214355 User submitted reviews online!!
Gulf Shores / Pensacola West KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (251) 961-1717
CGID3772

Gulf Shores / Pensacola West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   10   8   3   7   3   2   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
This is not a bad park, but there is room for improvement. Most of the workers were very friendly and the pool and clubhouse looked very nice. This biggest drawback is that the site next to us (site F--we were in site F1) is too small for even a pop up, and the group of 6 in it were too close for comfort. Recommend use site F for a rock or flower garden. Also for $37 a night, I would expect at least a concrete pad. Shower/restrooms were clean, but getting decrepit and could use some remodel. Despite the opportunities for improvement, we will probably stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
We've stayed in many KOA's, and this is probably the worst one we've stayed in. I need to be fair. The staff were exceptional. They were friendly and very helpful. When we made our reservation, there weren't any premium sites available so we chose a pull-in site. When we were escorted to the site, there were very close corners, so if you're in a big rig beware. We couldn't even begin to get into the site they assigned us so they had to put us in another site. This site must have been an afterthought. We barely had room to set up our lawn chairs beside the RV. This park has much potential but I get the feeling it has an absentee owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Wonderful campground. Very clean. Very helpful staff. They told us all the best Places to go. Very safe and relaxing. We stayed for 1 week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Rate includes KOA discount. Grass sites, gravel roads, big rig friendly, long sites, long enough to disconnect the from the 5th wheel and not worry about blocking the road. Stayed up front for one night, did not use restrooms. Satellite locked on easily, Sprint cell worked. Easy on/off the interstate, little bit of road noise. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$52
Very disappointed. Paid the 'big bucks' for a Super Site. It was dirty and unkempt. The patio table was a wood picnic type table although it did have an umbrella. The barbecue was the type that almost every KOA has at all sites. The fire pit hadn't been cleaned out in months....full of old coals/wood with tons of cigarette butts in it. Junk around the site (beer bottle caps/paper wrappers etc). Wi-Fi was very spotty even though we were camped right next to the office. Cable is really sad; very few channels. We will not be staying here again. Lots and lots of RV parks in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
This park is currently undergoing renovations. They have been upgrading big rig sites with brick paver pads, fire rings, and a swing chair. They do charge more for this. The store was not really stocked but had essentials that you might need. All roads are narrow and gravel. Most of the sites were grass and gravel mix, while others were sparse gravel. The updated sites had a nice layer of gravel. The pool was clean and large, and the deck was furnished with concrete tables with umbrellas and benches. We arrived early, and our site was not available so we were placed in an alternate site, which is where we ended up. They have very nice and fairly new cabins on the road as you come into the park. The entrance is steep and you can see where a lot of toads left their mark in the road. The roads tend to become more narrow when you have occupied sites on both sides, and they park their vehicle directly on the road. The playground is sufficient for little ones. The clubhouse was closed due to renovation. We could not find a rest room near the pool, and couldn't reference the campground map because we never received one. I'm sure there was one somewhere. The staff was friendly in the office. The dumpsters are located near the exit and just before the entrance. Not sure we would return to this campground. It was good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Our experience at this KOA was not favorable as the management is not available when you need them. The person they had to help us was not given the power to move us to another site. We had some trouble with the electricity (the power went out) and they were not helpful. When the electricity came back on, our brand new RV would not accept it. Later we discovered that our rig is so advanced, that it will only accept proper electricity. Anyway, we tried to move, but could not and had to run our generator all night. When asked for reimbursement of fees, we were basically told NO. The site was not that great either. Gravel site. Far away from Gulf Shores and other sites. Not in a really good spot unless you plan on just camping (no sightseeing). Restrooms were clean. Swimming pool looked fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
We camped here for a week with our children and were disappointed overall. Sites we very close together, and we were fortunate our neighbor had pulled up far enough in his site so we could sit behind his motorhome! No fire rings present, not that there would have been room to use one. The campground is at least 30 minutes to Gulf Shores or Pensacola, and was not "right on the beach" as indicated on their website. Bugs were terrible. Staff was indifferent, laundry was over priced and mostly functional. Not the worst campground we have stayed at, but definitely the worst KOA we have stayed at. We will not return to this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$41
Not in Pensacola. Not in Gulf Shores. It is a nice quiet park but took quite awhile to get anywhere. Sites are tight but the campers seemed to by very friendly with each other. Would not go to this park again if we can stay somewhere else closer to Pensacola or Gulf Shores and still have reasonable rates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
We stayed here for one night with 3 small children. Park is clean and tidy, staff was friendly - we were shown to our site. Playground has old equipment, but well maintained in working order. Quiet, about half of the sites were unoccupied. Several sites have abundant shade, our site had none. Main reason for the low rating: (1) site was horribly unlevel, which I find unacceptable for the given price range and (2) there were gnats everywhere, it was unbearable to be outside for more than a few minutes. Wish we could have had a better experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Off the beaten path. Shaded sites with grass and gravel. Pool and hot tub. Friendly staff. Walk down to bay with fishing pier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
We arrived on Friday afternoon and as we entered the park the entrance was so steep that our tow bar scraped the street pavement and bent it. The sites are so small, they are not big rig friendly at all. There is no one to instruct parking, the camper next to us was so crooked we could not open our awning. Nothing is neat and and things are run down with rotted wood showing everywhere. Paint can't fix everything. Dogs barking in trailers where people have left them all day, everyday. Could use an correct description on their web site. Laundry room not clean at all, plus washers broken and the cost is $2. to wash and $2. to dry, which is too high. By far the worse KOA we have stayed in. Shabby park will not recommend or stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
