219929 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Tobesofkee Claystone Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (478) 474-8770
CGID3767

Lake Tobesofkee Claystone Park

Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   8   10   9   8   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
We camped overnight and would come back. It was a pleasant park. We had a view of the lake. Saw wild turkeys in the morning by our camper. Our site 40 wasn't quite level. We liked the cement pads on the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
I certainly cannot rate this campsite as highly as others have. SOME of the sites have sewer connection, but most don't. Be sure to ask if this is a requirement. We stayed in site 27. It was on a slight downhill slant and was relatively small. Not much room to put outdoor chairs. We could not open the awning because a tree was in the way. The showers were clean but the shower was not a spray. It was a straight stream of water sort of like a garden hose. On the plus side the lake is visually very pleasant and the sandy beach was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Lake Tobesofkee, Claystone Campground was a very pleasant one night stop over enroute to our home. We were give a spacious FHU pull thru site (#45) that gave us an unobstructed view of the lake. By nightfall, most all of the sites were full so this is obviously a popular place. In the morning we were greeted with geese and wild turkey around our site. There is a nice but challenging Frisbee golf course beside some of the campground. Our Verizon cell worked well and shopping or eateries are within 4 miles of the front gate. If you are not self contained, the restrooms showers are not conveniently located. This was not a problem as we are fully self-contained. We will visit this campground in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
We camped here to attend Mercer University's Homecoming events. We had reserved site 23 but because the campground was not fully booked we changed to site 44. Even though site 44 is close to the lake, it should be avoided if possible because the sewer and water source are on the opposite sides of the lot from the electric and TV cable outlets. It's a pull-through site, but the amenities are a hassle to use because they are not located on the same side. Eventually we pulled our RV so the sewer line will be on the right side to our camper's sewer tank and the electric source on the wrong side. Also, our view to the lake was obstructed when site 45 was occupied. The bathrooms and toilet are clean and well maintained. One of the mornings, inmates from the jail house were cleaning the restrooms. It was a bit odd since we didn't except that. Obviously, they use them to maintain the facilities. The cable TV didn't work for us, but we weren't around the campground much of the time to need it or seek for help. Tmobile's 4G or 3G didn't work in spite of the fact that several subdivisions are located around the lake and campground. We will definitely use the campground again next year when we visit Macon for Mercer's University activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Wow! A beautiful park with lake views and long, sandy beaches. Surprising to find cable television and laundry machines in a county park. Gravel roads, concrete pads. Showers very clean, though laser-beam sprays. We will most definitely stop here again, just a few miles from the interstate, but worlds away in peace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Could not beat the view in site 49. Interestingly, the site next to us, while FHU had the sewer on the wrong side. Good value. Reserve ASAP to get the best sites. The lakeside sites are held for 7 days or less so we had better luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Very nice park with recently updated restrooms which were immaculate. Some of the sites aren't real level, but ours was fine. Nice views of the lake and some of the sites have lots of shade. It even had cable TV hookups. Verizon air card worked fine. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This place is great. We are lakefront (site #43) in a pull-through site on a concrete slab. The lake view and woodsy view are equally fabulous. The rate for a FHU can't be beat. There's plenty of grass for the dog at our site and plenty of room to take walks. There's a beach, but we didn't walk to it, so can't comment. The cable worked well, and we had good Verizon connection. Shopping and restaurants are close. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Stayed for two nights; enjoyed the time. Easy pull through sites; overlooked Lake Altoona. Lots of geese at night. They were fun to watch, but left a lot of droppings. You had to watch your step in the morning. Friendly staff; clean rest rooms. We visited Robbins Air Force Museum and Andersonville Prison during our stay. Would stay again. Only negative aspect was no shade. But the park was rebuilt recently after being damaged by a tornado in 2008. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
One of the best places I have ever stayed. Large sites with paved pads overlooking a lovely lake. A county park with 50 amp, sewer, and cable TV. How great is that! Hardly anyone there the night we stayed. Would stay here again in a heartbeat We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This was only a one night stay for us and it rained, so we didn't get much of a chance to look around. It was a lovely campground with some of the nicest restrooms we've ever seen. The lake was very pretty and the grounds were very well kept. We stayed in a pull through site that was very easy to get into and out of. No trees were available in the pull through sites and therefore no shade (at least the ones with full hookup). It looked like the back in sites were in the prettier, more wooded areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
