218177 User submitted reviews online!!
French Creek State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (610) 582-9680
CGID3657

French Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
201
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   2   8   9   7   7   5   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We stayed here for five nights on site C15. Fifty amp electric was fine during the entire stay and water was close by at one of the many spigots located in the camping loops. There is a four station dump station when exiting the campground area. Lots of tree cover so a satellite signal might be impossible to get. Bathrooms and showers were acceptable when I used them. Some of the sites in the C loop are for pet owners so make sure to reserve early if you have a pet that you want to bring with you. Our site accommodated our 33 foot motorhome, but parking for our toad was tight. If we visit again we would look to book the following sites: C2,3,14,15,35,44,46 or 47. They were larger motorhome friendly sites. The park is really great, we love to mountain bicycle and there are many trails to do that along with hiking. The lake area and pool is wonderful, small boat and kayak rentals are available. Rangers and campground host drive through frequently. Many things to do in the area, microbreweries, Hopewell Furnace and if you like breakfast make sure to go to Shorty's Sunflower Cafe in the Pottstown area. We also rode on the The Schuylkill River Trail that we picked up in Birdsboro. The directions, from Reading or Pottstown, take 422 to 345, follow 345 to Park road, campground is off of Park road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
We did not happen to go into the restrooms so we can't verify what the previous reviewer wrote about them. Overall, the park was very attractive and everything we expected. We got 50 amp electric and used the dump and fill, on the way in. It was pretty full Friday and Saturday with lots of families. Thursday and Sunday were pretty quiet. Everything was green and the grass had been mowed. It was tight, but workable manuevering our 40 motorhome in the park. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Arrived on Saturday and stayed four nights. On Sunday after the weekenders left the bathrooms were filthy. My wife said that human waste and blood were smeared on all the toilet seats in the women's restroom. The seats were not cleaned until a fellow camper took it upon herself to clean them on Tuesday. The park staff finally showed up with a pressure washer on Wednesday and did the women's restroom only. I never witnessed any cleaning in the men room. I did see the cleaning crew drive through without stopping each morning. The campsites were extremely overgrown with weeds. I feel sorry for any tent campers that were to use our site unless they brought a weed whacker with them. There was also a large dead tree on our site (C37) that constitutes a definite hazard for anyone camping here. There was a trailer on site with the campground host sign but we never found anyone there. They may have been here when we arrived on Saturday, I can't say for sure. The kiosk at the entrance to the camping area was unmanned for the entire time we were here. There was a sign indicating that people needed to go down the road to the main park office. We didn't bother since we reserved and paid online. No one ever checked on us to verify that we belonged on the site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We stayed at C17, an awesome site. Was large, spacious and private. Really nice CG. There are quite a few nice sites here. Lakes and pool are a short drive away. Pool was crowded so we didn't go. Maybe next time. There are some big fish in one of the lakes. The other is a trout lake that I didn't fish. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Rate reflects discount for a handicap site. This is a beautiful park, our site was enormous (C40), TV reception was excellent, and it was peaceful and quiet, even on a holiday weekend. The reason for the score of 9 is their dog policy. I feel the entire loop should allow dogs, rather than just a few sites. We were 5 feet from a dog site, but ours wasn't, so we had to leave the dog at home. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
We liked this park. Shady, good sized-sites on four campground loops. Two loops don't allow pets, and one loop offers electrical hookups. Water is available every few hundred feet in the campground loop and it tastes good! Note: the campground has no potable water at the dump station. Some sites are a tricky back-in for longer (>28 feet) trailers. On the weekend the campground filled and it seemed that everyone had a smoky fire going, which made it seem like we were camping in a forest fire. But that was only a problem on Saturday, on Sunday and Monday nights the place was virtually deserted (post Labor Day). Lots of hiking trails are in the park, and two small lakes. It's about 1 hour drive to Philadelphia from here, maybe 30-40 minute to Mount Vernon, and <5 minutes to Hopewell Furnace National Historic Site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
