. The bath rooms were exceptional. They were always clean and they have good size shower rooms! We had reservation for Graner State Park for Labor Day weekend, but have canceled them to stay here again. Rates seem to vary (based on some of the posts on this site), I assume it is seasonal. Labor Day Weekend is $39.00. Great Park. I suggested a couple of things to them. They do not have a dog run. Dogs are welcomed but there is no place to let them off the leash. A small play ground would be nice for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
During our adventurous winter travels we needed a place to mellow out for a while, and tried this place because of the other good reviews. It turned out to be the perfect choice. They accepted Passport America, hence the great $16 rate. Wifi is important to us, and although it costs extra here ($18 per week) it was the best wifi we’ve had at a campground in a long time. Even at our remote, idyllic site (21), we had a full signal, and even with some trees around the site our Dish satellite came in. Although unpaved, our site was fairly level with a picnic table and fire ring, atop a small cliff overlooking the Frio River, which is very shallow and wide here due to an impoundment. It’s the quietest campground we’ve been to (though I’m sure summer is a different story) and one of the most tranquil. Although the campground advertises being adjacent to the State Park, it is actually 2.5 miles to the long entrance road, unless you can swim across the river. The campground has a large store that is nicely stocked with RV supplies and also some groceries. There is propane for sale. The staff is friendly and they have a large function room. Although it was wonderful here, we did have substantial discomfort at times from the dreaded Juniper pollen that plagues this and other portions of the southwest in December and January. This is the closest I’ve come to giving a campground a 10, especially due to the cost for what we got here, but due to the remoteness, unpaved sites, no cell phone coverage (Verizon) and the Juniper pollen, it drops down slightly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$12
This RV camp is everything you could possibly want. They have large sites, with full hook-ups. My phone service was excellent here.(ATT) They have a very large game/meeting room, with a full kitchen. There are potlucks, at least once a week, and the owner also gives special meals. He had a fish fry for the park right before we left. He also gave a very nice Christmas Party for the Park. They also have craft classes on Tuesdays, and I actually learned a couple of new things. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Also the staff working out in the park were helpful and always there if you needed them. The bathrooms and showers are spotless. All utilities worked great. The only drawback was the internet. It is an extra $32.00 a month, but worth every penny. We stayed there for 2 months, December, and January, and already have reservations for next year. You can't go wrong with this beautiful park, right on the Rio Frio river. Garner State Park is right across the river, and just a couple of miles to the entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$15
We stayed here with Passport-America rate. This is a very nice campground with good access to the clear waters of the Frio River. There is a small store and propane is available at the office. There is a large room for get-togethers. Campers are a friendly bunch and everyone chipped in for a brunch on Christmas. They have game nights, crafts, golf (nearby), and other activities. The 10 cable stations had good reception. My only two complaints was (1) no Verizon phone service but you can buy a Go-Phone (ATT) that supposedly works here. This is a bit of a major complaint because we do not like being without phone service in case of emergencies. However, this is not the fault of the park...and a pay phone is available at the office. They have Wi-Fi but it's through an outside company that you have to sign up with. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
This camp rocks. Quiet. Friendly owners/employees and campers. As a cyclist, I also ride the area and the locals are bike friendly for sure. No worries riding on a 2 lane road with lots of climbing, deer, and scenery. Only issue during this time of year is the leaves from the cypress trees stick to your shoes and once inside your MH, are like needles. Just unpleasant. But wearing indoor/outdoor shoes/slippers takes care of that issue. Garner State Park is really nice. Lots of good hiking. The Frio is beautiful and cold. Recommend this stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$11
We stayed here 2 months so our rate reflects a monthly one. The two things that keeps this from being a 10 RV park is location, 10 miles to closest town and 30 miles to go shopping. The second thing is the surface of the site has something similar to cinders, and it is bad to track into RV. Everything else at this park is top notch. This would be a great summer park for families. If you like to walk or ride bikes this is a good place, or if you just want to sit back and relax you can do that. It is a very quiet place. There is plenty of room for big rigs. There is a small store on site that has the very basics. The owner and staff are very helpful. The owner came to our site and personally welcomed us to the park. The cleanliness of the bath and laundry were the best I have seen at any park. (877) 374-6748 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
We have stayed here twice. We returned most recently while running from Hurricane Ike. The staff welcomed our family back and helped us find a generator to take back home (a rare find at the time). We stayed in site #44 this time. Most sites are very nice with full hookups and some shade. The main attraction is the Frio River which is easily accessed within the campground. The security patrols maintain the family atmosphere, taking care to remove any disruptive, rowdy folks. The store has provisions for those items you forgot and a shuttle service is provided for a float down the Frio. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
I had to evacuate from an RV park in the Corpus Christi area to avoid Hurricane Ike. What a stroke of luck finding this nice little RV Park in the Texas hills. The owner told me he was filling up with like minded RV owners that needed to seek higher ground. He decided to begin his winter rates, $27, a few days early so the financial impact of an unplanned trip would not burden the RV’ers forced to leave their homes because of Ike. This park is right on a clear water rock bottom river which is perfect for swimming and floating. The gravel pads were mostly level and each site had its own picnic table and fire pit. The cable TV was good. The wifi was not free, $15 for 7 days, but the signal was very strong. I would rather pay for a strong wifi signal than have a free weak wifi signal. Nice clean 24hr Laundromat. Very family friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
