219989 User submitted reviews online!!
Miles City KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (406) 232-3991
CGID3810

Miles City KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   7   7   4   7   10   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$48
This is an older KOA, and like most KOAs are well used and tired. Our site was fairly level, gravel, with a picnic table. It was long enough to accommodate our rig and truck. There are large trees for shade, but trimmed adequately to maneuver the roads and site. The services (50 amp, cable, water and sewer) all worked well. The park is convenient to town for shopping, restaurants, and services, and an easy off from I-94. We did not have reservations, but the hosts accommodated us politely and led us to the site. He checked all the services to be sure all was working before we set up. The park was full by evening, but quiet and comfortable. We would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
According to attendant this camp was the 4th KOA opened in the 50's. Decent clean park with shade trees. Nice staff. Hookups worked. Quiet. Slept well. One night. Would use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Good clean park with friendly staff, level sites with easy access. Be aware of the low bridge. (It is clearly marked, so no surprise). Amenities were clean and well maintained. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
The staff was extremely nice and friendly, as well as helpful. Too bad the campground is so sad. There are some beautiful old Cottonwood trees but they also make is hard to get in and out of the so-called pull thru sites. This campground has several long term residents scattered throughout the campground (first come first serve). The site we were given was too tight to "pull" out the next morning, so we had back out. The grounds were mowed while we were there, but our site was riddled with cigarette butts and trash from someone else. It is also located more in an residential/industrial area than we expected. There was noise from trains until late at night and again early in the morning. There is also a dirt road along one end of the campground that dirt bikes, four wheelers and vehicles used throughout the time we were there. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We usually stay at a park in Glendive, MT when we are in this area but it closed a few years ago. We stayed here one weekday night in mid-July. We had a level FHU, pull-through site with 70+ channel cable TV, and free, at site WiFi (the best we've had on this trip so far). The roads and sites are gravel and dirt and the park is heavily treed. I don't know if there is a single site in the park that is satellite friendly. There is a small playground and a nice pool. The pool area is fenced and the water was warm but still refreshing on a fairly hot day. The bathrooms, showers, and laundry facilities are old but adequate. My only problem was the tree sap. I have no problem with cottonwood "snow" but the sap covers everything. According to the owner, it is a visible mist at times. All the ground debris (dirt, leaves, and pebbles) gets so saturated with the sap that it sticks to your footwear. We had to scrap this muck off our shoes every time we returned to the RV. As I unhooked the next morning, I had to wipe off all my hoses, cords, and cables. This is a nice park except during "sap" season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
This is a one night stay campground; not one of the best KOA's. The office staff was unfriendly and curt. Yes, the park has trees and that is the best part of the park. Sites were un-level. They do offer a wide variety of cable channels, and their wi-fi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is an ok campground, but maybe not one I'd stay at again if I had a choice. I thought it somewhat overpriced and the restrooms/showers, while acceptably clean, could have used a bit more elbow grease. The best thing about it is the beautiful cottonwoods that give plenty of shade. The Wi-Fi, always my sticking point, was fairly strong and reliable. I don't know how good it would be if they had a full house, as they were pretty empty when we were here. The pool looked inviting but closed at 5pm, as did the office, several hours before dusk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Since we were driving through on I-94, we stopped in Miles City to see Range Riders' Museum. This campground staff was very friendly and the site was definitely worth the price. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Our only problem with this campground is the pool area. The steps leading in to the pool are very shaky and not very secure. While getting in to the pool, my wife twisted around on the stairs and injured her leg. There was bruising and swelling. We reported the problem but nothing was done to fix the stairs. No one seemed concerned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Very nice staff. Campground was clean with fantastic cottonwood trees. It was a great place to spend the night on our RV trip. Only negative was the way the sites were set up with your door facing another door. We had some bad luck with the wind on our way and had roof damage and awning damage on our motor home. The owners recommended a local guy named Dave who came right out and looked at the damage and came back on Sunday morning and repaired it. Excellent job and I would highly recommend this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Nice park, good signage to get to park. Nice city, new managers/owners since Sept 2011. Very nice and easy to access. Agree with previous reviewers. Managers went out of their way to please We had 5 in our party and were very pleased with the accodomations. Real nice city. Restaurants recommended by managers were very good. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
This KOA is okay for a few days. Bathrooms/showers are average older KOA but clean and are fine. Lots of trees and shade and grass between the gravel sites. Camp hosts are great and very nice. Train tracks are not far away and heard a couple of trains overnight. Not a big deal since we like trains. The park is located near enough to the old rustic downtown area that one can walk to town. Campground is on the Yellowstone river and a nice setting overall. Some older in town neighborhoods are nearby by which makes for an interesting drive to the park. Also there is some dump truck traffic behind the park within view of the main camping area with stays busy M-F during the day. Not a big deal though. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
