206616 User submitted reviews online!!
Harrisonburg / Shenandoah Valley KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 78 user reviews. Phone: (540) 896-8929
CGID3764

Harrisonburg / Shenandoah Valley KOA

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   6   7   7   10   7   5   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$41
Park is a bit of a way off I-81 and the road in is windy and steep; wouldn't recommend in bad weather. The Wi-Fi was pretty much non-existent. We have AT&T 4G and hardly had any service. So contact with outside world via smartphone was terrible. Otherwise our one night stay was OK, at least the Cable TV worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
We stayed here in September 2013 and our experience was outstanding. I had read other reviews on here and found them not to be true during our visit. The staff was very friendly, they provided excellent customer service. The site was very rustic as far as living amongst the trees and the fire pit was rimmed with boulders, very unique. I would return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Over-priced. Spent extra to get a cable TV site but there was no NBC (though it was on their list) and no PBS. WiFi was very slow and there was a note on the TV list that only two hours were free. Two of the three showers were out of service; hot water took a really long time; shower head was in pulse setting and couldn't be adjusted so stream was hard and sprayed under the curtain and got my shoes wet. Nice enough park but not worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
Not a bad campground but a little overpriced for what you get. Not a resort by any means but it did provide a stopover for one night. I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice. For a family with children this might not be a bad choice since they do have a nice playground, pool, and activities for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
Nice park but overpriced with narrow roads. We had a tough time navigating the narrow roads and narrow sites. Pet friendly with new dog park. Cable didn't work all that well. Good WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
This is a beautiful campground with nice shaded sites. Its very secluded. The play ground was great and it had a nice looking pool. It was a little cool for swimming. We will definitely stop in again while in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
This park was very overpriced for what was available. Wireless internet was not working anywhere in the park although it was advertised. The pool wasn't open this early in the season. Other reviewers noted much lower prices last fall, so I'm not sure why we were charged so much. We did have a pull through with full hookups but the price still seemed high. TV reception was OK with only about a dozen channels. Sites are fairly level gravel. There is a small brook circling the park with a wooden bridge that leads to a small fishing pond. There is a nature trail which wasn't quite ready for foot traffic this early but I still enjoyed the walk in the woods. I'm sure it's quite nice in the summer. The big plus was the updated and clean bathrooms. A very pleasant surprise, but still not worth $50. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$50
This campground is about 5 miles from 81. The park was decent. They lead me down a cart path in my 36ft RV to my site that was not even close to level. Price was for Water/Elec no sewer. The staff was not very friendly. One of the most expensive campgrounds I have ever stayed in. It is not worth the price. I have stayed in many nicer places for a lot less money. I would not stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$33
Easy to find. Arrived late to find well lit, easy, night registration station and instructions. Nice, level pull through. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
The campground is located about 3 miles off the interstate with nice wooded campsites.  The site was level and had lots of space between the campsites with a picnic table and a rock fire pit.  It's about 15 miles to Harrisonburg and JMU.  They don't have Wi-Fi at sites, only at the office, although they said it's coming.  AT&T phone signal is weak. Golf and some flea markets are nearby.   We were able to receive satellite TV even though it is wooded.  Camped here in 45' motorhome and would definitely return.  Note that although the KOA directions say not to use your GPS, ours gave us accurate directions.  If you are southbound on I-81 be sure to turn left and cross over the interstate before turning left again.   The instructions say go 100' and turn left, but it's much more than that, and we found it confusing.   We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
We found this park at the end of a 4 mile 2 lane road in the country. Gravel roads and sites are in this park. We put our 36' motor home with a toad in a level, pull through gravel pad that had 30 amps available. Water pressure was 40 PSI and our SurgeGuard had no faults indicated. Most sites are all tree covered, but tall enough for us. The WiFi only works at the office. There is no Cable TV. Camp fires and fire pits are abundant. There were no bugs, flies or mosquitoes. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
