220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Lazy-A Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (304) 229-8185
CGID3617

Lazy-A Campground

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   9   6   10   8   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
As others have said this campground is NOT a resort. It is however, convenient to the Peacemaker Training Center. We spent a week here and had no problems. The sewer is only available on two sites. Water is from a well, but was good. TV was air, no cable, we did have 4 channels. We plan to use this campground again in the future due to its location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
We are staying in Hedgesville, West Va, at the Lazy-A Campground. There are about 15 sites w/30amp, and 2 pull-through sites w/50amp, all have water/electric and none have sewer. All of the tent sites (about 20 of them) are in the woods. All of the camper sites are on the edge of the woods. We get morning sun, but evening shade which is nice. There is a tiny little creek behind the edge of the woods sites. Pets welcome. No store on site and they only take cash/check. Each site has a small fire ring and nice picnic table. The restroom is old, but clean. There is a laundry room – old, but clean as well. This was the closest campground to my Aunt’s house in Bunker Hill, WV where we met yesterday for a family independence celebration. The campground has no pool, and very little for kids to do. I am sharing this because it is in fact a decent little stop, a good place to stay for a night or two if you are on the road and want to get away from it all. The owner and her mom are terrific – lovely ladies – very accommodating. The price cannot be beat ($26 a night). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Rustic farm with lots of space, level sites, and some spots for big rigs. Campground is 7 acres, but it is part of a much larger farm making it roomy. We got lucky and we were the only ones there at the entire campground (since it was a weekday). Beautiful stream connected. It's a little bit of a drive for shopping but Martinsburg is a very nice city. Only complaint was that Verizon internet was pretty slow (but it did work). We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Nothing fancy, just what we needed after a long day of traveling, quick easy set up, level grass lot. Really quiet, no noise at all. Water & electric, dump station located on the way out. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
This is an older campground with just the creek and a volley ball net for the kids. It is just off the beaten path in a small valley close to I-81 in WV. The owner is very nice and does her best to accommodate everyone. Great place to get away to the peace and quiet. The bath house is old and small (2 stalls each) but it is kept clean. I live 10 miles from this site so it is one of our quick get away sites for some quiet time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
We stayed here for an overnight stop on our way to Florida. The owner was very friendly, and campground was very clean and quiet. We had our choice of sites and the playground was just enough to keep our children busy during set-up/breakdown. If you are looking for a campground with a pool, arcade and other "tourist" stuff, this is not the place for you. But, if you are looking for a clean, quiet place (with beautiful natural surroundings), this is a great place. We will definitely be back when we have more time to see the WV/VA area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This was our second visit. Campground is lovely but noticed several issues. They can put 2 rigs next to each other, but the posts only have 1-30 amp and 2-20 amp plugs. If you pull in 2nd, you may not get a 30 amp circuit. Also, have a "Y" connector for water as they have just one outlet so you need to share. Biggest issue this time was the crowd there for a Memorial weekend "Jubilee". Lots of partying and music. But the music went until 2:30 AM. If they had quit at 11PM (quiet hour) and then continued on a smaller scale or without amplifiers, it would have been OK. We found it less than restful. The owner DID warn us ahead of time, but we had no idea of the volume of sound or the lateness of the partying. We DO intend to go back, but on a quieter weekend. They have a web site now with some good pictures of the campground, but need to add info. They have a lot of special weekends that could be highlighted. All in all, still a great spot to camp with a family or just to relax. Only, don't do it on Memorial Day weekend unless you are also a party animal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
We found the tenting area to be great as it is mostly primative sites some with minimal hook ups but great for groups and right along the Back Creek a lovely fishing stream and good swimming for the kids. Well maintained and clean bath house and lots of area for hiking. Excellent campground for a relaxing holiday. We have been going there for 13 years and love it. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
In Eastern West Virginia. Camped for 4 days while visiting Harper's Ferry and Antietum Battlefields. Beautiful, secluded adult friendly. No video arcade, no swimming pool, no camp store, no organized activities, just peace and quiet! Found them using Woodall's websearch. We are returning again this May. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$21
This is a farm that has been converted into a campground almost. The owners live in the farmhouse and the barn is used for special events like weddings. The chicken coop is now the bathhouse and office. The campsites and surrounding areas are grassy and neatly mowed. The bathhouse was clean and in good repair but sort of dark. The campsites are along the perimeter of the pasture and most of them are nestled among the trees and back up to Back Creek or a small stream that runs into the creek. Thirteen campsites have water and electricity (30 amp). About a half dozen more have just electricity. There are water faucets at these sites but no water. Further down the creek are tent sites with no services. There are several large grassy areas that can serve as overflow. The sites are not clearly marked. Only the utility stations provide a hint of where the sites are located. Most of the water and electricity sites are not deep enough to back into if you have a large RV. But these sites may be spaced far enough apart to allow parking parallel to the road. About 4 sites have a clear enough view of the southern sky for you satellite TV users. We were here on a slow weekend and had the place pretty much to ourselves two other campsites were occupied. So it was quiet and peaceful, just the way we like it. We dont need a pool, camp store, recreation room, or other similar amenities. But if you or the kids do need these things, you may find this campground boring. On the other hand, this place hosted a music festival two weeks ago and there was an overflow crowd. If you just need a nice quiet place to stay while visiting Harpers Ferry, then this campground might rate an 8 or 9. If you are looking for a full service campground, then a 5 or 6 would be a more accurate rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$21
This is a campground for true campers--those who want to enjoy nature, have a quiet, restful time, and get to know their neighbors. There is a simple playground for kids, a barn with pavillion for dinners, and a lovely creek for fishing, wading, tubing, or splashing. It is not a "developed" campground. We were looking for a base for visiting Shepherdstown, Sharpsburg, and Harpers Ferry. This is centrally located. Signs clearly mark the way from I-81 to the campground, where we were greeted by a friendly owner who assured us she could "squeeze us in" to a site. There was no squeezing. We had electric and water and backed on a creek. (There were many more non-electric or water sites available, but we opted to be closer to the barn.) What a great weekend--this campground caters to family reunions, and other groups. There was a large contingent of Bluegrass pickers who meet here once a year to pick and sing and they welcomed us to their groups where we sat a listened to the music, then joined them for a pot-luck dinner with a large pig smoked by the organizer. There seems to be something most weekends, but the owner said not to worry, they would always find a way to make room. This is camping as we remembered it from the 60's and 70's. Now truth in advertising forces me to admit to a few flaws: there was only one bath house (clean and maintained, but only 2 stalls and 2 showers on the men's side), they have NO website or email contact, and the phone number (304-229-8185) gets you the owner directly as they don't have full time staff at the campsite. But they are friendly, down home folk who want you to relax and enjoy. If you want a cartoon character visiting your kids, pony rides, arcade games, 4-wheelers in the campground, organized noise, and rock bands performing on weekends, then don't bother to call or stop. But if you want to park yourself, listen to nature, share a friendly chat with your neighbors, splash in the creek, and take a nap while the birds sing, this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com