206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Chewonki Campground was rated 10 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (207) 882-7426
CGID3825

Chewonki Campground

Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   9   10   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$55
Beautiful setting. The sites are tiered and hard to pull out of. Had to back up plus it rained so it was very muddy. The women running the campground are awesome. We "heard" that they are revamping their sites to be more accommodating. The pictures on their web page are a tad deceiving. But still awesome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
This was possibly the most beautiful campsite we have ever had. It was huge with a wide open view of the tidal river. Lots of birds in the patches of trees and bushes left standing between sites. This campground is quiet (we were the only people there for most of our stay). Nearly all the sites are large and grassy. You would likely have problems pulling out if it had rained a lot. There is not much to do and pre-teens and teens would likely be bored but it would be fine with small children. We plan on returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$50
Absolutely beautiful place. Folks are very nice, especially one gentleman. Great " nature walk." Peaceful and pristine. All hookups worked well and site was mostly level. Word of warning: if it has rained and you have a rig that is of any size, you may have trouble getting out of your site. Worth the worry, but be warned. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
Beautiful place. Sites are huge and ideal for smaller rigs, pop-ups, and tents. Rated this a 10 because of the size of the sites, cleanliness, peace and quiet, attentive staff, great saltwater pool, pet friendly. Ideal place for people looking for a "state park" feel with all the advantages of a privately owned campground. Negatives are that there are limited spots for big rigs (tight corners too but not impossible to navigate), very limited Wi-Fi if you need it, and pay showers. This is our second year attending and would highly recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$49
This is a very nice park and most RVers would not have any issues here. However, we did not find it big rig friendly. The low trees and turns were very tight. There are only about 7-8 sites that are actually able to accommodate a large rig; more than 32 feet. Wi-Fi is only available at the office area. The visitor fee is extremely high, 8 dollars per adult and 6 per child even if they only visit a few minutes. The two sisters that run it are very cordial but firm and run a tight ship, which makes the campground nice for all. We stayed over one week and watched them work diligently all day long. Once a site was vacated they were there within 10 minutes, mowing, trimming, raking and preparing the site for the next arrival. Bathrooms are the cleanest I have found but need a bit of updating. We liked that soap was at the sinks. One can kayak but it is difficult at anything but high tide. If you have kids, there are not a lot of activities but plenty to do in the area. Pool is extremely large and is salt water. They do have strict rules but that makes it quiet and enjoyable for all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$65
An absolute awesome campground if you love lots of space, nature, scenic views, peace and quiet, and no organized activities for kids. Most sites are extremely spacious and favor tents, pop-ups, and smaller RVs. Pool is huge and was 75 degrees. We spent many hours in it. We had site 16 which had a huge open field in front of it. We played baseball, flew kites, threw frisbees and footballs. Right next to Wiscasset Airport so we got to watch the small piper planes take off and land during the days (was quiet at night). They have a very nice clay tennis court and a very legit (minus the green) 200 yard par 3 golf hole. Bring some clubs and golf balls. The owners are very nice and helpful. My only criticism is their firewood: split and aged but very thin so it burns very quickly. Just a beautiful place that we will definitely return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
My wife, step daughter, her friend and our two dogs spent 5 nights at Chewonki Campground from June 30th to July 5th. We booked this campground because of the reviews given on this website and it did not disappoint. The campground is impeccably clean and well cared for. The owners recycle everything! This is a dog owners kind of campground as the owners are very dog friendly and almost every campsite had a dog or two on it. We camped at site 2B which is a full hookup site. It is one of 12 sewer sites on a grassy hill and each site is a step in the knoll. The best full hookup sites are 26, NN and RB. For people with tents and pop-ups or those who don't need sewer the wooded sites are some of the most spacious I have ever seen. In terms of recreation there is a small recreation hall that resides on the simpler side of life with a ping pong table, a fooseball table and a woven mat that resembles a chessboard on a card table. There are also shelves with books and games. There is a salt water swimming pool that is very clean and also has a wade pool next to it for the little trikes. There is a clay tennis court, horseshoe pits and a volleyball net set up as well. For the golfer there is a one hole golf course that is visible from the full hook up sites. Kayaks and canoes can be rented from the store to paddle along the Montsweag River that borders the campground. The camp store has essentials like wood and ice as well as neat sweatshirts but not much else. That isn't really a problem as there is a Shaw's Supermarket a little more than a mile away. Wiscasset Airport is beside the campground and it was neat to see the little planes take off and land. The good thing is that they didn't fly at night or in the early morning. At night the place is peaceful and quiet. We will be camping here again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$52
