224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Pocatello KOA (Formerly Pocatello Creek Campground and RV Park) was rated 5 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (208) 233-6851
CGID3801

Pocatello KOA (Formerly Pocatello Creek Campground and RV Park)

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   8   7   9   5   1   8   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
Convenient to town, road noise obvious til 1am, hooligans in trailer park next door noisy til dark. Lots of extended/permanent residents, but not a problem. Clean, somewhat level spots, decent shade, friendly staff. Dump station hose broken, spewing water, so could not rinse septic hose or dump area. WiFi worked fine first evening, then useless next morning, so I give it a 5 because of that, and will look elsewhere on our next visit because of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This campground appears to be in the midst of an upgrade to 50 amp but has no 50 amp full-hookups at the moment. Sewer sites are still 30 amp only. We used a 50 amp site with no sewer and the dump station. The store is well stocked and the park has lots of shade, cool but bad for satellite. The Wi-Fi was very good near the office. The store has gas pumps but no diesel. Diesel is available at several stations just down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Staff was helpful, decent store, okay laundry (needed cleaning), gravel roads and dirt sites. Shared utilities so patio areas are shared as well. Treed park that was quiet and orderly. Gas pumps available to fill up before you pull out. Some permanent residents kept the laundry busy making it difficult for us overnighters to get laundry done. Close to restaurants, stores and Pocatello city proper. No road noise or trains to contend with. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
This KOA has been taken back by the owners and they are putting lots of money and work into getting it back into shape. We stopped in for an overnight stay and found it clean, quiet, and easy to get our big rig into and out of our campsite. The gravel road around the park is smooth and the sites all look level. There are some tree branches hanging down over the road that the owners said he will be cutting. All sites are 30 amp shared utilities, most with full hook-ups. Picnic tables are at every campsite and you can ask for a fire ring. The park is very treed so getting a clear sky for your satellite can be challenging. Our sprint phones and 3G did not work in the park but their free Wi-Fi worked well. Bathrooms, showers, and laundry were clean and the new owner and manager were very friendly. The park is easy to get to and far enough off the interstate that there was no road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
Last June we stayed here and it was real slimy. Only place we could find on a rainy night. Swore we wouldn't stay here again but we were desperate ! What a difference KOA makes in a park! It is clean and welcoming. Does not look like any permanent residents are here. I used all the facilities and it is clean! The hosts are friendly. Laundry is clean. Free Wi-Fi. In two weeks they are re-leveling all the sights and putting in fresh gravel. Next off season they are redoing bathrooms. They have a nice sharing library, clean convenience store, gas and propane. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Actually, we did not camp here recently - we are local residents who drive by this CG nearly every day. Just FYI, it is under new ownership and is once again a KOA. Hoping to see it get better as the camping season approaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
The last person who rated this place must have been related to the owners. When they answered the phone it was as "Pocatello KOA"; well, it ain't! I am sure they could not make the minimums for a KOA, and their franchise was lost, and they are just using the existing directories to get business. Another camper told us the same thing. (All they did was take down the yellow KOA sign.) Access is up a narrow road. Interior roads are dirt and sites are short, narrow, and dirt. Trees have not been trimmed in years. There are lots of drop offs and holes when parking so you have to have a ground guide. To the east is a dusty dirt road. To the south is an old mobile home park. To the west are a couple of mobile homes. The few picnic tables are in awful shape. You have to watch where you walk since the fire pits are made from a washing machine tubs sunk into the ground. Quite a few long termers in the west part of the park. Camp store has not been restocked since they lost their franchise. Nowhere to walk dogs. There is a 10 x 15 dog run which is dirt and poop. This place is totally unkempt, ghastly, dreadful. Do not be fooled by the grass by the sign - its the only grass in the place. I would never ever consider staying here again. What a dump! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Friendly and helpful staff. Apparently, this was a KOA and they are no longer? The sites alternate the direction the RV faces so our door faced another camper. I would love this if we were traveling together. But, it's a bit awkward with strangers and wanting privacy. We were only passing through so it wasn't a problem. Sunday morning breakfast served from 7:30.AM till 10. Good road to launch a road bike ride from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This is an older park, which is no longer a KOA-and needs a lot of attention. Office staff was friendly & helpful. Pull thru sites were tight & not very level. Off the main highway--needed GPS to arrive at destination. Okay for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Great staff! Wonderful laundry and store! Chuck wagon breakfast was perfect and cheap! Perfect for a one night stay We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Being in the neighborhood, I noticed that the (very large) KOA sign has been covered up, so I stopped in to see what's up. The owner said this campground is no longer a KOA, but will continue to operate as Pocatello Creek Camping & RV; they are waiting for their new sign to arrive. The office shows signs of their putting some money into sprucing up the place recently. Perhaps this signals a better future for this campground and its patrons? I hope so. (Didn't camp here this year, despite the automatically-added sentence that will follow. The rate is a guess, since I do not know their current rates.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
