206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Penninsula State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (920) 868-3258
CGID3705

Penninsula State Park

Camp Information
Sites
468
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   10   8   10   10   7   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
What a difference a year makes. This park (along with other WI state parks) had some vintage and not-so-reliable electric posts. However, a recent state initiative has resulted in 50 amp upgrades to several state parks, including Peninsula SP. We camped in Weborg Campground which typically requires reservations a year in advance. Very private campground that is right on the lake. Verizon 4G service is good. Nearby Fish Creek has many shops and good restaurants. In fact, most of Door County itself is a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
We camped in Weborg site #104: one of the best sites in the park as it has a direct view and access to Lake Michigan. There are only a handful of sites in Weborg which makes it very secluded and private for a state park. Plus, you're in walking distance of Fish Creek which has great shops and restaurants. We could not have asked for a better location. However, like many older Wisconsin state parks, the electric hookups can operate poorly, especially in bad weather: like we had during our stay at Weborg. After a rain storm we were unable to get an air conditioner running off our electric pedestal. And in 90 degree humid weather a great location was not enough to keep us here and we left early: after reserving the site a year in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
We camped at site #103 in the Weborg loop of Peninsula State Park.. This is a 30 amp electric only site. We've camped here before in a smaller (35') Class A, but it was difficult maneuvering our 41-footer. We clipped several bushes and trees trying to get in and out of our site. Also, site #103 is not very level. We wanted to pull into the site with the front of out RV facing the lake, but could not do it as we would have been too out of level. So we ended up backing in. However, this loop of Peninsula SP is well worth it. The views are breathtaking. This park has superb hiking and biking trails. In addition Fish Creek is a short drive (or bike ride) away and has an abundance of restaurants and stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Excellent location for visiting Door County. Many activities available within park: bike and boat rentals, hiking and biking trails, boat launch, nature center. In summer, there is live theatre performances. We stayed in Tennison Bay campground, one of several in the park. Sites were large, level, shady. Would definitely stay here again. The "pad" for the RV/trailer is dirt, not gravel. It rained the first night, so we had a mud puddle. Then it dried out and got very dusty. Good showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Beautiful state park in Door County, close to shops and restaurants. Very busy during the summer and fall. There are many miles of trails for hiking and biking. Have enjoyed every one of our visits but the quiet off season times are the best for enjoying the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26?
Door County is a wonderful place with a wonderful State Park. Showers were clean and so were the rest rooms. Lots of biking trails. Great place to see a sunset. Will be back later this year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Beautiful park. Not as many activities as your standard "themed" park. I wish the park had a water hook up, but there are sites that you can fill up your tank before you get to your site. Fish Creek is nice but make sure you bring plenty of money because it is expensive. Overall it's a nice park with lots of views. If you want to go hiking or mountain bike riding then it's a great place. I went with my parents who are not able to do these activities so it wasn't as good for us. I would return for the fishing though. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Absolutely beautiful, very wooded. Nice beach area but parking near beach can become limited, try to take your bikes. This is a wonderful area for those who want to experience nature through camping, biking, hiking, and swimming. Watch out if you have a very large camper, this place is heavily wooded. Check out the bat house at night. Oh, and the fried onion rings in the beachside deli were great, nice and fat! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
Beautiful location - really enjoyed biking and hiking! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This is the premiere state park in Wisconsin. There is tons of things to do including, 30 miles of bike trails, many paved, swimming at the beach, light house tours, hiking, boat rentals, etc. Stayed in Tennison Bay site 304e which was very private. The next door sites were 30 yards away with bushes in between. Right outside the park is all of Door County with fish boils, cherry tours, mini golf, etc. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
We just loved this park. We stayed in South Nicolet Bay Campground (764E) for 4 nights and Tennison Bay (438E) for 2 nights. We preferred Nicolet Bay due to the proximity to the swimming area. Also, the sites seemed a bit more private there as well. The bathroom and shower buildings are due for replacement as they do not compare to the buildings in the Michigan State Parks. We will be back in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Had a great time here. Stayed in the Nicolet Bay section of the park. A lot of sites close together but were separated well with a lot of trees. Easy to back into sites with a 30' travel trailer. Had a great weekend! An affordable way to spend a weekend in Door County and avoid all the people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$21
This is my very favorite campground. I've camped here in the spring and fall, with plans to go back this summer. If you require full hookups, this or any Wisconsin state park isn't for you. But if you truly like to camp, it doesn't get better than this. hiking and biking trails galore, gorgeous scenery. Swimming, fishing, boating, golfing, and even an outdoor theater in the summer months. Add the fact that it's in Door County which alone is a treasure, and this makes Peninsula our favorite destination. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Great location for exploring Door County. Very good bike trails. If you like an open camp site in which you can see the clouds, sky, etc., this may not be for you as it is heavily wooded with little visibility other than the trees. Surcharge fee for non-residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
Huge park, good feeling of wilderness. There were raccoons but they didn't bother us. I would stay there again, but try to get a Lakeside tent site next time. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
Beautiful bike trails, hiking, fishing, boating and sand beach on Green Bay. The lovely tourist town of Fish Creek 1/2 mile from park entrance. Easy bike ride to town from campground. Very well maintained with large, wooded campsites. Plenty of activities in campground. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$15
Very large park on the western side of Door County peninsula. 4 main campgrounds offer a good variety of camping experiences, from smaller tent sites to large electric sites, and many in-between. Many are situated in the forest with good shade cover and privacy. The park itself is terrific for bike riding, hiking, and walking along the pebble beach. Conveniently located near Fish Creek where you can partake in the traditional Door County fish boil dinners at many of the local restaurants or browse the many interesting shops for nicknacks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com