214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Santa Fe Park RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (858) 272-4051
CGID3787

Santa Fe Park RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   6   7   7   8   5   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$31
We felt very safe and comfortable here. It was well maintained. The pool was small, but we enjoyed the Hot tub. Be careful driving down the road. It is very dippy. The road is the drainage system. You drive thru a high end industrial park to get to the camp ground. Yes, they do have some RV's parked on the side of the road. They probably belong to some of the people who live in the actual apartments above the office. A lot of people had high end stuff just outside. Yes, the highway is close and the train is right next to the camp ground, but if you want to camp in the city then this is what you get. We did not find any of the noise disturbing. It did not wake us up. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$33
As per other reviewers, accept the noise level from I-8 or don't stay here. It did quickly become white noise and didn't bother me at all. With a smaller rig (25'), I didn't have any problem with the site. Landscaping is great with grass by most sites. Layout is a bit odd but it works. This is all about the location. The trolley stop is right outside the fence (with a private gate to the RV park), and you can get anywhere in the area for $5 round trip. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$33
It looks like the owner is trying to improve the grounds. Loads of creeping ivy is being torn out on both sides of the front block wall and the rear fence by the dog walk area. The blacktop is looking a little tired maybe that is next. Yes, I-5 is above the CG and west and causes traffic noise but it is an urban area and you have to expect it. The CG is well located. The office/rec area is decent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Sites are small and hard to get into, they were blacktop sites. Some of the staff was rude and condescending - others were disinterested. I must agree with other reviewers, it is very noisy. The interstate is on one side of the park and the train track on the other side. There is a 2 hour period from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m. where the noise level is tolerable and you can sleep. When we sat outside in the evening playing cards we could not hear each other due to traffic noise. The swimming pool and hot tub looked nice, but we did not use them. The laundry was big, fairly clean but you have to use a card system to use it and any money left on the card is lost. There were lots of long term campers there. There were several Rvs and trailers parked outside the park along the road which made us feel insecure due to the gates that opened from the park to the roadside. Park was close to beaches and other activities. Probably would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Capital-N for Noisy. Capital-T for Tight. I've never been at a park which is so close to a major freeway. The sound is constant and quite pronounced. It never became "background noise" for me, but, you tolerate it to get close to San Diego. And, it was quite tight getting in here. Without my wife outside with a walkie-talkie (something *every* RV'er should have), guiding me along inch by inch, I never would have made it. In one turn we cleared a 5th wheel literally by inches. I'm not looking forward to leaving, and I hope the maintenance guys trim some of the low-hanging branches before we do. That said, it's not a bad park. Many long-termers, which I don't find objectionable, if they keep their spaces clean. And, the Wi-FI is so slow as to be unusable. After the first day I gave up and just went onto my tethered cell phone. Yes, I would come back here if I needed to be close to SD, but I would investigate options first; it wouldn't be my first choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
This better-than-average park is an acceptable place for the frugal RVer. Yep, sites are tight (pay the extra $3 for the pull throughs if you can get one) and the freeway noise is loud. But if you have a Passport America membership, it's your only game in town if you need to be in SD on a weekend and don't want to pay double just down the road. The absolute best part about this park was the workout room, pool, and hot tub. The facilities were impeccable and the best we've seen even at pricier parks. The nightly hot tub soaks more than made up for the freeway in our backyard. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is a small park convenient to San Diego sights. The sites are small and close together but our site was adequate to fit our 40 footer and it was right across from the office and pool. As stated by other reviewers, the traffic noise is a factor, but we were gone during the day and it didn't seem to bother us at night. The road leading to it has several dips so be careful. Wi-Fi is available and pretty fast at least from our site. There is a long dog run which is the only area where you are allowed to walk your dog, but it is all dirt. We arrived 30 minutes early on a Sunday. The lady in the office was very busy checking people out, so she told us to go ahead and get settled and come see her Monday morning before 10am to register. Our fee was with Passport America. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
Beware of the dip going into the park. I was towing a car with a class C and scraped. Did not hook up until we were out of park and still scrapped with tow bar up. It is noisy due to the freeway and trains. But you get used to it, and we had no problems sleeping. The pool and hot tub were great and clean. With Passport America it was around $200.00 a week. Would probably go back if my daughter stays out here, but would have to lay something down to even out the dip. You can see a lot of deep scrapes in the asphalt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$31
