224207 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Creek RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (619) 390-2884
CGID3670

Oak Creek RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
121
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   7   5   10   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Resort Oak Creek Resort is a wonderful community of friendly RVers, staff and management. The manager welcomed us as family, going above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The staff, fellow RVers, and even the dogs were all so friendly and the park was so beautiful it was like stepping into a Norman Rockwell painting! We stayed here for 5 months while my husband worked in the area at the San Diego Airport. (Easy on off to the freeway, but not on the freeway.) The park is laid out in a manner to accommodate extended stays (like us) weekenders and clubs. The resort has a variety of spaces, and manager was able to fit our 39 ft. 5th wheel, tow vehicle, SUV and 2 Harleys into a very nice spot. The extended stay spots are priced according to space, so no one feels slighted as you pay a bit more for a larger space, and the smaller RVs don’t have to pay the same as the larger RVs. Very fairly thought out. The resort itself is very clean with a full time maintenance staff. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with native plants, flowers and trees. The view of the mountains is incredible, especially at sunset. The crystal clear pool is tested every morning, as I observed on my early morning walks with my two labs. The laundry room is clean and the machines well taken care of. 6 front loading washers and 6 dryers. The dryers kick butt! The exercise room has exactly what one needs for a routine. A weight machine, free weights, elliptical, treadmill, bike and TV. It is also clean and air conditioned. There is a nice open area with horseshoe pits and plenty of room for other games outside the air conditioned recreation room, complete with a large kitchen, eating and meeting area as well as a pool and foosball table. Perfect for clubs and the potluck activities manager puts on for all the RVers. The mountain town of Alpine is just 7 miles away, to the east. There is a farmers market on Tuesdays starting at 3pm in the CVS parking lot. Lots of good stuff! Veggies, fruits, breads, vinegars, jams etc. Janet’s Montana Café has wonderful family style food and don’t forget to stop into the Casino Inn for food and drink. If you are a member of the VFW you must stop in and say hi at the Alpine VFW. Best view in the area from the deck. The manager will direct you to all these places as she did us. Thank you, tour guide! El Cajone, 7 miles to the west, has a wonderful friendly off leash doggie park on Madison Ave, Wells Park. You must also go to the OB off leash Dog Beach. It is located in Ocean Beach. All in all this resort rates excellent in my book. Management is a gem. The people, Rvers and staff, are some of the friendliest I have met on the road. The dogs are all well behaved and friendly with responsible pet owners, my labs, Stella and Stanley made many new friends and were sad to leave. This resort is far enough from the hustle and bustle off the city yet close enough not to be in an inconvenience. It is quiet and relaxing and I hope to be back soon as I too made many new friends!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
This is an older park up a little canyon in rolling hills a few miles east of San Diego. The park is quiet, friendly, and safe-feeling. The guests were quiet and friendly. There are lots of social activities going on all the time. Space size varies considerably; the spaces in our area were a bit tight, so look at a campground map when selecting a site, and be aware that a big rig might be a challenge. Although the park has many long-stay self-contained units, it does allow non-self-contained for short stays, which we very much appreciated. The WiFi connection is through Tengointernet, and unlike some places in our experience, it actually works here. The staff were cheerful, friendly, extremely helpful, making it a pleasure to stay. If you set out a propane bottle to be filled, it is taken care of before you know it. The buildings and grounds are very well maintained. A cautionary note: the restrooms are cleaned (very well) between 6:30 and 8:30 every morning…this could conflict with your needs or schedule, so plan accordingly. The landscaping is lovely, the birding is good, the morning and evening light on the palms and surrounding mountains was spectacular. There is a good, simple Italian restaurant about a quarter-mile down the canyon road. We got a bargain rate of four nights for the price of three, paying $132 for four nights with a Good Sam card. This is the kind of park we prefer, away from town yet close to amenities, quiet, pretty, clean, friendly. We look forward to staying there again if we get back to the San Diego area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
While travelling down the coast from Seattle, we saw an overall cross-section of what is available for RV owners. The Oak Creek RV Resort was a superb spot to rest up from our jaunt down the coast. We spent a month at the Resort and, with the help of the host, were able to enjoy many things that we would not have found otherwise. She showed us how to get 50% discounts from Macy's for all of the museums in Balboa Park, a wonderful buffet for free at a local casino, a great meal at the 94th Aero Squadron, and much more. Stop in for a memorable stay in San Diego. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
