218071 User submitted reviews online!!
KQ Ranch Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (760) 765-2244
CGID360

KQ Ranch Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
224
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   10   10   8   8   6   8   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$1
The Saturday night steak is a must. Enjoyed wolf sanctuary next door. Chilly weather but the pool hot tub and fire place warm. Plenty of coffee and tea. Lots of activities. My cats ran up a few trees and a big dog park. This is a nice place. The internet is slow We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$5
They will hound you for weeks after they have your name: usually obtained at Camping World. The sites with shade are few and far between. The previous reviews must have been done by one of their salespeople. Julian is nice: KQ Ranch is average at best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1.0
A park-like setting, and kids paradise including a huge play area with swings, clubhouse, organized games, etc. Sites are large and gravel. Some of those in the hills may be hard to back into. Clubhouse is large and comfortable with fireplaces, and attractive gas outdoor fire pit. Swimming pool and spa are large and pleasant. Remember to bring your food as the charming town is four miles away and has no large supermarkets. General store at resort is well stocked and handy. But beware, park gets a 10, but State Highway Roads get a 6 as they are curvy mountain snake trails for miles. Price reflects CRA membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$1
This is a great membership resort RV campground. We got an invitation in the mail for a free stay and took them up on it during the Labor Day holiday. We arrived midday and had a medium sized RV site that was gravel covered, with full hookups. There is no Wi-Fi or cable at the campsite as it is in the remote area of Julian, CA. It is available Wi-Fi in the clubhouse. It took us about 1.5 hours from I-5 in San Diego. The site had plugs for 50 and 30 amps and after about 1 hour of trying I called the desk and it turns out they only have 30 amp service at some sites even with a 50 amp plug. Our spot 152 was not shaded but very central to all the activities. The park was not crowded even though it was Labor Day. The staff was up to the task of handling all the people. Lots of room in the park and space between sites. It was hilly though. All the sites are gravel including the handicapped sites. They have a great dog park, as mentioned in other reviews. large and full of lots of fun things for the doggies. Its like a 1/2 acre big. This alone makes it great. For the kids this is a delightful place. Rated as the best by my kids. Miniature golf, tennis, shuffleboard, horseshoes, a heated pool, and a house dedicated as kids club with an arcade. Kids dream place. They have a location to check out all the equipment you need included tennis balls and racquets. The kids club has TV's books, videos, crafts, a bounce house and lots of great activities for kids. And did I mention tether ball and a great kids playground? They have a well stocked fishing pond. A good camping trip is only successful with a fish caught. and we got three (catch and release for us). There were lots of people fishing on Labor Day and most got a nice fish. They also have prepared meals for most of the meals. Great food and reasonable priced at the clubhouse which is another great meet and greet place. They had a champagne brunch on Sunday for $8 and burgers and dogs one afternoon for $4. The clubhouse is by the pool area which has been recently renovated. The pool is heated in the winter with a plastic dome on top which will be great. The resort is nearby to Julian, CA which is a historic town with lots of quaint shops. There were no fire rings during California bone dry fire season (for obvious reasons) but they have them in the winter when the danger goes away. They also have cabins for rent but we did not go in these but they looked quaint and had propane tanks for kitchen or heat? The staff was excellent. All our interactions with staff were very superior. The park is a bit worn in places but an aggressive upgrade program is in place with the pool, horseshoe pit renovated and mini golf being upgraded this fall. They have separate parking spot for trailers for toweds. They allow golf carts but do not rent them here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Membership campground. Affiliated with Colorado River Adventures. Facilities were being upgraded at that time. We were here in March and nearly froze our tails off (it was unusually cold and wet for So Cal, even for that altitude). Sun finally came out just as we were packing up to head home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$10
This park is one of our 'favs'. Cabins are cute! Great kids place. Golf course needs some work but playable. Lots to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
Came here to activate a free membership. Sales pitch was not bad at all. Sports courts were nice. Mini golf was not in great shape and equipment you check out was filthy and old. Staff was friendly but tried to cram us into 2 spaces way too small before we found a space ourselves and demanded to be assigned to it. Roads are 2-way and people drive fast through the campground, so it is not conducive to bike riding for young children, although it is probably fine for teens. The playground is nice. The roads are steep, windy and full of potholes. If you like wild desert brush, you may like the environment, but we prefer either more lush or more groomed. By the way, your free year of camping is only good November to April weekdays and excludes holidays so if you aren't full timers, you may find that to be rather restrictive, as do we. We probably will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$10