This small park is convenient and close to all attractions. It has clean facilities and the fees were good at $31 per night (Passport America rate). However, the suggestions from other reviewers, that there was "some noise" is an understatement. The park is right beside the I-5 and the noise was horrendous, except from about 1 a.m. to 4 a.m. in the morning. The other drawback is that the access road has "dips" and coming into and out of the park we hit out stairs because of the dip at the curb. We had to do repairs on them. Also watch the trees surrounding the park. We hit one of them as well. The park does not require a deposit, but charges a $25 cancellation fee on reservations. We stayed here for 4 nights and then left for a quieter park where we were happy to pay more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$22
Nice facility. Very friendly, helpful staff. Sites are a bit tight for big rigs, but we didn't have any problem with our vintage Class A. The clubhouse was well cared for, the laundry room among the best we've ever used and the facilities cleaned regularly. It can be a bit noisy, between the highway and railroad tracks, but after a day that just becomes background noise. The park is very close to Old Town, Balboa Park, the waterfront, Mission Bay; all the things we come to San Diego to see and do. We'll be back the next time we come to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
We stay here often. The staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoy the swimming pool, ping pong and pool table. The laundry room has plenty of machines. The dog run is large and convenient. Close to freeway, but not too noisy thanks to the tree cover. It is along a train track, but the horns do not blow near this area. Cheap with Passport America discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$53
We called this park on short notice and they had room for us. They even changed our location because our plans had changed and may have had to stay more than the original 3 days. The park staff was very good. All of the facilities were in very good shape. There is a noise issue because the park is between Interstate 5 and the main rail line from downtown San Diego, but you get used to it. After a day it becomes background noise. They did give us a AAA discount of 10% on the listed nightly rate. The park spaces are close and access to spots can be challenging (it was our first time doing any major backing/parking of the trailer). The cable TV worked fine in the site we had. The Wi-Fi was OK, but we were having computer problems, so I'll reserve judgement until another stay. Pool and laundry facilities are excellent. It's fairly easy access from I-5 from either North or Southbound. It's close to Mission Bay and very centrally located in San Diego. We'll definitely use this park again, if other options are not available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Price reflects CC-USA rate. We stayed 4 nights. Full H/U included cable and Wi-Fi. Roadways through the park are very narrow. We were in a pull through and found it to be a good size. Lots of permanent residents, looks messy in some sites. Pool was nice: heated at 86 degrees. We may stay again, more so because of the close location to San Diego. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$23
Sites are very tight to get into, and close together. It's noisy: there's a freeway on one side and a railroad on the other. At least half the residents are seasonal. The campground facilities are clean and well-cared-for. We experienced a power surge when we pulled in which caused damage to several of our appliances. The park assured us the bill will be submitted to their insurance. This review will be updated when we hear more from the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Noisy. Lots of Eucalyptus debris, leaves and branches everywhere. Spaces are very close together. About 50% permanent residents, who occupy all the best sites. But, sadly, it's the best park within 20 miles of San Diego. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
As a visitor from the UK I expected an American welcome. You know, "How you doing, nice to see you!" Sorry did not happen. Do you have a Trade Description Act here? In the UK your advertisements must be truthful and accurate. This site says and I quote: "Quiet and natural park like setting." No WAY: six lane Highway outside and a rail track at the back! The only natural setting is it has some trees! If you want a nights sleep, go somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
I don't understand the previous high ratings of this park. The park is mostly permanent residents and looks like a "trailer park". The road noise is a major problem , we cold not open the windows. The sites are extremely tight except for 4 large pull-throughs. The office, pool and other facilities were very nice. It is convenient to attractions in the area and that is really all it has to offer. Santee Lakes is a bit farther away but a far superior park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
Great location when in San Diego. Noisy, but after a couple of days one forgets that I-5 is next door. Great pool and spa. Price was very reasonable. Will stay here again as we did last winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
We used our Passport America and that made it very affordable. It was centrally located to just about everything. Getting on and off the freeway (I-5) was very easy. The spaces were very comfortable. We were in a back-in for the first 4 days and then a double wide pull-through for the next 6 days. There was ample parking space for our car. The pool and spa were delightful. They were very friendly and helpful. We will go back here whenever we go visit our kids who live in San Diego. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a group attending a submarine veterans convention. We got a discounted group rate of 1/2 price. Pluses are the closeness to freeway, a nice pool and spa area, good Wi-Fi and TV. Minuses are the road noise and tight sites to get in and out of. Park has friendly staff. Fair number of full timers living in the park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
Ditto on the noise, park is sandwiched between the interstate and the railroad. Very limited number of TV channels. Wi-Fi worked well, but the provider ran a advertising banner under the browser within the usual browsing area. It was very annoying and I could not get rid of it. Site was not cleaned, trash around. There are better places to stay in the SD area during this time of year, like Campland, better TV and non-annoying Wi-Fi, limited hook-up section for the same price. A positive is that the park is located on Santa Fe St., which dead ends, and a paved bike path begins. I biked to La Jolla on good bike paths and well marked, wide bike lanes and returned along the coast and Grand ave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$52
