219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Abilene RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (325) 672-2212
CGID3710

Abilene RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   8   5   3   2   5   6   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We arrived on a Sunday, which is the owner or mgr's day off. We picked a site and parked ourselves on the front row next to the frontage road and freeway. The traffic noise was noticeable, but not as bad as the u-turn was to get our 40' rig back onto the frontage road and on to the freeway. We had to ask neighbors to get the WiFi code which was fast and good. We didn't use any of the facilities. Most of the sites appeared to be filled with worker bees - as are most parks in Texas right now. It was fairly clean. We probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
The only reason I give them a 3 is that we paid for one week and after 1 night we wanted to leave and we got refunded the remaining nights. Their idea of a dog walk is nothing more than an overgrown field littered with junk and full of sand burrs. We had to carry both of our dogs out of the area as their paws were full of sand burrs; not pet friendly by any means. The real reason we left after one night is we were given a site that is no more than 30 yards from the interstate. The noise was horrible; worst night sleep I can ever remember. I would stay in a WalMart parking lot or a rest area before ever going here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$33
Park gets high marks mainly because the gal in the office is so nice. The park is about what you'd expect in Abilene. Gravel roads and sites with few trees, which was OK for us for our roof mounted satellite dish. 3 nights planned turned into 8 due to slide out problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
We stayed for one night. Site was very short for us to remain hooked-up. Many long term or permanent residents. Area could use a good clean-up. Dog walk is County Road. This is a pet peeve of mine. If you allow pets, have a dog run! Freeway noise is loud, especially, on the front row where we were parked. We would return as it's probably the better of all the Parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Sites are very short. Our motor home is 36ft, with a tow. Could not fit in first site and barely fit in the next one. Was for one night, so dealt with the truck sticking out a little at the back. Office was clean, pool area looked good. Lots of residents in this park. If you have a 40 footer, keep going unless you want to unhook. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Checked in for 7 nights. Should have taken prior reviews seriously. Small, tight spaces. Gravel sites. Right on I-20 if you have big rig. Tree tore our roof when we pulled in. Site is covered with cigarette butts and dog droppings. Wish there was somewhere else in this area that got better reviews. Don't waste your money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
The park is next to the freeway-noise all day and night. Roads and sites are gravel, just fit our 37 foot M/H with towed park sidewise across back. Park is clean, many permanents. Staff was friendly and shopping not to far away. Water, power, and cell (AT&T) was good. We would try to find something farther from the freeway next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
This is an adequate place to stay on the way through Abilene. The shower/bathroom facilities are very clean. The Wi-Fi was adequate. The park sits on I-20 so it is a little noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This is a clean park and convenient to the I-20. However, unless you enjoy traffic noise or can remove your hearing aids at night, it is very noisy. Pull through sites are short. We have a 30 foot RV and could barely fit our dingy on it also. Website advertises free coffee in office. When we checked in, there was a layer of mold floating on the half-full pot of coffee. Pool was closed. Owners were happy we were there, and were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
We had stayed here a few years ago, and we had forgotten just how noisy this place is! As far as being big rig friendly, we camped here in a 36' RV with a towed, and with 2 slides. The sites were very narrow and we barely fit lengthwise. The manager was very friendly and helpful. However, we won't stay here again because of the road noise from I-20. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
As previously reviewed the hospitality at this park is the best. Location is OK for an overnight but you have to be prepared for the I-20 highway noise!! This park is so close to the main interstate it is scary! The traffic noise does not stop 24 / 7! The park is full of permanent residents and has no atmosphere at all. The owners are lovely, the sights are level, but that is where it stops. If I was going to stay in Abilene again I would stay at another campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
I think the owners need to reevaluate what big rig friendly means. We have a 45ft motorhome and towing. We were sticking out 6' on the road in front and 6' on the road in back, our slide went from 1 tree on 1 side and when we opened the awning it went over the next camper. The park is located on top of the highway and their is a considerable amount of road noise. I had to ask the neighbor to move his truck so we could get out of our site. This is not a big rig friendly park, you can do it, but be careful. Safe place to stop in a pinch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
This is a great stop-over park. The owners are Texas friendly and very accommodating, the facilities were really very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$33
The first thing you notice at this park is the friendly owners. All the usual facilities are provided and the restrooms and showers are very clean. The Wi-Fi signal is excellent with high speed capabilities. It is just off the interstate so the noise is noticeable but not offensive. It was too cold to try the pool but it is in very good condition. If you're in the area, you should give this park a try. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