Really nice campground--easy access from the interstate, large and fairly level sites, plenty of helpful and friendly staff, activities for the kids (which didn't cost extra). The Wi-Fi only works right by the office and there's no cable hook-up but otherwise this is about the perfect place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
We picked this park as a quick stopover for 2 nights of a long vacation. As soon as we pulled in to the park we knew we were going to want to stay for much longer. My children were so excited by all the wild bunny rabbits that were running around, it was amazing. The grounds were so clean and so beautiful. The river was fun for tubing and walking tot the waterfall. We absolutely loved it there and plan on going back to stay longer. The only downfall was the sites near the office are quite tight and we would reserve a site elsewhere next time but, since we were only staying 2 nights this time, it was no big deal. The staff was very friendly. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone who may find themselves near there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Friendliest staff I've ever come across. Plenty of shade, water and electric worked great. We were told right away Wi-Fi s tricky because of the mountain. It was slow but did work. Restrooms were very clean and comfortable. Store was open at appropriate times. I like that they have a night drop for reservations. Staff provided great amount of information on area attractions and enjoyed listening to stories and conversation. This was by far the best camp ground I have ever been to. Lots of wildlife to take pictures of as well. Very quiet in evening and morning as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
New managers were very friendly. Wide open, no shade but perfect for what I needed. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Expensive for what we got. They say they have Wi-Fi but clerk warned us that it was picky, but we couldn't use it at all. Not on laptop, iPad, or phone. No Sprint Internet service either. No cable TV, antenna only got about 3 stations. Heated pool was cold and they say they only heat to 70 degrees in cool weather; that is not heated to me. We couldn't dump our sewage before leaving because they say it's locked and doesn't open until 9 AM and we left at 7 AM. If you are camping and plan on being at the campground during the day be warned that the bathrooms are closed between noon and 2 PM for cleaning, It says easy on and off to campground, long windy narrow road to get to KOA. Big rigs be very careful-- narrow tree lined road. Not the best KOA I have stayed at and if I was in the area again I, would not stay here again, The front desk clerk was not helpful when I told him that the pool was cold, and that we were not happy. We couldn't talk to anyone this morning because they weren't open yet, The only reason we chose this campground was the heated pool after traveling for a month I wanted to enjoy some pool time, but that didn't happen, the pool was really cold. Showers took a long time to get hot water too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
Several miles from I-81 on winding country roads so it is very quiet. Built on a hillside and the upper sites are quite difficult to access. Our site was so short and narrow there was no place for our truck except at the unoccupied neighboring site. We watched another camper trying to unsuccessfully get into a site. They got so frustrated they left the campground. Nothing to do at campground but enjoyable to be in the woods. Saw a bobcat while walking our dogs after dark which was a little unnerving. No hiking trails. Convenient to Luray Caverns, Natural Chimneys and Harrisonburg. Will not stay here again due to site-access difficulty for big rigs and having seen everything in the area during a two day stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
We used this CG as a stop over between TN and NJ. Site was a large pull-through and level. Staff were very friendly. Had OK TV reception for being in the foothills. The only thing that caused me not to give this park a 10 is there is no cable or satellite TV available. We will definitely return to this park for seeing the area and stay longer next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Of all the KOA's, this one is tops in my opinion. The owner and staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. I like the large wooded lots and shade. Very convenient to the best of the Shenandoah Valley. I stayed an entire week here just to rest up and relax from my 2 months of traveling the east coast from Florida to Prince Edward Island. I will definitely make this a stop in my future travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$57
The conditions of this park are highly over stated. First, the 4 mile road leading to the park is about the width of a double wide driveway with very steep grades. The park roads are very narrow with trees, stumps, rocks and sharp turns that interfere with the towing of a large 5th wheel. The Wi-Fi is slower than dial-up and there is no dependable TV signal available. We all know that KOA parks are extremely high priced. This park is false advertising of the highest level. I would value this park at $15.00 a night and will avoid staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Although arriving late, we were graciously greeted by the friendly campground owner. She had changed our site (from a prior phone call) to make entry and set up easier for us. This is a well-appointed, beautiful KOA with roomy, wooded sites. Unfortunately we were traveling and unable to stay more than one night however plan on returning for a weekend. The camp store was well stocked and convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This one is miles off the Interstate, up in the foothills of the Shenandoah. The staff was not the friendliest I have encountered at other KOAs. The sites are OK, but tough to get into and out of for big rigs. It is a long way to everywhere from this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$57
