220361 User submitted reviews online!!
Homestead by the River was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (207) 282-6445
CGID3719

Homestead by the River

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   10   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
A nice park with a lot of permanent residents. But it kept up very well. When we first arrived we only had water & electricity. At this site we had excellent phone & wifi. We moved to a new site the next day that we loved because we had full hookups. But, our phone service was sketchy & we had no wifi at all. So, we'd go down by the office to use our computers. When we had service it was excellent. I've seen much better laundrys but got it done. We would stay here again if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We really loved this campground. It was just as the name states, homestead. The owners were very friendly and helped us with directions and local eating establishments. The only reason I didn't give the a 10 is that we could not get internet except right in front of the office. Campground was very nice and neat. We stayed 6 nights and it was very peaceful. I would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
It is a very nice, average size, neat campground. It appears to have a lot of seasonals, but most looked taken care of. No one was there during the week. We stayed around the back and to the right. Our site was large, full hook up, quiet and very scenic. We faced a huge open field bordered by pines, and to our right was a barn and several horses grazing behind the fences. There were other animals and just pleasant to walk around and see everything. Appeared to have a nice play area for the kids. The woman owner was very pleasant and helpful. Not sure about cable. Our internet worked perfect on our ipads. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
This is another “family” campground with lots of stuff for kids including a very extensive playground and lots of barnyard animals. Many seasonal sites that are apparently only used on weekends. The seasonals were all neat and well kept. We were here during the week so we missed what was probably a zoo on weekends. It is a very nice campground and way lower priced than most others in the area. You have a choice of FHU with 30 amp elect or W&E only with 50 amp. No difference in price. We took the FHU since we were there for 5 days. It turned out to be good voltage and satellite friendly. Not sure if you could get sat from the 50 amp sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Wow, what a nice find. The name really describes this place to a T. We co-hosted a small Rally of 8 Bounders here and everyone was impressed with the place. Very quiet and peaceful here. Most of us were in the huge pull through grass sites with 50 amps and water. Even with heavy downpours on two days we had no trouble with getting out. Might be an issue after really intense rain. Hookups are side by side, but we all had so much room between us that it was a non issue. TV via batwing and Verizon cell and broadband were both very good. This is a very good value compared to what the parks closer to the ocean charge. We paid $30 plus tax for our sites. We will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Homestead by the River stresses that they are a family campground. I have been to many campground where it is loud all night with people drinking, laughing, yelling and yes fighting and swearing. You will not find that here. One of my daughters hates camping and she loved it and wanted to stay another night and asked to come back next year. We were thrilled. She learned to ride her bike at this campground. I saw one person who drove above the speed limit and noticeably a bit reckless and she was a young girl. The team of husband, wife and father run a tight ship which for the camper who wants to get away and have peace and quiet this place is a 10. The sites are spacious, clean (no cigarette butts, and yes my husband is a smoker) and you won't find dog waste everywhere or trash. People respect the natural surroundings. The farm is wonderful for the kids and the employees could not be any more helpful and accommodating. My family will be going back next year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Park is owned by a very nice couple who are working hard to clean it up from the previous owner. There are horses, llamas, sheep, ducks and chickens. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. It is a family oriented park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
This is a very quaint, quiet campground. The staff was very helpful and friendly. What we liked most was that our dog could swim all day in the river and no one bothered us. We camped there with friends and we were able to pull up next to each other awning to awning. All in all it was a great place for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2004
$32
Has a small arm gate for "security" operated from the office/camp store that, if someone wanted to, could be bypassed by driving around the barn before the gate. We got a kick out of the British flag flying under the American Flag on a pole next to the office. Alot of seasonals. No discounts of any kind on rates. A dumpster along the entrance road where they dump the animal waste with many flies buzzing about. We paid the 31.75 and set up. Since the coach was hot from travel and we had 4 dogs with us I asked if I could run the air for an hour to cool it down. I could, but it cost me another 3 dollars extra. I paid the 3 and went to the RV to get changed. I left the door open to get cooler air until the ac had a chance to start working, then changed into a pair of shorts. I had just finished pulling on my shorts when there was a knock at the door. The lady that owned the campground was upset that the door was open and the AC was on and we were wasting electricity (That I had paid extra for). After that fiasco, things went smoothly and we had a quiet pleasnt night. Loads of goats, chickens and horses around. It was a clean and neat campground but I would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com