219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Sibley State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (320) 354-2055
CGID3625

Sibley State Park

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   6   8   8   7   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
Our family of 5 had such a wonderful time! The hiking is outstanding. Geocaching was at the beginning level, but it was still fun. The staff was very helpful and kept the park looking clean. Unfortunately, the nature center wasn't open - we were looking forward to that. Mount Tom lookout was a beautiful site. The lake was fun to swim in, but we had no luck fishing. We had a great trip and will likely go back! We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Two campgrounds. Lakeview campground is electric and very tight. Campsites here are on top of each other. Care needs to be taken not to strike curbs and overhead branches. Beach is very nice. Boat access is very good. Oak Ridge campground is up the hill from the ranger station. Sites here are well spaced. Restroom / shower building is very clean. Roads in this campground are easier to negotiate. Some campsites could use a bit of pruning. Staff here is very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
The restrooms smelled extremely bad, even though they were flush toilets. They smelled like vaults. Sites were pretty close together. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Stayed in the upper loop (non electric). Much more room between campsites. Many sites are difficult with larger rigs. Clean showers. Lower (Lakeside) loop is very crowed with very little distance between sites. Need to watch where you drive as some low hanging branches will hit top of coach. Staff is friendly. Lots of hiking trails available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
This is a very nice park. The swimming beach is only yards from the Lakeview campground. The Lakeview campground has a lower part that does not have the curbing mentioned previously. These sites are well suited for larger rigs and are the lower numbered sites. We stayed in a pull-through site #52, which seemed open with little shade. The upper sites do have high curbing due to being on a hill. The lower sites are close together and pretty much butt up to each other. At this time there are no leaves on the trees. Its seems the park is working to level out some of the uneven sites as there were large piles of sand and rock in the sites waiting to be spread out. The bathrooms were nice and clean. There are family bathrooms with toilet and shower, which seem to be newer. Would return as I missed Mt. Tom due to rain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
This park has two campgrounds. Both are in the woods with one next to the lake and the other across the road. We stay in the one next to the lake. Nice area but most of the campground is hilly and I noticed that leveling was a problem for some including us. Park has two miles of paved bike trails which is also in the hills. There is access to the Glacial Lakes Bike Trail but it is five miles from the park via a bike lane on a county road. Clean restrooms and showers. The rate I quoted was for non-electric. Nice park, would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Nice state park. The only downer in my opinion is the high curbing since the campsites are on a hill. I understand why they are there but took me sometime to get my camper in due to the curbing. Staff was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
We had a wonderful time here! There was lots of enjoyable hiking - the walk to Mt Tom was excellent and not too hard. Fun walking between the campgrounds, watching people on the large sandy beach, and attending very good Naturalist presentations: Flower Walk, Blue Heron Story, Fishes, Bald Eagles, Fish Hatchery Tour, and many more. Free fishing rods/reels & bait at the nature center. We had a lovely site in the Oak Ridge campground (little more wooded, larger sites, and more private than LakeView). Oak Ridge also closer to the nature center and all of the trail heads. The Geocache took us to a historic homestead that we never would have discovered otherwise. Showers & rest rooms were older, but kept very clean and neat. Far enough from large cities to have a clear view of the night sky - myriads of stars. Very weak cellphone and Blackberry connections. Kids summed it up best when sitting around the fire one evening: I'm tired, I need a shower, and I'm having a Wonderful time here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$19
Very nice state park. Electric sites are the closest to the lake. More room in the non electric sites. Water and dump station available in campground. Lots of Ranger led programs for kids. Small camp store located in the park. This can be a very busy place on summer weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
Lovely location about 2 hours west of Minneapolis. Sites vary but most were large and level with plenty of space between sites, even a few pull through's that would accommodate big rigs (just be careful of some low branches here and there). Of course this is a state park, so no paving, just packed dirt/gravel. The Lakeview CG was right next to beach area with gorgeous views of Lake Andrew. Probably very busy and noisy in the height of summer! Oak Ridge CG was closed when we were here so can't give any opinions but I'm pretty sure that one does not have any electric sites. Bathrooms were very clean and showers were free. Personnel were friendly and even stopped by our site to make sure we had everything we needed. One new thing with MN state parks this year is that you can reserve specific sites online - nice! Sibley is one of the more popular state park CG's and for good reason. Only real down side is that a fairly busy county road runs adjacent to the Lakeside CG. Nothing too loud and it was very quiet at night so this is being pretty picky! We recommend this park highly but don't go without a reservation! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com