220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Gualala River Redwood Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (707) 884-3533
CGID3683

Gualala River Redwood Park

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   8   10   8   10   5   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$59
Lovely location, as are nearly all the CGs along this coast. But whoever indicated it is big-rig accessible was too generous. It took us 20 minutes to get to our site, and there were a few places I didn't think our 35' RV and pickup would clear. Although the web site and CG signage say the price for a non-riverfront site is $42, but we were charged $59. They didn't send a confirmation email or tell us this when we made our reservation, so it came as an unpleasant surprise. The mosquitoes were terrible, and some of the staff had quite the attitude. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45¥
This was our second year at this park. Upon arrival we made reservations for next year. It is a magnificent setting, ginormous ferns and redwood trees. The park is spotless. The only complaint is the bathroom stalls are soooo small that you can barely turn around in them to lock the door, much less sit down. But it is camping isn't it? I want to mention our best discovery - and that is to buy your firewood at the hardware store up the hill - better wood $15 & $25 bundles. Zz top 'Steve' will load it for you. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
This site is set amongst giant redwood trees on the bend in the river. We had a site by the river and had great fun playing on the beach. We only stayed 1 night in a 31ft RV. We had a few problems getting onto our pitch due to the large trees and had to ask both sets of neighbors to move their cars to allow us to maneuver into place. The hookups are not in the most convenient spot being at the front of the pitch. The bathrooms are old and in need of updating, showers are coin operated and you have to go through one changing area to get to the far shower which was a bit strange. Other than that the park is brilliant, with lots of facilities and activities in amongst the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
First I must say that no, this park does not have all the modern conveniences of wi-fi and cable, but what it does offer in outdoor beauty can't be beat. They have ping pong tables, bocce ball and horseshoes, so get out and enjoy the outdoors instead of sitting in your rv on your laptop!! The quaint town of Gualala is a short drive or 20 minute walk away. The beach is also a 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk. The sites are very large, which makes it nice not to have a neighbor 3 feet away. This place is definitely one to visit, bring the kids and enjoy the beauty of the California coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is a lovely campground located on the Gualala River. The pros: The redwoods and the river location; for the most part, large sites; very well kept campsites; near golf, town of Gualala. The cons: Water & electric hookups are not conveniently located; the restroom/shower facility needs to be updated; river sites with "unauthorized trails" to the river cause people to walk through campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This park is a privately owned family oriented campground and dog friendly (pit bulls and Rottweilers are not permitted). When my family was here on a busy weekend in July, it seemed like 2/3 of the population was under 3 feet tall. Maybe the facilities are not the most modern, but they do have power and water at each site, flush toilets, hot showers, a laundry room and a small store. If you are looking to beat the heat of the valleys in summer and find a place that is as fun for the kids as for yourself, a place where you can bring other families and group camp, or just be by yourselves on the bank of the river, then Gualala River Redwoods Park deserves your consideration. There is a beach for sunbathing, a river to swim in, the Pacific Ocean nearby, a recreation area with basketball, volley ball, ping pong, bocce and horseshoes. The old growth redwoods that were lumbered at the turn of the 20th century have left huge stumps that have mellowed over time into fantastic forts and hiding places for kids to play on. The new management takes their responsibility for safety and insuring that everyone has an equal opportunity to enjoy a peaceful camping experience seriously, as well as their stewardship of this fragile riparian ecology. The 5 mph speed limit is enforced because of all the children, and Quiet Time starts at 10 PM. A CPR trained night watchman roams the park after dark, ready to respond to everything from a request for firewood or ice to complaints about your neighbors to a medical emergency. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The park has been here for 41 years and many of the campers we met have been coming since they were kids themselves. We certainly look forward to returning to this beautiful and well maintained redwood grove next summer. My advice is to read the camp rules on their website and decide for yourself if that is the kind of camping experience you are looking for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$42
This campground has always been our favorite. We have recommended it to all our RV friends and have been going there for 6 years. The sites are large, the camp hosts are very helpful and the camp is kept very clean. I recently called to make reservations for my husband and myself and 2 dogs and were informed that there was a red flag on our computer file because we have a Rotweiller/Shephard mix dog and they will no longer allow us to bring her to the park. I just want travelers to be aware that this is not a park for guests with rots or pit bulls (we have been bringing our pit bull for 6 years with no problems until now). Pet owners, check with the campground before you arrive to make sure they will accept your pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
What a beautiful park, we found this park via the internet and it looked exactly like the pictures. We were on a family vacation with another couple and stayed here for a week, it was close to several historic sites to make day trips to. We stayed here in August and found that we were there during the black berry season, which grow wild in and around the park. Management was very friendly and helpful once we arrived, only problem is highway 1 is not for the faint of heart and the park is a very tight fit for large RV's We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
We took a trip up north along the Mendocino Coast (no reservations in advance) and this was our favorite RV resort type of campground as far as the scenery was concerned. We arrived on a Wednesday and the park was relatively empty and spacious. It was also very quiet and just beautiful (extremely green, with redwoods everywhere and heavily shaded). Unfortunately, it gets really crowded on weekends and the crowds started arriving on Thursday, and they could got pretty noisy at night. We like solitude when camping. This was a very family-oriented place, with a playground area, ping-pong table and lots of other stuff. You can hike along the river bed, too and take a dip in the water. I would have given a 10 rating if it weren't so crowded and noisy on the weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$36
For a family campground it doesnt get any better than this. Nice people KIDS EVERYWHERE lots of fun: swim in the river , horseshoes, ping-pong, volleyball, basketball, kids playground; it is the ideal FAMILY campground. Tighter than the normal rv park with a 31' 5er (50' overall). It is the forest type rustic feel campground, grocery store, and doctor within 2 miles of the park which we have used 3 times with sick kids :( We have been camping here since 1998 and it hasn't changed a bit. Undiscovered with most RV'ers, but tenters and tent trailers are everywhere. Reserve EARLY for holiday weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com