223495 User submitted reviews online!!
McDowell Nature Preserve was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (704) 588-5224
CGID3828

McDowell Nature Preserve

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   8   9   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
I agree with previous reviews. Very nice area. Fairly close to Charlotte but it takes a long time to get anywhere in Charlotte due to traffic. The RV sites are sporatic. A few are fairly flat but others are very sloped. We stayed on R-3 and could not level the motorhome without blocking. If you make reservations, ask for a level site. Our MH is 30' and roads were tight. Longer rigs would have a lot of trouble getting around. Overall, would stay here again, but know what to ask for now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
This state park was great. Our site was R9 and we liked it quite a bit. Pull-through, gravel site. Small grassy areas around for our two dogs at night, and a lot of walking trails (not too difficult, but some good ups and downs to get a better work out if you want one). There isn't an official dog walk area, but there are plenty of spaces nearby to walk them. The site was clean, the picnic table was fine, fire ring good. They sold firewood bundles at the front gate for $4, which seemed to have enough for a good night's fire. They close and lock the gate at night so check the hours if you're arriving late. It's pretty easy to get here off of I-485 as well (the loop that goes around Charlotte and connects I-77 with I-85). I went into the bathhouse just once because we are in a motorhome. The floors were sort of yucky but the rest was good - clean enough and nice privacy in that you could lock the door like a single stall public restroom, and use the shower and mirror etc. in there with total privacy. There were a lot of kids around the area and in the playground area, but it wasn't overly noisy. It was pretty full and still pretty quiet at night. There is a lot of retail - grocery store, restaurants, super Target, etc. 2-3 miles down the road (a busy road I wouldn't want to walk along though). We walked the Kingfisher Trail that goes downhill and then a little along Lake Wylie, then reverse back to the campground. We also did the Chestnut Trail that winds around in a circle, a good amount of ups and downs, through the woods...both were very peaceful and enjoyable. I'd recommend the Chestnut Trail if you want total quiet, woodsy, bird calls, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Located in a 1,100 acre county park this campground offers privacy in a heavily wooded setting, yet is close to a shopping area and downtown Charlotte. Most of the paved pull-through sites are quite large and well spaced. The campground is very popular on weekends, so if you plan to stay during the warm weather months, a reservation is suggested. Be careful to note the route to your site (posted at the entry kiosk) as the roads can be confusing. The preserve offers extensive hiking trails, fishing and boat ramps. I was able to obtain a good Verizon broadband signal and a several over-the-air TV stations. Satellite owners may have a difficult time obtaining a clear view of the sky due to the tree cover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$26
Everything in this park was excellent except the sites themselves. They are very uneven. This is our first trip as full time RV'ers and we just about didn't have enough wood to level us. I had 14 in of wood under my front leg to level our trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
What a great find! The woods are beautiful. It's a bit tight to drive through, but we made it in a 38'. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
Excellent campground with very nice hiking trails around Lake Wylie. Showers/restrooms are individually accessible by external door and each appears to be handicap accessible. Rent a tents are wall tents and are $36-46 per night. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We were in Charlotte for a soccer tournament. The bathrooms were awesome. There were unisex individual bathrooms with sinks and showers. The facilities were excellent. The sites were paved and weren't on top of each other. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Nice quiet park. All sites are paved but most are not level. Roads are good but tight. Sites are very big. Bath house is A+++. Dump station is difficult to access but OK. Only about 15 sites are available to RV's. Call ahead for reservations. Very convenient shopping nearby. Plenty of hiking trails and exhibits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
The wife and I really enjoyed this park. Lots of hiking trails available, super clean and private bathrooms, courteous and polite staff, big sites, pull throughs, quiet, and the price is fair. Our travel trailer is 32' long so some roads were a little tight but manageable. Some sites can be a challenge in leveling. That's why I'm not rating it a 10. We will come back. Make sure you have reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
This park is a hidden gem in Charlotte. The Preserve itself is full of hiking trails and sits right on Lake Wylie. The RV sites are tucked (somewhat tightly) in tall pine trees. Some of the spaces are a bit out of level, which isn't really a big deal to me. A really nice bathhouse offers private bathrooms, which is rare it seems for a city park like this. I'd certainly stay again, and already plan on it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
A small jewel in Charlotte. A wonderful place to walk and enjoy nature. Bathrooms are not only clean, but private 8 X 10 full baths! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Big rigs, make reservations early. All sites pull-through. I wish I could have spent more time. I will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