This rate was for 2 people in a water and electric site. The owners were super friendly and helpful, they even escorted us to our site and made sure we could reach the hookups. The owners brought a free local newspaper to our site. Bathrooms, showers and laundry were very clean and nicely decorated and were checked often for supplies and cleanliness. Sites were gravel and level with some grass between sites, our site was roomy. There are many sites that would accommodate big rigs. The cable TV worked well with many channels and the Wi-Fi was strong. There were quite a few large trees in the park. The swimming pool was closed as it was the off season. The only negative was that there was a gravel stock piling business close by and a lot of dump trucks were going by, maybe our timing was bad and this isn't an every day thing? This is the nicest park we found in this area and we would not hesitate to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
We're not usually fans of KOAs, but this one is really top notch. The owners take great pride in their park and have really invested in making improvements. We stayed here six years ago, shortly after they acquired the park and their hard work is noticeable. The owners are friendly and go out of their way to provide great customer service. In fact, when we checked in, the owner stopped by to let us know she was on her way to Wal-Mart and asked if we needed anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
The nightly fee was $36 but I used 15,000 of my KOA points and reduced the bill by $25.00. The host did not know how to do it but called the parent office and brought my receipt to our site. Spacious sites. Easy in and out of the park but 3 miles off of the interstate. Travel is through a residential neighborhood. Very friendly staff. Garbage can be left at your site and will be picked up. There were 4 trains that roared through town during the night. I really don't know how far away the tracks were but it seemed like the horns were very close. Sleep was less than optimal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
The owners at this park are great and go out of their way to make you comfortable. The setting is a little odd though. There are no fences to separate the residential houses from the camp sites. The sites are hard pack gravel but have no patios. Most of the grass is pretty rough and could use reseeding. But all in all it's not a bad place to stay for a few days. Nice mature trees, but it does make satellite reception difficult. However, they do have a significant list of cable channels available. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
This is and older park with mature trees and lots of shade. The staff is lovely and everything in the park is kept very clean. The pool is nice and was well cared for. We stayed here for two days and will do so again. It has Wi-Fi that works and a large selection of cable channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This park was clean and spacious. The staff were welcoming, helpful, and friendly. They took extra time to point out local attractions and places to stop on our way east. Yes, we also got free ice cream on check in. I am usually disappointed by KOAs, and we have a tendency to avoid them, but I'm glad we came to this one. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This KOA is in a great spot--tucked away in a nice shady corner on the fringe of downtown Miles City. The owners are incredibly nice (they gave us ice cream bars when we checked in!) and offered us a discounted rate when we only wanted electric (that included cable and Internet, too). The bathrooms are nice and clean, there's a laundry to use that's cheaper than the laundry in my apartment building ($1.50 for a wash load, $.75 to dry), and the spots are much more spaced out than the other KOA's we've been to where you could shake hands with your neighbors. We had planned to go to Big Sky, as we had come across it on the Internet and it looked really nice, but websites can be deceiving: We got to town and it was not at all in a remote location like it implies, but just a stone's throw from the major interstate! Plus, it was a dump. So we were happy there was a back-up plan, a KOA in town, and made our way there. I would give this spot a 10 if it weren't for the noise factor. There's construction going on just to the back of the lot, and who knows how long that will continue (it was only loud in the morning, not in the afternoon or night) and b) there are trains that run nearby all night long and blow their horns pretty loudly. I would stay here again, though, no questions asked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Chuck full tonight, sites are full just like a parking lot. WiFi is a bit weak. A place with not much ambiance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
Very clean, and very friendly park. 50 tall cottonwoods characterize this wonderful campground; sunny or shady spots are available. It's a great spot to relax and reload. This was our third stay here and it won't be our last. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We came to this campground as an overnight stay until we left in the AM for our next destination. We thought the Host/Hostess was VERY nice. We were shown where our campsite was (which is nice), and we did use the bathrooms and showers and thought those were very clean. Also used the laundry room which was nice, we were the only people in there, but everything seemed to be in working order. I would recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Park-like grounds and super friendly owners! Great little stop for an over nighter or weekend stay. Huge cable selection and nice, shaded, level sites. Bathrooms were always clean and the laundry was nice. Ask the front desk before heading through town back to the interstate, there is a VERY low clearance bridge on Main St. