218680 User submitted reviews online!!
Joseph H. Stewart State Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (541) 560-3334
CGID3791

Joseph H. Stewart State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
201
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   9   10   10   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Lovely large sites. Lots of trees. Level sites. Need to reserve sites months in advance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
We stayed with a 40' motorhome and easily fit into our site. The B Loop is best for large RVs. The roads and sites are paved and the campground is well kept with large shade trees. There are miles of paved biking/walking trails. None of the sites are on the lake as there is a steep bluff. There is a day use area to drive to that offers swimming, a boat launch and boat rentals along with a small store. This park is a convenient spot to tour Crater Lake and various waterfalls and access to fishing spots on the river. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
The only reason we give this a 7 and not a 10 is the road noise. The road noise is rather noticeable. Other than that this is a beautiful, well maintained park. Clean restrooms and showers. Ample space between sites. Park-like setting with mowed grass and trees. Normal rate is $20 but we stayed during discovery season so it was $16. In terms of "loudness" , D loop is the quietest and furthest from the road but it is tents only. Next is B loop, then A loop, with C loop being the closest to the road and the loudest. Gets a lot of use during summer so reserve. We would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
The rate at the beginning of our stay was $20 per night. On Oct 1st, it went down to $16 for "Discovery Season". The park closes at the end of October. This is a very nice state park. It is well manicured and well maintained. It has some nice hiking and biking trail. The only reason for not giving it a 10 is that, even though it is on Lost Creek Lake, the lake is not really a feature of the CG. There is not really a view and the lake is not really accessible from the CG. The other negative is that it is so well manicured there is no shielding to provide privacy to the sites. On the positive side, it is quite and nicely dark at night. Don't expect to get satellite without a lot of work. There are many trees in the CG. After a lot of work, we did manage to get a site where we could get the satellite. Our Verizon phone worked on extended service and our Aircard got very, very slow internet. The closest shopping is in Shady Cove, which has a nice little, well stocked grocery. This park is definitely worth a visit. If we are in the area we will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Another Great Oregon State Park. The restrooms and showers were clean and in good condition. The sites were shaded and spacious. Our site was clean and raked when we arrived. We had a level asphalt parking pad. Many of the sites are suitable for big rigs. There were many sites with water and electric but no sewer hookups. There is a dump station. The camp hosts were friendly and helpful and took pride in helping keep the park looking nice. The lake is not great when the water is low. The boat landing, picnic area and beach is a few miles away at the day use area. There were quite a few hiking trails that started on site. We have liked every Oregon State Park we stayed at and this one is no exception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
A very nice state park, clean and well maintained. A good destination park to spend several days. There are paved biking and hiking trails. Crater Lake National Park is within an easy drive, a must see. Rogue River Gorge also near by. A beautiful, quiet and peaceful park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Very nice State Park, some sites have a lake view although the bank down to the water is very steep. For lake access there are walking and biking trails to the nearby beach area. We rode all the bike trails, they are paved although tree roots have made some bumpy. Some nice views, and pleasant forest ride. Only complaint is that some folks camp with noisy dogs that are not trained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
We had site #A28 with 30 amp electric and water. The site was a long, paved back-in sloped from back to front. The park is very pretty and well maintained, our loop was full over the weekend but not too noisy. B loop has sites overlooking the water, but not waterfront. Crater Lake NP was a nice day trip although most of the park was still closed for the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
The only reason I'm not giving this park a 10 is because there are no full hookups. This is a beautiful campground. All the sites have grass, are big and have plenty of shade trees. The Rangers provide regular patrols for safety, and are friendly and helpful. The lake is beautiful. The fishing and boating is great. It was a 40 mile drive to Crater Lake NP, a must see. There were children activities throughout the week provided by the park. A nearby fish hatchery was a big hit. We stayed a full 7 days and were sad to leave. We will be returning and highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com