Rate is for a week using PA and 3 for 4 night stays in a pull through. Older park but nicely kept with great staff. While I liked the park you should be aware of a few things. There are only 2-3 pull throughs which are back to back back ins that you drive between. Park was built before slides so if you have them, they will almost touch your neighbor. I could not put out my awning as it would hit the one next to us. Roads are narrow and if the park is busy, it could be tough to access your site. 90% of the park are permanents (with RV's not park models) so its noisy at 6am every day when they warm up their diesels. If you have a small rig, I'd say give this park a try. Other than the things I noted, its a nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$31
If you give this campground a 10 you must have an RV smaller than 30ft. There is easy access to the park, but if you follow the sign to the office you go wrong and have to turn around (very tight). There are no pull through sites although they sold us one. They just combine two sites next to each other, where a big rig fits lengthwise but there is no room whatsoever on the sides since you will be parked between two pedestals. Pool and restrooms seem to be ok, WIFI did not work at all (although it is Tengo). To level we had to use two 2" wood blocks on one side (what we hate). Would never come back here - its a Sunland Park, no wonder. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Very nice park. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Restrooms and showers were extremely clean. Free Wi-Fi and great cable. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
The rate shown reflects the use of Passport America and four for three rate. The sites are concrete pad with gravel picnic area. Site 52 as well as other sites have a slight slope, but nothing that cannot be overcome. The grounds, baths and laundry are meticulously kept. Several full time residents who welcome visitors and their sites are also well kept. We were not uncomfortable with leaving our BBQ and carry out satellite out at all times. The swimming pool is kept at 86 degrees and the hot tub was at 104 degrees, which is perfect for us. Their kitchen facilities are available for group meetings and lunches. The park is near 2 Indian casinos and is a short 20 minute drive to San Diego. Interstate 8 is less than 2 miles from the park. We would stay here again if in the neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Well maintained and very clean park. Near I8 about 25 miles from San Diego Ca so there are lots of places to go and see. Very friendly staff and helpful. We will stay again. We were at Oak creek park for 4 weeks. My only complaint was the water pressure was low. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Used Passport America at this great park. Lady at the reception desk was wonderful. She was so helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$54
Price reflects weekly rate. The park also gave us a Good Sam Discount for the additional 3 nights we stayed beyond the week. This park is beautifully maintained. Someone is always working on the landscaping. Park is quiet. Other San Diego parks are on the freeway, this one is not. You will drive through an industrial area to get here but once in the park, you don't know it's there. Easy access to freeway for getting to the mountains or San Diego. Extremely friendly staff. Quite a few people are here for the summer but sites are kept up. Great Verizon cell & air card connection. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$39
A very nice park--clean and well maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff. Water pressure is low and at night you can hear some highway noise. Swimming pool and hot tub are great. This is a good home base for visiting San Diego, Julian and Boreggio Springs. The statues at Boreggio Springs and having apple pie in Julian are on the "must do" list. There are lots of fun stores in Julian also. We would stay here again although it is a bit pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Staff was very friendly! Grounds were very well maintained. Super quiet area with amazing mountain views! Park was pretty full, but we were only here for 1 night. Will be back again in the future when we have more time to stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
This was a clean little park that we were pleasantly surprised by. We'd never stayed here before and were wondering what we'd get, especially as we saw some rough looking RV parks on our drive to Oak Creek RV Resort. Concrete pads with gravel in between. There was a large strip of grass behind our site for the kids to play on. Many full time residents but they mainly kept their sites clean and orderly. Pool was on the small side but clean. The woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful. This RV park was a bit further outside of downtown San Diego than I thought but not too bad. Surrounding neighborhood looked a little rough but we felt safe at the campground and our belongings were not messed with at all. The residents and other campers were very friendly and sweet. There did seem to be an ongoing ant problem here. We had to put ant poison under our trailer by day two. Not many other children around but ours entertained themselves. Was an over all good experience, and the price was right too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Outstanding Value! The best RV park we've found in almost 4 years, 20K miles, including twice cross country. Clean, neat, quiet, friendly, picturesque. Great Manager who combines best professional and personal touch! We choose Oak Creek to celebrate our 50th anniversary ended up staying a week. Spotless pool and spa, with shade in right place. Little touches of quality class everywhere you look. Is a Passport America site. We will return soon. Just hope too many others don't come at the same time!! Enjoy!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
