219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Jim's Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (304) 743-4560
CGID3796

Jim's Campground

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   7   9   7   6   1   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
This is a nice work in progress campground, appears the friendly owner is continually upgrading the sites. The upper level has excellent 50/30 amp power, fantastic water pressure, sewer, new concrete patios with tie-down loops for awnings, all back in sites. The upper level is built with fill dirt and rock and is below road grade so road noise is minimal. Dump trucks still empty fill dirt so every now and then you will here one but only during daylight hours. Picnic tables at each site. Laundry has 4 washer and 4 dryers in a new building. One locked unisex bathroom (may have been occupied) so don't know condition but it was in the same new building. The lower level is grass with pull-thru and back in sites, not sure of power, water or sewer at sites. We stayed for a week at a rate of $100 and will definitely stay here again when in the area. This is NOT a resort. Pull out of the campground turning right for a great fresh fruit and vegetable store a few miles down. Fuel and groceries close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
This is not a destination site. All sites are easy-access. Park is very laid-back and the owner/operators are very nice. Gravel sites are level and not too crowded. The grassy area is without sewer, but cheaper and shadier. Located 1/2 hour from Charleston or Huntington. Local to small town shopping. It's very quiet (except when car wash is operating). If we are in the area again, we will definitely stay at "Jim's Campground and Car Wash". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
Previous review is right on. The owners are working on the car wash and upper RV level. The train does run but doesn't use it's horn. Was a good place for us to tour the area. We did miss the entrance to the campground even though there are two signs. Our qualifications were met: full hookups with 50 amp, level site and satellite reception. A very good overnight campground. Yes, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$14
This is pretty much a self service campground. I called ahead, left a message and had to call again later in the day as I was never called back. I was told to take a site and someone would come around to collect. This is really like 2 separate campgrounds. The lower level by the river is grassy and has 30amp sites with water. The upper level is just a flat, filled in gravel area with 50amp, water and sewer. All back-in sites on the upper level. There is a picnic table and concrete slab at each site. The Wi-Fi is very good. The sign said $25 a night or $100 a week for the upper section. $20 a night or $75 a week for the lower level. I stayed in the upper level. The trains come by about every 3 hours. I can't imagine how loud the train noise must be in the lower level. The upper level laundry and bath house is brand new. It was fine for me. Not a KOA, which is right down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
I read the earlier reviews about this campground and I do not agree that this campground is that bad. You do have to take your time coming into the campground. I met the woman that runs the campground she was very nice and easy to talk with. Yes, there was no one around when we pulled into the camp ground. We spoke with another camper and he told us to pick out our own spot and someone would be around to collect our money. That is exactly what happened. The site we chose was a pull through, level, and easy to get in and out of. The site had 50 amp hookup, water and no sewer. The campground and the site we stayed at was quite and peaceful. The price we payed for the night was less than half than we would have payed for the award winning over priced Huntington/Fox Fire KOA just down the road. I do not know anyone who does not want to save some money when it comes to camping. When we are in this area again we will return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We completely agree with the 2009 reviews of this simple park which were favorable. If you're looking for a quiet spot to camp for the night and don't need any amenities this campground should fill the bill. The single lane access road is narrow in one short spot but we didn't see any potholes. You can avoid any oncoming RV traffic as you can see the whole campground from the entrance to the park. Our 40' motorhome had no trouble using this road. There are two levels to this campground. The upper level has 42 full hook up level gravel sites, a dump station, laundromat and restrooms. It is mostly occupied by well-kept fifth wheels whose owners probably live here year round. Business must be good because the campground is adding another row of sites. We didn't use the dump station but accessing it from the lower level may be a problem as you may not be able to make the tight turn in. If you have to dump you may have to exit the campground and then come back in. The lower level has 10 water and electric sites with 30/50 amp and water. These sites are all pull through gravel and the big areas between the sites are well mowed grass. The bathrooms were rustic but clean. When we called to make a reservation we kept getting a busy signal. We finally did get through and talked with an abrupt sounding woman whose lack of phone manners almost convinced us to stay elsewhere. She wouldn't take our reservation and simply told us to come in and park "down by the river". She said she'd come by to take our money that night. We met her later that evening and she's actually very pleasant. We stayed here one night and would stay here again. If there's a river there, we sure didn't see it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We will stay here again, whenever we are in the area. Roads are in good condition, and there is a concrete patio pad, and good gravel backins. Good clean laundry, and friendly management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
I would avoid this campground at all costs. We were desperate for a place to stay. We racked up the bottom of the motorhome going down a steep hill with huge, really huge potholes. We drove around to pick our own spot, as there was no office. A lady came by to take our money, and when we told her we had damaged our unit, she replied with "oh." There were people living here full time in cars, tents, trailers. I didn't see any security. It was frightening to me. We left early in the morning. We would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
NOT RECOMMENDED. There is no office and no one to help when when you arrive. In the grass field, which is the largest part of the campground, the electrical boxes have NO reachable breaker switches. It turns out the breakers are in unmarked boxes 14' in the air with no way to reach them. The owner's wife was very rude. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
Bare bones overnight spot off I-64, exit 28, for half what the other RV resort in town charges. If you just need to sleep and don't want a water park, this is the place. Upper lot has full hookups for $20, lower grassy field has w/e for $16 and the bathhouse. Train tracks behind but no whistle blowing so it was only one rumble we heard at night. Pick your spot and someone will come by for the fee. Going west on SR-60 it's on the right, going east, on the left and behind Jim's car wash. Black top road was a little on the narrow side, but ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com