One of our favorite places to stay in south Texas. Great hiking just across the river at Garner State Park and also about 15 or so miles away at Lost Maples State Park. We think this is a great place to just "veg". They offer a PA discount in the winter months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Still one of the best in the Hill Country. Easy to get in any of the sites. The check-in crew is very helpful and pleasant. Good access to the Frio River for fishing, tubing, kayaking or even wading. This is a good place to get away from it all. As an added bonus it honors Passport America and you can't beat those rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
Park is in need of road repair but the owner is working on upgrades as he can. The wifi you have to pay for which I felt was pricey at 21.00 week when most places are free. People were very friendly and we did enjoy our stay. Very Quiet as it is back off the main hwy a couple miles. In summer I understand the place is VERY busy with lots of families. We stayed in a motorhome with trailer, 65', the owner was very accommodating to park the trailer where we had access to it. Sites are gravel. Fire pits at each site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Very nice owners and staff. Had some low limbs on site and staff removed them so I could park without limbs touching roof. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
We've been coming back year after year. The park is well-maintained, quiet, and restful. The staff is friendly and ready to help you and/or assist in directing you to area attractions. They have a nice selection of convenience items in the on-site store. The sites are not quite level, hence the "9" rating, but it doesn't take much to take care of that. Nice shade and right on the beautiful Frio River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
We only spent three nights here although we would have liked to stay much longer. It is a very nice park with access to the beautiful Frio River. The owner and employees were friendly and very helpful. We used Passport America to get 50% off the normal rate. The ability to make on-line reservations is an added bonus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
This was my fifth time at this park. It is really nice, with large spaces, lots of trees, a beautiful view of the Frio, and nice Hill Country views in the other directions. Our back window overlooked the river, and we saw lots of wildlife while we were there. The staff is very friendly, the store is well stocked, and the showers are clean. This is one of our favorite spots in the Hill Country, and we will be back often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Very friendly staff and quick to respond Easy walking in the park. Let me pick my spot to camp. Good access to Frio River. Sites are gravel, roads paved. WiFi worked fine in our isolated area. Store has rv supplies and food. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
We had 3 sites for 2 nights. The park is large, clean and child friendly. They even have fire rings at each site for campfires, something that is becoming a rarity. I would have given this park a 10 had it not been for the lack of a pool, hot tub or free wifi. Garner State Park is just across the river and since they charge a day use fee on top of the camp site fee, Parkview may offer much more for less money. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$37
We had a good time here - had 2 sites right on the bluff. Management was friendly and unobstructive. Kids loved the river, and lots of pretty scenery to drive around and look at. Great stay! Clean, well cared for park. Hard to get reservations, but worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
Stayed here for 3 nights the first part of May (were there over Mother's Day). Can't say enough about this park - it was heaven! We drove down from Lost Maples State Park to check things out both here and at Garner State Park (already had reservations here). We were camping with another couple in 2 rigs (our 5er and their pull camper). Got kudos on the selection of this campground. Everyone kept saying they were so glad we didn't stay at Garner State Park! Best sites in the park are numbers 21-23. Our friends had 21 which was on the river bluff and next to the river access, although we had 22 and I thought it was the best site in the park. The views were to die for - huge cypress trees and the river was shades of jade green. I took lots of pictures and walking along the river was fantastic. We spent most of our time relaxing outside & enjoying the view (besides a side trip one day to Uvalde and Bracketville to John Wayne's Alamo Village). The laundry room was immaculate and so was the park. Everything was spotless. Park employees were great. The park was nice & quiet; nothing at all like Garner State Park. Wished we could have stayed for 2 weeks, but had to leave as this was the mid-point of a 2 week tour around Texas. We'd definitely go back again - this one's a keeper! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
Very well run campground. The people there are very helpful and the atmosphere is very relaxed. It is on the bluff above the Rio Frio and Garner State Park. Easy access to the river for paddle boating, wading, swimming, fishing or tubing. Beautiful hill country with plenty in the area to see. Nearest sizeable town is 30 miles (Uvalde) and the other towns within 15 miles or so are under 2,000 population. This is the place to get away for a while. Spent a week here, but if I had the time, I would have stayed longer. Good place for winter Texans. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$12
The actual address for this campground is Concan, Texas. It is a Passport campground and is listed in their directory under Concan. The mailing address is the P. O. in Rio Frio. Don't know why. They have monthly rates that include electricity. This campground is great. There is a well-stocked store for groceries and rv supplies, a very large rec room with big screen TV. The campground overlooks the Frio River and Garner State Park. The river is beautiful and there is access to it from the campground. It is miles away from any large city or population area which makes it quiet and relaxing. They are installing WIFI, but it is new and there are occassional problems. We stayed there a month and considered staying longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2004
$21
We stayed here for 3 nights during Thanksgiving. Perfect fall weather. Sites level with plenty of room. Staff very friendly. Their mailing address is Concan and this park is just across the river from the Garner State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com