I agree with the last review. If you have a large rig like ours you need to call make sure you are assigned to one of the longer sites. Nice park with a trail to the lake. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. New restrooms that are clean and well maintained. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
The site that I stayed in was a large pull through that had 50 amp service. I think they only have 12 or 13 in the whole park so make sure you have your reservations. They had a new attendant when I made my reservation that actually assigned 2 of us to the same spot. Luckily we noticed it and had it changed. It is advertised as big rig friendly, but the roads were tight with my 38foot and their were a lot of low lying tree limbs. The site were level in the middle with small gravel. Picnic tables and fire rings were provided. Make sure you use your water pressure regulator. With the regulator, I had the best water pressure I have ever had. Overall this was a nice campground. Strange that it is on Lake Wiley but does not have water access. No beach or boat ramp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
This is everything a campground should be. Large, well separated, private fairly level sites . Our favorite round steel fire rings. Friendly, helpful staff. Bathroom/showers are heated. Bathrooms will be replaced temporarily with porta-potties from December 07 to May 08 during construction of new facility. Quiet and peaceful. We will stay here again. Only 13 of the sites are RV sites; others are tent or tent trailer sites. May be full in summer months?? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This park is a nice place to use as a home base. If you are looking for a destination, this is definitely not the place for you. No swimming of any kind even thought the park adjoins Lake Wylie. Fishing is available but with the drought, the water is down and fishing from the several piers was not so much fun. It is not a flat park by any means so biking is OK for those that like hills. The park does have several nice playgrounds for children. It is close to restaurants and grocery stores, but no camp store. The sites are for the most part very level side to side. Some of the fronts do drop off pretty quick. Small park if you take away the tent sites that are included in the total number. We will definitely go back as we enjoy the solitude. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
Staff is very friendly and helpful. The park is definitely better suited for small units or tents. The roads are narrow with branch overhangs. The lots are shaded and the park is quiet. Very convenient to Carowinds and shopping. We were in a 38" MH and were able to use our slide and utilize the dump station. Would stay here again when visiting Charlotte area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
Stopped at the office to check in only to find the front door locked. The office is all glass so I could easily see the elderly lady sitting at the desk. She just stared at me sort of sizing me up. I honestly believed she wasn't going to let me in. She eventually worked her way to the door and slowly unlocked it. I could tell she was very nervous at first but eased up a little as we talked. She struck me as very paranoid or very afraid to be left in the office by herself. We were assigned site R2 which is unacceptable if you want to use your awning. Only about 2 feet of room on awning side of trailer. The site is very narrow and barely accommodated our slideout on the opposite side. There are only 13 RV sites in this campground. The rest are tent sites. We have a 35' trailer and found the roads way too narrow. Tree branches scraped the trailer on every turn, and there are many turns in this small campground. We didn't even use the dump station since it looked like too much of a hassle trying to maneuver into it. Whoever designed this campground is probably not an RV'er since it is not RV friendly. The second day we were there my wife went to the office to get a campground map. Again, the lady had herself barricaded in the office with the door locked. I just don't get it. Will not stay there again as it was not an enjoyable experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
This campground is part of a large nature preserve in Charlotte. It is about 5 miles from Carowinds. The campground has an unusual feature in that the campground has "Rent a Tent" sites where you can rent a site that is already set up with a tent and cots to see if you like camping. This would also be ideal for extra guests. The bathhouses are old but clean and the staff is very friendly. All sites have a lot of shade. The only reason I did not give this park a 10 is because the roads are very, very narrow and it is hard to drive your RV into many of the sites. We had a difficult time parking our popup camper and it is small. Also, the water and electric hookups for each site are placed at very odd and inconvenient locations. Sometimes, you have to share water hookups with other sites. However, I would stay here if I were in the Charlotte area again especially if I were going to Carowinds. There is a beautiful lake within the nature preserve yet you are also near many places to shop. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$36
We camped here while visiting the Carrowinds theme park, only took us 10 minutes to get to the park from this campground. The sites were decent sized and there was space between them. The fire pits were large and had built in grates you could flip over to cook on. The bathrooms were fairly clean, however a little run down. The playgrounds were very clean and maintained. The hiking trails were clearly marked. There were paddle boats available for rent and a pier for fishing. We didn't have time to visit the actual Nature Preserve however it looked nice. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com