206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Redwoods River Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (707) 925-6249
CGID378

Redwoods River Resort

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   2   9   8   9   6   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
We were pleasantly surprised to find an amazing campground where we could actually camp among the giant Redwood trees. The park was extremely clean, quiet and beautiful and the staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We had several Redwood trees right in our large pull-through site. The grounds were beautiful and you can hike down a moderate trail to the Eel River with a great little sandy beach. We will definitely be returning again soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
Pass this one by! If you're traveling and looking for an overnight stop, this is way overpriced at $48. The place is dusty with no grass, just dirt. No cable, no TV period. WiFi is $3 per day extra on top of the already inflated price of $48. Decent Verizon service. Next time near here, we'll just keep on truckin'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$49
Great campground. We went the week before Memorial Day and they were not cleaned up yet. However taking into consideration the RV site is under the Redwoods, we didn't care our site wasn't cleanup. Lots of room between each RV. Our site had only trees behind us for as far as we could see so we loved our site. The only negative on our site was that highway 101 was just above us so we had road noises all night long. That we could live with to have our site. The women's showers were clean but in one shower the handle looked like it was ready to fall off. When I turned on the shower the water sprayed a lot of places other than where it should. I couldn't get the water warm. I tried another shower and the handle was also bad but the water did get warm. Not a great amount of pressure but OK. This is the only reason I didn't give them a full 10 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
This was our first time at this campground. The Redwood trees in the park are beautiful, and our space (No. 40 - nice and long) was right next to two of them. This is an older park and had not been cleaned up since winter. Our main complaint was that it took us close to an hour to level our RV. Space needed gravel, told staff, and they added it to the list of sites to fix. We were just below 101, but noise didn't bother us at all at night. Our Verizon MiFi worked, but slow. No TV. Lots to see including Chandalier Drive-Thru tree. Confusion Hill, and Avenue of the Giants. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Nice rustic park surrounded by mature redwoods. Our site was dirt but level and backed right up to redwoods. Lots of room for our toy hauler and motorcycles. Store was small but stocked well. Pool was nice. A little noise from highway but not bad. There is a STEEP path down to Eel river but there are benches along the way to take a break. Nice little park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Nice park shaded by many redwoods. Most sites only have 30 amp service. Nice pool and friendly staff. Good Wi-Fi. Satellite service difficult due to all the redwoods. Expensive for only 30 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Have kids? This a great place. Clean, well managed and fun. What a campground should be. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Pleasant campground right on Hwy 101 just North of Leggett. Easy access, friendly staff. Convenient store with firewood, ice, and basic necessities. Wi-Fi is slow, but available for extra $3.00 per day. Trail to the river is steep. Worth the walk but take your time. The three benches along the way were welcome. Mosquitoes were pesky but not obnoxious. Would return here. Nice central location to area's tourist venues. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Entrance is a few miles North of Leggit on a curve, so have to watch closely for the rather un-obtrusive sign on the west side of the road. We passed it and had to turn back. The park is located on the southern end of the old highway 101, what is aptly called the "Avenue of the Giants" for its meandering passage through a fantastic Redwood forest. What made the experience for us was parking among and right under those huge Redwood trees! Wow, that was something. The only problem was that the highway was right above us and road noise spoiled the peaceful aura. I would have given it a higher score but for the road noise. It still was worth it being in those magnificent trees, and after dark, traffic diminished somewhat. Its an old facility and Wi-Fi was extra, but there are not many RV parks in the area and as mentioned the big Redwoods made it worthwhile, would stay here again just because of that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Rustic is how I would describe this park. Some awesome redwoods to see in the park. Interior roads are very bouncy for big rigs. We stayed as Enjoy America so payed much less than our neighbor. We asked for a satellite spot and they gave us one of the best in the park. Added $3 but that was okay. it was when they added $2 for my little dog that I didn't like. She said it was in the book, but it is not in the EA writeup. The park is at Confusion Hill. Don't miss it like we did. Would probably stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This is a very old, very nice campground. It's in the middle of redwood trees and is very quiet. It has a wonderful children's play area. There's a path down to the Eel River. The sign states it's 350 yards ahead. That's probably true, but the path is very steep with quite a few switchbacks. Once you get down to the river, it's Shangri-La. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