We easily pulled our 28" travel trailer & 4 door pickup into our site. Hookups are easy, and have a light if you are coming in at night. The bathrooms are squeaky clean, bright and airy. The roomy showers have the added security of a wooden outer door with locks. There are older trees, and numerous newly planted trees. Sparkling pool, perfect for summer. The owners are a gracious, welcoming couple. Everything here is clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Nice clean park. $27 was Good Sam. There were some long term rigs there, but they were well kept and tidy. The pool was quite cold. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Rate reflects Good Sam Discount. Host was very nice and helpful. Park was so close to the interstate that I would swear the big rigs moved our RV when they passed. This was the loudest park I've ever been to. Spaces were very narrow and we had to park our extra vehicle horizontal to the RV. Very crowded, very tight and very noisy. Not much else in the area. Very overpriced. We would find a different city to overnight in next time. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$32
Nice enough folks at the front desk although I must say I have to comment on not having an off-season rate. Paid rate supposedly reflects Good Sam discount. Spouse said rest rooms/showers were wonderful. Level, gravel site & we noticed someone picking up around the landscaped entry area. But holy cow, the noise from the freeway is incredible. Shame on us for not paying more attention to it when we pulled in - but when you're tired, I guess you intend to ignore a lot in the hope that you can hit the sack ASAP. Would not stay here again unless I notice some sort of sound barrier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Park was way too close to the interstate. It was fairly clean and good for overnighting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a very easy park to get to from the Interstate. Very friendly staff. Pool looked brand new and very well maintained. Wi-Fi worked perfectly. A good overnight spot. Not much to do in Abilene on Sunday, most everything is closed. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Nice clean park with a very friendly and helpful manager. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
Easy access off I-20 just east of Abilene. Good for one or two nights. Many long term working folks make the park more of a trailer park than an RV park. All utilities accessible and worked properly. Very small but clean restroom/laundry room. One shower and toilet each for men and women. Sites are long and level with above average space between spaces. Good gravel interior roads and pads. Some traffic noise from I-20. Staff was friendly. I would come back if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$26
We came in after the office closed and the check in was easy with good instructions. I like this place! If road noise bothers you, don't stay here, but I didn't mind it. They have excellent facilities and the park is clean and well kept. I like the location as it is easy to access the highway and close to restaurants and shopping. They are not rules crazy here which I greatly appreciate. We would definitely stay here again. Initially, we were going to stay at another park down the road but when I inquired their about pricing, etc...I received a rather curt almost rude email from the owner and that was enough for me to look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This park is right next to I-20. Since it was cool enough that we kept the windows closed, the noise was not a problem. The WiFi worked fine and cell phone service was good. The roads and parking sites are all gravel. There is some grass and small trees. The RV sites are a little tight and a little short for a long coach. Our coach and toad are almost 50' long and we only had an extra 4' or so. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Every thing at this park is better than average, except the showers and they are great. Really over sized and a private adjoining dressing room and very clean. Will most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We paid $27 with a Good Sam discount. Pretty barren area; just gravel with small patches of grass. Surrounding areas aren't much but we were only passing through for the night. Clean, friendly, good Wi-Fi but a little pricey based on the scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Nice no-frills park. It's not much to look at, but the managers in the office were very nice. Dirt/gravel site was level. WiFi worked well. No cable and only 5 TV stations. Pool looked nice, but I didn't use it. Laundry room had 2 washers and dryers at $1.00 each. Office, club room appeared fairly new. Bath/shower had 3 toilets and 4 showers. It was clean. Shower area wasn't too roomy for dressing. Not a destination park, but I would stay here overnight again. Convenient to I-20 and easy to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
Arrived after towing in heavy downpour. Most of park had dirt (mud) roads. We selected the only available space that didn't have water accumulation. Very tight to maneuver, partly due to vehicles parked in roadways. Pool was dirty. Shower was roomy and generally clean. Very noisy park. Highway noise and loud buzzing from heat pump in front of office. Mostly permanent residents with loud diesel trucks. Over nighters are segregated to the front of the park. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again because location is convenient compared to other options. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