My kids love this campground (boy 8, girl 10). We have been lucky enough to camp along a long dirt rode that is perfect for them to play on, ride their bikes (adjacent to some horses as well). The pool is great, lots of activities for the kids, and they kept very busy. They had a lot of games, crafts, movie night, etc. We are going again this weekend which prompted me to write!! We have RPI so we pay only $10 a night. We were kind of bummed there were no fires allowed the first time we went (in May) but they were OK with it as long as we had it covered in the fall. Big fire hazard area so you have to protect our natural areas! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$50
Awful experience with a high-pressure sales pitch on joining Colorado River Adventures. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$1
This is a great campground. Very family oriented with lots of activities, but secluded sites if you just want some peace and quiet. Not many pull through sites, but plenty of long, wide, easy, back ins. There is Wi-Fi in the club house. It is a membership park but accepts both RPI and C2C members. The large heated pool is covered in the winter, very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2009
$1
As many have stated, we stayed here to activate our 1-year free camping. The resort was average compared to a lot of places we've camped. That being said, the Saturday steak dinner for $5/person was really nice, the club house was nice and the pool area (enclosed and heated for the winter) was also nice. There are a lot of things for kids to do here all weekend long, and that can be a huge plus for families. Now for the bad news about this park. There is no Wi-Fi or Internet available throughout this park. The only place you can get Wi-Fi is the clubhouse and in my situation I had some last minute work that had to be done, but there was just way too much activity happening in the club house for me to get it done. Next, the sites are loose gravel, and I had to back my 38' motorhome up a steep hill into my site. Next, there was no campfires allowed in any site, they had grills for our use, but the campground across the road had all sorts of campfires going. My biggest complaints and lower ratings are due to the extremely high-pitched sales that we endured. We were told that we would need to go through a 90-minute presentation. Our presentation ended up being two hours and 30 minutes! When we kept telling our sales person that we were not ready for this commitment ($6,000 to $12,000 plus annual maintenance fees). He went to get his supervisor, who then offered us limited packages that would only last 5-years. When we said no to that, we were told we would be banned from buying any membership for 3-years! We said we would want to go home to discuss the purchase to which he replied he's heard that before. Now Julian is a wonderful little town that gets to be very busy with long lines to get a piece of apple pie. We did have fun in town, fun at the campground (except the sales pitch) and even a fun time on the drive there. But I rated it a 3 because of the horrible high pressure sales. I honestly would have given the place a 6 rating overall if you exclude the sales, but unfortunately that is what I remember the most about my trip to KQ Ranch. That sales force just left an utterly terrible memory to an otherwise fun filled weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$1
KQ Ranch is one of my absolute favorite places to go, and we try to take about 3 trips here annually. It's in the local San Diego mountains which offers a great "bounce back" from the normal day-to-day grind. The staff is very friendly and helpful and goes the extra mile to make the guests feel welcomed. Plenty of recreation activities to do whether you have kids or not. But I must admit, I wish I knew about this when my kids were young (they are all adults now). So, I cant wait to have grandchildren old to enough to take along! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
This place is great for families. It's got tennis courts, an awesome covered pool, golf, a general store and events like 2 PM root beer floats for $1. It's only a few minutes from downtown Julian where they have cute little stores and places to buy the best apple pie on the planet. We went to KQ to take advantage of the free weekend, did attend the sales meeting but did not buy. We do not have children, which I think is the best way to get your moneys worth at a resort like this. Our specific site was level enough and had water/electric/sewer hookups. The sites did feel a bit cramped though - the site to our left practically looked down on ours. I rated this high because it offers a lot of things but we will not go back. It's anywhere from $6K to $10K to purchase. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
This is a timeshare. I went to activate my free year from my dealer and the sales guy said it was useless. He made us feel like crap cause we didn't want to buy right on the spot. Other than that it was a great place to camp, not near a resort style at all. Nice pool, activities for kids was nice and steak BBQ on Saturday was great. It's still worth the free weekend and free year. I would never pay for this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$1
We camped up on the ridge, and the view was awesome. It can get windy up there, but that was okay. The rest of the campground is at lower elevation and didn't get the winds. We stayed at the top for more privacy. Lots of activities for the kids which is another reason we stayed out of the way. We liked it a lot ,and we go back on a regular basis as we live within three hours. Gravel sites. No water pressure as it is gravity fed. We used on board water to take showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
This RV park is outstanding. Only 4 miles from downtown Julian. There are always great activities scheduled during the weekends.. Definitely family orientated, but my wife and I had an incredible time even though our kids are grown. The facilities are well maintained, and the staff is always helpful. We purchased LP gas at this location, and saved about 50 cents per gallon compared to price near our house. Had excellent Verizon air card coverage. Will definitely return!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$1
