219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Chesapeake Bay Camp Resort was rated 3 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (804) 453-3430
CGID3728

Chesapeake Bay Camp Resort

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   1   9   2   1   6   5   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
The only thing good I can say about this park is that it is close to the point to catch the ferry to Tangier Island. The fee of $50/night was way too much for the condition of the campground, and this was off-season! The manager, owner, was semi-friendly. We had two friends coming to visit for 2-3 hours. I was flabbergasted when they wanted $7/person. I understand if they were staying overnight, but for a couple of hours!! I would not recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
I would NEVER stay or recommend anyone stay here. The lady running this place is not friendly or helpful in fact she is rude. I live in the area and was checking out places to park my camper for the summer. She wouldn't let me drive through the campground to see what types of sites were available. She wanted to know what "my situation" was and she said that if I wasn't interested in her campground "good bye". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
A return visit to this beautiful place on the water. Be sure to bring your boat for only $10 per day includes launch, mooring privileges and/or storage on lot. Covered slips for boats 22 ft or more $25. Just 1/2 mile out of harbor to enter Bay. Creek sites are beautiful, back-ins and no cable TV in that section only. We caught crabs; steamed & ate at our site, rode our bikes on scenic Byway. A place to relax and unwind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
We were given a site that could not accommodate our camper, however my husband wiggled our camper into this site. We plugged in to electric and proceeded to put our slide out and started to level when we noticed that our refrigerator was still running off propane, not electric as it should be when plugged in. After trouble-shooting our camper for problems we called their emergency line where the woman who runs the place told us that the man that could help us needs his sleep and she didn't want to wake him up. We asked to move to another site, but she mentioned that the one to the other side of our friend's camper was already taken (even though no one was there). My husband got on the phone with her and told her that he needs some help with the electricity because the outlets were not working and it was very hot out and was about 11:00 p.m. at the time. The man finally came out to help us and agreed that the electric post did not work and then allowed us to move to the site on the other side of our friend's camper, telling us it was NOT in fact taken. The lady who runs the place proceeded to tell us the next day in a very defensive tone that there is nothing wrong with the electric at that site and she doesn't understand why we had to move. Do not use waterfront site W4 as it seems to have electric problems quite often according to this man who helped us. The campground is overgrown with weeds, you cannot tell where the roadways are, and it is very difficult to distinguish where the camp sites are located. The swimming pool needs a lot of work, the deck is crumbling and falling apart. To top off the weekend their sewer is completely overwhelmed to the point where our camper and none of the ones around us could drain our tanks, and the campground was not even half full. We did think it was quite strange, and should have taken into consideration that this campground was not even half full on Memorial Day weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
We agree completely with the person that posted August 2010. "The people that run this place don't care". After we checked in and paid in full we were told that under no circumstances would there be any refunds. They proceeded to tell us that after Sunday 9-5-2010 the pool would not be cleaned or any type of chemicals added and if we wanted to use the pool it was OK but it was at our own discretion! The other problem with this park was they had the entrance gate chained and locked. We were not able to receive Wi-Fi. They do charge $5 for satellite. There were only 18-20 campers for the holiday weekend which might also give you an idea of how poorly this place is run. On Wednesday the only other camper in the campground with us had a brick thrown through a window and was completely torn apart. We left for a short time and left our dog at the camper. I believe this is the only reason that our camper was not broken into. At this point I wanted to leave and again was told that there would be no refund. If you look at their web site and in the AAA book it states the extra person fee is $2-5, but they charge $7 per person. The grounds need a substantial manicure. Don't bother to put your boat in the water at their launch because they charge $40 for this plus an additional $10 to tie up at the dock. This is just the day fee! I don't know what the over night fee might be. This place is far from being a "resort". There is a one lane blacktop road partway into the campground. After the road ends it is very hard to determine where to drive. Not that it couldn't be nice (at one time it was a KOA) but it will take a substantial investment of time, money, and personnel to make it so. The only reason that we stayed here was because it is very close to our friends and we had considered reserving this park for a 14 RV get together in October of this year. I can assure anyone that we will never stay at or recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$70
