206705 User submitted reviews online!!
San Diego RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (619) 469-3199
CGID375

San Diego RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   9   6   7   6   5   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$54
Very clean and well maintained, mostly back-ins but a few pull-throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$48
Some good sites, some not so good. Lots of permanent or semi permanent guests. Excellent access to the electric trolley system which we used extensively. Noisy neighbors apparently doing car maintenance 3 days in a row. Would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$75
We stayed here for two nights. We got in very late - close to 1:30 am, and they had a night guard on duty to show us to our spot. Very pretty park. Our kids enjoyed the pool. Wi-Fi worked great. The laundry closes at 10 pm, which wasn't convenient for us. Perhaps the best feature is that it is right next door to a San Diego trolley stop, which we were able to take to the San Diego Zoo. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$90
This is not what I would call a resort by any stretch of the imagination. There are two sides to this park. The gated side which is very clean and nice and the ungated side which is not, but that is where the pool and amenities are. If you stay on the good side you have to walk out the gate and down the frontage road 100 yards to get to the office and pool. You are right on Highway 8 so traffic noise is high. The non gated side (where our first site was supposed to be) is run down and has a lot of perm residents with some units in ill repair. The gated side is mostly transient big rigs and longer term folks who take very good care of their sites. It is also secure which is important because this is not the greatest of neighborhoods. Roads are tight coming in through an older neighborhood. Alavarado is a very narrow frontage road and the entrances are narrow and unmarked as well. This is a very expensive park for what you get. Sites are small and tight for the most part but there are a few that have grassy areas. Good utilities. No cable on the gated side. The SD Trolley (rail) is nearly in the complex so if you want to visit parts of San Diego via trolley you can go almost anywhere and even to Tijuana for a few dollars.San Diego has generally poor and overpriced RV options. We lived here for 10 years so you pretty much take what you can get. This is not a bad stay at all if you are on the gated side and don't care about the pool. Otherwise I would pass. At $90 per night it matches the most expensive rate we have had on this 6,000 mile trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$75
The best thing about this park is it’s on the San Diego Trolley line with its own gate to the station; the bad thing is it’s next to I-8. We had one of two pull-through sites, gravel parking was good with a cement patio and nice grass area. The BAD thing is people with dogs used the other pull-through site and its nice grassy area as the general potty stop for their dogs. NO ONE in the park said anything to them about it and for this reason I would not use this park again. No animal control at all, NONE. If you do have dogs learn to respect others. Other than this it's a nice park to use to visit San Diego. We stay 4 nights and used the trolley with a 4 day pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
This is a very tight park. We had a premium back in site, which is the only one that would accommodate a 45' motorhome. We still had to park our toad on the street as our coach filled up the site. This is a marginal park for big rigs. It is tough turning into the park and getting through the gate without rubbing the side with bushes unless you swing way wide into the oncoming traffic lane. The park is split into the zones separated by a water feature. So if you are in the eastern part of the park, and you want to use the pool and amenities, you must go out the gate, walk down the busy road and into the main park. The one thing this park has is convenience. Close to the 8 freeway and close to the light rail. They give you 4 consecutive hours of Tengo internet free, then you pay. An okay park with a lot of caveats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
Older park split into two separate areas. THE GOOD: The grounds are kept well. Facilities and pool clean. Sites are shaded and fairly level gravel. Premium pull-through sites have patio and grass. Paved roads. Staff helpful and courteous. Fifteen minutes from Sea World, the harbor, the beaches and La Jolla. Water and power are good and pedestal close. Very good cable TV. Freeway access is good at the West end (Lake Murray Blvd), but very bad at the East end (Alvarado Rd exit-avoid this exit if you're a big rig) THE BAD: Freeway noise is hideous. RV's are packed in at every angle. Tight squeeze for big rigs if you're not in a pull-through. Lots of permanent residents with old rigs and junk piled up around them. No designated pet area, altho they do provide clean up bags. We were told by other folks not to leave anything unlocked when away from rig. Prices for premium sites way to high for this old park. You have to pay extra for Tengo internet access, which should have been included at premium price. If we come to San Diego again, we'll look around for another park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
We stayed here for 5 months. Loved the location, close to everything and trolley was very convenient. Grounds are kept up extremely well, nice pool area, adequate exercise room. No "large screen" TV in conference room though (it's been stolen twice!). Also, my bike was stolen within first couple of days we were there. Supposedly soliciting not allowed, but we were approached twice, after office hours - felt a bit creepy about that. Very close to I-8, but we thought of the noise as a waterfall, so it really didn't bother us. Not much of a dog area; they do provide doggie bags, which was handy and appreciated, though often all boxes were empty (we think other campers cleaned them out). If U.S. Mail delivery is too large for mailbox, they "leave a slip in your mailbox" - we had numerous such deliveries, but only twice was a slip left in our mailbox; had to go into office and ask. Once I was even told that we didn't have a package, only to have my husband go back in and yes, we did! Management was nice enough, but seemed a bit haphazard; their favorite comment was "sorry about that" - which felt less than sincere. Very nice that they occasionally have dinners, although found each one we attended to be very unorganized and awkward. All in all a nice park and we would go back, but don't expect too much from the office staff (and the guy at the front desk could use some customer service training). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