Great campground for a weekend getaway. Scenic, secluded and VERY quiet, with great hiking trails and lakes. Check-in was a breeze and the park rangers not intrusive. There's a no-alcohol policy, but we just 'red-cupped' it. Sites are of decent size and just far away enough from your neighbor. Not too terribly level, but passable. Electric hookup only, but a dump station is right at the bottom of the hill, and there's four of them there, which meant no waiting. Bugs were not a problem, since we went towards the latter end of March. The bathrooms were pretty dirty - and muddy, actually, but we used them for showering on Saturday night after they'd seen a lot of traffic all day, so that may have been the reason. Now when I say quiet, I mean this place is really, really quiet. We like to sit outside by the fire and grill and have drinks and play low music, but this place was so quiet, we felt uncomfortable to be out there after dark - you could not have a normal conversation without feeling self-conscious. We saw a lot of bikes and kayaks and other outdoor sports-related equipment - other campers ranged from kids in their 20's to retired folks (we're in our 40's). So overall, a nice place close to home, but SO quiet and subdued we probably won't return. We like our weekends a little more lively. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Let me start by saying we have camped here many times before and really enjoyed it. Not so much this time. I've got one work "stinkbugs". Not one or two - hundreds of thousands. One minute all was fine and then we looked out and noticed a fair amount of bugs swarming around the camp. Gradually they began making there way into our pop up camper until it was basically filled with stinkbugs. We had no choice but to dismantle camp and crank down our camper (full of the stinkbugs) and go home. The campground loop host was like "oh yeah, no big deal, I have em in my trailer too - it's that time of year and they're looking to hibernate". A bug warning on the state park website might have been helpful. Hundreds of stinkbugs in your camper - not an enjoyable weekend. We drove home and began emptying out the camper and van of supplies. We bug bombed the pop up and the next day vacuumed out hundreds of dead carcasses. It was like a family vacation nightmare. The air conditioner vent and spare tire cover were encased in stinkbugs. It was like nothing I've ever seen before. So be warned if you plan to camp here in the fall - that it's a stinkbug paradise. The one night we did stay before the invasion - the restrooms were full of the bugs - walls, ceilings, etc... We will definitely camp here again - but never in the fall. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We stayed in the "C" loop. Very shaded and quiet. As a previous review stated some sites are uneven between the pad and the ground so there's a lot of tripping. The campground loop host was nowhere to be found the 3 nights we were there. Bathrooms are clean, however, we only used the showers. Nice campground for a weekend trip close to home. We visited the Daniel Boone Homestead and Hopewell Furnace historical sites and recommend these as part of your trip. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
We stayed here early in the season. We were in D loop with no hookups. Our site was on a steep slope. Although the pad was level for the camper, there was a steep drop off just past our doorstep. Overall the campground was good, but the bath house is old. It was kept reasonably clean. There is nice hiking throughout the park, and the lake is very pretty. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$17
We stayed at French Creek for two nights in mid- September. Was disappointed with a couple of things. The paved parking pad was raised about 2 to 3 feet above the rest of the site. It was impossible to deploy the awning or lay out our mat. But the biggest downside was the continuous tripping and stumbling going up and down to the camper. Be aware, there are many sites within the campground that fit this description. Another issue was bugs. We’ve stayed here three other times and every visit we battled the insects. Bring your bug spray. For a quick weekend getaway that’s real close to home, you can’t beat this park. But, if I were planning a trip any longer than that I would drive the extra hour to Hickory Run, Promised Land or Ricketts Glen State Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
We spent the weekend here. Campground has 4 loops - some site with electric, none with water. Sites are very large and looked liked they would be great for tenters as there is so much room per site. Bathrooms are acceptable - we only used the shower as we have our own toilet. Took a hike and also used the pool - you have to drive there. It costs $7 on the weekend per person which was a little steep for our family of 4. It's very clean and huge, great for small kids especially. I believe there was a concessions stand there also, but we didn't use it. The pool is also for day groups as well so I think it can get crowded on the weekends, but again, it's a very large pool. There are boats you can rent at the lake and fishing as well. Nice camp and we actually plan to go back next weekend again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$19
Great hiking trails, took bikes, better off without them. Close to Hopewell Village, a iron forge from the 1800's Great Pool, but need to drive to it. sites are mostly level, and wonderfully wooded. 2 fishing lakes, Great place to get way to. Only one hour away from Philadelphia. Did a "guys weekend with brother and buddies, and a few weeks later, a muli-family camping trip. For something not in any tourbook, Take a Trip to Morgantown, (20 mins away) eat at Sonic and watch gliders be pulled into the air by single prop planes and glide back down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$19