This is a county park with all one could expect from a county managed facility. Security, maintenance, frisbee golf, swim beach, boating, lots of kids. While CATV hook up is available, we did not use. The beach is raked often and is in very good condition. The water is tested weekly for bacteria. The sites are paved asphalt and the tables are metal and plastic coated. Most of the sites appear to be sloped front to rear and you will need to adjust side to side. We were on site #5 and I needed to add an inch elevation on my side. The park is close to town and shopping. We will stay here again. It is busy on weekends, but during the week there are walk up spaces available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Stopped here for one night but will definitely return for a longer stay. Sites were concrete slabs, all had a view of the lake. It was a beautiful scene looking out on the water. Property next door does have roosters that were noisy day and night but the scenery outweighed their annoyance for us. The staff were extremely kind and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Quite dog had a blast paling in the lake. Played Frisbee golf with wife and our dog. Bring bug repellant ticks were bad. Safe clean nice beach patrol by Macon PD as well. They wanted to take my dog on patrol with them, Everyone at the camp ground was friendly. Recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
The only reason for not giving this campground a 10 was the lack of Wi-Fi. The site we had (40) near the lake was a pull through that was ideal for our 42' motor home and tow. The utilities were good and the view of the lake added to the enjoyment of our stay. The park was nearly empty at the time of our stay and provided lots of room to roam with our dog. The price was right too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
We stayed here overnight on our way to Savannah. The park is lovely and would be even more beautiful when spring arrives. The lake is beautiful and has a walkway. We did not use the restrooms. The sites were level and the park appears to be well-kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Beautiful spacious, level, water front or water view sites. A+ restrooms. Would have rated a 10 had there been Wi-Fi. Rate reflects Sr. discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This is one nice campground with a great staff and helpful seasonal campers. We were only supposed to do a one night stay but had problems on our journey so ended up staying two. The pull through sites are on nice concrete level pads easy in easy out. Full hook ups included in price well maintained facilities. Nice lake to swim in and have fun with the kids. Had some problems on our way to Disney and had to stay an extra day thankfully. We had a much better trip after we slowed down a little. If you do stay here then you must stop at the Fish and Pig Restaurant down the street. No matter how busy it is it is worth the wait. We will stop here again next trip for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Great park, but lacks enough shade in the pull thru area. Good city water & pressure. Our dog loved swimming in the lake, didn't want to come out. Very quiet, loved the lake view. We will definitely stay here again when passing thru the Macon area. We highly recommend this park. We normally stay at KOA's while traveling. We wanted a change, found this park in our Woodall's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
We found this campground while passing through Macon. It is close to the interstate and makes a great overnight stop. We were able to store our 5th wheel for a few days in a parking lot, while we explored Atlanta, thus avoiding trying to find a park in Atlanta. The parks only drawback I thought was that some of the sites are not level and require using boards to level the RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
This was a very nice County park. We liked the fact that the trees had been thinned out. It made for a better view of the lake. A boat ramp is available. Most sites do not have sewer hook ups, but the dump site is available. The park was nice but I found the surrounding area of Macon to be run down and in need of revitalization. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We have been coming to this park for years. After the 2008 tornado, it has been upgraded and in much better condition. The restrooms have been tiled and are much cleaner than before. We stayed in a pull through site (#44) that was supposed to be full hookup but the water and sewer connections were on the wrong side. We were able to use the water by using two hoses but not the sewer. All the other pull through sites did have all the connections on the correct side. These sites are not right on the lake and there is not lake access from the campground. There is a nice boat ramp in the park and a big swimming beach. Plenty of roads for biking but hilly so can be a struggle for a casual rider. We will definitely stay again when we visit our children living in Macon. We understand that they do take reservations now. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
We stayed here for 2 nights in early April after reading the reviews and talking to some people who said it was a really nice park. We were very disappointed. There was trash all around the park and in our site was a reservation slip from the previous November: this tells me no one bothers to pick up trash! Our fire pit and others around had trash in them and needed to be cleaned out. Obviously no one enforces the rules as dogs were constantly barking and even after we asked at the front gate if someone could do something about it, nothing was done. One camper was letting their dog run loose all over the campground. Also, the bathhouse needed some cleaning and was out of toilet paper. It is a shame as the lake is very beautiful and with some TLC this could be a pleasant place to stay. But we will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
This was a very nice campground. Would definitely like to come back. The showers and amenities were really kept nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
