206518 User submitted reviews online!!
Laurel Hill State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (814) 445-7725
CGID3718

Laurel Hill State Park

Camp Information
Sites
264
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   6   9   7   10   8   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Camped while attending the free weekend Bluegrass Festival in the park. Campground is typical of PA state parks, but a bit hilly. Most sites are wooded but none are pull-through. Shower houses are clean basic cement block buildings, no frills. The park is large with a very nice lake and beach area, a free family type movie every Saturday night at the amphitheater which also has a snack bar. Many park activities and programs are available for kids and adults, including hiking, mountain biking, kayaking and geocaching. Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Campground and area is extremely hilly: too dangerous and difficult for casual bike rider. Our site backed to woods and poison ivy. We had to stay on the pet loop: majority of owners didn't stop their dogs from barking. The area of CG that backs to stream had an overwhelming mosquito population. Hiking trails were not well groomed or marked. Firewood only available on weekends: park staff building was a 5 minute drive from CG. Water spigots were sporadic and few: dump station clean and easy to access. Playground was just ok. Swimming lake had a gorgeous view but the beach wasn't very nice and the water was murky. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Basic campground with no water or sewer hook-ups. Many sites are large and easy to maneuver in, but can require substantial leveling. The campsite itself does not offer any programs, but it is very quiet with nice playgrounds for the kids. Fishing and a lake are nearby. TV and cellphone reception are poor. The bathrooms and showers are standard for a state park, concrete floors with wood benches. This is a nice place to camp if you want to get away from everything and aren't concerned about amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
We stayed here 7.23.10. Very few other campers so the place was quiet. We had tenters in the site next to us; no one on the other side. They were a very quiet family with 2 young boys. The park has plenty of walking areas and is very clean. We had a fire ring and what looked like a brand new picnic table. I did notice some sites had very old tables, so maybe they are in the midst of replacing them. We would stay here again and probably will; it's not far from home. Sites are nice, plenty of trees and privacy. We did have a small stream right behind us. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This large park has a number of outdoor activities available for those who enjoy hiking, swimming, fishing or boating. As others have stated, this is a rural park where you must make your own fun. There is no Wi-Fi or over-the-air TV reception. Owners of large (30-foot plus) RVs should note that the park appears to have been designed and constructed at a time when recreational vehicles were smaller. Although I visited the park in the spring when it was nearly empty, I had difficulty finding a site that could accommodate my 35-foot motorhome. It should also be noted that in this park with over 250 campsites, only 6 supply 50-amp power. The remaining sites are marked as 20-amp. These sites actually have a 30 amp receptacle with a 20-amp breaker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We love Laurel Hill. If you like camping where you find your own entertainment (i.e. campfires, hiking, visiting the nearby beach...) you'll love it. No organized bingo, trick or treating in the middle of July, etc., can be found here. It's just what we're looking for. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Considering this is our 3rd camping outing at a campground (two previous were at Ohiopyle State Park / Kentuck) I don't have much to compare to other than 'drive through' visits to other private and public campgrounds. But considering we are not into the private activity filled campgrounds, and prefer a more relaxed park like setting and atmosphere, this campground did not disappoint. The roads are all paved as well as the majority of the individual sites, and the sites are fairly level and only need minor 'side to side' leveling, with maybe a bit more front to back leveling. Do not let this intimidate you as long as you have some leveling boards or blocks, you'll be fine. The utility hook-up (30 amp in our case) was readily accessible and in good working order. Our picnic table was likely in the worst shape of all in the campground, but it appears that they are upgrading the picnic tables as necessary. The site had a fire ring. Our site was right next to a nice little stream that provided an awesome sleeping atmosphere that was accompanied on both nights by a Hoot Owl. The restrooms are a bit older (10-15 years old), and could use a little drainage leveling. The scenery, nice tall canopy trees at our site offered cool shade, the rolling terrain of the campground all leads to a beautiful camping experience. The lake (with sandy beach) is less than a 5 minute bicycle ride, and offers a cool reprieve from the heat, and includes a nice new/clean concession stand with a park run boat, paddle boat, kayak rental facility. The setting is very quiet, and the campers (for the most part) all respected each other by doing their part to keep quiet as well. The firewood was $7.00 per wheelbarrow load (about 15-18 pieces)and a 7 lbs. bag of ice will run you $1.75, so all in all the prices aren't too bad. The Park employees made frequent rounds to make sure all was in order and they were not overly visible. I will definitely be camping here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