This is a very nice state park with lots of hiking & bicycling trails, and 2 lakes. It's one of the few state park campgrounds in PA that is open year round and allows pets. The sites are large and wooded. The parking pad is paved and raised above the rest of the site so you can't really put out your rug or awning too easily. We were in the pets allowed loop, which was completely full. The other loops had spaces available and looked quieter. Hopewell Furnace National Historic Site is a nice trail walk from the campground, and is well worth the visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
We’ve been to French Creek numerous times and as always this is a very busy and crowded campground, especially on weekends. Campground is set up into 4 loops. The A and D loops are non-electric and the B and C loops have a mix of electric / non-electric sites. C loop also has a limited number of pet sites. Entire campground is located within a very wooded area, most sites are well shaded. Our site had a nice and level asphalt pad for parking, picnic table and fire ring. Be aware, the online reservation site said our campsite was setup to accommodate a 40’ motor home. Once I backed my small 20’ trailer onto the “extremely” narrow pad there was no possible way for me to deploy my awning. The parking pad and barely 2 feet of ground around it suddenly sloped approximately 3’ down into the area of the table and fire ring. The “sitting and cooking” area for our site was over 20’ behind and below our trailer. On some of the adjacent sites this was more like 50’ to 70’ away from your parking pad. In my opinion these sites were setup more like a “walk in” tent site. Someone who likes to “set up shop” under their awning and next to their rig would be completely disappointed with these sites. Rangers patrolled often. Rest rooms were dated, but clean. Only 2 shower per loop required some waiting time on the weekend. Ranger programs were excellent. No trash cans within the camping loops, so a nightly trip to the dumpsters by the registration hut is required. Hiking trails are numerous and very rewarding. We camped here in August and it was very hot, muggy and buggy. This campground is not in the mountains so you don’t get the cooling effect of being in higher elevations. Campground is very close to home and is rather convenient for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Even though I am not a resident of PA, I think it's nice when a state is willing to favor it’s citizens with any discount. Even senior citizens receive a small discount. Too bad my own home state doesn't offer the same perks. French Creek State Park is located about 30 minutes from an outlet mall outside Reading, PA, so that was OUR ulterior reason for choosing this particular park. Over the last two months, we have also decided that state parks generally to fit our camping needs a little better than the private campgrounds. So we were anxious to see how French Creek stacked up against the two state parks we had visited in western New York. Quiet hours are supposed to be from 9pm to 9am with the park divided into four main areas (loops); one loop dedicated to campers with pets. About half of the sites have electricity and none have water or sewer hookups. Despite this, the vast majority of sites are spacious and wooded, making them attractive to both tent campers and RV'ers alike. Judging from the number of hikers spotted and the dense forest around the park, there must be some marvelous trails available. We did not visit the pool or rest rooms so cannot comment of either of these. French Creek State Park is well worth a revisit. The sites are generally shady and can accommodate large rigs, although they just announced a new policy that will allow only one vehicle per site beginning later this month (Aug. 2007). Reservations are strongly recommended, especially if camping on a weekend. Also be sure to follow the directions obtained from the park website. We made the mistake of relying entirely on our GPS and ended up snaking our way thru the countryside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
French Creek is a very nice state park and one that we try to stay at several times a year. Two of the four camping loops have some electric sites and one loop allows pets at a limited number of sites. The pet sites are scattered around the loop with no apparent pattern. There are no sites with water hookup but there are several spigots throughout each loop to get water. The shower houses are reasonably clean although they are a bit dated. The C loop has a family-assist restroom/shower behind the regular shower house. This is somewhat more modern, although whoever designed it really needs a refresher course in ADA compliance. All of the sites have a paved parking pad and most are fairly level. There are some that would be challenging to level anything much longer than a large tent trailer. There are two small (22 and 40 acre) lakes in the park for fishing and boating. The larger lake has at least one active beaver lodge. There is a swimming pool available at extra cost, although there is a discount for registered campers. It's still rather expensive, though. Neither of the lakes or the pool are within walking distance of the campground. There are usually some good ranger-led nature programs on Friday and Saturday. The ranger/naturalist really takes her job seriously and is a great asset to the park. We had contact with one enforcement ranger who seemed to take his power a little too seriously, but every other employee was very professional and friendly. Since last winter quite a few trees have been felled in the campground loops leaving some previously shaded sites almost clear-cut. Some pines have been planted, but as of now, not many. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
