224122 User submitted reviews online!!
Gram and Pap's Fort Bellefonte Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (814) 355-9820
CGID3680

Gram and Pap's Fort Bellefonte Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   3   9   7   7   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
This is our favorite campground in the area and we have stayed at this park many times, this trip for 12 nights. Staff has always been most friendly and helpful and throughout the years, many changes have been made to upgrade the grounds and facilities. More attention should be given to the big rig sites to make them more level. We almost always have to work a bit harder here to find the most level spot of the pull-through. On this last visit, our chief complaint was the Wi-Fi. It would work for awhile, then go off. Most often it was off and calls to or stopping by the office became tiresome. We use our laptop for business and need dependable Wi-Fi. This is our chief complaint overall and we will definitely make a return visit. Just love the view of the mountains and rolling meadow here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Power was good. Water pressure was good. The Wi-Fi was rather poor at our site. Site was big enough for our trailer, however the truck would not have fit. Thankfully the park person allowed to park it in the next vacant site. That was very nice. Unfortunately I reduced the rating due to the very poor location of the sewer dump, very narrow path/road and you really can only dump from one way. This just wouldn't work for me so I had to find another dump site at a Flying J. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
We spent a single night in a pull-thru, heading west. Our site was fairly level, with full hookups. Cable TV worked well, and the view of the Pennsylvania mountains from our site was very pretty. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome. Nice park. We recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Passport America Rate $24. Is now called “Fort Bellefonte campground (CG)”, not “Gram and Pap’s Fort Bellefonte CG”. Convenient on/off I-80. Typical Pocono Mountain campground – old, terraced sites on side of hill, gravel roads & sites, many trees. But thankfully for us, a couple of sites are open enough to get satellite from our roof antenna. Good 50 amp electric. Overnighter sites could use some leveling. Restrooms old and dark, office old, dark, and damp smelling. Owners friendly and accommodating. Trash way off in far corner was not convenient. Entrance trees need to be cut back for larger rigs. Quiet. Nice view out over field. Would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Easy on and off I-80 so great for anover night. Our rate reflects a Passport America discount. The road up to our site was a little steep but not a problem. Our site (66) is great--almost level side to side. Some of the pull-throughs are not very level front to back. No noise from the highway. The owners were very nice. We would absolutely stay here again. Would recommend reservations if during Penn State football season We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This campground could use some sprucing up. Sites unlevel and in need of some landscaping. Areas landscaped were full of weeds. Felt rushed when checking in. Trash only at exit but far off the driveway. Fire ring was right next to a singed bush and too close to the RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
While we stayed here, several improvements were being made including installation of a pool. Biggest complaint is how unlevel the sites are. Picnic table and fire pit are on a slope. Otherwise, its a quiet, clean place to stay. Not many activities on weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Campground is set on a terraced hillside. Roads are gravel and a bit steep in places. Sites were also gravel and were level side-to-side but dipped a bit front to back. We had a long-pull through with 50 amps and were able get satellite. Wi-Fi was okay, but a bit slow. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. About half the sites had seasonals. We came mid-fall and leaves had not been raked in a while, but otherwise the campground was clean and relatively neat. Our rate reflects an Escapees discount and would normally be $48. We stayed one night and would stay again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
This park has nice pull throughs. Most only 30 AMP but adequate for AC. It was labor day and the 1st Penn State game, so it was packed. Only 1 small bathroom to accommodate that many people is inadequate. They did bring porta-pottys in for the football season, but showers were never clean just because of the volume of people using them. We would stay here again, just not during Penn State football games although it was a lot of fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Nice, level sites and great at check-in. Very nice landscaping. Again, the fire-pits were not cleaned out between campers. For some reason, there were four dump trucks that parked in the back of the campground (where we were) and they ran them into the campground at odd hours. Probably from some construction site in the area. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
Good location to I-80. Has big pull-through sites at the top of the hill. Nice place to stop for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
