206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails - Whalers Rest RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (541) 867-3100
CGID3802

Thousand Trails - Whalers Rest RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   9   8   7   4   9   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
The rate shown is the Thousand Trails rate (actually $0). We enjoyed our stay here. The sites are a little tighter together than we have seen in other TT preserves, but still doable with a 40-foot MH. There is heavy tree cover, so satellite cannot be accessed except on maybe a few sites. Verizon service is pretty nonexistent, but there is Wi-Fi in the clubhouses and you can get a cell/date signal without having to drive too far. Newport is a neat town, and is only about 5 miles away. There is a walking trail from the park that takes you right across highway 101 to the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
I had no idea this was a Thousand Trails facility. Unfortunately, I had pre-paid my stay as if I hadn't, I would have immediately continued on. I thought I had done a fair job researching the various RV parks in the area. In the reviews I read, this facility was rated 8.5 out of 10. The comments generally were quite good. With this info, I proceeded to secure a site by phoning them. The park, is nestled in heavy forest. It's all dirt/gravel with limited maneuvering, especially when vehicles are parked in-front of their rigs. The smell of sewage is consistent throughout the park. After hooking up, we drove around the park to see if there was someplace that was not as bad....well, fortunately we were only there one night. I understand the attraction of Thousand Trail Parks, but this was NO picnic! Never again!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
What a great campground. The park is huge with plenty of activities. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. There is beach access via a short path through the woods that puts you right across 101 from the state beach. The indoor pool is very nice and the store has an impressive DVD rental selection. The Internet works great in the clubhouse (there are two - family and adults). I recommend staying in the section across the street. Some of the sites seemed tight, but ours was plenty big. The campground is close to Newport if you need to go into town, but far enough away that you feel like you are camping. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$1
Price quoted is for TTN members. Extra charge for cable TV. Fair air TV, very poor Verizon phone or data. Free Wifi in the lodges. Indoor pool and hot tub. Pickleball court. Walk to beach (across Hwy 101). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
When we arrived, the ranger on duty was not at the guardhouse. There were directions for using the phone to contact the ranger. The directions were not clear but the ranger was nearby and came over right away to check us in. There is a south side campground and a north side for members. The south side has a long unpaved loop with sites on both sides, tent camping in the middle, pet areas, nature trails, a golfing cage, and a playground. The sites all looked like the same width and depth. We're relatively new to traveling with a travel trailer, but other sites we've been to always seem to have different size sites for different camping needs. Also, not all sites had fire rings or fire pits. Maybe there just wasn't enough room. The area is well forested around the perimeter, but there are not always trees between sites. The campground was at full capacity and we got the next to last available site. It appeared to be first come, first pick. The layout was very crowded. We only stayed one night so I didn't mind much, but I don't think we would reserve a longer visit. The sites were very close together, and it did not appear that the sites had varying depths. For example, our truck and travel camper fit fine but maneuvering into the site was tricky due to the narrow road and other vehicles parked at the edge of the road; long RVs fit in their sites but their vehicles had to park at an angle along the road in order to fit. This made the road very crowded. Some RVs could barely extend their awnings; the ones I saw touched tree branches. There are bathrooms in the main clubhouse which closes nightly, and only one 24-hr bathroom/shower building which was too small for the number of campers. Luckily for us there were more RVers than campers, and we did not have to compete for bathroom time. The place was somewhat isolated - a few miles to town and no other developments adjacent to the park. But this also meant it was quiet and peaceful. Bottom line: I think the loop was too long and the bathrooms too few for the size of the park. It was okay for one night, but we definitely felt like sardines in this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Older park, very difficult for a larger motorhome to negotiate. Tight roads, very uneven. Seems like good place to bring a large family and be self contained for activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
TTN member rate. There isn't much negative about this campground. Staff is friendly, helpful, and they provide a long list of activities for the whole family. Not all sites offer sewer. CTV is available $3 per day or $15 per week. Wi-Fi at South Lodge Computer Room is excellent but erratic and hard wire is also available. It is a short walk to Lost Creek State Park across SR-101 which accesses the Oregon Beach. Long walks are incredible. Each site offers a degree of privacy and the speed limit is 5 MPH with speed bumps strategically placed. There are a few drive through spaces, but they don't offer any privacy. Restrooms and Laundry are clean. Most sites are paved & some have wood decks, all have picnic tables. This is the best TTN preserve on the Oregon Coast and we will stop here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$11