We loved this campground. We camped here for 8 days in mid-December and had the whole place to ourselves, which I don't understate because it is really, really nice. The campground is basically brand new. It was closed for repairs after the Mothers Day tornado in 2008. it reopened on Labor Day 2009. The asphalt roads and pads are new, the electric, water, and sewer are new, landscaping is new, etc. 17 of the 58 sites are full hookup. 11 of the 17 are pull thru. The pull thru sites are huge and can easily accommodate big rigs with lots of room to spare. The pull thrus have concrete pads and are the only sites reasonably close to level. All the back-ins lean toward the water and would be difficult to level an RV. Since they survived the storm, the bathrooms/showers/laundry are older. However, they are in great "as new" condition. My complaint with the showers in that the water only got warm, never hot. The campground is right on the lake and has a beach, two boat launches, hiking roads, and a kids playground. It is quiet. There is absolutely no highway or train or city noise. (It looks like there would be boat motor noise during warm weather). Shops and markets are less than 10 minutes away in Macon. Our cell phones had all bars. We felt safe. Twice a day the police patrolled the campground. The campground is only partially shaded with many trees ripped out by the storm. Fortunately, this improved views of the lake. This is truly a nice park. If it had hot showers and more amenities like a hot tub, pool, and wifi, we would give it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
We were here during the Cherry Blossom Festival so the campground was almost full by the time we got there at 6:00. They don't take reservations so we were pretty lucky that we got a site. We had a very hard time getting our travel trailer parked because of the very narrow roads and steep ditches. There was a lot of chatter and traffic to and from the bathhouse until pretty late. But, the good stuff about the campground was that there was a beautiful view on the lake at sunset and sunrise and there was a lot to do there. Also, the bathhouse was very clean and showers were roomy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$24
This is a beautiful park in a wooded area on a large lake. It was heavily damaged in the last year by a tornado, but is in the process of being repaired. The staff is very friendly, and it seems safe and secure with a gated entrance. The previous reviews are accurate about the narrow roads. I would rate higher except there are only five sites with sewer hookups, and there is no cable or WiFi. The scenery rates high, however. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
We stayed at the park after the Mother's Day tornadoes. There were trees down all over the place. Someone came in to clean it up but they did a horrible job of it. The road is narrow and it was hard to back up our trailer. The bathrooms and laundry room were clean. They have inmates from the prison doing their cleaning so that made me very uncomfortable when I saw them. Overall it was good! We would stay again if we was in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Interior roads and most sites paved. WARNING: interior road is very narrow with ditch on each side. If you are unsure of your driving skill, don't choose this park. New section has 50 amp full hookup sites, which are reasonably level. Most older section sites are not level. Restrooms were closed for remodeling. Also a tornado hit the park and did extensive damage. Park may not re-open until Labor Day 2008. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$24
They have 6 new pads with full hook-ups with a great view of the lake. The new power has some problems with low voltage with one leg of the 50 amp circuit. When we called in advance they said a 40' motorhome was no problem. WRONG! The roads are very narrow with tight turns and low tree branches. Except for the new pads most sites are not accessible with a motorhome over 32'. We noticed stray dogs and cats roaming the area but seemed not to be bothering anyone. The normal rate is $20 but $24 for the new pads We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
This park has the potential to be a great place. They are expanding the campground and adding 50 amp hookups. The lake is nice, the rangers are nice, and the gate keeper was helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We first stayed at this park two years ago (the first review). Its still a nice park. As stated by the previous reviewer, they have added 50amp and cable TV. There are a few lake view sites being built (almost ready) that will have sewer hookups, but they have no shade at all. The bathhouses were about to be painted, but they still looked like they were in the same bad shape as last time. This place would be so much better if they would build a new bath house. The staff was nice and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
This campground is undergoing some renovation: 50 amp boxes have been installed and cable TV is apparently on the way. In addition, ten new sites are being added, some of which will be waterfront. The existing campsites aren't particularly large and most aren't very level. The sites are well spaced though, and it's overall a nice place to stay. The employees of the registration booth were friendly and helpful, and were very happy to extend our checkout time to 5:30pm so we could avoid the need to pay for an additional night. Of the two campgrounds on Lake Tobesofkee, this is the better; we found the sites at Arrowhead to be in poor repair and too close to one another. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$15
Big rig owners beware. Interior road tight and most sites sloped. Sites 1-15 are longer, but some have lots of slope. Narrow interior roads makes backing into paved site tricky. Located a few miles west of Exit 5 of I-475. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
Paved sites and roads. Most sites are back-in, a few are pull-thru. Picnic tables and grills. Many sites drop off the edge of the pad. A fare amount of space between sites. Space for awnings and slidouts if trees are not in the way. The bathrooms are in very poor condition. Shower curtains torn or missing in womans side, mens side is a gang shower. Floor tile missing or broken. Outlet and switch covers missing (exposed electrical wires). Swiming beach is nice. Beach is a far walk from the CG. Playground is at the beach and in good shape. Good TV reception; six stations. This would be a very nice CG if the bathhouse was replaced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com