This KOA has gravel roads and pads with trees limbs hanging to low and side-by-side pull throughs that are unlevel. They have only outdated 30 amp services. Wi-Fi was OK but could only use one device. However, our Verizon service was excellent. We stayed for two nights on KOA customer appreciation, buy one and get one night free. At the full rate of $36.50 per night, it is overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Very tired campground. Dog park is very small. Needs some updating. No 50 amp service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
Uneven spaces, very poor dog run area. Garbage cans and toilets are not convenient. We have stayed in a lot of KOA'S, but this one is by far the poorest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Unlevel sites,rough gravel and at best cluttered . Very run down looking. Although sites are listed as big rig, that is a bit of a stretch of imagination. Some dilapidated old motor homes look to be permanent residents. Our site had empty beer cans still in the BBQ pit along with some partially burned paper. We never even looked at the bath facilities. Sewer connections not user friendly. Maybe they were just coming out of winter and had a lot of repair work to do. The staff that helped us was friendly even his pit bull that was in the office seemed nice. Would not stay here again. In fact, we left shortly after arriving due to difficulty with leveling and venue . Might stop in the future to see if any improvements have occur ed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
We would stay here again anytime. Very good people running this park. Friendly and helpful. Concerned about the welfare of their clients. We were well pleased with this park. Good Wi-Fi. We stayed here overnight on our way south from Canada on the I-15. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
While our site was acceptable and had good services, was very aware of the low overhead branches on the drive in and out Some sites had limbs on roof tops. Our site was spacious. A little leveling of gravel at our site that was up heaved by previous occupants would have been nice. There is good wi-fi. The campground overall looks very tired and needs injection of new life. Other sites looked in need of gravel to level and cover dry mud. The one thing that bothered me the most was the extensive mold in the men's washroom much of which looked like it was painted over more than once and not properly treated beforehand. The latter really took this rating downward by a few notches. Might stay again but will not venture to washrooms. Rate reflects value card discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This is our 2nd year to stay here while visiting friends. Noticeably worse this year. Dirt unlevel sites with services in very poor condition. On our next trip here we will stay elsewhere. Previous comments are accurate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
One night stay. Our issue with not staying longer, was that owner would not ask camper to quiet her two constantly barking dogs. They were unleashed, and when we finally spoke to her about them, she roughly shoved them into crates outside her trailer. Barking con't., and owner would not address several complaints. He has no control or authority at his own park. There is a very poor store, pocked streets, and poorly marked spaces. Mainly, it was the "We'll go over and beyond to make your stay the best" statement on the website, that seemed laughable. They only do that if they don't have to make any effort. Will avoid this Kampground in the future. Much better options close-by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Park could use a little maintenance. Grass turning brown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
We chose the Pocatello KOA because of it's proximity to our planned activities and because of our past experience with other KOA parks. Unfortunately, the Pocatello KOA did not live up to the standards set by those others we had visited. The park offers pull-through sites for large RVs, electricity, water, an RV dump (some sites have sewer hook-ups), grassy areas for each site, picnic tables, a convenience store, gas (not diesel), propane, showers, laundry, weekend breakfast, ice-cream, and a pet area. Unfortunately, our excitement waned upon arrival as we found every RV site was lacking grass and was full of thorns/stickers. We could not allow our two dogs to walk outside the RV due to the volume of thorns. We literally had to carry our dogs to the road before we could allow them to get down and walk but we still had to watch every step they took to keep them out of thorns. The pet area was a great idea but it too had thorns and was full of dog waste. Although the sites were long enough to accommodate our 62 ft RV (5th wheel and truck), the sites were extremely narrow (barely wide enough for our slides)and our neighbors were a breath away. Very few sites had fire pits and most were quite unlevel. Our site was very unlevel and did not have a fire pit (which we could not have used due to our pets inability to relax outdoors with us). We could not utilize any electric appliances, fans, microwave, hair dryer, etc., while the air conditioner was running as our breaker would trip. The KOA staff offered for us to move to site 45 on the 2nd of July but we found that site did not offer any benefits from the one we were in. The RV dump is almost impossible for a large RV to utilize. While the store offered the bare necessities, we found it quite lacking compared to other KOA stores we have visited. We do want to make sure we mention that the staff was very friendly and the showers were clean. The outdoor breakfast area was also nice. Unfortunately, the issues we had with the thorns and outside site accommodations ruined our stay and would prevent us from staying at this KOA in the future. We believe with some TLC and site modifications, this KOA could be brought up to the standards of the other KOAs we have visited. Happy travel!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
When we arrived at this campground we were checked in and told to proceed to our "full service" sight location. Before we could get our motorhome moved we were stopped and told that that location had had some problems and that we would be assigned to another pull through spot. No problem with that until we were advised that even though we booked a "full service site" that sewer would not be available and they would refund some money. The park is older, with older and run down looking campers, cars and trucks. We didn't feel very comfortable during out stay and didn't put out any personal patio items. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
