214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Lubbock KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (806) 762-8653
CGID3760

Lubbock KOA

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   9   7   10   7   6   8   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Lousy location due to road and train. Needs updating. Lacked in grounds maintenance. Short sites, planks are a hazard. Needless to say, I sure didn't like it! Internet slow and it's pick a number to access with your devices. People living here too. About the only good things I can say is it's only $27 or so per night with KOA membership and there are some shade trees. Would have much rather paid more and got more. Pool was "closed for maintenance". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
Pretty standard KOA, but not much for your dollar, as the pool and hot tub are being repaired as of May 31. There is a small play ground for kids. Sites are gravel/dirt and reasonably level, but if you have a satellite dish on top of trailer or coach, make sure you get a site without a tree blocking your signal. WATCH OUT FOR THE MOUNTAINOUS SPEED BUMP ENTERING AND LEAVING. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and so were the permanent residents we met there. Sites to see in Lubbock: Don't miss these two museums, Silent Wings and Ranch Heritage Association; both are fairly close to the park. We'd stay here again, but would probably select a park on the south side that has a fishing pond. Our rig is 34' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
Stayed here for one night. We came from Dallas and glad we had input the address into our GPS. The sign off Hwy. 84 is small, and comes quick. The drive into the KOA is between tall greenery and yes we would've missed it if it weren't for our trusty GPS. It's rained all weekend (apparently), so there's lots of puddles of water, but in the dry SW, rain is always welcome. The WiFi is fast! The cable is fine for us - some channels via antenna. The pull-thru sites are long and big enough for our 36' RV. Diesel was close-by for an early departure in the morning. When we travel through Lubbock again, we'll stay. It's easy and convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
This was a pretty good overnight campground. Transient sites are all pull-thru. Most were about 60' long with perhaps 20' between sites. A few were slightly longer or shorter. Big rigs would fit in most sites after removing TOAD. They have free wifi, a pool, a playground, a store, & a dog run. There are stickers & stinging west Texas red ants to dodge for dogs & kids. The park entrance isn't well marked after you exit Highway 84. There's a small sign pointing to the right that says KOA. You turn between some evergreen bushes and there's the KOA. We watched RVers miss this turn and go on down the road looking for a turn around. Both Verizon & ATT have good 4G/LTE signals. Given the other choices in Lubbock, this KOA is a good choice and the price was right for a change! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
We stayed here one night in a deluxe camping cabin. It was very nice with bunk beds in a separate area from the main bed, a television and a shower. It also had a microwave and refrigerator. It was just as good as some hotel rooms and a nicer environment! The staff was very accommodating of a late arrival. We would stay here again if the opportunity arose. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
Park is out of town a little bit, and is very quiet. We were not able to stay hooked up due to the location of the utilities, but there was room to park the truck at the end of the spot. Good place to spend the night if you're on Hwy 84. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
It's a KOA. Just like all other KOA's, except it's near a busy street and a train track. It's a good place to stay the night, if you can't get to anywhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Indoor hot tub was wonderful. Pool could have been warmer. If they would have had cable I would have rated it a 10. Train noise is minimal as was traffic noise. Lots of food delivery to the park. Showers were nice and hot. Will return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Not my favorite KOA. Nice enough park, but very close to highway and railroad tracks. I recommend asking to be placed as far from RxR tracks as possible. I reserved online and was placed in site closest to the tracks. Will find another campground next time in Lubbock. Wi-Fi kind of slow, did get TV over airways. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We are new to Texas as my husband travels with work, and stayed here for a few months. Let's just say it needs some work. There is no grass anywhere, and little shade. Scorpions and stray cats run around frequently, so watch out! The water pressure is horrible and internet (which you have to pay for) is also horrible. It is very, very slow and seldom connects in less than 5 minutes. There is a dog park which is located in the front of the park and has no shade or grass. The park is mainly gravel and dirt with narrow roads and narrow lots. There is no where to park and it's a big problem when people are coming and going. The weekends are full of noisy campers looking to party and crank the music up at all hours. The "full timers" obviously get the run of the place and roam around snooping as well dumping trash into the dumpsters without trash bags and don't break down boxes. We were very disappointed with this KOA and