I was a little leery due to some of the postings, but we had a very nice stay over labor Day weekend. It is a rustic wooded setting. There are activities for families, movies, BBQ, ice cream and cake socials, and an "Elvis" entertainer under the pavilion. The restrooms were very clean and maintained. The proprietor was polite and helpful with information for other activities off-site. She offered to make us breakfast for $3.50. We took the boat ride to Smith Island and our puppy was able to join us. The ride was relaxing and we had a nice lunch and walk around the island. There is a pool, playground, miniature golf, small cabins to rent. It is a little expensive compared to other campgrounds, but we had a nice time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
The people who own this park don't seem to care. The woman is difficult, at best. She was not friendly at all and seemed quite defensive, but my husband went by and tried to make friends with her. The area has such great potential, and it is not being made what it could be. She complained that people were going to the state park, but charged us $50 because she had a concrete patio next to our site. Guess it was $45 if there was not a concrete slab. There was very little grass for the dogs. She charged $7 per person for my friends to come into the park to pick us up for dinner. She did give it back when they left, but really!! The park supposedly had satellite hook up in the cable, but good luck getting that. Apparently, you have to rent their box and somehow figure out how to hook it up. We used our antenna which picked up about 3 stations and not well. Our satellite was not usable because of the trees. What I can say is that it was convenient to our friends in the area, and that's the only reason we stayed in this park. Next time, we will stay at the Belle Isle state park. This was the highest priced park in which we have ever stayed and sure wasn't worth the money. I was able to pick up a wireless Internet signal, which she didn't even know went out into the park. The boat which apparently takes cruises to the island across the water (Smith Island?) was not working. Kids were crabbing off the pier at the park, if you like that sort of thing. I did see she was showing a movie on an outside screen on Saturday night. Didn't go in the restrooms, but they didn't look like ones I'd "want" to visit. We would NOT stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Quiet sites in mature woods. Pleasant pool & play area. Very convenient to the Smith Island cruise boat terminal. A good experience. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
Location is in one of Virginia's most scenic waterfront areas with access to the Chesapeake Bay. Grounds were immaculate as were all facilities. Friends were camping in a cabin and towed a boat using the campground's launch facility. Only 5 minute ride to the Bay and excellent fishing. Clean swimming pool with large wide deck and comfortable pool lounges. Especially nice was the Sunday morning Pancake/Sausage breakfast served in air-conditioned clubroom. We caught crabs from the crabbing pier, steamed on site to enjoy. Would definitely return. Long, paved pull thru sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
Peaceful, scenic location on the water by the Chesapeake Bay. Our big rig site was easily accessible pull-thru. Staff friendly and helpful with directions to good restaurants nearby. No shopping malls; a 25 minute country drive to Kilmarnock for Walmart and other shopping. Will plan to return for crabbing and other water related activities in warmer weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$32
Actually stayed here in September 2008 but this website would only let me select 2009!!!! Campground is somewhat run down and in need of maintenance. Only stayed there because it was near places we were visiting. Site assigned was level but oddly laid out. Sewer was 20 feet from other hookups. Site was just a gravel path, roads were paved and in good shape. Management was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
Spectacularly disappointing! This a $25 a night campground at best. It is definitely not a resort! The sites are very un-groomed, sand lots, poorly marked, narrow, not well navigable with 40 foot rig. No cable or Wi-Fi and no access for satellite being under the trees. 2 other campers here besides us. Pool was closed. The build up on the web site and in the pamphlets were highly, highly exaggerated. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
A real dump. No wonder KOA dropped them. Watch out for the lady in the, office. A little light in the loafers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
This campground used to be a KOA campground. It is no longer affiliated with KOA. It is now called Chesapeake Bay Camp Resort. We booked here thinking it was a different campground and not the bad reviewed KOA here. So, we were shocked to learn it was the old KOA. However, after staying here 4 nights I can say it was not the worst campground I stayed in. It was not crowded. The sites were large. Room to maneuver rig. It was quiet. It was close to where we needed to be. It is not a resort destination however, i.e. there are no frills. If you have a boat and want to fish, this is the place to go. Prices are high. I think the price per night should be around $25 for the area. The owners were not very friendly but were not rude either. We had friends come visit and they were chased down in a golf cart by the owner, but hey, good security and she is looking out. All in all the worst thing was the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