A VERY nice campground. Terraced spaces on the side of a hill: can see over the rig directly in front of you. Was pretty easy in/out, however some might be kind of tight for larger class-A's or trailers. Has 30'+ wide spaces, table and fire ring, mostly hardwood-shaded sites. Bath house was 8/10, laundry has three washers and two dryers, also 8/10. A few seasonals, but no "permanent-looking" rigs. Friendly folks in the office. Shuffleboard and mini-golf, goats/geese/chickens for the kids to feed. A LOT of work goes into flowers/gardens/grounds. Had large closely-mown fields out front, if kids want to play baseball or football. Surprisingly quiet, considering I-80 is about half a mile away. Easy on/off I-80, and I-99 dead-ends at this intersection of I-80, becoming SR-26. Groceries one exit south on I-99, in Bellefonte. Wal-Mart is about 20 minutes. Watch out for buggies on the secondary roads as this is edging on Amish country. No Good-Sams or PPA discounts, but they do have 10% off for active/retired/former military: which, when compared to local State Parks, beats the a la cart fee system (fee for shower, fee for parking, fee for electric, fee for...). We'll definitely be staying here next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Campground was fairly empty, and very quiet. Big dip at entrance - go slow! Gravel roads and sites with grassy areas for picnic table area. Had trouble with electrical post - 50 amp didn't work - Had to disconnect and change sites. Post was checked by staff, who said it was fine, but it wasn't. Had good Satellite reception, but many sites had trees which may interfere with reception. Need to request clear site. Bathrooms older, but clean. No other amenities, but we were just passing through for one night. Staff friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This was our second stay here. The sites are large and easy to exit and enter. The couple who checked us in were very helpful and made our stay very pleasant. Fort Bellefonte is a great campground to explore the area and all that Penn State has to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Quiet and clean, but as noted, it is on a hill and terraced into it. No problems with car and 38 ft MH. Easy to maneuver We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
I had a "pull through" site that had a steep grade at the entrance of the site which caused the back end of the trailer to drag. I would have been better off backing into the site. Once I got into the site it was fairly level. Sites are close together with fire rings close to the rigs. Staff was very friendly. Campground was very clean and well maintained. I-80 is close by but I didn't think the traffic noise was bothersome. I would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Park consists of generally level sites built upon a terraced, wooded hillside. Gravel interior roads and sites. Adequate clearances for maneuvering in most areas. Some noise from nearby I-80, but not too bad. Few amenities beyond basic hook ups, fire rings, a volleyball court and some horse shoe pits. We did not use the rest rooms or showers, but while they could use some remodeling, they appeared clean enough. A sign said that they would be closed for cleaning on Thursday and that appeared to be the only time they were cleaned. A new and relatively elaborate mini golf course on the property seems aimed more at the local market rather than the camp ground. Fee charged, but one game free with camp stay. Small flock of goats provide some interest. Amish folks come to the camp sometimes with fresh baked goods for sale. We had a funny experience here. As we were preparing for departure, a herd of about 10 cows came running (yes, really running) through the campground. Apparently they escaped from a nearby field and were running for their freedom. No one was injured and eventually the cows found some new pasture and settled down. The primary reasons to stay here seem to be either an overnight stop while travelling I-80 in PA or to work or play near State College or Penn State U. If you go to the PSU campus, be sure to try the wonderful ice cream at the Creamery, located near the Food Science building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Visited campground in May 2008-Crowded-90% of sites occupied by pipe line construction people. As many as 3 pickup/work trucks at each site. The roar of diesel trucks leaving at 6AM was not pleasant. Understand(from the pipe line people)that they may be there until September. We had camped at this campground for 14 years-this was the worst!! New owner-absentee-putting in chickens, petting zoo? Dogs running loose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This campground is under new ownership. It looks like some work is being done to it. The pull-through site we had was long enough though not very wide. We needed our extra long sewer hose due to the location of the sewage on our site. Our neighbor needed an extra long tv cable to reach his hookup that was on another site. The wifi worked some of the time. Used the restrooms once, and while they are in need of a remodel, they were clean. There is a miniature golf course and the office has a store with some basic stuff. Not many kids here as there wasn't much for them to do. Our nightly rate was with our Good Sam discount. Would probably stay at the KOA a mile down the road next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Whenever we are not Boondocking or Tailgating at a Penn State game, we find this to be the most desirable of the "two" Campgrounds in the area. We find it to be quite scenic, well maintained, and with very helpful staff. It is also very dog friendly with large amount of open space. We have never used the bathroom facilities nor are we interested in a pool. It is also 15 minutes from Downtown State College. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Nice clean campground. Most all sites are pull through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
Really nice campground. Out dated but very very well maintained. Very clean. Seasonals where unnoticed if they are there at all. I typically would not give such a high rating to campground with limited amenities but this one was so pleasant I had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
Very nice owners and well kept sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Beautiful views from campground. Very lovely setting right off I-80 near State College. Exceptionally friendly and helpful owners. Spacious sites with full hookups. Wifi available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$35
Nice for an overnighter. The Amish wagon came by selling goodies, and there are great views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com