do NOT recommend it to anyone, unless only staying 3 days or less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Cost is with KOA discount card. Stayed several days while visiting relatives. Convenient to Lubbock loop. Sites were relatively long and composed of gravel and hard packed dirt. There was no grass in the campground due to a continuing drought and this park could get pretty muddy if it rained much. Some new electrical stanchions had been installed, but there were a number of sites with outdated electrical connections (in my opinion). In fact, the 20 amp outside outlet at my hookup tested as having an open ground; 30 amp tested ok. This park is located just off US 84, but we didn't really notice the road noise. About 20-25 percent of the park was occupied by long term campers. Very little shade in the park again in part due to the drought. As someone else stated, this park needs some TLC! We would probably stay here again only because it was convenient to the area we were visiting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Very nice park. Clean restrooms/showers. Easy to find. Well maintained. Would stay here again for sure. Saw a scorpion while setting up so watch out for that! lol We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Park OK for a few days, needs some TLC. It rained while we were there, so we had mud instead of dust. Could use gravel throughout. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would look elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This is a decent campground, but I'm hard pressed to give it more than a slightly above average rating. The sites are gravel and dusty (as is all of Lubbock). but I didn't find them more than average in length. Furthermore, the utility connections were at the far back end of the site so there was no way to hookup and still keep the car behind us. Proximity to a busy railroad track will ensure your kids get to watch (and hear) the trains go by. We couldn't get the Wi-Fi to work well. Our Verizon card worked OK, but the connection speeds were relatively slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
This is a nice KOA Park just west of Lubbock on Rt. 27. The sites are good size for big rigs. They are gravel. The pool and spa are indoors. The pool was nicely cool for the record hot Texas weather. The store is nicely stocked and the staff very friendly. It's too bad KOA's are overpriced for what you get. Nothing different from more inexpensive parks. We would stay here again if we were in Lubbock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
The rate includes the 10% KOA membership discount. This park was very well kept and well run. My only complaint was the fact that the site was very short and there was no cable TV. For almost 40 bucks cable should be included but the manager said cable didn't reach their facility yet. (Hmmm, I highly doubted that answer.) Anyway, the bathroom and showers were spotless. The Wi-Fi worked just fine. They have a very nice covered / indoor pool facility but it closed at 8:00pm so we didn't get a chance to try it out. The park is located on the north side about 2 miles north of the 289 loop so there are no restaurants near it. It was convenient to Texas Tech. We would stay here again if we were passing through Lubbock. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
This was a great stopover as we move down the road. The sites are large enough for our 40 foot 5ver fit and they were perfect because we didn't have to disconnect. The office help was very nice and helpful. The dog walk was a little messy because a few irresponsible pet owners weren't as smart as their pets. There were not many TV channels which in our case wasn't important. I would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way west to visit the kids going to Tech. It served the purpose very well for what we used. The sites would be better if they were wider but we made it fine with our 34 ft fifth wheel and crew cab truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Very friendly and helpful staff. The park was very well maintained and spots were long and wide. They just changed to KOA and honored our Passport America price. They have many good plans in the works. Easy access from the highway We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Met expectations for KOA standards. Two complaints: 1-- when we asked staff for recommendation of place to eat that is a local favorite he suggested two chains Applebees and Cheddars. We googled our own place and enjoyed a great Texas BBQ meal. 2-- The sidewalk and road by the bathroom floods very easily when it rains. While I understand they cannot control the weather, they can hire a contractor to repair the grade for better drainage. Using the toilet resulted in very wet feet, it is a good thing it was summer and we had on flip flops. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
This is the third time we have stayed at this campground. It's located very close to the college. Has friendly staff, clean restrooms and decent sites. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Another one of KOA's burned out parks. Electric needs to be upgraded as the site we were assigned didn't have a workable ground (hubby is an electrician). Pool closes at 8pm and is always full of kids. There really needs to be adult time for us who don't travel with kids. If I come back through this area, I'd definitely try to find something better. They also need to trim the hedges at the entrance so you don't over shoot the driveway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