Crowded, lay out confusing, site numbers hard to see/understand. Very clean laundry. Close to “Trolly” to shopping and downtown. Rate reflects Passport America. Will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
We selected to stay here based on the location. While the park is right on the I8, and there is road noise, we’d return because of the location. We were fortunate to have a site with shade and concrete pad (not all sites have this). The park is kept up well and the staff were helpful. There is a fee for the internet. The rate we paid reflects the monthly rate we paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Very nice level site, cement patio and a little grass or bushes at each site. Staff was very friendly. Only get 4 hours of Tangonet internet for free even though we stayed here for 4 days. Verizon MiFi worked well. Price reflects PA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$79
Tight, close, sites. Very expensive. Paved sites and roads. Good electric, good water, great pool. Road noise is bad as we needed no AC running for the night we were there. If all the sites were full, we would have had no place to park the toad. I would stay again, but I would look around first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
This park is well maintained, RV sites are concrete and large enough (we had a premium back-in site for a 29ft RV), management is friendly and it is very close from the trolley station 70th street. Unfortunatelly, it has some drawbacks that is why I do not rate it over 6 that are: 1) It is very close from the freeway I-8 and unless using the A/C all night (because it covers the noise), you will have the noise of the cars 2) Although being close from a trolley station, it is still far from downtown (about 20 minutes to Old Town), plus extra 10 to 15 to go to seaport Village for instance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
Nice park, facilities were spotless and the people running it were great. But way too close to freeway for us. Lots of freeway noise. Stayed one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Great location for the weather. Not too far east so it doesn't get too hot and not too far west so it doesn't get a lot of marine layer. It is right next to interstate 8, but for me the traffic noise became white noise after a while and didn't bother me at all. Sites were clean and not too close together. Pool and jacuzzi were nice. Staff was friendly and professional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Easy freeway and trolley access, nice enough spaces. Lots of freeway and trolley noise. Not a destination, but good for stopovers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Despite its age, this is a very nice park. Although, it was obviously built before the evolution of “big rigs”, it has plenty sites that will accommodate 40+ ft. / quad slide coaches. The layout in the older section is a bit weird. It appears that the original designers were trying to avoid the parking lot look. However, it works. The facilities are clean and it has all of the required amenities; pool, spa, exercise room, meeting rooms, etc. The office staff is courteous, professional, and helpful. It’s a short walk to the Trolley stop, which will take you almost anywhere in the area. I deducted 1 star for the extra cost WiFi. Any park that calls itself a resort, WiFi should be included in the rental fee. I also deducted a star for its worn look, road noise (I-8), lack of rules enforcement, etc. Although it’s not cheap, but it’s more reasonably priced than others in the region. The rate listed is based on the monthly rent. We will be returning for each winter holiday season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$33
Stayed here while visiting family. It is a well kept urban park, but the sites are narrow and a very large rig will have some difficulty maneuvering. Depending on site location you may have highway noise. The park is near the trolley line and is very convenient if touring the city. Each site is on asphalt with a cement pad but no picnic table. The only real problem with the site is that when slides are extended they are up against bushes so access to compartments may be difficult. We would stay here again for its convenience and cleanliness if nothing else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$44
We stayed 2 nights and this park is only a short walk away from the MTS-Trolley station giving you access to whole San Diego. I-8 is right outside the park fence, be prepared for some noise. The sites are back in except 2 and situated between palm trees, angled to each other. Therefore, the back end of trailers or Motorhomes are very close together and you have to be very careful with bigger rigs to park them. Not much of a problem for my truck camper, but even I had to watch the trees very carefully. The office closes at 5 p.m. and there is no information available after that. Even though check out and check in is at noon, the office was closed well before and the sign said "will be back at 1 p.m.". The internet password gives you 4 free hours after you log in and and if you come back some hours later, you have to pay. The restrooms were kind of clean but as usually I was missing a lot of hooks and would have appreciated if the shower head would have been higher up. The restroom light is on a timer, so if you are not the first one entering the restroom you might forget to set the timer and all of a sudden you are in the dark. Rates are higher on weekends too. If I return, then only because it is so close to the trolley system. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
The only advantage of this park is its proximity to a MTS-trolley stop. Just park your car in front of your RV and with a day pass ($ 5) you can use the whole metropolitan trolley system. It is even possible to go to the border (Tijuana). The biggest disadvantage is its proximity to Interstate 8. It is one of the noisiest parks we ever visited. The rate is the PA rate, but you have to pay $ 4.95 per day extra for Wi-Fi. We spent 3 night here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
A very nice park. Even better if you get the right site. There are a lot of intrenched people mixed in with the traveling RV'ers. The facilities are nice and it is centrally located, close to malls and restaurants. The park is right next to a light rail station, so you can get on the tram and go anywhere. Something that a lot of travelers don't think about, but it is an easy way to get to the Mall. Some sites are near grass, which is nice for pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
