218149 User submitted reviews online!!
North Park / Gould / Walden KOA was rated 3 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (970) 723-4310
CGID3821

North Park / Gould / Walden KOA

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   5   3   1   10   2   3   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
When we pulled up, we saw a banner that said the campground had won the Chairman's award in 2010. Apparently, that doesn't take much because this place sucked! First, there is no propane, despite what their website says. Second, they've chopped all of their trees down because of a beetle invasion but left all of the stumps. This made the campground look like crap and difficult to walk around in. The dirt site was extremely unlevel. They say they have wi-fi, but it never worked while we were there. When we checked in, the guy told my friend, "you guys have to be in by 9:00 for quiet hours." Not sure what that meant, we made sure we were in the park by 9:00 thinking they may gate it or something. They just meant be inside your RV. (yes, we might be silly, but he could have been more clear). No grills are made available. Really no amenities at all except a meager playground. The only thing this place has going for it is full hook ups. I don't think these folks give a darn what people think who camp there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
They claim to have Wi-Fi but it doesn't reach all the campsites so we didn't have it and we were closest to the office. Owners were never around during the hours stated on the office door. Restrooms and showers were dirty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
On the plus side, it's a decent place with full hookups. On the downside, there is absolutely nothing special about it. Ok for an overnighter and to dump after camping, but that's about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This KOA campground was a real disappointment and not worth the price. However, there virtually no local competition, as only one portion of the nearby state park has utilities and that consists of electricity. The dirt roads were dusty/poorly maintained, the sites weren't being cleaned regularly, and the playground surface was part dirt and part wood chips. Yes, they had Wi-Fi, but it seldom worked even though there were few trees to block the signal. The laundry was clean with reasonable prices and the restrooms were warm and clean. The small store was well stocked, but the prices were high. This part of Colorado is a great place to see moose and other wildlife. The nearby Arapaho National Wildlife Refuge is worth visiting, as are the State Forest State Park visitor center in Gould and the museum in Walden. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Agree with above poor ratings. This campground was very expensive for what it offered! It was so overgrown that you could not even get to the site picnic table or the hook-ups without walking in weeds. Even had to walk in weeds to get to the trash dumpster. Would not plan on stopping at this campground again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
This campground is practically in Colorado State Forest State Park. It is two miles from the North Michigan Reservoir which is a great place to fish and about six miles from the Moose Visitor Center. This is a great Rocky Mtn destination that will get you away from the crowds in the nearby NP. Reviews regarding the trees are accurate. It was sad to see so many of the trees had to be taken out due to pine beetles. It's still a beautiful area and the scenery, wildlife, fishing, and hiking options are great. Host and the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Staff at the Moose visitor center were great too. I hope to camp here again someday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
Pretty pricey for a mudhole with beetle killed trees all cut down. Nothing but scrub and mudholes in the roads. Maintenance was really not that evident. Staff and hangers-on in the office were right straight from "DELIVERANCE" the movie AND acted like it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
As previous reviewers have mentioned, the trees are gone. The pine and spruce beetles have devastated the forest in this part of Colorado and the owners had no choice but to have the dead trees cut down. Unfortunately, the campground is a mess, tall grass and weeds, muddy, dirt roads and overgrown and undefined sites. KOAs are not all good or all bad; they are separate entities. We've stayed at some really great ones and some really poor ones. This was one of the poor ones and we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for this website. We were getting ready to do a week somewhere in the mountains with the family. Trees were important ! So we looked at the campgrounds website - nothing about cutting down all the trees. Thank you for providing a forum whereby we can check these things out. Poor old KOA is just about a thing of the past. If there is an overpriced campground it is sure to be a KOA. They have simply ceased to be a possibility for us anymore, too bad! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
What a disappointment! The trees have all been cut down because of pine beetle, although the ads and website don't mention this. There is NO shade, although a local info paper had a picture of this KOA with many tall pines. Besides being "barren", they haven't cleaned it up with ruts and drag marks throughout where logs were dragged around. Weeds were tall and the interior roads and sites were rutted. It rained heavily the night we were there and we had mudholes full of water. There are no facilities other than a nice store and clean bathrooms. It was way overpriced for what we got, and we won't stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
This campground is located in a part of Colorado that is not heavily traveled, and is the only one around that has full hookups. Nonetheless, it is well maintained and the owners were friendly and helpful. Most of the pull-thru sites will be tight for longer RV's, but there is a section of back-in sites that are more out in the open and allow more maneuverability. The major outside activity for this campground is fishing, and the lakes/reservoirs in the area are part of the Colorado State Park system and are regularly stocked. We stayed here in a 33' 5th Wheel and enjoyed the peace and quiet. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
The setting is nice but the sites need improvement. The hookups are too far forward so I couldn't back in my trailer as far as I'd like because my connections would not reach. The playground is old and need of repair. However, they do have numerous things for kids to play on. If you look at this KOA campground on the internet, it will show ATV trails nearby. We woke to kids doing laps around the campground on 4 wheelers at 8 AM and they continued for 2 hours. I asked the front office if that was acceptable and the girl stated "as long as they don't act like idiots". Nevermind they were breaking the 5 MPH speed limit. I found this to be unacceptable and will seriously consider other campgrounds before going back to this KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com