I agree with the others who said that the major negative is its proximity to the freeway and the noise from the traffic. The staff was friendly and the park was well kept. Probably will camp elsewhere in San Diego next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
Santa Fe RV Resort is close to all of the tourist places one would want to see in San Diego, such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. This campground has a lot of positives - a nice pool, a very nice clubhouse with pool table, full kitchen, nice exercise area with weights, nice laundry room, clean bathrooms, free WiFI and free cable, as well as full hook-ups at every site. In addition, AAA and Good Sam's members receive 10% off the rates, and Passport America members get 50% off the rates. The biggest negative is it's location - it's very,very close to I-5, a major highway, so it's noisy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
This would be a 10 if not for the noise of the interstate and railway along with the fairly tight spots for backing into. The location in San Diego is great. You can easily gain freeway access to get anywhere in the city. The front desk folks were very nice, the pool/rec room areas were very clean. I didn't use the showers, but others in my group did and they said they were very clean and worked well. We stayed for 9 days while attending the US OPEN and we were able to use passport for all 9 nights. Our total bill for 9 days was under $300 which is insanely cheap to stay in San Diego. I have stayed at another rv park located on mission bay a few times and it is MUCH more expensive. On my next trip to San Diego, I will stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
This is a small park compared to others in the area. It is located between the I-5 freeway and railroad tracks. We kept our windows closed all the time. The park allows dogs, but requires that they use a dog run that has very uneven ground. This wasn't a problem for us, but was for our aging dog, and could be problematic for some seniors. Sites are compact and rv parking is on blacktop, with gravel around the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
We tried out this park because they had a vacancy on President's Day weekend and accepted our Passport America on a holiday for a half price rate ($25) which is admirable. For what it is, they do a good job here. It is well run and friendly, with very well maintained facilities. The wifi worked great, and the cable TV has HBO, which is good because the eucalyptus trees blocked our fixed roof satellite. It is RV Park living with sites close together and unappealing gravel areas with picnic tables, which we had no desire to spend any time at. The setting was nicer than I expected though - it is at the north end of Santa Fe St., in a scenic valley next to a riparian stream ecosystem which they utilize for their dog walk area (watch for poison oak!). Adjacent is an industrial park, so activity there shuts down after work and it felt safe here. Santa Fe St. is a designated bike route, and the street ends just to the north and becomes the Rose Creek Bike Trail that connects to Gilman Rd in the La Jolla area. We were camped in the interior row, and just looked out onto other rigs, which I hate. The sites next to the stream would be much more desirable, especially for motorhomes that could back in and look out and have a pleasant view. The noise is the biggest drawback here, as it is next to I-5 which echoes through this valley with a thunderous roar. With our well-insulated coach it diminished to steady white noise, but once we stepped outside, wow! There is also a train track across the stream, which is fairly active, but is no match for the highway noise! We would return here if Campland was full or not accepting PA, but we would try and get a more desirable site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Excellent! This Santa Fe RV Park has it all. Although they don't have sites made for 40's, they have spaces that will accommodate them. This is the first time we have stayed here and have extended our stay twice, so far. The pool is big and not crowded, the clubhouse has a pool table and ping pong table. Also in the clubhouse is a mini gym and a room with a big screen TV. Located all in same building is the 2 dozen washers and dryers. I really like the way they have this laundry room set up as it takes a money card that you 'load-up' either in the laundry room with a credit card or in the front office with cash. This money card can be used in the soda machines and it also lets you into the restrooms. The restrooms are large and very clean. The one and only reason this one didn't receive a 10 is its location to the freeway, which after a day or two disappears into the background. Santa Fe RV Park is 5 minutes from Pacific Beach, 10 minutes from Sea World and maybe 10 minutes from Seaport Village and Downtown. Also located 5 minutes from La Jolla, the jewel of Pacific Coast with its children's cove beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Great place that is kind of in an odd location for a campground, but perfect location to see all of the city. Less than 5 minutes to Pacific Beach, 10 minutes to Sea World, 15 minutes to Petco Park. SUPER Clean! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$27
This is an urban park that is convenient for seeing the San Diego sites. The campsites are level concrete pads with patio, picnic table and grills on a post. The laundry and bath/shower facilities were modern and very clean. There is an exercise room in the clubhouse as well as an outdoor pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. The CG is tucked in between I-5 and an AMTRAK line. We were here in the fall and slept with the windows closed so the noise did not interfere with sleep but the noise is constant. The WiFi was not available at our site for 3 of the 7 days we were here which is part of the reason for the 7 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
Nice place. Very convenient location. OK gym. They are just setting up the free wireless internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com