217880 User submitted reviews online!!
Provo KOA (Closed) was rated 5 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone:
CGID3645

Provo KOA (Closed)

Camp Information
Sites
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$37


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   9   8   2   4   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$37
This is an older park but in a nice setting with trees, adjacent to a small stream, and next to a big playing field. After-hours check-in went smoothly. Bathroom was old with plywood walls but was clean and roomy. A few TV channels available by antenna. Several free Wi-Fi connections available but it was somewhat difficult to connect to. Park was too small for good dog walk so we used the adjacent playing field. Swimming pool was being worked on. All in all, a pleasant little oasis in an urban mess so I would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Every conceivable construction was underway on I-15 and surrounding areas, and we still made it to the RV park okay with the directions provided. Check in was easy and the staff attempted everything to get me an additional night. Sites are pea gravel and sand and are quite level. Bathrooms and showers were clean and will be newly constructed next year. I recommend going to Bridal Falls and Timpanogos National Monument (Caves). Both are a short drive (20-30 min) from the park. I would stay here again: after construction ceases. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
We enjoyed our stay here. The present owners have owned the park about a year. They are making some major improvements. Rebuilding the "satellite " restroom and shower, re-doing the pool and many other things. This is an older park so some of the roads are tight. Our spot was perfectly level. Gravel sites, paved roads. Showers old but very clean. More than helpful at the front desk. The river is "right there", but it is only about six or seven feet across as they take most of the water to northern Utah and Southern Salt Lake Counties for their use. It is nice little park and it is getting better. We were here for three nights and would have readily stayed longer, but we had to get moving. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Under new management, they are working to fix some broken/closed functions (laundry, pool, toilets in back section, etc.). There was no price break on the rate while work goes on. This is a plain KOA with lots of trees and narrow un-level sites. No picnic tables that we could see in our section. Since our site was very narrow I don’t know where they would put one anyway. During the week, the office is open 8-10am and 5-7pm so plan arrivals accordingly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Great overnight KOA. Easy on, easy off (construction no longer a problem). Very friendly owners/managers. Long level (60+ ft) pull-thru site with all the hook-ups. Wi-fi worked well. Would definitely stay here again when passing thru. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
This is really a nice little campground, and I emphasize little. Even though there was a large diesel pusher parked near us I would not want to get a large rig through there. We only have a 25 ft fiver. A tree blocked us from opening the awning and sites are pretty close together. About 10 or 15 permanent residents, but, they were quiet and nice. River was very pleasant. Convenient for travel through the area. The lady at the desk was very nice and store had necessities. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Didn't like this campground. Some full time residents, can hear the trains and freeway. Kind of run down. If you have a big rig, the sites are real close together. Under new management and they say they have a lot of new upgrades coming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
The only good thing about this park is the enthusiasm & politeness of the new owners and employees, but they have a seemingly impossible task on their hands to get this park in shape. The sights are so narrow there's barely enough room to walk between rigs with the slideouts out. Even low conversations can be heard from your neighbors. Some freeway/train noise. WiFi is nearly non-existent. No cable, but we were able to pick up a few channels with the antenna. It is close to a paved bike/walk/jog path, and a beautiful park--when no one's there, we let the dog run free. Lot's of "cotton" from the cottonwood trees, so take your allergy pills. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
We stayed here on our first trip out with our travel trailer. First problem was that the sites are VERY small. You can whisper and your neighbor will hear you. There is no room to put your awning out. There are also an abundance of ducks. The camp store is only open limited hours and has very limited supplies. There are no fire pits. The pool is located in the "attached" trailer park and looked pretty nasty. There is a walking trail that has an entrance from the park but this also means the park isn't completely secure from passerby's. The back half of the small park is permanent residents and is a little scary. This is by far the worst KOA we have ever stayed at. The only reason I rated it a 2 was because I heard it just got new owners and I feel it has the potential to improve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This campground accepted our request for a 3-night stay after we had been evicted from a different park. The KOA graciously took us in and gave us a dry, clean site with all the needed facilities we requested. The park manager personally directed us to their last available site and made certain we were comfortable. We recommend this site to anyone who needs a hospitable, welcoming park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
This was our first KOA experience, and we weren't impressed. Not a good value for the money. We got in after hours and selected one of the "Pull-thru" sites. Access to the site was by a very narrow gravel road occupied by a lot of sleeping ducks. We had to get out and chase them away. When we got to the site, we weren't able to pull in due to low overhanging tree limbs. We went around the loop and ended up backing in. Barely enough room for the 5er and our truck. Probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