Rate reflects RPI plus 10% tax. The location is great, just south of Newport and ΒΌ mile from the beach, which thee is a trail. All sites have 50-amp, full hook-ups, although non-Thousand Trail members cannot stay at the north side with more open. There are a couple club houses, some activities (mostly revolving around food), a decent store that rents DVDs for $1, large, well maintained pool & hot tub, and the staff if very friendly. Verizon coverage is terrible, but there is free (very good Wi-Fi) in the north club house. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$0
Park was quite full during the Labor Day weekend but we were able to get a very nice site in the North part of the facility. Roof mounted satellite came in great at site #148. Park well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$13
Rate reflects RPI discount plus $3 for cable TV which you must have in these trees. We spent 2 nights just after rain. You choose your own site, so look them over carefully for drainage and dirt. We could have chosen better. Could not get to the car without going through mud. Site just holds a 40' RV with toad sideways in front. Location worked well for our trip: clean and quiet. Spaces were close together with cars everywhere. Three cars for 1 camper across from us. Loved the treed space, you can sleep late in a dark bedroom. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
Our rate reflects RPI membership rate. The south side of the park has paved sites with full hook-ups. Our site was level and there are many sites that can hold a big rig. Satellite here can be difficult due to trees and some sites are tight to get in an out. The only real complaint is that they have a new policy to prevent RPI members from choosing a site on the North side. Also, there are ways to get around all the security gates so not as secure as we expected. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
The spaces vary in length, but there were plenty of places for big rigs. Spaces were mostly back-ins that were well-angled to facilitate parking. Restroom was clean and showers hot but the shower stall was tiny and heat in the restroom was inadequate. Roads were freshly resurfaced with gravel while I was there. Internet connectivity was available in the clubhouse, but I did not use it. Verizon reception was poor in the south section; supposedly it is better in the north section, but ROD visitors were not permitted to use those sites. The park is set in a forest with lots of space between sites and plenty of shade. Rate for ROD was $0. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$46
Stayed here as a guest. Road is dirt turned to mud after rain. Back-in sites very tight for MH or large 5ver with limited space for toad parking. Cable TV $3/day! Wi-Fi not available in sites, only at club house. Access to beach requires walking across highway 101. Protected from wind by trees. Some walking trails. One way loop road in park means all traffic passes your site. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
The place is a little run down. But very clean. Didn't really talk to staff much. It was a nice walk to the beach and the pool was nice. The only problem I had was flying termites, they where everywhere. We ended up staying in a hotel because they got into the trailer. I would go back again just be more careful about the termites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$12
Very nice park. Roads are gravel with pot holes. Lots of privacy and foliage at sites. Very nice dog run. No cell phone service and satellite dishes will not work in most sites. Cable TV is $15.00/week. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$73
We rented one of their 30 ft trailers with a pull out. It was very clean and there was bedding and dishes to boot. The campground was clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed here in July. We did have to rent a portable fire pit. They are 5 for small and 10 for large and that is per day. We would stay here again. During our stay the heated pools heater was broken so pool was cold. The hot tub was clean and the hours of operation were great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$1
I put $1 as the rate because a number is required, but TT/LTR members don't pay to stay. I stay at this park at least once a month, so I am very familiar with it and thoroughly enjoy the park and staff. The weaknesses are the road condition (potholes and muddy) and very poor cell & Wi-Fi coverage in the area. Other than that, this is a great location and you should enjoy your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$12
Rate is for Coast To Coast + $2.50 for cable. Somebody said paved sites, there are no paved sites. The staff is friendly. The road is full of potholes. The sites are gravel/dirt. Wi-Fi only works in or near clubhouse. We had full hook up 50 amp. There is a great fenced in dog area. There are few pull thrus. Its a great location. There is a lot of shade. The road did get muddy when it rained. Can't rate this higher them a 8 with the lack of paved roads and sites and free Wi-Fi that works through out the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
This is a Thousand Trails membership Campground. It is a very nice campground and we enjoyed our stay here. Lots to do in the area including Sea Lion Caves, Perpetus Overlook, Oregon Coast Aquarium. Georgie's and the Chowder Bowl are excellent places to eat. Our AT&T cell service was spotty; but, we were able to get Satellite as we picked a site that was open and not in the trees. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$8