Price quoted is for a full hook-up, pull-thru site, and includes tax. We are not regular users of KOA parks, as they are generally priced a bit out of our range, however, we stayed here during their annual "Kamp and Kare Weekend", where the second night was free, so it was well worth it. The sites are gravel, and not very long, but are workable. Each site has a small grassy area with a picnic table next to it. The 30 amp power was fine, the site was fairly level, and the check-in was quick and smooth, even with a last minute change to a full hook-up site. Our Verizon phone and Mi-Fi Air Card worked fine here. Close to many restaurant choices, and only 1 mile off I-15, so easy to get to. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
This park is dated and could use a face lift. It has all gravel roads and sites. We asked for 50amp and were given a 30amp, we survived this. It is very dusty while vehicles are moving in the park. It seems a little pricey for what they have to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Good location and easy to access off Interstate. Located in a quiet area. Many slots have no sewer and the dump is not very handy due to location. Heavily treed but still able to get DirecTV. No pavement and the gravel is a little dusty. Lot size is not large but adequate for pull-outs. Good for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
KOA rate. Narrow sites, some without tables. Looked at laundry and decided to wash elsewhere. Fenced dog area is a 10' x 20' area (at most) between the dumpster and the road. Fortunately we only stayed one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We had a nice stay at this campground. Facility was clean and comfortable. The Restrooms & showers were clean and fresh smelling and I liked the fenced dog run, very pet friendly. The playground was green and freshly mowed, however the play equipment looked dated, though we never actually used it. The staff was friendly and helpful, Wi-Fi was strong and laundry room was clean and very fairly priced only 1.00/load. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
The site was adequate and the Wi-Fi was good. The sewer was uphill so almost unusable. There are side-by-side hookups but the sites have a good space between them. The local TV channels listed in the park brochure are not correct and the person at the desk has no idea what the local channels are because he has cable at home. OK for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This was an adequate site for an overnight stop, although there was an overall impression of being rather untidy. There was a friendly atmosphere in the reception/recreation area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
The location of this park is very nice - a good way off the freeway but still close enough to town. The sites are gravel and very tight. Many of them face interior park roads with no place to step outside except in the street. The WIFI was great, but we were parked right behind the restrooms and the lights at night were so bright we had to cover our bedroom window with a black garbage bag to block out some of the light. No one led us in and we had to really concentrate to see if we were in the right site. The picnic table in our site was "ratty" and the BBQ had been welded so high up that it was unusable for cooking. Good pet area and the property next door had some friendly llamas, donkeys, horses, and a goat. We enjoyed walking our dog down the street that leads to the mobile home park behind the KOA and petting the animals. This place is all right but I really expected better from a KOA. My husband talked to the owner and found out they have only had it for one year and are gradually cleaning up the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This campground has the basics. The location is convenient to the interstate but far enough away that there is no highway noise. It is on the same road as various chain restaurants and hotels but about a mile away from them. The views are very nice and there are plenty of large trees throughout the park. There is no cable TV and only 6 local channels, none of which we could get with our antenna. The WiFi is free and works very well, however. The sites are fairly tight and sites and roads are gravel. Many sites are not level including ours. We were only here for one night so it was fine for what we needed. The staff is very good and helpful. It is a rather small park as KOAs go, but worked for us for a stopover. We would probably stay again but only as stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
As we drove into the assigned space with a 45' motorhome we noticed some low hanging branches were brushing the top of the coach. Also during the night the electric service was frequently dropping below 102 volts causing our coach to shut off the electric service. It got so bad that we went outside after midnight and disconnected the power. When we were leaving the next morning we stopped in the office and talked to the owner thinking he would like to know about the low branches and the fluctuating power. When we told the owner about the low branches he stated that he had already trimmed them. Thinking that he had cut the branches after seeing them hit our coach we stated "that's great, did you do them last evening". He stated, "No, I did them last fall". Thinking that he may have misunderstood we stated that we hit the branches yesterday. He stated that he had already trimmed them to clear the highest coach built and that if we had hit them we must have been in the wrong spot and that he was not going to trim them anymore. Not getting any farther with that issue we then mentioned the power problem and he immediately cut us off and stated it wasn't his fault, that it must have been the power company’s problem. We excused ourselves and left. This is not a "big rig" friendly park. We would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Smallish KOA in a country atmosphere on eastern edge of town, but still convenient to interstate. Many sites have some shade; tent sites on south edge of campground have nice view of low mountains and farmland. Sites a bit close together, but wide enough we could use both our slide out and awning. Several seasonals/longterm campers, but kept tidy. Nice owners who bought the place just 2 weeks prior to our stay. Soft serve ice cream & soft drinks in office, daily breakfast cooked to order in season, gasoline pumps on premises (very convenient!) We definitely find this the better camping choice in town, due to its location & views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Sites are very close..if we & the rig next to us both had awnings out, we would be touching. "Grassy" area between sites is dry. BBQ & site picnic table are very dirty...would not use. Will not return if we can help it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