We camped here as a quick overnight stopover. The campground is like no other KOA we've been to (no warm welcome or help with checking in, no activities or pool within view, LOTS of ducks hanging out near the office, kind of a dark 'foreboding' atmosphere). The owners were not present when we arrived at 6:00 pm, and the office is only open a couple of hours in the morning, and again in the afternoon. We 'guestimated' the cost and left a check in the self-registration slot in the office door. A campground resident was kind enough to drive my husband around the grounds to find a spot. Although relatively clean and comfortable, it definitely had the feel of a park for mostly permanent residents. We did feel safe. We did not hear any planes or trains and, this time of year, we were pretty bug-free. We do not plan to camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
I'd say the other reviews are pretty spot on accurate. Very bad fly and mosquito problem as well. Near airport so you will hear the planes spooling up for take-off. Tall trees, forget your satellite dish from working. Seems this park caters mostly to monthly rate residents. Kind of bizarre grounds and employees, but OK for a layover pull-through 50 AMP spot if you're in route someplace. Definitely not a destination park or for traveling single women unless you like the Stephen King novel kind of atmosphere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
It is a nice campsite with good hookups which serves as a mid-way point on a trip to Yellowstone. The campground was packed fairly full and the tent campers next to the RVs tend to get up early. The management left instructions taped to the door for a 8:45pm arrival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
The park is part of a permanent mobile home park. The pool and laundry facilities are shared with the mobile home park. At least 10 of the sites have permanent residents that have converted their trailers into mobile homes. The attendants did not escort or help you park in the extremely tight spots. The attendants never left the office unless they were out to smoke. One attendant had his KOA shirt unbuttoned to his navel with his chest exposed. It was definitely not like any other KOA I have experienced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
This has to be the oldest and worst KOA RV Park. I am amazed that it is still sanctioned by the KOA home office and system. The entrance to this park is quick, narrow, and not RV friendly. We arrived at 3PM and the office was closed. See us at 4PM. There was the usual instructions and map to select your own site, etc. We wanted an electric only site for our 29 foot Class A which was hard to find as many of the electric boxes had no plug in connectors. All were very short or had overlapping trees. How often have you had to go from site to site with a digital voltmeter trying to find a place to camp? We finally found one but had to raise the front end 5 inches to get level. I could get connected with the park’s wi-fi but did not have the code word. Some one opened the office at 4PM, but they were fill ins for the owners who were at the football game. They fed the ducks that dirtied the entrance and took our money. Later, after spending an hour trying to get connected I ask about the wi-fi. Their answer was to bring your box down to the office and try it. We are less than 40 yards from the front office. While I write this we see several big rigs, towing, come in and are lucky to find a way to turn and exit. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Other comments were pretty accurate. Bathrooms were OK. I had a site right next to the office so my Wi-Fi was good. I was able to pick up Dish satellites OK through the trees. River right next to the park so tons of ducks that folks feed. A 9 mile hiking trail called Provo River Trail right next to park so good to exercise but don't do it at night since it is not the best of the neighborhoods in Provo. Stayed for one night. They did give me a 10% discount without a KOA card. They were actually priced in line with other CG's in the area. 5 minutes from I-15. I would go there again for an over nighter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
I am a big KOA fan but this was not a fun place. The park is long and narrow, with gravel sites. What I did not like was the units were jammed together so there was little space between units. We stayed over night but once was enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We camped here without reservations and were put in a space in front of the office, very near the main road. Noise was not really a problem, though. We took a ride through the rear of the park and did see a lot of permanent trailers - some in poor condition. We saw a pool, but did not use it. There was a small park for children next door within walking distance. Internet access was available but we had to sit on a picnic table outside the office to access it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Nicely treed park. It is a little challenging with a big rig (we had to unhook the toad) but doable. The dog walking was limited, but just south of the campground is a nice park so it wasn't an issue. There is a camp store, but when I was there it wasn't well stocked. We would look for a different park that would accommodate our rig better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
Very poor park for a KOA. Small sites with lots of permanent rigs in the back. The trees need trimming. We did not camp here! (800) 562-1894 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
The park is between two small streams with mature trees, very relaxing after a day on the road. It is close to the railroad so use your earplugs at night. A good place to stay if passing through. there are only a couple of fast food places nearby. Very pleasant grounds overall but our site was littered with butts from the previous guest. The pool was closed for the season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We decided to stay here as it was just off I-15 on our way between Yellowstone and Grand Canyon. The stream that ran behind our popup was populated with many ducks and geese, which came waddling thru the campsite many times per day, leaving behind many feathers and droppings. When you went to the bathrooms and showers, you had to avoid the droppings all along the way. We were given a spot next to a small trailer that had a blue tarp over it and looked like it hadn't been occupied in many weeks. (Covered with cobwebs) The pool was located in an area that looked to be shared by the adjoining trailer park, as was the laundry facility. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
We stayed hear overnight on the way back from Yellowstone and will not stay here again. Small sites, dirty and a lot of road noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
For being in a city, it certainly has a nice "hidden" feeling to it. Lots of trees. Right next to the Provo river. The site we were at was not level, but the other sites looked ok. Lots of ducks keep the guests company during the day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com