206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Ouabache State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (260) 824-0926
CGID3627

Ouabache State Park

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We enjoyed a long weekend at Ouabache. There had been some heavy rain lately and several of the sites had standing water or thick mud so chose carefully. That being said the campground was nice and restrooms cleaned daily. Lots of park activities including bison habitat and pool. There is an admission fee for the pool, but it has a fun water slide and diving boards. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
We stayed 3 nights at this campground on our latest trip and have stayed here once a year for the last 3 years. Overall of park is nice with the major drawbacks being the showerhouses. Campground patrolled very often by DNR and Sheriff. There were severe storms one night we stayed, and the DNR alerted all campers with the designated alarm (honking horn on truck as they drove through the campground per the posted guidelines at the shower house). They then went from site to site to verbally alert all occupants. The shower house was functional but the showers had a lot a mold and mildew on the walls, shower curtain and floor. The floor throughout the building looked like it had not been scrubbed in quite a while. They closed the bathrooms at 8 a.m. each morning (busiest time of the day) for about an hour for "cleaning" which seemed really just for restocking supplies. It costs $7 for an out-of-state car to enter the park in addition to the camping fees. The pool is nice but is an additional $2 per person. You are not permitted to take in any pool toys or flotation devices including arm floaties or swim vests. They now offer for sale large bundles of wood for $5 each at the campground. Ice is available for purchase at the campground entrance. New this year located at the swimming pool, is a camp store with limited supplies. The trails are nice and the kids enjoy seeing the bison. Most sites have a lot of shade by large trees. Campground A is paved but B has stone drives and pads. Sites are large and the playground in Area A is nice and centrally located. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We'd heard about Indiana's lakes and how nice they are, but Kunkel Lake at Ouabache State Park had nothing to recommend it. No swimming, filled with algae... ugh. We did rent some paddle boats with our kids, ages 8 and 6, and after a half hour, we were done. Our campsite (#16) was nice, as we camped on a dry weekend, but you could see where there was standing water on others. The pool was very nice, with a water slide. It was very hot the weekend we were there, so we didn't do much hiking, but did take a short walk to see the bison -- very cool. The best thing about the park: Large campsites and lots of playgrounds for the kids. The worst thing: Dirty bathrooms, no enforcement of quiet time, and the fact that you're charged for everything. On top of your camping fee, there is a per-car fee to enter the park and a $2 per-person fee for the pool. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
Nice park when you find it: our GPS had us all over the place and on dead ends. This park has a lot to offer. They had a lot of rain when were got here, we saw some sites flooded out, and the trails were mud. You could spend a lot of time here, but things are spread out. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Outstanding State Park. Paved 3 mile bike trail, firetower that is accessible to the public (very neat), Good fishing lake, many playgrounds for the kids, clean showerhouses. DNR was very friendly and helpful. The campground was quiet at night. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
We camp here every year on Memorial Day weekend. It's a great little state park! Wonderful bike trails and hiking. Sites are paved in A campground, but not in B. Wildlife to watch, and a swimming pool for the kids. Can't be beat! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Beautiful campground. Pool is super. One of our favorite campgrounds. We were at site 77 and I would not suggest that site. Power pole is 50+ from where the camper sits and the cord will run through the middle of the campsite. Great DNR staff! The park name is pronounced "Wabash". We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$23
Nice state park. Small lake to fish in and rent pedal boats. The park has hiking trails, a swimming pool, nice shelter houses, a look-out tower, and large fenced area with bison. Lots of shade trees in the campground. The park attendents were very nice. Bluffton's annual event "Free Street Fair" took place during our stay and it was very enjoyable. Lots of food and booths to purchase things. Take mosquito repellent! You will need it. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com