Facilities and store are very neat. Sites graveled with picnic tables on rather ratty grass but acceptable enough. The place would be pretty confining if full but it was at 1/2 capacity or less on our stay. No hesitation in staying at this place again. Rate was for water/electric. Sewer was $3 more. Free wireless internet cheerfully offered with access codes for each of our two computers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
KOA, what can you say? You know it will be OK. Not more, not less. It is not a bad experience here. Staff are friendly and seem to enjoy themselves and try to make sure their guests do also. Sites not large, roads are dirt, and right now no water at sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This place is in need of some work. The trees are in great need of pruning. High profile vehicles should beware. The staff was friendly toward us and helped us find a place that would be suitable for our high profile 5er, but it still required some very slow going and we watched branches rub across the roof. There were some iffy looking campers that may have been long term residents next to us. Their camper had flat tires and the holding tanks were leaking. It was very rusty, old, and an eyesore. We stayed here simply as an overnight stop on the way to Yellowstone. We didn't need to use the picnic tables but they were old and in need of repair and paint. There was not much room between campers for any outside activity. This might be an OK place for an overnight stay for a small travel trailer, but not so great for a high profile 5th wheel or motorhome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Comfortable and pretty place to stay on our way to Yellowstone. We enjoyed the breakfast, prepared by a cook with a great sense of humor! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
This park is an unmaintained dump ! I only give it 4 points out of 10 for 3 reasons. The 1st is that there are a lot of trees. The 2nd is the prices in the store. They are cheap for a campground. They are not designed to "soak" you just because you are at the campground. The store stays busy because of these prices. The 3rd reason is the staff. They are very polite and helpful. One girl, Amanda, was the perfect counter person. Very nice and helpful and she even washed her hands every time before she served ice cream. I wish every person would do this before they handle your food ! It would only take me and a couple of guys a few weeks to turn this place around. It is a shame that the owners are letting it go. The value is not there for what they charge. Some sites such as 28 & 29 are barely even usable, why not just charge 1/2 price for them for overnighters? The sites are run down. There is NO pool. It gets above 100 degrees there a lot during the summer. Firepits are sunken and almost non-existent. A lot of the fixtures are wood so why not rebuild them? Shame... nice mature trees, friendly staff, why not fix the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Campground was small. Staff was pleasant. No pool for the kids. My five-year-old jumped into a "rocket" at the playground and was swarmed by wasps. Received six stings before he could extricate himself from the toy and run away. Staff was quick to eradicate the wasp nest. Owner was informed - but didn't stop by to see how the boy was doing. Would have been a nice touch. Pull through site easy to get in and out. Unleaded gas on site at competitive prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
This is an typical older KOA, dirt roads, weeds in the sites, and small sites close together. Having said that, this KOA is well run and the staff we encountered were friendly. The place was quiet and we had a pleasant stay. Wi-fi worked well and the park was clean. Even though parks in this area are few this park has a good attitude and does a acceptable job. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$19
Winter rates & service (no water, no sewer) in effect. Decent place for overnighting. Watch for overhanging tree branches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
This campground was probably just OK, but we were so relieved to have hookups after being in Yellowstone for several days that it seemed like the Ritz! The showers were roomy enough to take a toddler in without much problem. There was a playground there, too. The setup was a little strange, with several pull-through sites in a row along little lanes. It was tight, but we had a picnic table and space for the grill. The WiFi was free and worked well. The laundry was good. Pocatello seemed like a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Let's see: when we arrived the sewer was not working; the power was 30 amp, not the advertised 50; the water looked iffy and 1 1/2" of dust everywhere. Trees hung down to about 9 feet and corners are way too tight for a motorhome. Picnic tables were pre War War 1. Staff was weak at best. One of the worst campgrounds at any price we've stayed in: ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Park not set up well. The price was about $10.00 more than the KOA book. The staff was very uncaring and not professional. The breakfast was bad and expensive for what you got. There are "pets stay off" signs everywhere! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$40
This KOA was not too bad as KOA campsites go. The staff was friendly. They also offered breakfast but we did not try it. The sites were not that level and were dirt/compacted gravel. They had wireless internet, but the signal was poor at our site plus they wanted a $6 for a 12 hour session. There is a playground for kids. The location is slightly east of town and about 1.5 miles from the interstate, thus noise from traffic was minimal. The road leading up to the location was under massive construction when we were there making for very tight fit for an RV on the road. We stayed for overnight and would probably stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com