This is a nice park with helpful owners. They took me to my site and helped me get to the most level spot. The entry, access and exit to the facilty and site were very good. This park is 4 miles off of the interstate on a narrow road though. The sites go up the side of the mountain. We would stay here again, although I hate KOA's price structure for charging some much for each additional child. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
We had planned to just overnight but ended up being there 6 nights due to a breakdown with our truck. If I could have given more than a 10 I would have. The owners and staff could not have been more accommodating. Even went so far as to take my husband into Harrisonburg to pick up our truck. Without a doubt would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
The office staff was very friendly and accommodating. They recently experienced a lot of rain, so some of their roads had huge ruts. The bathrooms were in great shape, and very clean. The roads leading into the campground were very winding and narrow in some spots, not the campground's fault. I would stay again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$40
The hosts are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful with the scenic Blue Ridge Mountains close to explore. We would highly recommend this campground to all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$37
The KOA can't do much about the road leading into the campsite. It's a rural area and has some narrow spots, so just drive slowly. Also be cautious with the locals driving on that road. Some drive around those corners dangerously fast. The bridge coming into the campsite is narrow but we made it across without a problem (39' motorhome with a tow). The campsite greeted us with snow and the boys loved it. Large playground, good Wi-Fi connection, and we were able to get TV channels via antenna. I think the leafless trees helped. This is one of very few campsites open in December. The location worked out well because we were able to visit a couple of caverns, Route 11 Chips, and have fun at Massanutten. The only complaint we would have is that our assigned site was pretty small. We weren't allowed to park our car in the next site even though the campground was pretty empty. We could barely fit our car within our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
We love this campground! The staff has always been very nice to us and the surroundings are beautiful at the foot of a mountain. Spectacular fall colors. Our site was shady and had plenty of length for our motorhome and our car. The site itself was fairly large for a KOA, we had plenty of room for all of our lawn furniture. It's in a remote area, so it's very quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
A beautiful park; almost like staying in a national forest. Large, level site, lots of trees, very quiet. Friendly staff; when we asked, they put us in the best site for satellite reception (which was successful). The reasons I did not give them at 10: Roads are narrow and the turns are really tight (we were OK but had to be really careful). Most sites can't get satellite reception (but it's a tradeoff for the trees and privacy, which were wonderful). No WiFi at our site, though they do have it in the office. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$46
1) Heavy wooded campground, hardly any sun. 2) Access road is a three mile winding one and one half lane UNMARKED road. Met a semi in a corner, about had a heart attack! Very dangerous access road! 3) No TV reception. Roof antenna no reception because of huge trees. Dish no reception because of the huge trees. 4) One to two bars on our Sprint phones. 5) Park was clean, staff was very nice. 6) Would only recommend to campers that have small vehicle and like total seclusion and isolation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
We had a wonderful Labor Day weekend stay. The staff was so friendly and helpful. On Friday night we had a ground problem with our 30 amp cord. We kept throwing the breaker and even had sparks fly! It was after 11pm so we went to bed with everything unplugged. On Saturday morning we went to the store to see if they knew where we could get some help. One of the workers came to our site and rewired our 30 amp plug. Had it not been for the helpfulness of the staff we would have had to go home early and probably would have had a hefty bill to fix our RV. We ate at Gator Bob's on Saturday morning because we didn't have electricity. The food was great! They even deliver meals to your campsite! The park was nice with lots of activities. The sites are shaded and have nice fire rings. We had a great time and WILL go back! I can't say enough great things about this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