Park is quiet. Easy to access restaurants, shopping, sight-seeing. Staff is friendly and helpful. Easy walk to beachfront. Long-term guests friendly. Pilates class fun. Weekly potluck fun. Campsites narrow, unable to put out awning. No picnic tables. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$34
If you like quiet & solitude; a great park. Campground is 16 miles east of Foley and the Tangier outlet; another five miles from Gulf Shores. Supermarkets and other shops are closer some five miles to the east in Pensacola. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
This is a park with an owner attitude. If she likes you, you can do anything. If not, better obey the rules. Especially parking on the grass. Problem, there is no clear sites except for a few. Friends are allowed to party after quiet time. Wi-Fi worked briefly and then went down, not to return for over a month. Their excuse was that the provider would not fix it. Don't expect too much in the way of Wi-Fi except in their office. No speed limit posted and so people could just race through the park, although on some of the roads they could beat your cars to pieces. Cable TV has lots of channels but they have a tendency to break up like a satellite in heavy rain. We will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
Just a word of caution for those wishing to use this campground. It's difficult to locate and is useful for only an overnight stop. Sites are old and not well maintained. They are merely small, uneven strips of dirt/gravel bordered by small strips of grass. Campground staff seem to try to keep things maintained as best they can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
Site was level and sewer was well-placed for hookup. Our pull-through site was more than long enough to easily accommodate big rig and towing. Although cable TV had about 70 stations we were also able to use our satellite. Staff was pleasant. Wi-Fi signal was strong. Boat ramp on grounds to put kayak into water. Grounds were clean with no trash or signs of hurricane damage. Stay was quiet and pleasant. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This is one of the worst KOAs we've stayed at in the nation and we've stayed at a lot of them. Uneven sites, overflowing trash dumpster, filthy showers and restrooms, and employees who frankly don't care. We even had to endure two nights of tornado warnings huddled on the open office porch under a metal roof during a violent lightning/rain/potential tornadoes with several other campers because the owners couldn't be bothered to open the rec hall for us. A tornado touched down a couple of miles north of us the second night. I've never been at a KOA that cared less about my safety or comfort. If you're used to real KOAs, pass on this one. With new owners, this could be a great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Friendly staff. Fairly convenient to Naval Aviation Museum (free and worth the trip). Many sites are satellite friendly and cable is also good. Good wi-fi. Most sites are somewhat level but many are also somewhat uneven. So called "super sites" appeared very unlevel. Very few paved pads. Mostly grass, gravel, and dirt sites fairly well spaced. Some sites have much shade. Work is being done behind the building to level and improve sites. Flags have been placed in front of the building to start on those sites. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
Perdido Bay KOA is located on beautiful Perdido Bay, has a wonderful fishing pier, pool, hot tub and club house. All in all it's a pleasant place to stay however the bathrooms and showers are in need of updating as mold was found in the showers. The staff was pleasant enough and on site propane fill ups were a convenience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
Nice park, but needs a lot of work yet. Not many patios and at lot of sites you sit in the dirt. Showers were nasty. Playground old and out dated. Nice pool. Lot of flies and nats. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$36
I have both mixed feelings about this campground. First there is a wonderful small beach on the bay with a pier that is just great. Without being on the actual ocean, this was the next best thing. The sites were shady and pretty. Now, the problems. There was a huge tree that almost prevented me from getting into my pull through site, due to the fact that the sites are right up on top of each other. The way the sites are laid out, your patio area was right beside the patio area of the next camper, there was no separation, which is bad when the camper next door parties all night. They need to put one lot per every two. The staff was nice! The campground is not close to Gulf Shores or Orange Beach at all! It's a good 30 minutes drive! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$34
Poorly graded sites, huge rain puddles, poor drainage. Wi-Fi was iffy at best. Was told it was working properly but 3 people reported problems at the same time and we were told it was our computers. Long walk to dumpster that was located at entrance not at exit, no site pick up. No speed limit, and even staff drove way too fast through park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Around spring break but was not hit with college kids. Nice pull threws with level sites. Beautiful Perdido Bay out my back door. Host was nice and directed us towards our site. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
Let me just start by saying I'm from New England and not really up on hurricane damage spots nor how long it takes to bounce back from the damage. Now with that being said, would you expect when you make reservations somewhere for a week and they charge your CC when you reserve that they might tell you the condition of the park? Even upon arrival nothing said! Okay after picking our site (the one with the least rain ruts) and setting up there were cats roaming free, climbing in the under-carriage of the motorhome, driving the dog crazy, pit-bulls across the way tied on light string and other dogs just wandering free. I suppose this should have been an omen. Like a good camper I read my rules and in big print at the bottom it says NO REFUNDS after 1 hour, so READ all paperwork before you set up! Well okay I paid for a week-lets make the best of it. Then as I'm cooking dinner all the other park occupants starting arriving home-truck loads of working men and more men, immigrant workers. Well in the morning we decided to venture down to see the fishing pier, beach and kamping cabins as advertised--not there, they were gone-not even a beach! That was the last straw-I did return to the office later that morning when it finally opened and told the woman I couldn't stay there, she never even asked why, but I did get my money back less the night fee and when I added that it would be nice if when either making a reservation or registering that you be told the ammeneties aren't there! No price reduction by the way-still full price-she just said "well the owners house is still not fixed from the hurricane". This place is just BAD NEWS. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com