This is a good clean well maintained campground to stay in while seeing the local area. The Sun to Thur Passport America 50% discount rate is only good for 3 days, but is really economical for the San Diego locale. Be advised that Fridays and Saturdays are billed at the Good Sam 10% discount rate. The campground is tightly packed and care is needed in getting in and out of assigned spaces. The laundry is adequate for a park of this size, however the $2.50 for washers and $2.00 dryers is a steep price to pay for clean clothes. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
I found this park to be exceptionally clean and well kept. The office person was extremely nice and knowledgeable about the area. Rate paid was Passport America ($17.50). Many of the residents are full-time and leave during the day for work or military duty, so this was a very quiet park. Although the amenities are many, I did not make use of anything beyond the ice machine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
This is one of the nicest parks we have seen. It is immaculate and well maintained. The pool was warm enough to swim on a mid-50's winter day, and was very clean. The bathrooms were also clean and did not smell. My two sons loved the foosball and pool table (free to play) in the rec room. The neighborhood felt very safe and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The sites all have concrete pads with gravel around them, but there are lots of shrubs and flowers. We saw no ants; we stayed for 2 nights. The excellent rate (just 25 miles from the San Diego beaches) was the Passport America rate for 3 people. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$57
Just left this campground. The roads are narrow and the sites are short. We have a 33 foot travel trailer and backed it in, and the hitch was sticking out in the road. All of the sites are gravel with concrete pads. Ants are a serious problem. Laundry room cost $2.50 wash and $2.00 dry, no change machine. The grounds are well maintained, the hot tub was clean, however, the pool was cloudy and dirty from all of the people in it. Not exactly a great place for kids, as there is nothing for them to do, just swim. Dogs are allowed, but there are many restrictions, making it difficult to even keep them there. A key is needed to enter the bathrooms, and to enter and leave the pool area. The surrounding neighborhood is a little rough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
It looks like an older park that has been revamped, so the sites are small and very close together. The pool area is nice, but the club house, office, and restrooms had a bad odor (like a dirty cat box), which lasted the entire weekend. The sites are gravel and cement, and you park your car next to your awning. Our FW barely fit in the site (no. 36) - even though we were backed against a tree, the front of the trailer was right at the road. There are a lot of full-timers, but they don't have stuff lying around, so it wasn't that noticeable. This campground did look nicer than Vacationeer and Circle RV, which were nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$46
We lived in the San Diego area when this park was first opened 20+ years ago. It was not designed for the big rigs of today but is a very nice location and convenient to area attractions. The new owners have worked with area attractions and offer discounts for them and golf to park visitors. They have always had problems with ants so we come prepared with ant spray. We stayed for a week. The price has gone up considerably over the years but again like all real estate location, location, location. We visit the area every 18 months or so because of family in the area so will continue to return in the future unless a new park with big rig sites opens but with the cost of land that is highly unlikely. 3/4 of the sites are taken by monthlies so there does not appear to be a lot of in and out. Interior roads are very tight and trees in desperate need of trimming. Pool is very clean, neat and well landscaped. Spa is wonderful. Cable did not work at our site and tree needed to be trimmed for us to back in. Maintenance was quick to respond to trim the tree, cable repair took a couple of days. The only reason I don't rate this higher is because of tight interior roads, low tree branches along the way and small sites. For big rigs reservations are a must due to limited sites availability for 40 footers, motorhomes or fivers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2005
$45
Impossible to park RV at most sites. Park is infested with ants. Sprinklers will rain on your rig and leave hard water spots. Management is not very responsive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
Narrow streets, small sites, some long term visitors, but generally OK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com