A great state park with lots to do. We camped over Fathers day and the park was crowded but no lines for showers (very clean and private) Rangers were around a lot which is fine they want everybody to have a good time but be respectful of the rules. We are already planning next year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
Very nice CG. Site was very nice, level and very close to playground. French Creek has a lot of biking and hiking trail and a very beautiful lake. Will definitely stay here again, price can't be beat.. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
For the most part, I would recommend this campground to anyone. The price is right and it includes electricity. Pros: A lot of sites are available though there is a limited amount of pet sites. You can't touch the price as it's a state park. All the sites are wooded. The bathrooms were cleaned 11 of the 14 days we stayed. There are grocery stores, laundry facilities and of course Wal-Marts within a 30 - 45 minute drive from the park. Cons: A limited amount of pet sites. During the peak summer season it is hard to find a pet site which is discouraging. I did find one of the park rangers to be a little too "Robo Cop" in his demeanor. On one particular day, he stopped at nearly every site jotting down something, I'm guessing license plate numbers, etc... and about an hour later he returned stopping at several sites. Mine was one such site and we were greeted by his talking down to my in-laws who had parked in a painted spot by the bathrooms. Apparently it's forbidden to park there unless you're using the bathroom. The other rangers we saw and spoke with were very pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
We decided spur of the moment to go camping Father’s Day weekend. Have to say that the Pa. State Park reservation website is an excellent tool in finding campsite availability. Check-in was smooth and painless. All park staff were friendly and courteous. Roads within the park were paved, most seemed wide enough for large class A’s. We were in loop “D” where there were no hook-ups. Our paved site accommodated my pop-up and pick-up truck with room to spare. There was plenty of room next to the pad if an additional tent or screen room were needed. All sites in our loop were heavily shaded. Bring your blocks of wood, as most sites were not very level. Overall we were very happy with our site. Campground was filled to capacity but it sure didn’t seem that way. Our site backed up to loop “C” so we were completely surrounded by occupied sites. Everyone around us practiced proper campground etiquette. No hollering or carrying on whatsoever after dark. Did hear one barking dog in the middle of the night coming from one of the “pet sites”, so keep that in mind if your not a pet owner. Did not swim in the large pool so I can’t comment on it. Hiking trails were wide and well marked. Two lakes are located within the park. Fishing appeared excellent in Scott’s lake. There was a boat ramp there also. Two negatives stick out among all of the positives I’ve mentioned. First, the rest rooms in our loop were somewhat dated and dirty. In the rest room closest to our site no toilet paper by days end and the 2 small showers spilled water out of the stalls and all over the floor. Second, the rest room at Scott’s Lake was absolutely filthy with no working lights. Avoid it. Being the closest state park (with camping) to Philadelphia, French Creek makes a very convenient get away. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
Nice level paved sites in a wooded campground some with 30 amp electric but none with water. We have a 30 ft class A and most of the sites would have been deep enough for us (park map says all sites are 45 ft long but some seemed a bit shorter). We had site C14 and it was spacious and offered some privacy. Pets are allowed in many sites in Loop C. Dumpstation is easy in and out with four dump ports but no potable water for filling your freshwater tank. There are freshwater spigots in the campsite loops. This was a very nice park not too far from Valley Forge National Historic Site. Our nightly rate is for mid-week, non-residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
Plain and simple but nice! Electric only but water fill stations spaced well. Sites a little on the short side (for 30+) but manageable. Great modern playground (although a bit of a hike). Great off-season CG. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$17
We stayed here this spring. For a state park run campground this place is very nice. Bathrooms are clean and the grounds are ok. The park has a lot of outdoor stuff to do and hiking is great. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
This was our first time at this park. The campsites were very nice, paved, and mostly level. All the people that we talked to were very friendly. Great trail system in the park and also a disk golf course. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$17
One of my favorite parks visited to date. Camping area is clean and was very quiet even though the loop was full. The park has two lakes for boating and fishing, 35 miles of hiking trails, excellent mountain biking trails, two disc golf courses, and an orienteering course. Sites were decent size and well shaded. The bathrooms and showers were clean. Lots to do, will stay here again, and again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com