We were first time campers in a Cruise America rental motorhome. We loved this site! Clean, peaceful, very welcoming and our pitch, although in the middle of the woods, was level. The comfort station was clean and fresh, the shop appeared well stocked and the staff were really friendly. We had the pool to ourselves both times we went, the mini golf again kept our boys happy and the fact that we could build a fire for our dinner got us all excited. As for the road in, having lived in the hills of Devon, these roads were practically a freeway in comparison. Big rigs seemed to come in with no problem while we were here. We would stay here again in an instant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
We loved this campground. Read previous posts regarding the narrow roads leading to the campground, but this did not bother us. We stayed here in a 34' motorhome. We did not have a problem negotiating the road at all. It is to be expected when a campground is in the woods. It was very nice and clean, very quiet, very friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Very nice park, nice shady sites, clean. BUT, they advertise as "Big Rig" friendly, and they are not. Road in, is a narrow country road for 3-4 miles. Sharp, blind curves, and steep. In the campground itself the roads are also narrow, with lots of rocks and other side obstructions. Would be OK for smaller rigs, but not Big Rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Park is located some 4 1/2 miles off of exit 257, interstate 81 on a narrow winding road. Good for an overnight stop. Facilities were on par with most KOAs. Nearest facilities (shopping) are some 10 miles south of the exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
The park is ok. My low rating was due to the very Narrow access from Interstate. The trees in a number of places, rubbed my roof. A previous reviewer called the access road: "A nice curvy road for the average RV driver." I guess he didn't encounter a couple of 18 wheelers like I did. A nice pile of dog waste at our site also greeted us. We don't have any pets. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
A super CG, nicely located away from hwy noise and well-laid out among mature trees. The twisty road in is part of its pastoral charm and poses no difficulty to a driver of average ability. Spotless, modern restrooms/showers, friendly and helpful staff and guests. Would have rated a 10 if CATV had been available, but never mind: received tons of digital and analogue stations on the amplified antenna. Great Wi-Fi and well-stocked store. Will definitely return when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
This KOA was disappointing to us. It is near Rt 81, just north of Harrisonburg, VA. It is 3 ½ miles from the highway on narrow, very winding country roads. The road into and throughout the park are all gravel. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I asked for a site with full hookups and could get a satellite signal. We did get satellite reception on site # 60. But, I doubt there are many other sites that could, as the park is very wooded. Some RVers will enjoy the trees, but we’re full timing and like our satellite. Go figure. There is a store at the reception desk that seems to have a variety of basic supplies. We saw the pool by check in. It looked nice, but was covered as out stay was in October. Getting to our site was a challenge due to the narrow roads in the park. We have a 40’ 5th wheel and just made a couple of turns. They were removing trees when we were there, so maybe that will get better. I did talk to the new owner and she mentioned they were making improvements to the parks. They are trying to convert an old family owned park into a KOA. Still disappointing for a KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
The pull through site was easy to get into and had plenty of room. The 50 amp power was weak and fluctuated to <105 vac on occasion. Quiet time was not enforced! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
An actually campground, not a park or resort. Roads were gravel, sites were wooded and shaded. Fire rings were nice size stones. Reminded me of when I was a kid. They had a inflatable movie screen, and a hay ride. As for previous comments about the road from I-81 into the sight, I found no issue, I have driven tractor trailers on smaller less visible roads. Yes there was sharp turns, but they were wide enough to swing any RV ever built and you could see oncoming traffic easily. Getting around the camp ground itself would require a little attention and care, but if the site would hold the unit you could get it in. The Wi-Fi would work fine and then go out, not sure if it was just the amount of people using it or their ISP. It worked well enough for my needs. My only issue was the layout of some of the sites was confusing, some sites faced awning to awning which depending on your neighbor could be an issue. the hookups for ours was at the front of the site, but we could reach, depending on your RV it could be an issue. We will surely go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