This was our third visit to this park. Parks in Pennsylvania don't offer much in amenities or organized activities. Sites vary in size and are from full sun to full shade. Roads are paved but hilly for bike riding. A bike trail is located less than 10 miles away at Rockwood. Showerhouses clean, heat and better lighting at updated ones. Park offers many hiking trails, beach on 63 acre lake with concessions and boat rentals, 2 boat launches, and fishing in 2 streams in addition to lake. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We visited this state park over Memorial Day weekend. Pros included a nice beach with updated concession stands; wooded, shaded campsites that offer privacy; paved roads; and friendly staff. Cons include old, dingy bath houses; some sites are small; steep hills; and LOTS of poison ivy. The general appearance was average. There was a creek in the back of our site that provided hours of fun for our three sons. There is not a lot to do at this campground, but if you want to relax, let the kids run around, and enjoy nature, you will like it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
We stayed in this beautiful park on a fall weekend. As with all state parks, this is a quiet, low key campground with decent sized sites. We also entered on the "Trent Road" side to avoid the up and down hill drive from the park's main entrance. The bathrooms were fine, clean and basic, and the showers were nice and hot--especially on a cold fall weekend. We liked that you could walk from your site down to the lake area. We plan to visit again next summer to take advantage of the renovated beach area. I guess the only downside is that the campground is hilly--not great for bike riding with small children. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
Laurel Hill State Park is my favorite campground to camp at. However, this year with the beach being closed for the entire season for renovations, it's been less crowded and was surprised even on a weekend it was rather sparse. I'm sure next year Laurel Hill will be even better with the renovated beach area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Not bad, kind of quit and not much to do in park. Have to go out side of park to do most things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
This campground is beautiful and heavily wooded; close to a nice lake with a beach in the park. Site was level and spacious enough for our 30 ft class A, we had just enough room to park our toad in front of the RV. We entered the campground with no problems by using the entrance near the tiny town of Trent. The campground can also be reached from the park entrance by driving through the park, but that road is more narrow and hilly, had one hairpin turn and one spot with tree branches that could be problematic for RV's needing about 12 ft overhead clearance. The park was extremely quiet in early October and we enjoyed the solitude. We enjoyed day trips to Fallingwater, Fort Necessity and Bradock's Grave, the Nemacolin Resort area, the Johnstown Flood Memorial and a number of covered bridges in the county. Bathrooms were clean but showers had very low shower heads and no private dressing area. This park prohibits pets and alcohol. There is a well set-up, double dumpstation with a fresh water fill spigot (sites themselves are electric only). The visitor center is very pretty, staffed by friendly, helpful volunteers and has an interesting display of CCC information and memorabilia. Rates for electric sites for out-of-state folks are $16 mid-week and $19 for weekends. We would recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$12
This is a beautiful back to nature campground. Sites are spacious and you're afforded either shaded or open sites. There is a 63 acre lake adjacent to the campground within walking distance from most of the campsites or if you prefer there is plenty of parking available at the lake itself. There is a concession stand at the lake and a large picnic grove as well. There is a large sandy swimming beach, which also includes a boardwalk with benches. There is also a concrete walkway on the dam that you can walk across. There is also a sand volleyball court and pedal and row boat rentals. There are some great nature trails located throughout the park. The campground also has an amphitheatre and during the summer months the park naturalists conduct numerous environmental programs both for adults and children. One word of caution for those pulling trailers and with big rigs, there are two entrances to the campground, you would be advised to call ahead and ask for the directions that would suit your RV. Other than the beauty of this park, what also makes it great is the price, $14.00 non-electric on a weekend, $17.00 with electric on the weekend and during the week, $12.00 non-electric and $15.00 with electric. This is by far my favorite campground! We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com