Beautiful view of tidal river. We canoed at high tide. Grounds very well kept. Enjoyed the free daily paper. Bathroom showers are coin-op. Older restroom facilities, hot water slow (very!) to arrive in ladies' shower. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff...Ann, one of the owners was always available and offered great advice on touring the area. Nearby airport busy in daytime but quiet at night. Half an hour's drive to Freeport and LL Bean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very clean campground. The owners are wonderful. We had a very large pull in site for our 32 ft. motorhome. We had beautiful salt marshes in front of our campsite, and a sky full of stars at night. The showers and bath houses were beyond clean. A newspaper was hand delivered to our site every morning. This campground was allowed us to explore the Wiscasset/Boothbay area easily. The kids loved the pool which was also kept very clean. The camp store was very small and light on grocery items. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
We stayed at Chewonki just one night, having arranged with friends to meet them there. The site we had, along with our friends next door, was absolutely beautiful. The campground was quiet, the restrooms, showers and pool immaculately maintained and the staff were very friendly. We wished our work schedule would have allowed us to stay longer. That said, we're definitely adding Chewonki to our list of preferred campgrounds. The fact that it's just under three hour from home makes it a great place for a weekend getaway. Highly recommend this for a cozy, at one with nature type camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Really nice CG. We were lucky to get in as the Blue Angels are skeduled to perform two days after we hooked up ( 200,000 projected in to see the show ). Grassy sites easy access but not level. Have boards to do the job. There was a CG full of summer camp kids when we arrived but no prob. They have a tennis course, fields so you can walk your pets, access to the tidal areas ( makes for interesting kayaking but maybe bug repellent is in order just in case ). The owners couldn't be nicer. A phone call is in order as closing is dependent upon weather. See their web site. We're in a 4 slide/39' 5th wheel and we had plenty of room as did our 38' MH traveling companions. This would be a nice place to stay for a week or longer as there are lots of things to see in the area.I t's right off of RT 1 - the main tourist trap. The fact that on 12 Sept and we caught off season rates was wonderful.The Wiscasset airport is very close but their traffic is light to moderate and we heard NO planes when it got dark. Comparable area CG's charge MUCH more this time of year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
A campground with full hookups (11 at my count) and space for large rigs, yet small, quiet, attractive and friendly. The best of both worlds.The full hookup sites are on a gently sloping grassed hillside with views of the tidal salt marsh and inlets. Two or three of the sites are right on the water (salt marsh) but have no hookups. This would be a perfect campground for those with kayaks/canoes/small boats with motors. You can explore the immediate tidal estuary around the campground, or head out to the Sheepscot River estuary and eventually the ocean, if you're that adventurous. We used the campground as a base to visit our children in Maine, and had our grandson visit for an afternoon. The saltwater pool is the nicest (clean, large) pool we have seen in any campground, and we have been to many. A little chilly perhaps, but warmer than ocean water in Maine. The only caveat, and a small one, is that to use the pull through capability of our site would have required traversing several hundred feet of mowed grassy meadow at a slight upslope. Since our truck is 2 wheel drive, and the grass was a little damp from previous evening rain, I opted to back out and leave via the gravel road we used to pull in. Not a problem for us, and if you have 4 wheel drive, not a problem either way for you. Would certainly come here again, and probably will. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
I have been camping at Chewonki for eight years and continue to go back every summer. In fact it has been the only campground we have used for the last four years. The owners are very dog friendly (they like people too). The sites are large, private, and always clean. The bathrooms are very clean as is the Salt water Pool. There is also a baby pool. There are kayaks and canoes available to rent. The campground is located on a tidal saltwater inlet. This campground is perfect for those who love quiet, family campgrounds. There is also only one entry and exit. There is a small store available for ice, drinks and candy. We will eventually end up as seasonal campers here, because of the quality and friendliness of the owners. The rates start at $28.00 and go up to $45.00. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com