This is a wonderful campground at the foot of Massanutten Mountain. Almost every site was shaded and the sites are large and fairly level. The new owners are wonderful, and take an active role in making this a great place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful, and everything was very well maintained and clean. Lots to do with miniature golf, fishing, swimming, table tennis, pool table, basketball, etc. Be sure to hike the 2 mile trail, it goes to the top of the mountain and is well worth the hike for the beautiful views of the valley. As noted, the access road is winding, but it's worth it to get to this wonderful place, and we had no problem. I saw many bigger rigs come and go with no problem. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Great campground. Efficiently run operation. Owner enforces rules for the enjoyment of all campers. Road leading to campground is winding and narrow, but large rigs where navigating fine. Sites are shaded and that means trees but we had no problems. WIFI was intermitted but free. Did not take advantage of planned activities but they were provided. New putt-putt course and nice fishing pond. Great base camp for local caverns and close access to JMU. VERY impressed with owners level of involvement. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
This park is in a beautiful part of Va - It is very well kept, the staff is great, and the only downside is TV and Sat reception is not that good. Putting cable in here would cost a bundle, but with everything else this place has going for it, you really don't have time to watch TV anyway. We came here with a 40' motorhome towing, and when I asked the person escorting us to our site if we would have a problem he replied with "If you don't have enough room, I can let you know where the nearest WalMart parking lot is" He was right -our site was at least 75' long pull through, and we had no problem getting into it. If you can't drive the roads in this campground, you should probably surrender your license, as you could possibly propose a threat to those of us that know how to drive. We are not big fans of most KOA's, but this one is a keeper - we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Big Rig Friendly is a stretch; big rig capable is more like it. The roads to the park are not made for 40's with tows. The trees to the sites make it hard; keep a look in your mirrors to keep from side swiping them. Staff was great. Park is nice. I won't be back because I was not comfortable with the tight squeezes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
The atmosphere of the campground is very cold. We did no see many campers walking around or sitting outside of their campers. The KOA employees were not friendly or very helpful. Most of the campsites are filled with large gravel rock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Very nice campground in the foothills. No cable, and only got 1 channel with antenna. Satellite worked, but probably would not pick anything up when trees are leafed out. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Campground must be under new management/ownership as the name has been changed. However, new owners/managers are working hard on upgrading park. Bathrooms are fabulous and look like they've been recently remodeled. They are also laying new gravel and leveling sites. One word of warning. Do not drive the winding country road to this park in the dark if you have a big rig. There are some sharp curves and you need to be able to see clearly to negotiate. But the drive is nice. Park is dark at night and very quiet. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
Very nice campground, clean and well maintained. Camped 4 days with family on site 32. Kids had a great time in the playground. Roads can be slightly cramped. Caught several fish in the small catch & release pond. Will definitely come back in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$32
Great stop off on the way to Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
This park has new owners (the old owner is still there helping out) who appear to be very guest oriented and helpful. The park is well kept up and clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Our granddaughter really enjoyed the hayride and penny hunt. The park is a little tight and some sites are a little uneven but not bad considering this part of the country is very hilly. A nice park close to our home, we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
Far enough from I-81 that you do not hear any highway noise. The staff was very friendly and kept the park up nicely. As stated before, the WiFi was iffy. We enjoyed an Ice Cream social one night and a pancake breakfast another morning. Our site was #18 and was a very roomy pull through. They definitely need to consider adding cable TV, however we were able to get a satellite signal at our site. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$44
This campground is pleasant for a KOA. The staff is absolutely wonderful and very helpful! The roads seem to get some mixed reviews, but with any experience in driving/towing a big rig the arrival and exit is managable; we managed with a 40ft 5ver. Upon entry you will be greeted with an escort to your site, and any help if need. Overall this place is very clean and quiet with wonderful views of the mountain sides and Shenandoah Country. This campground could be a 9 or even a ten with cable, better WiFi, game room, and overall updating to facilities. The WiFi is advertised as free but is sporatic at best and not reliable at all. We would visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