We have been to this park about 3 times now and it is really a nice park. The sites are paved and some have patios, very nice. All sites have cable hook-ups. The lower area, in the wooded area, are the ones we like but it is hard to get satellite reception. But other than that, it is a very nice park. Except for the pot-holes. There are lots of the.them and the owners should get them filled in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This park was a very pleasant surprise, as I'd not heard a lot of good things about 'Thousand Trails' parks. (Long story). I'd give it a 10 except for the fact that there weren't very many pull-throughs. Those come in awfully handy when you're in a 40' rig with a tow! We wound up unhooking prior to entering the park and choosing a back-in space. Very nice staff. We enjoyed the pool and sauna. That pool could do with a tad more heat. Maybe they want you to hurry up and swim and get out! :) Great location, close to Newport without the traffic headaches. Great wi-fi - I didn't even have to go to the clubhouse it was that strong. The park is split into 2 sides, each with showers and restrooms. All clean and well-maintained. Glad we stayed here and would do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$10
We stayed here for a week at the Coast to Coast rate of $10/night + $2.50/night for cable (which worked flawlessly!). We found the staff to be quite friendly and they were always hard at work keeping the place tidy. Yeah, there were a few potholes on the dirt/gravel road, but this is the Oregon coast and it does rain on occasion! Not sure about the prior comments about dust...we had no problem, Mother Nature did a great job. I will take shade trees to "cement pad, blacktop landscape" any day. Would have given a 10 if the Wi-Fi worked at the site. (worked perfect at or near the clubhouse) We had number 57, which was as pristine and green as you could get. They had numerous weekend social events, BBQ breakfasts, ice cream socials, etc. We would come back without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This campground is part of the Thousand Trail system and is a Leisure Time Resort. Our family has used this park each year and plans to in the future again. It is one of the nicest and cleanest campgrounds you will find. They have a great club house with pool tables, indoor pool and jacuzzi, card tables, and computers and television. They have tennis courts, and putt putt golf ,and frisbee golf. The sites are small but have great privacy. They can accommodate very large trailers and motorhomes. They have daily acitvities for adults and children. They offer dinners and BBQ lunches on the weekends. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$1
We loved this park and have camped here for years. We feel this is one of the best in the system. There is lots of tree coverage but we had no trouble getting our DishNetwork set up. The park was clean. Staff has been friendly. Very nice park and will probably return to it every year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$1
Great LTR/Thousand Trails Preserve on the Oregon coast. Have site 113 which is probably the best site in the Preserve. Nice view of the ocean and plenty of room. Short walk to the beach (need to cross HWY 101). Good satellite reception from roof mounted dome and AT&T cell phone great. Weather is cloudy in morning but sunny in afternoon. Will visit here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
The staff is very helpful and courteous. Getting a site with good satellite access was tough, the trees make a beautiful setting. The 5 mph speed limit is not enforced. The roads are dirt, and the result is everything gets real dusty. We would probably stay here again because of the price using our Resort Parks International. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$1
We stayed here on our TT membership. The staff were very friendly here. The Wi-Fi didn't work up top, nor could we get TV satellite due to tree cover. Roads do need some pothole repair. The pool could use some upgrading and additional heat. The spa was very small, crowded with four people. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$8
We found this a delightful park full of activities for both children and adults! We parked our 40' motorhome and tow car in site 51 and had plenty of space for our slides. Site was paved, had trees and bushes for privacy, and included a fire pit and table. The roads in our area were coated gravel, somewhat hilly, and easy to maneuver around. The enclosed pool and spa were in great condition. This park had a state park feel to it and we will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Got "three free nights" to introduce us to Thousand Trails, and only stayed two. The few nice features of this park were overwhelmingly negated by the attitude of the staff and the pages and pages of rules we were handed when we checked in, as well as the high-pressure tactics to convince you that Thousand Trails is worth a multi-thousand-dollar investment. What we saved in fees for the two nights just wasn't worth it to us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$8
We stayed here 5 nights and it was 4 nights too many! The roads and sites are all dirt. Your rig and car are covered in dust. It was awful. The layout of the campground was nice but after 1 day, we were tired of the dirt. We had to pay $2.50 a night for cable TV, but it was so snowy it was unwatchable. Went to the swimming pool and hot tub at 9:30 p.m. to avoid the children - no such luck. The pool was filled with noisy kids and I would have been OK with that, but the hot tub was lukewarm! Not good! We will not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$8
This is a membership campground. We found it generally good with nice amenities. The roads are dirt and gravel, but had not been graded in a long time. There were pot holes in the road especially on the hills. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$8
This is a membership C2C park. There are two different areas to this park. One area had paved roads & sites. These sites are narrow and in the trees. RVs with slides will not fit into some of the sites. The other area has paved/gravel/dirt roads with potholes. Sites are gravel/dirt and not very level. The area is surrounded by trees, but not many are on sites. The land is very hilly. WiFi is only available in the recreation building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com