We spent the month of November at Abilene RV Park and had a wonderful time. The people who ran the park were wonderful Christian people and bent over backwards to make our stay a pleasant one. The monthly price was very reasonable. They were quick to fix any problems. We enjoyed our stay there and I look forward to staying there again. The showers were fabulous with great water pressure and always clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We arrived here late after being rudely treated at the KOA down the road. This was a Sunday night and the office was closed. They had a list of sites available with 50 amps taped to the door. We chose one and pulled in. We were parked next to the Interstate but the noise was not all that bad. The next day the owner was very gracious in welcoming us to the park and gave us directions on using the free Wi-Fi...which by the way was very good. We had good Verizon Air Card coverage and enjoyed our stay. Not a destination park but has a good location if you are visiting Abilene. We will come back and stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Came in late at night and occupied a night spot as listed on the office door. The road between the office and our spot was very tight. Lots of seasonal workers and their trucks. Site was an ample length pull through with easy to find connections. When I checked in and paid the next morning the office staff was extremely helpful. They knew I came in very late (1 am) and gave me an extra discount, explaining my below rate quote. More than fine for an overnight stop in route. I would do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is a good overnight park, very close to interstate 20 but we had no problem with the noise. Old KOA park. Staff very nice and helpful. Nice pool. Bathrooms and showers are clean but old. There are signs up that they are going to remodel them. Gravel roads and level sites with good hookups. I had no problem driving in and making turns with a 34ft motor home and a toad. We would stay here again as an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
We stayed at the Abilene RV Park on two different occasions in March while attending family functions. This RV park has easy access to I-20 and is convenient to downtown Abilene. It is well-maintained with a friendly office staff. We were able to manuever our 5th-wheel with no difficulty and the site was level. Having free WiFi internet access was a real bonus! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Sites are level and easy to get into and out of. Freeway noise might be a problem as the campground is right on I-20. Strong WIFI but be sure to get the password. 2 washers and dryers, wife okayed them. Price was slightly higher than others listed with no explanation asked or given. I presented my Good Sam card so I assume I was given the discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
Arrived on Sunday early afternoon, office is closed all day on Sunday. Selected site from a list of available sites. Sites were fairly level. Most sites are being used by permanent residents. Park is located next to freeway and frontage road, very noisy. Lounge was closed because it is being used as a temporary office. Laundry room has 2 washers and 2 dryers. Could not locate bathroom and showers. Wi-Fi was available, but could not log in because I did not have the password. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$27
We found Abilene RV Park to be very nice. The new ownership has made multiple improvements. It is very clean and is also well maintained. The owners were very friendly, and they make it very easy to pull in late and hook up without having to make arrangements that night. We always do that, and then we pay the next day. It is well lit, and far enough from the interstate to be quiet. We have stayed in the KOA there, and have looked at the third park in Abilene, and have decided to always choose Abilene RV Park from now on. The woman at the KOA is very unpleasant to deal with. We go to Abilene often as one of our elderly mothers lives there, and we are very happy to have such a nice place to stay on our frequent visits. We had a nice note from the owner, after we arrived home. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
This park is close to I-20 with easy access to and from I-20, but sufficiently distant from it that road noise is not bothersome. We arrived after dark and found the park to be well lit and the angled pull-through parking slots facilitated ingress and eventual egress. There's plenty of grass-covered space between adjacent slots. The park is functional, well-maintained, clean and litter free. Major renovations are under way and are almost complete. The roads have been repaired and are fine. The laundry room and ladies' showers/ bathrooms have been completely remodeled; the men's equivalents are almost finished. I found no resemblance between the park in its current condition to that described in reviews posted in 2005. I strongly suggest that those earlier reviews be utterly ignored. I would stay here again. The park is under fairly new management, represented by Brenda and David, who are friendly and hospitable hosts. Their hospitality extended to us even after we left. When preparing to leave I had tossed a trash bag into a dumpster. The next day when we arrived home I learnt that my wife had stuffed all our laundry into that bag! A quick call to Brenda resulted in our laundry being retrieved and sent to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
This is a pretty scary-looking park: large dogs running loose (neighbors?); shabby trailers of permanent residents; open holes in road for plumbing repairs; overflowing dumpster; rutted roads (thank goodness it was dry!); just dirt, no grass. The trees were just obstacles, not shade; and although the ad said 65' big rig sites, our 62' hung over at both ends. Good point: just off I-20 (but bad if you are a light sleeper!). If ya gotta sleep, stop here. Otherwise, keep going. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2005
$17
I rated this place a "2" because in my opinion I am sure there is a worse place somewhere that deserves a "1" but I have not been there yet. How they can get a Good Sam rating is a mystery to me - also in my opinion. We pulled in the front and tried to get out by way of their circle and almost got stuck in the huge mudholes. We left. We would not stay there. In reflection, I think this is the only park we have ever turned into and just left after looking at it. We turned in and my wife said, "I am not spending the night here." And that was that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
This place is old, rundown with chug holes everywhere. No Maintenance. Most sites cannot accommodate slides. We finally got into one after trying three others. The staff would rather be somewhere else. Truly the worst park I've ever seen. It was so late and we were so tired that it had to do. This is an ideal spot for an RV park along I-20. Someone willing to put up the money and work, would have a goldmine if they so desired. It has to be rated a 1 as there isn't any lower number on the board. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com