Nice campground. About 3.5 miles off I-81 and the roads are pretty narrow and winding getting there. Nice wooded sites with a fire ring and picnic table. The bathrooms were clean and the store was pretty well stocked. There is no cable and we could only get one channel on the TV. The interior roads are in good shape, but they are tight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This was a beautiful campground, although we found it difficult but not impossible to maneuver in the highly wooded space. The people were helpful. Watch out for the large boulder on the right side of the road after exiting the campground if you have a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
OK Campground, far from I-81, no noise, roads out to CG narrow and narrow in CG as well. Can get in and out with care. Nice shade trees and CG Staff very nice and helpful. Fishing pond on site and several nice areas to walk dog. Could use cable for TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
We stayed 2 weeks at this campground. We are full-time RVers and I still work using internet and phone. This is an exceptional campground for "campers" in that it was in a beautiful location with great access to National Forest, stream, etc. As for a full-timer in a bigger rig, though, it was difficult. The sites were not level (we found one we could level on our 4th try). The "Wi-Fi" was horrible--it is the older service that has decent download but extremely slow upload. The cell phone reception (AT&T) was terrible. There was no cable TV and only a few stations accessible by antenna--satellite was no good because of the trees. It was difficult maneuvering my 38-foot motor home inside the park (but possible). As I said, an awesome campground when your goal is to "get away". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
Great park in an easy to get to location. The kids loved it and we had fun too! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Interesting drive from the interstate as you get to go though all sorts of hills and curves on a narrow 2 lane road. The internal roads in the campground were pretty dusty as we had a good layer of dust on the toad. The check-in process was fast and had a escort to the site. The site was unlevel and had trouble raising the rear of the coach enough so the wheels would still be on the ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
This was a First Campout for our Good Sam Chapter, the staff was very nice and accommodating. The campground had manageable sites and was very quite at night. The bathrooms where very clean. We will return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
We found this park from the highway while travelling south after being delayed in a snowstorm. We checked in after hours but we were pleasantly surprised. We drove onto the site and was immediately level. The showers and laundry were very clean and warm (essential for the cold weather of the season). We were very happy with our stay, albeit short, and would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves travelling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
We stayed at this campground for two nights. The sites are very small and the trees, shrubs etc are all overgrown. This office staff seemed unaware of the system of scheduling or checking. The sites were also not at all level. We would never stay at this campground again. Just a typical KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
We had a great time at our last camping trip in Harrisonburg / New Market KOA near Luray. Very nice camp ground, small sites great for a pop-up and tent’s, quite at night, very clean bathrooms. Nice people that ran the camp ground, they even showed us to our site. We stayed at site #11. This camp ground would be a great place to camp with friends for the weekend. Going to Luray Caverns was a great time and very close. We will be going again to this KOA. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
Campground is a bit out of the way, but in a lovely wooded mountainside area. Friendly staff, very well kept. Nice sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Quiet weekday - noisy Friday night thru Sunday. Local party park for weekenders - but all were friendly and only having fun. Amazing bathroom/shower facilities. I mean really well done. But closed noon - 2pm daily for cleaning (go figure). Owner was driving around the campground constantly on a 4-wheeler which was sort of annoying noise-wise. Sites were nice and shady, lots of pull-thrus, somewhat close together for a campground of this type. Pool was clean but small for the number of users. This campground served us well as being central to the New Market battleground, Luray Caverns (and others) and the Shenandoah National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
We stayed overnight enroute to Canaan Valley, WV. The entrance to the campground was lovely but very misleading. The campground itself was not at all appealing. There were a lot of "regulars"; campers that perhaps live fairly close by that spend their weekends at this campground or it appears this way. They were a rough and routy group. During the overnight hours there was drinking, cursing, screaming that sounded threatening and very loud partying that went on well into the night. We felt very unsafe and needless to say didn't get much sleep during the night. The sun had hardly risen when we packed up and were on our way. We will never use this campground again or recommend it to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Stayed here one night in May 2007. I was pleasantly surprised with the layout, cleanliness and how quiet the campground was. The desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. I had a large pull through that fit me nicely. Nice shady sites with all hookups except cable TV. The OTA antenna could only pick up one station. No big deal as I was here to relax anyway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$38