I like everything about this park except, we were next to some very rude full timer residents. They pretended not to be there when we needed their car to be moved to make it easier to back in, and again when we could not leave. They suddenly were there when the tow truck pulled up. Management was responsive. Yes we would stay there again because of convenience, but management needs to deal with the rude occupants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$33
Rate is for Passport America. We stayed here for 3 nights. You're basically sardines by the freeway--sites are extremely close together. Wi-Fi is available, but there is an extra charge, so that brings them down a point. For being between the metro rail system and the interstate, it was surprisingly quiet. Clean park. There are perm residents who live here. Not too bad though. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$55
We have stayed at this RV Park several times because it is close to where our daughter lives. One of the complaints I have about this park is that you cannot reserve a specific site, as some of them are more user friendly than others. I am never sure that we will get a site that is easy to get in and out of. Some of the monthly renters are quite disrespectful, parking where they shouldn't park, and sometimes being noisy. The staff is usually eager to help with parking and other requests. The restrooms and showers are always very clean, that is a plus. This location is also close to the San Diego Light Rail system, which is inexpensive and easy to use. Just north of the park off of Lake Murray Blvd. is Lake Murray, which has a nice paved Walking/Bicycle path. We will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$56
When reservations were made, we requested 2 sites to handle two 40’ fifth wheels from July 3 through July 12. We were told no problem and that we could be right next to each other; reservations were made in Feb. 2009. When the end of June 2009 rolled around, we both got calls to confirm the reservations, and then we were told we could not be together because of the size of the fifth wheels and that they were fully booked. After much discussion we just agreed because it was too late to make other plans. We show up at the park on July 3 and the sites were a little close, just about 10 sites away. Both of the sites were way to small for the fifth wheels. Either one did not have grass, any room after the slides were put out, no tables, nothing. The park does have a lot of full timers or people that never leave the park. They were not too friendly and parked cars on the sides of the streets, which made it interesting to get in and out. The park does not have a drive through park to turn around in. We had to drive partially through then turn the fifth wheel around in the park because our site was in the opposite direction as the street, pointed towards the entrance. When leaving we had to pull out of the site, back up while almost jack knifing the trailer to get it back on the main street through the park and exit out the entrance. The reason for this was that all the gates are locked to exit and the streets are blocked by the full timers. Rates were good, park was pretty clean, overall was all right, but too small for big rigs in my opinion. They had 2 pull through sites with grass, but we were not allowed in them even though we were told we were getting and paid for luxury sites. The people in the pull through sites both changed twice while we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
We stayed for three nights and truly liked the professionalism and respect of the front desk staff and how they helped us with any directions we needed. The resort was very well maintained and the bathrooms were spotless. I chose this resort due to the proximity to San Diego and being close to the everything. I will come back in the fall to attend Charger games as they have a trolley station next to them. Overall, I would recommend fellow rv'ers to the resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$42
Very crowded, but clean. Alot of permanent residents and they think they own the park (nosey). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$34
A very crowded park with no room for maneuvering. There were mostly long term residents with 2-3 vehicles per site - most of them parked in the small streets. The city road exit is very dangerous. The park is next to very noisy Interstate 8. A typical corporate owned park - with a clueless staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
We have stayed here several times. When we returned this time they put us in a spot next to the freeway. Extremely noisy site. Park is very expensive as they have raised their rates almost $100.00 a month.They gave us a site that you have to back in through a gate on a very busy street.They offered no help in guiding you in your spot. Thank god there was a full time resident to help or i would have asked for a refund. We will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$42
My wife and I were not impressed with this park. The website makes it look like more than it truly is. Getting in and out was tight with our 29' travel trailer and there is not much room to maneuver around the park. When we first arrived the manager wanted to put us into a site that was obviously too small for our trailer. After physically showing it to him he agreed and moved us to another spot. This site was also cramped and not much to look at. I would have given a lower rating than I did but the park is within easy driving distance of Sea World and Legoland, which is why we were there so the convenience of that was worth something. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Lovely park that would've rated higher if it wasn't right next to the interstate. The staff is very nice and the park is well manicured and clean. Stayed for 2 weeks and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
We stayed at this campground in June and when we arrived we had problems with the price being different than what we were quoted due to the fact they were having computer problems but they quickly fixed it and were extremely nice and helpful people. The bathrooms, showers, laundry rooms and gameroom was extremely clean. Pulling in some spaces was a tight fit but it was worth the extra time parking to stay at a place that is clean and the people are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$50
This park is in transition. Was a run down trailer park. Construction going on; some sites not available. Installing new cable, utilities and new service pedistals; also resurfacing sites. Very noisy, close to I-8 heavy traffic until 2:00am. Not worth $50 today or when they finish. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com