We wouldn't stay here again, in spite of the few nice features it did have. The good: pool, playgrounds, hike down to the river, scenic redwood trees, cute little general store on site. The bad: dirt and potholes everywhere which filled with water when it rained so the whole place was muddy the entire weekend. Can't use your satellite dish because the trees block the signal. The extra fees for kids/dogs/wi-fi were annoying. The ugly: the bathrooms were gross. I wouldn't even consider showering there without wearing shoes. I don't like having tent sites right next to RV sites because the tent campers were outside partying well into the night and kept us awake. Then when we got up in the morning to make breakfast over the fire they were shooting us dirty looks for waking them up. But the best part? I got a bladder infection from swimming in their pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
So the septic and bathroom issues mentioned in previous reviews seem to be resolved. There was no smell and a brand new building with bathrooms; the old building is being torn down. You can hear highway noise but where I was in #7 it was faint enough to sleep through. I liked the setting in the woods and I noticed lots of family friendly amenities such as a fort, mini golf, pool, activity center etc. The hike down the creek is a steep but well maintained trail. Wifi is $3.00/day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
We agree with other reviews regarding the beauty of the campground and the the horrible septic connection. We stayed one night, passing through on our way to Oregon, so we didn't use any of the facilities. The traffic noise from Hwy 101 was VERY loud and we had trucks using their "Jake" or "Compression" brakes all night long! The rates were the highest we paid during our two-week road trip, surprising for this time of year. Also, they were the only RV Park we stayed in that charged a fee for Wi-Fi. We were assigned a camp site directly under an oak tree and were bombarded with falling acorns the entire night. Not a lot of sleep available in this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$57
Wished I had checked this site before we booked but it was a last-minute, on the road, decision and I was thrilled and surprised they had an opening during the summer in the heart of the "Redwoods." Now I know why. First when I called they asked me if I had kids or pets and I said that I did. Never did they mention why they wanted to know and it didn't dawn on me to ask why they needed to know. This was the 10th park we stayed in and when we were asked by other parks it was typically so they could put us in close proximity to the pool or dog area. Well, much to my surprise when we got here they wanted to know because they charge $5/child/night and $2/dog/night. For us that added up to $17.00 more dollars then their already higher then most park fee of $40.00. Their slogan is "A Place for Family and Friends." HA!!! But you could only afford to bring one child so leave tho others at home! To be fair though they did give us a pull through rate for a back in price. So what did we get for $57.00? Like the previous poster mentioned; dirt, very little gravel, dust, run down facilities, and the "sweet" aroma of poo. We were concerned that they might have a leak in their main septic tank or the piping of it because while we were taking a "leisurely" stroll down their 350 yard vertical trail to Eel Creek it stank to high heaven. Speaking of their septic system, we came during the dark hours and my husband noticed they had an unusually small hole to connect our septic hose to but luckily he had an extra elbow to bridge the difference. Well the next morning when we were scrambling to get out of dodge he realized that there was fecal matter and toilet tissue all around the area and we were tramping all over in it the previous evening but the "best" part, it wasn't ours, it was the previous camper's and obviously they didn't have an elbow and so theirs "spilled" out. YUCK YUCK YUCK!!! We used the bathroom in our motorhome but I did check out the restrooms and showers so I could report on them and I wasn't surprised to find them old and dirty. We never did use the pool or even check it out. Hmmm, what can I say that was good? The front office lady was nice, we didn't have to make a reservation. Eel River was beautiful, and it looked best in the rear view mirror. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Change the name to Mosquito Beach and it's more fitting. If you come here in the summer months, like I just did, consider it is right along the Eel River - hence - mosquito haven! All the Off spray, and even hung a bug zapper didn't help. Here's what is nice about the park: they do have beautiful redwood trees and most sites are nice and shady; the utilities we had all seemed to work well; check in was easy and the staff was OK; check in area has area designated for one rig to pull off to side while registering - don't know what would happen if more than one rig at a time pulled in though; the pool was clean but some of the area around the pull was quite slippery. Here's what I didn't like: you guessed it - the mosquitoes are at the top of the list; the entire park is way too dirty - was a constant battle trying to keep inside of rig even remotely livable. Every time anyone drove by, no matter how slowly, or even walked by, a cloud of dirt/dust was stirred up; there were rules against park guests having quads or other motorized ATVs but the heavily tattooed park maintenance guys were constantly speeding by causing clouds of dust to waft into our rigs; the sites are mostly dirt, with some being quite tricky to maneuver if you have a rig over say 25' long; the surrounding streets are dirt with a sparse sprinkling of gravel; bathrooms are very old with no locks on the stalls - a real problem for me; shower stall floors are mud, due to the park being ALL DIRT, so wear shower shoes in and out of shower; the Fort for the kids is interesting but is very old and very dirty - kids don't seem to mind though; there is a recreation room that they refer to as "wreck room," a good description of the outdated rickety old equipment in there; tried to check out some shuffle board equipment first thing in the morning but was told it was all checked out - we NEVER saw ANYONE playing shuffle board in three days (I suspect that's a standard answer, instead of we don't have any equipment to check out); a HUGE family reunion group came in on a Friday night of over 100 people (we could hear their campsites partying until well after midnight. Oh yes, there is a decent hiking trail down to the river (350 yards straight down) that opens to a nice beach area along the river. This hike is quite strenuous going back up so you should be in VERY GOOD shape to take it. The river water was clear and tepid temperature but after encountering the 4th snake, that was enough for us to yank out our grandson and head back up the hill. I don't care how "harmless" some said the snakes were, just gave me the creeps. To sum it up, this place is dirty and very old and I would NEVER camp here again. However, if you are the type of camper who is used to throwing a tent, like to be out in nature, loves the constant sounds of yapping dogs night and day, and like having a hot shower, even if the floor you put your clean feet on are muddy, then this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We love this park. We have 3-4 teenage children that usually go with us, and this park keep even those pesky teens in a good mood. The river is awesome, great for floating, hiking, swimming. It is a hike but well worth it. The park is in the redwoods so almost all the sites are beautiful. The playground is great for all aged kids. My son plays basketball on their half court, which could be upgraded. Every year we show up they are upgrading some aspect of the park. When we have had enough hiking up and back to the river we usually grab a cold one and go play ping-pong, pool, and shuffle board. Time for the cons. They are expensive when you have children and dogs; mosquitoes are thick in summer; and I wish they were a little closer to home. See you next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
The sites were very large. much larger than most RV parks, and snuggled amongst huge Redwood trees. The bathrooms and showers were clean and the pool was wonderful. They had activities for the kids all weekend long including pie eating contests, canoe races in the pool, horse racing, tee shirt decorating contests, Karaoke etc.. All 4 of our grand kids won something and had a blast. They have a shuffle board court, a ladder ball area, a volleyball court, and basketball. The river was gorgeous and worth the hike down and back up. The kids safely swam and played with inner tubes in the river. The kids loved the Confusion Hill house across the road too. The staff was on their toes as this was a busy full camp weekend and they did well. One caution is that their Wi-Fi does not work with Macs, but if you drive your laptop to Leggett and park outside the school your Mac will light right up with no password needed. As with any school, certain sights are blacked out, but I got my e-mails and baseball stats with no problem. We loved our stay there and will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
This feels like a campground! Very woodsy and rustic-surrounded by redwoods. We had to do a lot of adjusting to get our 30 foot 5th wheel into the space they gave us. They have a path to the river for hiking. For us it was fine for an overnight, but we could have done without the speed bumps and narrow drive through the park. The office personnel were friendly and nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This park is old with alot of full-time old rigs. It was dusty, with mosquitoes. We had to pay $2.00 for each of our two small dogs and $3.00 per day for Wi-Fi. The hook ups are terrible. The good thing was they gave us a large site at the back, away from the highway so it was quiet. We only stayed one night and if we ever come back we'll try to find something else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
