223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Claiborne State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (888) 677-2524
CGID3585

Lake Claiborne State Park

Camp Information
Sites
119
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   9   8   10   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
The sites are paved and most are level. The sites are wooded and spaced out. The bath house is clean. There is a beach and marina. The lake is great for fishing and boating. The hiking trails are scenic. The reason I give this campground an 8 is because there are no sewer hook ups and the 30 amp breaker would trip whenever the AC came on. I had to run off the 50 amp with an adapter. We camped here in a 33' RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
The rates were in the $20 - $26 range. We were camp hosts for 3 weeks and received our site for free. This is an exceptional park with friendly staff. The amenities are numerous and some were: free laundry, great fishing, quiet surroundings, trees and wildlife, clean restrooms and showers, beach area, playgrounds, paths, fish cleaning stations, boats for rent, cabins and great security presence. Only downside was that a few sites were not level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Park appears to be recently upgraded; Wi-fi works great. The asphalt sites are not level so bring lots of boards to level your rig. We tried one site, and the back was so low we could not get the front down low enough to get it level. After hiking around we prefer the sites with numbers above 48 rather than 1-48 numbered sites. The lake is pretty, and the view from our site was really pretty. The park is well maintained and quiet at night. I think the cost is high to not have sewer hookups and no senior discount. The antennae picked up a few stations since the foliage makes setting up satellite impossible, but I did see a couple of sites with long wires to their dish. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Do stop here. A very nicely kept state park with paved pads, good power and water, excellent dump station. Stayed in Loop A, surround by trees with lots of room between sites. Arrived without reservation. Staff very helpful and nice. WiFi worked flawlessly and free. Worth the drive off the I-20 even if just for a night. Will come back when through this way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Really nice park but too many trees for satellite TV. Very large swimming area with sandy beach. Cell-phone reception spotty. No internet. Very clean lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
This is most FABULOUS campground EVER!! It is spotless, friendly, and beyond beautiful. It is lush and wooded, with lots of wildlife. LOVED it and can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
This is a large lake and had a swim area for families with a bit of a hike if you were not parked close. This was a fun area and we stayed an extra day. The sites were very large, we parked the camper had a large tent set up and another vehicle park in the same area. We saw deer in the area and plenty of squirrels. Large trees and lots of room to move around. Although we don't pull a boat there was a very nice ramp to use. This park also had large cabins that are rented out. Showers were clean but as it is a state park there are normal flying bugs that come in. It is very dark after the sun goes down and you should have a flash light (a young girl swore she saw a snake cross in front of her. We would definitely stay here again and probably for a longer period of time. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
I am surprised of how few reviews of this park there are considering that it is booked heavily almost every weekend. This is our second stay here. Stayed in Loop 'B' both times and was able to escape into full relaxation mode within 36 hours. Very hilly park with wildlife including deer, squirrels, birds, etc. and a beautiful lake for skiing, fishing, or watching sunsets. Satellite probably won't work, too many beautiful trees. Cell phone is weak, local TV only. Friendly staff. Beautiful day use facilities, and a place I plan to take advantage of frequently to rest my frazzled mind and body. Would be a '10' if there was sewer at site, but dump stations are convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$9
You better be part goat to visit this park. It is a pretty park but the sites are small and not very level. Take plenty of boards with you when you visit this one. A heart monitor may be advised if you plan on walking around the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
This is a beautiful park, We stayed for three nights and loved it. We had our two grandchildren with us and they were able to go swimming in the lake, fish from the bank and catch fish. My only complaint would be that the sites can be small. We have a 33' 5th wheel and I had to park my truck at an angle to keep it from sticking out in the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
Beautiful park, sites are small for big motorhomes, no sewer or the grade would be higher. I definitely would stay here again. Lots of sites with water view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
This is a very typical state park; large shaded sites with water and electric. There is some confusion between the Reserve America site and their description - Premium campsites appear to only be the pull thru sites, but actually also includes several sites with views of the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
First and only 10 rating I've given to any park. Lake Claiborne State Park is absolutely beautiful. The camp sites are spacious and extremely well kept. The hiking and bike trails are great. We fished right from our site on the water. I was very surprised to find this park almost empty, maybe 8-10 campers the weekend we were there. This park has become our favorite. We live in Louisiana and have been to most state parks, they are all very good but Lake Claiborne is a top-notch park on anyone's list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Nice State Park -- Stayed overnight. Nice quiet setting. A few Big Rig sites. Would stay again for a week visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$15
Newer state park sited on Lake Clairbourne. Sites aren't terribly roomy but still well separated Could be a fisher persons paradise -- lake is loaded with stripers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$18
This is by far the most beautiful Louisiana State park that we have been to. They have nice hiking trails and the park was very well maintained. I saw four deer during my early morning run. The only down side to the park is that it is not closer to where we live. We stayed for a week during the New Years holidays. Reserve a lake site if possible. It was so nice waking up to that view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$16
One of the most plesuable Campgrounds I've camped at. It is very quiet, clean, and safe. The best sites are by the lake's edge, and you'll need to get a reservation months in advance in order to get one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$12
Extremely well kept campground. Nice, sandy swimming beach with lots of benches and picnic tables. We were not on the water but had a beautiful, shady site. I noticed some fairly large rigs on pull through sites, but the pad was shared with another rig pointing the other way. Every site is shady and few are stacked on top of each other. I am from Louisiana and was completely impressed with the cleanliness and upkeap of the park. Park ranger was seen patrolling all areas several times throughout the day AND night and gate is locked at 9:00 PM (they do give you the combo to get out!) We will definitely return in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$12
Stayed in camping area 1 and was very pleased. Camping area 2 has no sites on water. Sites in area 2 looked narrow and many appeared difficult to back into without assistance. Some sites not very level. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Best camphost I have ever encountered. Dump station in area 1 difficult to use thus we used dump in area 2. Will definitely return to this park. Fills up on weekends so reservation required. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com