There is fairly easy access from US-84. Desk staff is friendly but maybe a little harried. It has a good store. We were given a marked map to our level pull-through site. No problems with water, electric voltage, or sewer. Free WiFi. Kids enjoyed the nice pool. There is a decent mowed dog walk area. There are multiple permanent residents.We didn’t appreciate the cigarette butts found on our site upon arrival. There is a rather dry, dusty, tired feeling to this park. It is OK for over night.It seemed safe, and was quiet except for the very evident road noise. We might stay again but would check around for something nicer if we return to the area. The rate includes our KOA discount, 2 kids, 2 pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Poor standard for KOA with very narrow sites. We wouldn't feel comfortable sitting out having a bar-b-que. It looked 'scruffy'. Everything worked fine, OK for an overnight, but we wouldn't have wished to stay a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
One of the nicer KOA's we've stopped at while traveling. The one detractor is that it is right next to US 84. Other than that, it's very well maintained, the staff is pleasant, and there are many trees - the place is full of them. There's an indoor heated pool and hot tub, and free wireless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
This is an older campground. The sites are well kept and tidy. There is little grass but the heat in this area can be attributed. The woman at the registration desk was very polite and helpful. The laundry room was clean and there were enough machines for two people to use it at the same time. The Wi-Fi works great! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
Woman's showers were in poor repair. One stall was heavily molded and one was stopped up and overflowing. That left only one usable shower. A male maintenance worker entered the restroom while my wife was showering and asked if the shower stall she was in was working OK. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Pretty nice park located on the outskirts of Lubbock. The train tracks are across the road, but the train does not blow its horn, so all you feel is a little vibration when the locomotive passes. There are a few monthly people here, but the owners seem to keep a tight appearance code, and each monthly rig looks like it could pull out of the park tomorrow. The indoor pool and hot tub are clean and the showers are very well kept. Internet works very well, and is fast and free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Glad to find this place for an overnight. Older infrastructure. Had to work to get our rig to fit and hook up the 50 Amp power. Staff helpful and we have one of just a few pull throughs. Tight, small roads, but nothing that we can't handle. Lots of long term and the train track is just across the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Clean cabin. People were kind and friendly. Office was bright and efficient. Overall very happy, would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$37
I give this Park a 3 as this is the noisiest park i have ever been in. The power is out about every other day. The owner is rude, as we asked about the swimming pool that they rent out to the City of lubbock. The park guests get to use it between 7PM & 8pm. The rest of the time is for the town use. The park is clean, but good luck on sleeping, for the freeway sounds like it is coming thru the park at all times, not to mention the Railroad Right across the street. I guess it is better than a walmart parking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
As mentioned earlier this is an older park, they seem to work hard at keeping up the place. Theres some rough terrain behind the park, and if in a big rig tell them early, some of the sites seem hard to navigate (I drive an MCI conversion). Lots of Tech Students and visiting parents, we had a nice quiet stay. We were crossing the country and laid over for a few days. If you enjoy the old drive in movies there's a triple screen right next door, get your popcorn ready! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
There are permanent residents here. When we were there, a resident had mean pit bulls on leashes, were very aggressive toward other animals and people walking. It is not a very well kept park, we would not recommend it and will not stay there again. I will start asking if there are permanent residents when making reservations this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2006
$21
The pull through sites were narrow and the connecting roadways were narrow. A big rig wouldn't be able to negoiate the turns. A huge amount of permanent people: a lot of the trailers were very run down. The brush and junk along the north side of the campground was very unsitely. An old campground and it shows its age. Also the railroad within 100 yds and the highway within 50-60 yards were very noisy. My advise? Avoid this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2004
$18
Like most KOA's, the railroad and highway are in view and close by. Older park. Good store, nice people. Sites are too small and the park shows years of use. Lot's of full time guests (some not so attractive!). Nice indoor pool, typical KOA cabins and some playground equipment. Fairly easy to get to. It's almost at the bottom of my list of places to stay in Lubbock - just above the WalMart parking lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com