217805 User submitted reviews online!!
Sleepy Hollow Lake & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (434) 836-2620
CGID3777

Sleepy Hollow Lake & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   3   6   10   4   1   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Nice park, our site was fairly unlevel. Area was clean. Had some permanent folks but that was not a problem. The only thing was the laundry room needed some cleaning and the dryers took forever!! We were only here for a stop over but would recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
The owners/operators of this campground are first-rate, friendly, helpful and honest. I'd give the campground a 10 except there is no cable TV and some sites are unlevel. The owners have made great improvements since our last visit a year ago, including upgrading the Wi-Fi and carrying more supplies in the campstore. The owners also went out of their way to make our club's visit a great one. I did not use the laundry or bath facilities, but I expect they were in clean based on the office condition. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Arrived late in the day after picking up our new 5th Wheel from a local dealer who recommended the site as being a good place to stay overnight to get used to the vehicle and check out everything was OK. The owners were not there but we were looked after well by two members of staff who helped us park up in a fairly tight site for our 40 ft 5th wheel. We had booked for the previous night but were a day late collecting the vehicle, they very kindly did not charge us for the missed night which we felt was very decent. The park looked to have plenty on offer with good bike and walking trails and well stocked lakes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
This was our first time visiting this campground. We were not impressed at all. This campground is old and run down. Upon arrival we checked in, paid, and were told to pick a site. They have pull through sites but most are narrow if you have slides. We were told that new owners had bought the campground in October and changed the name to Paradise Lake Campground and Restaurant. The best thing that could happen here is a total redo of the sites, including the water/electric hookups (it was hard to tell what site the electric box was for, and most water was for two sites), sewer (ours was literally in the site and the cap was made like a plug and was hard to find), all the sites could use some grading and fresh gravel as little gravel was visible but plenty of mud to go around after the rains. We asked the lady working some questions about how far the sites went around the lake and her answer was "I don't know. I have only been here a month." She was very friendly though as was the owner we met. If the new owners make improvements this could be a very nice place but until then it would be OK for a stop over but very little else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
The restrooms and showers were clean, although the toilet bowls were stained (probably from the minerals in the water rather than poor housekeeping). The campground has a bit of a run-down or older look, though that could be due to the sandy/dusty roads. Pull-through sites are level enough, though close, and can accommodate larger rigs. Back-in sites seem smaller, mainly for 30-35 foot rigs. There seem to be more permanent/seasonal folks than there were last year. There are dog breed restrictions (including no Dobermans). There is also a territorial "attack" goose (named Henry) who may decide he doesn't like you or your rig. A hiking trail winds around the back and side of the lake. For the most part, it's a pleasant trail. There is one area that's been washed out and would be hard to get past for anyone who's not nimble. A designated pet-walk area is next to the lake, but there was no trash can nearby. I managed to pick up the Winston-Salem TV station with just an indoor antenna, so even though there's no cable, you can probably get a signal. I wouldn't stay here for any extended time, but for a quick stopover the campground is acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
Very clean and friendly park. Management goes out of their way to help out. Great atmosphere. I would recommend this park very highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
We were here after heavy rains, and the gravel and dirt roads were not in very good shape. This is an older campground near a lake. It has not been well maintained. There were a lot of permanent campers while we were here because of a power plant being constructed nearby. WiFi costs extra. There is a pool, miniature golf course, and play ground. Very clean restrooms. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2005
$27
My husband worked in the area for 3 months, so we were parked here for 3 months. The restaurant is good but only has one employee and she is very over-worked. The owners have another business which is their "primary" business and it is a construction company. In the summer time there is 1 person working at the park and he is the owner's son. Lots of times he is not here at all. In the winter months he works for the construction company and no one is at the park. Campers come in and leave and they usually can't find a person to pay. The gal in the restaurant has to handle the campers when she is here. The park is run down but in a good location with lots of shade. The pool is a mess and no way would I swim in it. The water is well water which is not treated properly. Smelled like strong sulpher on most days. The laundry has 4 washers, 2 of which are sitting with brown water in them. One was broken 3 months ago and things are growing in the washer water. Maybe for an overnighter this park would be okay (if they could find someone to pay: no instructions on the door either for after hours). However, for the longer-term person, it's pretty sad. They had a land-line for internet but took it away when they moved the construction company into that building, so there is no internet hook up at all. The town of Danville has several sites for Wi-Fi though. If you are in a big rig, be very, very careful as several trees need to be cut in order to accommodate you. Pull throughs are difficult to get into and out of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
I chose this campground from the only other review posted here. Unfortunately that poster was either affiliated with this place or has very low standards. The best that can be said about the place is that it is quiet at night. From there it goes down hill. When we arrived our site trash can was over flowing. It was never emptied while we were there. The campground itself is rough, needs a great deal of TLC and has very small sites. This is the first place I've ever been where a tent would not fit on the site it was given. The pool was mirky such that we refrained from using it. What annoyed us the most was the ATVs. You think golf carts with kids on them are bad. Try ATVs with drunk grownups zooming by your site all day. We did enjoy the ducks and geese. That's not enough to bring us back though. We'll go elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$26
The park was very clean and neat. It had a lot of trees and a nice 18 acre lake with paddle boats and fishing. There was a restaurant and store on site. Overall nice place to stay. We camped here in a ?.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com