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Another great couple owned KOA; they know what TLC is! Laundry is open 24 hours, great dryers and dish washing sink too, which is very helpful for us overnighters who don't want to empty our gray water tanks. Clean showers and looked like the pool was being used by families. Gravel site was pretty level; didn't unhook our travel trailer from the F-350. KOA's seemed to be the best so far; safe, clean, friendly, efficient: not asking much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a fantastic RV park. Staff is friendly and the RV park sit amount old trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This KOA was situated in a Cottonwood Grove almost downtown Miles City which you could walk to. It made for a pleasant one night stay. Easy in and out with big, level sites. The pool looked well maintained, laundry was adequate and Wi-Fi worked well. A negative was a dirty mens shower/restroom exacerbated by rank standing water in the floor drains. Considering the level of the water in the sewer stand pipe, I think this may be a recurring problem. Still, staff should be aware of it and react first thing in the morning especially when tent campers need to use the facility. The other negative was that the store had zero inventory either chronically or in anticipation of closing for the winter season. These items notwithstanding I’d overnight here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
This is a good spot for an over night stay. The best thing about the park is the friendly staff. The sites are not particularly level. The park is not really easy to find and is an old park. The trees are very mature, but are trimmed to accommodate larger rigs. I would recommend this park for a place to lay your head for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Friendly, cheerful, and helpful hosts. It was away from the Interstate which is why we chose it. Be sure to take the 136 exit and not the 135. There is a low underpass near downtown, so make sure you follow the truck route. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This was a pleasant older KOA in its 3rd year of renewal by younger owners. The sites are wide, and some have side-by-side hookups. The restrooms were freshly painted and extremely clean. The entire park is in a grove of cottonwood trees on the edge of town. We paid the KOA discount rate, which included local taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This was a pleasant campground with very friendly hosts. We called ahead the day we arrived and they had a site set aside for us. The campground is shaded with numerous mature cottonwood trees, although there is not any screening between sites. The bathrooms and showers were clean. Although we did not use the pool, it appeared to be the standard-issue, smallish KOA pool. The city is doing road and bridge construction nearby, and we were informed off this when we called ahead to reserve a site. Strong WI-FI signal and fast internet connection. They host an evening social with ice cream each night, and gave us some ice cream the next morning for our daughter, who was suffering from strep throat. All in all, a pleasant place to stop off in Eastern Montana. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
This park was an unexpected pleasant surprise. We missed a turn on a cross-country trip which put us way off track, so we were just looking for somewhere with cable & WiFi to spend the night. The owners, who purchased the campground two years ago, were very friendly and helpful. Most sites are shaded with nice old trees. No privacy between sites though...no low shrubs, etc. But for an overnight, it was not an issue. Nice, clean pool. It must be heated. We didn't swim in it but other people were swimming and the air was cool on the day we stayed. Extensive cable TV channel lineup and FREE WiFi, both pleasant surprises given that this is in a fairly rural area. Nice gravel roads, virtually no dirt/mud. Grassy sites. Nice clean laundry room complete with a full sized ironing board, 2 irons, and a shopping cart to use for transferring laundry from washer to dryer. Nice touch with the ironing board! Children's playground which several families were enjoying during our stay. We also received ice cream, brought to our site after check-in by one of the owners. All in all, lots of nice, little surprises here. The only negative is that there's trains running through town which you can hear at night if you're a light sleeper. I sleep like a log, so I didn't hear a thing. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
This park sits on a beautiful piece of property and is run by a very friendly couple. I believe there was a recent change in management/ownership and the new managers expressed their intent to introduce numerous improvements. They were quite warm and welcoming, serving us ice cream on our arrival. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$33
Stayed at this park 2 nights - once going out to the West Coast and once again on the return trip. The park has new owners as of this spring and they are very friendly. The park is very clean. The only down-side is that you have to drive through a pretty rundown part of town to get to the park. The owners came around with free ice cream each night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
Typical KOA - lots of huge trees, not much capital expenditure in the past. Several loads of gravel would help the recently rained upon sites; we tracked a lot of mud & dirt in. The park has enthusiastic (and nice) new owners this spring; they have plans to upgrade stuff as possible. They've trimmed up trees & done pool work already. The interior roads are in good shape. We live in a 40' MH - maybe some sites have satellite abilities, but not many & not ours. But, a nice bonus - they offer free WiFi. Cool! The owners would like to add some E/W only big-rig sites with no trees. Keep that thought! When are the rest of the KOA people going to discover the Big-Rig consumer??? The location is good - you can walk to town with not too much effort. The MT-DOT lot behind the park offered early morning noise. This is one of the easiest KOAs to get in and out of we've found - 3 sides have city streets. Be sure to drive in from the highway by their directions - there is a low bridge in the middle of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com