I have to agree with what others have said. The camp host was not very friendly at all. The campground is average at best compared to others we have stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$01
Drove over to check out the campground for future stay. Was advised I could not drive though to look around (not that I wasn`t trusted?) But was escorted by owner to waterfront site only and back to office. Campground seemed small and sites not marked well. Website appeared to show the cg on the bay but was advised I will have to drive 15 minutes away to fish. First impression of Campground was not very good. Probably will try one weekend there anyway for the cruise next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$59
All other reviews are right...a dump that should be avoided. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
The best thing this campground has going for it is the boat ride available across the bay right from the campsite. The rest rooms were clean, but the pool, camp store, and meeting room were old and smelled of mold. When I called a day before I was to arrive to inquire about a local grocery store, the person answering the phone was extremely rude because I had dialed their 800# which is apparently only for reservations, not information. The people camping in the cabin next to us had a terrible carpenter ant infestation in their cabin and in their bedding when they returned from a walk. There is nothing of interest in the area except the water, but not much access to that unless you bring your own boat. We will not camp here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
What else can be added except WHY does KOA continue to allow this park to operate with a KOA endorsement? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
I will have to say we stayed here with some trepidation. We had read the bad reviews but since Woodalls gave it a great rating we thought the reviewer must be wrong. What a mistake that was! This is the worst campground we have ever stayed in. We have been camping for 30 some years and this is undoubtedly the worst ever. The streets in the campground were full of ruts, the sites are poorly marked, street lamps on trees that had stopped working and new ones put up without taking the old down. This list could go on. We did not use the pool but observed cracking concrete around it. The owners had made a pathetic attempt at making a "pad" under the picnic table with pea gravel and landscape timbers that was not attached to anything and rolled around. We made our plans based on the Smith Island Cruise availability from this campground, but they cancelled the tuesday trip due on monday to lack of participation and high fuel prices. So we went to Tangier instead from a Reedville marina. We will never go back to this place. I wish that KOA would check this campground. It gives KOA a bad name. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
This CG has no business being a KOA CG. When you pay KOA prices you expect KOA to have done their job and inspected the place. I didn't sign up to be a CG critic. The place was dirty, the staff was the pits, and I felt sorry for those who had paid for a week in advance. They were stuck with a dump. We left and got out of the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$37
I am in total agreement with the previous two ratings. The sewage problems remain and dead baby frogs can still be found in the swimming pool filters. When sewage from the campground's system backed up into my holding tank, the lady manager stated that "it must be your equipment. " A very strong demand was necessary to get my sewer hook fee refunded. Earlier, I was told that I would have to move to a non-sewer site despite the fact that I was already set-up. This campground is in poor repair and ineffectively managed. For two nights $81.00 was paid including taxes. It would be better to drive another half day than stay at this campground. Avoid, avoid! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
This place should be placed on your avoid list. The owners are down right nasty, and unwelcoming. To ask a question, gets you yelled at! The facilities are in very bad shape, and repair looks to be more then they can handle. As their new sites are in worse shape than their old! The swimming pool was full of concrete chunks, and writing in the lime deposits around the top, not to mention the family of frogs that would visit during a swim. I am also surprised they have kept their KOA name with such poor facilities and customer service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2004
$35
In the interest of keeping this short, I will say that this place should be avoided. The owners are not friendly, and somewhat unwelcoming. The lady maintained an insincere politeness. The facilities listed are there, but they are in poor repair. The famous crabbing pier is in disrepair. We heard from others that the trip to Smith Island was a rip off, as the place is a junkyard in the middle of the bay. The owners' son operates the boat. He is not the most customer oriented person. We went into Reedville and took a cruise to Tangier Island instead. We loved the trip! The swimming pool was not maintained, as there were baby frogs in the filters. There was a sewer problem nearby, and the owner told us not to use the sewer while it was being excavated. It was a very smelly evening. We wished to go crabbing, so we went to the camp store to get supplies. The meager offerings were overpriced, when compared to the same items purchased in Reedville. The owner claimed she was selling them at her cost. We are surprised that they can keep the KOA name with such poor facilities and customer service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com