223090 User submitted reviews online!!
Rivernook Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (760) 376-2705
CGID364

Rivernook Campground

Camp Information
Sites
286
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   9   5   9   9   10   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Great riverside camping but...Young guys now running the park, heavy on ridiculous rules, bathrooms are run down and not regularly cleaned. Stayed for five days and urinals never cleaned. Sites are not cleaned after people leave. I found the management very evasive in answering questions. Only 10 sites occupied out of several hundred (there's a reason) . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
Nice park, appears to be an older one, some full time residences. The park was quiet, and situated North of town approximately 2 miles to town center. The restrooms were in need of some general repair. They were clean, but fixtures were old. The sites were large and shaded. There are several sites adjacent to river or close by. River sites will require some advance planning. They charge you a daily $5 pet fee which I thought was excessive, since the pet station area wasn't kept stocked. Couple fish cleaning stations available. Cable TV requires their receiver box. No deposit required, make sure you return. It may require assistance from staff to hookup to RV, some different from others. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
Great park and a great location! Only seconds from town. We stayed at a full hook up spot. Would have given a 10 except that we were sewer challenged with a VERY small sewer hole. There was a larger one available. but it was so far above the level of the rig that you had to play with the hose. Because of the time of year, there were very few other campers here so we had the run of the place. Very clean and very nicely kept park. We WILL be coming back! The cable TV thing was a non-issue. If you don't give back their equipment, they will charge your card, so: give it back! Also of note: we have Verizon and although the voice coverage was shaky, the data coverage worked well enough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
No motorcycles allowed at all. This we did not realize and as it is our chosen mode of transport, on-road/off road when we park our motorhome: so no riding for us! It seems other parks in the area are the same, so check ahead. An ok river site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
I camped here during the 4th of July weekend: my first time here with family and friends. It was one of the best campgrounds that we've been to. The office people were very friendly and extremely helpful. There was plenty to do. We will be back in the future. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We loved the Rivernook and Kernville. Stayed here twice, once in the pull through site, and the other on the river with water, electric and no sewer. Both are great!! Staff was great: helped us cut a lock off the trailer that we lost the key. We will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
I did a LOT of research before coming to this area, and I can honestly say that Rivernook is EXCELLENT. Very clean, large area, well maintained, beautiful setting. I can not imagine how it could be improved, and I usually find flaws with most things. The river-front sites have partial hook-ups, everything but sewer, but the dump station is quite close and easy to get to; it must have something to do with building codes as the other sites further from the river have full hook-ups, but you really want to stay next to the river It's not that loud, and it's fun. Rivernook is immediately next to another camp, which appears to have the identical but much smaller setting. Both RV parks are close to town, you can apparently get a cab ride for just $1 or it's an easy bike ride or even walk into town. A market is close by too; any other RV or camping site would put you miles further from town. The town is cute and has a few restaurants; plan on spending 1/2 day there. You can also walk to the fish hatchery from the RV park as well. Everyone had a great time and already want to re-book and make this an annual trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
Great family park! Water everywhere. On Kern River, creeks running through all over the 66 acre park! Ducks, deer and raccoons everywhere. Most all sites are very roomy. Hard to find these days. Kids can ride bikes, great place to walk too. Go, you'll love it. Bathrooms need to be remodeled. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
I've been to Rivernook campground 3 times now. We found it by driving to Kernville, and looking at Camp James which is right next door. Coming from Los Angeles, we cannot leave until after work on Fridays. Camp James said they could not allow late arrivals, but we could come on Saturday. Rivernook said if we make it up there by 10:00 PM, they could accommodate, so we did, and have been camping there ever since. Rivernook is a campground with pea gravel roads, very clean restrooms and some of beautiful scenery. We prefer camping on the river's edge. However one of my guests said they had a hard time sleeping because of the noise from the river - I fell asleep like a baby. The noise from the river did drown out a party that was taking place in the spot right next to us. Later that evening the management asked the people to turn off their music and quiet down. One other note, the sites on the river do not have sewer hook-ups. If you need sewer hook-ups there are plenty of spots throughout the campground that have sewer and are right by the trout creeks that flow through the campground. There are also spots with no water near them if you have concerns about your toddlers. If you need cable TV note there is a $200 deposit on a converter box. You will get that deposit back once the box has been returned. The management has told us how frustrated they are about having to do that, but the box is mandated by the local cable company. My suggestion is to get out of the RV, and watch all of the people rafting on the river - there are no commercials this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