We stayed for a free weekend in exchange for enduring a time share presentation. The staff gets an A+ for being friendly and helpful. This park has a lot of things for the kids like miniature golf, a game room, a nice pool and a large ball field. There are lots of golf carts around so you have to keep your eyes open when you walk. Also, bands on the weekends play to 11:00pm so if you go to bed early, you'll have a hard time sleeping. Sites vary greatly. Some handle the largest rigs while others are right on top of each other. You'll want to arrive as early as possible to pick a nice spot. Overall it was a nice park but we felt the membership price was unreasonable. If this were a regular "pay as you go" park we would definitely go back. (866)-217-8111 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$1
Sad little park. The staff was almost too eager to help us to our site, free weekend if we listened to a membership presentation. Perched on a cliff with our back-end lower than front: precarious at best. We don't recommend this park for big-rigs! New management trying to overcome devastating southern California fires which left this place 80% charred. We wish them the best,but will not re-visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$1
Stayed here to "activate" a free year of camping here from our RV dealership. Had to sit through a 90 minute sales presentation. Did not buy. Campsite assigned sloped to the back and left making it almost impossible to level. 5 different families all arrived around same time and were all assigned the same area so everyone was trying to back in without hitting each other. Escort never met us at the gate so we had to find our own campsite. Apparently they were shorthanded that day. When we asked for another more level campsite he told us to find one and let him know. It was dark and we'd never been there so how could we? He should have called-in and re-assigned us himself. Then he wanted to put us in a site that was way too small and short for our trailer. We stayed where we were and leveled the best we could. Was told that there would be a Superbowl Party with snacks provided. Never saw a single employee the whole time the game was on - no snacks. Other planned activities never happened. Campground is nice and we'll use our free year but after that we'll find somewhere else to camp near Julian. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$8
We went on a free 3 day and listened to the presentation. The campground was very nice. It was probably a lot nicer before the fires through there. There are a lot of activities for families. There are full meals available, playground, heated pool, and activities. The kids had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$1
Like many other campers, we stayed here to activate a "free" camping membership. We were greeted by peacocks and a pleasant person at the gate. We were escorted to our site by an employee who assisted in helping us back in. Road was gravel, which was difficult to walk on, but otherwise OK. Site we had was not really big, but OK as well. Probably wouldn't stay here again. Sat through the 90 minute presentation, but didn't "buy". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$1
We got a free weekend when we purchased our TT. They wanted us to buy their membership, but passed. It was Okay, probably will not return, don't like all the dust. But great for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$8.
This is an RPI park near Julian. Very nice park. Easy to get around in, they only have a few pull through sites. A park employee escorted me to site and helped guide me into back-in space. Beautiful views from the "Eastern Ridge" of park. Routes 78 & 79 are good 2 lane roads that weave through the mountains in that area. I had no problems negotiating the curves/hills with my 5th wheel. Julian, CA is a great town to explore. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$6
This is a private and Coast to Coast park. We went by paying $19.95 for 3 nights that requires a 90 minute tour. The campground has a heated pool, lighted tennis courts, basketball court, a sort of baseball field, a couple play lots with swings and slides, fishing lake, club house, very small store and minature golf course. They have rental trailers and cabins. The current owner just bought it about a year and a half ago and is starting to do upgrades. It is a very family oriented park. There were lots of kids on the weekend. We stayed a few days into the week it was really quiet. You can see the ocean and the Salton Sea from a few campsites on top of a hill on a clean day. Julian is an apple growing area so you can go into town and get fresh apple pie. On Saturday evening they have a steak dinner in the club house for $5 and breakfast Saturaday and Sunday morning for $2.50. I have to admit we bought a membership but we live less than an hour away and have two grandchildren. We hope to come back with them in a couple weeks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Very nice family campground. Lots of activities for both adults and children. They had olympics for kids, karaoke, pancake breakfast for $2, golf course, basketball, tennis courts, and a miniature golf course. A 90-minute tour was required for our free stay. They try to sell you a membership but it was not bad. It did not even last 90 minutes, it was more like 45 minutes. They were not pushy at all and were very nice. We stayed two nights free, plus we got a free dvd player. The sites are not that big they are kind of close to each other, but it was fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Wonderful scenic park that is member of Coast to Coast and RPI. Very clean and beautiful views from many sites. Year round pool heated at 83 degrees. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com