This park is a shadow of its former self. I camped here as a young boy, 25 years ago and at that point in time the resort was in its prime. I have observed that it no longer resembles the clean well manicured and maintained park that I remember. The pool appears to be in its original condition. That is to say that it is in poor physical condition. The once grassy knoll that people used to lounge on is now dead grass and dust. There are permanent campers here and their rigs are old and appear worn out and their sites messy. This campground is just a shame. I wont be back. The owner himself was as friendly as a wet noodle. I'm so disappointed, I returned to show my children where I used to camp and now I find that it's a dive not worth more than just a night's stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Stayed here before about 4 years ago and if anything, it's gone downhill. They do have a new bath/laundry room that is quite nice.The roads are dusty and weirdly laid out. In other words follow the map and take the right corners.It is not really big rig friendly,but you can get them in if you are careful. In some sites you have to watch the top of your rig as the trees bend over the sites and you can take out your gutters or poke holes in your A/C. Oh,and you've got to be watch real carefully if you're coming from the south as the left hand entrance sneaks up on you. The pluses are Confusion Hill is right across the highway and the Eel river is just down the hill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Good news and bad news here. I was a little stressed after driving on the curvy, narrow Hwy 1 and after almost being hit by an out of control car. I was so glad to get here. However, it's not the best place. I said bathrooms were clean. Floors were dirty, but it's dirt all over so maybe they can't be kept clean. I got one TV station with the new box. If I could speak Spanish it might have been okay. No cell service. WiFi works good but costs $3 per day. Lots of mosquitoes and bugs which isn't their fault. They have a lot of activities going on. The lady in the office did her job but was not overly friendly or accommodating. It was okay for a one night stay, but I wouldn't stay longer. There was a small store with some groceries and supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We made the mistake of choosing a holiday weekend to stay at this facility. I really felt sorry for the managers of this resort as there were a lot of noisy people. We didn't use the bathrooms or showers only because they were a mess due to the heavy foot traffic and because some people can't seem to keep their kids in check. The managers were constantly unplugging the toilets. The site we occupied was adequate and private enough that we didn't encounter too many of the other guests. It could have been a little cleaner. By that I mean it should have been canvased for paper bits, cigarette butts, etc. in between guests at the site. Maybe there just wasn't time that weekend. Because it was Memorial Day the crowd was a bit on the rowdy side. If you decide to choose this RV park, be aware that a holiday weekend is probably not the best time if you are trying to read a good book. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We were here prior to the season and it may be that the place is better later. General appearance scruffy and unkempt. Didn't want to use the rest rooms as they we antiquated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
We were very disappointed in this park as the ads made it much better than it really was. The park has many permanent residents and their personal spaces were not very well maintained. There was no maintenance around - no raking or even making sure the tables were clean. The spot we took was secluded and next to the host. Disappointingly, our area was full of household trash, i.e., old mattresses and other such "junk". We left the next morning. Beautiful redwoods but simply not a beautiful park. Understandably for the area, no cell coverage and satellite will not work, but park provides Wi-Fi. I would not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This was not the park I expected to stay in. While the sites are shaded, they are small and oddly placed within the park. There are a number of full-time residents and a number of CalTrans workers staying in the park. The sites were not exactly clean, they hadn't been raked and there was trash present in our site when we arrived. In general, I would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
It was fine as an overnight place to stay but we wouldn't make it a destination. There are a lot of semi-permanent residents there and not all of them take good care of their sites or rigs. It was pretty dusty but that couldn't be helped because the road construction was taking place right outside the park. The staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