When we called to make our reservations at the campground they told us we could only make our reservation 5 days in advance. We were a little worried about that because we had 6 families that wanted to camp together but were assured that nobody else would be able to make a reservation that far in advance either. We called 7 days before we were ready to leave just to make sure of the date we could call and were informed that we should have been able to make our reservation when we called the first time because they had made an exception to the rule because there was a fishing derby going on at Lake Isabella and now there was no way to get all of us together. Also while staying at the campground the staff was very rude. We had a dog barking outside all night the first night we were there and went to complain, we asked to move and they would not move us to another spot. At that time they told us they were going to make the people with the barking dog leave and they never did. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
We enjoyed a week's stay here. Definitely a campground and not an RV Park. Dirt roads and dirt site. Must be a mess when it rains, but we had good weather. Pull-through site was level and long; no problem with tree branches or getting the rig or out. Lots of wildlife. We had raccoons climbing on the truck over-night. One morning about 8 deer came through our site. Used the site fire ring a few times after sunset. Only complaint would be that there were not enough nearby trash cans for pet owners. Office staff very friendly and helpful. We will look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
A very pretty campground with sites directly on the Kern River, streams running between the rows of campsites, leaves turning, and the mountains rising dramatically up on all sides. Although we booked late and could only get one of the sites near the entrance, the campground was quiet and we enjoyed our stay. The bathrooms were relatively clean but the counters should have been wiped down, and one of the toilets was leaking water. The showers were clean and the water was hot. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
We always came to Rivernook, but the last year the park has gone straight down hill. Dirty restrooms, trash, loud music, heavy alcohol use. Even the park employees don't pay attention to the rules. If I want dirt, trash, loud drunk people I can stay at any of the public parks. I have stayed here several times this year, each time thinking it would be better next time, instead it got worse. I believe they have a new management and park personnel so they just don't care anymore. I would not recommend this park We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
Wow! Nice setting! Creek view or river view you can't go wrong! Staff was very friendly. Would get a better rating but the showers and restrooms were a bit run down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$50
Three families spent New Years for the last two years. We stayed in sites away from the river due to the cold weather. Our sites did not include sewer, so at the end of a 6 day stay, we were at capacity on black water. The restrooms are fine, but no heat. The river is great, and lots of room between sites. We stayed at site 58-60. Deer and wildlife come through the site. Sites are dirt, but lots of room between campers. Nice small town of Kernville nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
It was full of campers, the week we were there. We had a pull through site with full hook ups, including cable t.v.. The campground was quiet and the access to the Kern River was nothing short of awesome. Views were good, the fishing fair at best. The restrooms and showers were clean. The staff were not the most friendly, or helpful. With that said, we would still return again. We stayed for a week. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This park is located right on the Kern River in Kernville, so it's attraction is the river setting not neccessarily the campground, and this is a campground, not an RV park. It has many riverfront sites, tent and RV as well. The riverfront sites only offer water and electric which was fine with us as we were only there for a long weekend. There are full hookup sites a little farther up from the river which do offer sewer and TV as well. There are many fulltime residents in this park, but they are located in another section of this 60 acre facility. The rest rooms were not extremely dirty though I would not consider them clean, and they were more similiar to a National Park style restroom/shower facility. $25 was for the water/elec sites. The full hook-up sites are $28. But, for the river setting, I would stay here again, just for that reason. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com