223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Isaac Creek COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (251) 282-4254
CGID3700

Isaac Creek COE

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   9   10   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
"Remote" is the word I would use to describe Isaac Creek Campground. Literally at the end of the road. If you want to be away from it all, this is a great place to be. Pack well, it's about 15 miles back to Monroeville, and at least 8 to the nearest country store and fuel. CG check-in was fast and efficient, hosts were friendly. They had our Recreation.gov reservations ready and waiting, it didn't take more that a minute to register. Our site was on the Alabama River, albeit about a 150 foot walk over to the edge of a boulder-lined embankment overlooking the river/navigational channel. Electric and water worked quite well, no voltage issues. Pad and picnic/sitting area was clean. Nice mix of sun and shade. Bathouses were clean and well maintained, although the mirrors left something to be desired in terms of reflective quality. Laundry in each bathouse. Cell service through CSpire was 3 bar with 1G service, AT&T service was 2 bar, both steady. Good DTV service was from Pensacola/Mobile, and included ABC, CBS, and PBS, a few independents, and including continual weather on Ch. 5.2. Campsites 1-6 and 56-60 are gravel surfaces. All others are concrete pad with a fine gravel tent pad/picnic/sitting area. Sites 9-31 are on Isaac Creek, a muddy but picturesque backwater popular for fishing. Sites 32-42 are on the Alabama River. Sites 42-55 are interior sites. Sites 36-42 are first come/serve non-reservable. Bicycling was fantastic, with miles of roads and several miles of off-road riding along levees and trails. Cypress swamps were beautiful. We scared an alligator, and it scared us, so cool! Birdwatching was outstanding, over 65 species. Great Egrets everywhere. Botanical biodiversity incredible. There is a factory outlet for Lee/Wrangler/Vanity Fair with true outlet prices on irregular garments. A warning for driving: About 2 miles east of the dam is a small cluster of houses, a yello snake road warning sign, and a sharp curve right and downhill. Very dangerous if going to fast, especially for an RV. Be careful when leaving. We found the campground to be used mostly for fishing, but some people were there simply to relax. We would camp here again after several years, but would not want to go too often because of the limited amount of activities available in the surrounding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
That this campground is remote goes without saying. Nonetheless, we loved staying here and would do so again. We swapped our river view pull through for a first-come first-served lake front back-in and drove into the site face-first to enjoy the peaceful view (you need to have enough hose and electric cable length to do so, but it was oh so worth it). A great campground to just chill - great for those who like to fish. We left a day early to get ahead of a storm that was heading in the direction of our next campground, and the hosts were very understanding and refunded the last day's camping fee without us having to ask them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$9
Nice COE campground with very helpful people running the place. Basically a place for boaters on the rock lined river/canal. We just did an overnight stop and it is probably too far away from anything for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
This is a very nice Corps of Engineers park on the Alabama River about 10 miles outside Monroeville, AL. The sites are paved and level, the hosts were friendly and helpful. It has great playgrounds for the kids, but no ability to swim in the river. The sites back on the creek have docks for boats. If this campground had a swimming area, it would be a 10. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$9
We have been here many times and each time I have the same and only complaint. I would give it a TEN, except there is a chronic 50 amp LOW VOLTAGE issue here for the past few years. I have a power monitoring system (Progressive) and believe what it tells me. Each time I'm here, whether winter or summer, the voltage on leg 1 drops to very low levels, down to 103 or less. Leg 2 is better but not great! Several times, my power monitor will shut down due to voltage under 103. So I am only able to run one AC at a time, and it's in the 90s. The park is full now for Memorial Day, but when it's pretty empty, same story. Otherwise a great place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Beautiful campground with nice level concrete pads. Lots of trees - lots of shade. Camp sites are not crowded together. Playgrounds for kids. From Monroeville, AL go 8 miles north on St Road 41 to county road 17. West follow signs to campground. When leaving the park retrace you steps to St Rd 41 - otherwise your GPS will take you down a narrow dirt road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$9
Another one of the great COE campgrounds. Rate is Senior Pass discount. Well laid out, and maintained. Easy hookups and level concrete pad sites. Nice area for family activities. We had a riverside site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
WOW! What a wonderful campground. We really love all of the COE's, but this one was our favorite, so far. BIG sites, super quiet, great roads for motorcycling. As others have said, it's quite a ways from town, so bring what you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
This is a beautiful campground just north of Monroeville. It has sites on the Alabama River and on a creek. It has two bath houses that are really clean. It also has a lot of activities for children; a playground, basketball court, and volleyball set-up, but bring your own balls. It has level concrete pads and large lots and some have attached piers. We will camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Very nice COE campground. Most sites could handle any rig. Some are very deep. Most of the sites are heavily wooded. 35-40 are lake front and only partially wooded. Would stay here again. Pretty far from the closest store so bring what you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
Beautiful COE park that would rate a 10 if it had sewer and was closer to some activities. Most pads were concrete and very large. You can get river front or creek front sites. Friendly assistants. Take your boat to get the most from this park. This was our second stay and we will go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$16
A very nice COE campground on the Alabama River north of Monroeville, Alabama. The campground has river sites and creek sites. There are 2 bath houses, both very nice and clean. This campground is quite a ways from town so bring everything you need. Ice is sold at the attendants entrance station. You are close to the Claiborne Dam and there is a small museum you can go and visit at the dam site. Would have rated a 10 if it had sewer hookups. Will come visit here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
Isaac Creek is a Corps of Engineer park located at the intersection of Isaac Creek and the Alabama River, just north of the Claiborne Lake Lock and Dam, which is about 15 miles northwest of Monroeville, Alabama. All the roads leading into the park (SR 41 and CR 17) are paved, although some are a little bumpy. The park is very quiet and secluded as the nearest store is approximately seven miles away. Most of the sites are level concrete pads with crushed stone patios typical of Corps parks. We had a very nice shaded site on the creek side with our own personal dock. Our site was so long that a 40 foot rig could have parked in front of us after we unhooked. There are many sites in this park that would be more than adequate for any big rig. The reservations website listed our site as less than 60 feet long when in fact it was probably well over 100 feet long. The only thing we didn't like about the park was the number of vehicles. There were probably at least a dozen sites with a camper and three vehicles. More than one site had a camper, four vehicles, and a boat. There were several vehicles parked along the road and in the grass. The road going through the park is a double-lane two-way road. Navigating the park was not a problem despite all the parked vehicles. The park was very quiet at night. Due to the dense forest, we were not able to get satellite TV. However, being able to watch the alligator swimming in the creek out our rear window made up for that deficiency. Needless to say, this is not the place to plan a swimming trip for the kids. We thought the nicest sites were numbers 21 through 30, with 30 being the largest and most shaded and having access to the nicest dock on the creek. While a vast majority of the sites are in the woods, there are some sites on the river and those have little or no shade. The park has several nice playgrounds for the kids and gazebos for the parents to relax. The road makes a big loop that is nice for walking or bike riding. We were there on Memorial Day weekend. So, there was plenty of boat traffic on the creek. Sites 7 through 30 are located on the Creek and sites 31 through 41 are located on the Alabama River. The remaining sites are in the woods. I believe all sites have 50 amp electric service and plugs for any service less than that. The brochure says the park is located near Camden and Claiborne. The closest town that would be on any map is Monroeville, so that is where I listed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com