Very quiet and peaceful. A little tricky maneuvering the road into, road is narrow. Great dog area with lots of room for them to run plus a creek for swimming. Very friendly staff, and they kept the place very clean. The bathrooms were one of the nicest we've ever seen. Our site was a tad small but there were some very big sites in the park. We will definitely return, a beautiful area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$38
Another typical KOA with one exception; the sites were not particularly level. Even after leveling, our water in the gray tank would not completely empty, unless I blocked the wheels. The wonderful thing is that it is remotely located. When pulling out of the entrance, there is no view of traffic coming from either the left or right due to trees and hills. The WiFi was slow and there is no cable and given the hills of VA, the antenna didn't do any good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$38
This campground was just OK for us. As we were going to our site, our motorhome met up with some low hanging tree branches..not a good thing for us and not something you want to deal with on your first visit. No damage to our motorhome but it was of concern to us. The sites were not very level for us, roads were gravel and sites were gravel/dirt. Site were close together also. We stayed here as a stop over going to North Carolina. Would not want to stay here any longer than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The CG is three miles down a winding country road that could be a little intimidating on a dark wet night. The CG is rustic but very clean and even though the area is hilly the sites are level and easy to access. The management takes pride in the place and we will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
This is a little off the beaten path but worth the drive in. These people make the difference. I've stayed here 3 times and plan to make it my home base when in the Shenandoah Valley. Only thing that would raise my ranking is lakefront. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Very nice, quiet, wooded campground. About three miles off I-81. We had a water/electric site. There is a pool and they have hayrides and show a movie on Saturday night in their pavilion. They have a small game room. Nice hiking trail up the mountain, but think it is longer than 2 miles as noted on the campground map. Other than that, not much more for kids to do. We used the campground as a base to explore Harrisonburg, which was about 10 minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Decent campground. Wooded sites, but a little close together. Office staff was having some difficulty understanding their own computer system, but overall a good experience. Good home base to do things in the area, but not sure I'd make it a destination campground. We might return if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
This was our 3rd stay at this campground, and we will stay there again. It is fairly well kept, with roomy, wooded sites. There are nightly movies shown in the pavilion, and the hosts are friendly and helpful. This is one of our favorite places to stay in the Shenandoah Valley. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
We have enjoyed this campground several times in the past. It is quiet and peaceful and far enough off of I-81 that you don't hear any traffic. The sites are fairly level and heavily wooded. Staff is pleasant - the only complaint was that one of the employees used a very loud four wheeler to go to and from all areas of the campground. He started this early in the morning as well - a golf cart would have been a better choice...or even a tractor would have been quieter. That was my only complaint. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$32
Easy access, nice and quiet. Graveled roads and spaces, a little soggy in heavy rain. Good spacing on the sites. A little distance off the interstate to get there, but no traffic sounds once you get there. As with many campgrounds, take some ant powder with you. We would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
We stopped one night in this campground and really enjoyed our stay. The campsite was clean and quiet. Very friendly employees and they were very helpful. It's a nice wooded area so there is some sense of privacy. The campsite was almost full, but they have nice wide spaces. The drive out to the campsite was a bit long and the road was narrow, but overall a very good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
This campground is a little off the beaten path, but it is a very nice campground. The sites were large with a natural setting. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. They do have a fishing pond and a nature trail which leads to the National forest. We would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$40
It has been a while since we camped here, but not far from I-81, the road in was a bit tricky, but once we got there we found a very quiet park with small but nice facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com