I would not recommend this "resort." The highway traffic is terrible (especially in sites 38 and 39). Exhaust from trucks and cars permeated our trailer and the noise kept us up at night. There was construction right across from the park with a nonstop jack hammer (not their fault, admittedly), but this killed any peaceful experience we might have had from 7a.m.- 5:00p.m. When we tried to walk our dogs around the sites, full timers had their dogs off leash, which made it impossible to exercise ours. Getting a refund was unpleasant -- staff did not know what their policy was, then refunded incorrect amount, and when we attempted to rectify it, they gave us attitude. Just 20 miles north on 101 in Garberville, there is a much nicer park with an espresso/gift shop across the street. I wish we had stayed there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
This park is in the process of being upgraded. WiFi was being installed as we got there and we got great reception. It has some deficiencies, but this has to be one of the prettiest parks we have ever used. We had a redwood in our site. Amazing. neat location for seeing the area and nice people. When I think of California redwoods, I will think of this campground. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$52
This place was a hoot. We may have lucked out at getting space #21, but for hitting all the sights in the area, this is definitely a great base camp. The grounds are well-established, old, but the playgrounds are new and well-maintained, the pool is great, they do things for the kids, like ice cream socials and movie nights, kareoke, stuff like that, on the week-ends. The staff was top-notch. Highway 101 is just above the camp, which might make the east-side campsites noisy, but we were pretty much in the center of the grounds, and it was nominal. The redwoods were just too dense to let much sound through. The Eel River is below the campground, and we had a wonderful time there, just sliding down the smooth stones. The reason I say we lucked out with #21 is, despite being close to the center of camp, in a pull-through, we were uniquely isolated by a large fruit-laden blackberry bush. Help yourself, since blackberry is practically a weed in these parts. Some might be put off by the large number of permanent residents, and until 2010, when Caltrans expects to complete a re-alignment project on 101, there's a lot of construction workers also in semi-permanent residency. Still, we found the entire Redwood River experience top-notch, and we highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
This park was a huge disappointment! It was old and dirty. The spots looked like they hadn't been cleaned or raked in years. They advertise pull through spots but they only have 2 and they charge an extra $4.00 for them. The electric hook-up was hanging on the box and wouldn't support running both our A/C and microwave at the same time. They say they have wifi in their ad, but they told us after checking in they didn't have it. There is no TV reception here at all!! Big trucks run the road all night and it is very noisy as the road is only yards from the park. We wouldn't stay here again. Go down the road a bit to Benbow. There is a nice park there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
A beautiful park in the redwoods. Good family park with a variety of activities for children and adults. Few large sites adequate for Class A and C units. Lots of tent sites. Roads not paved, natural ground sites among the trees. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great place to spend a weekend for a week. We plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
We loved this place--came here on the recommendation of cousins who'd been coming here for years. It's been around for over 50 years, but is very well cared for and well updated. The campground is beautiful, and very fun for kids. Nice swimming pool, lots of kid-friendly activities, movies at night, etc. Great "resort" type place for family vacations, and many kid-friendly activities to do in the area. For us, the highlight was the 300 yard hike down a steep path to the Eel River, where we swam for hours. Absolutely beautiful--bring goggles to see the fish! We will definitely be back here, hopefully with a larger group. The only minor negative was dust, though the lack of ugly concrete offset that. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Park is within a very pretty, wooded (Redwoods) area. Not many people in mid-May and we had the park to ourselves. Facilities needed a little mending but seems to be very family oriented. A few minute walk (from within the park) down to the scenic Eel River. Also has a lodge, cabins and tent sites. Camp store for "necessities". Family owned and operated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Dirt/gravel roads (dusty), old though clean restrooms, nice pool, old cabins, close to the Eel River (mosquitos), lodge. But it is in the big trees and that made it OK. The other campers here were very friendly. A little pricy for what you get. I'd stop over there but wouldn't stay long. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Nice place, but you really got to watch it when you're approaching the place from the south, as it's there before you know it, and traffic can be bad here. Some very odd sites, but workable and the management is really very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com