218033 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Monroe Village was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (812) 824-2267
CGID3853

Lake Monroe Village

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   7   6   8   2   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
One of the nicest parks we have stayed in this trip. We had a premium double wide concrete site with large wooden deck at rear of site with large shade tree. Lots of space and grassy areas. Neat hiking trails leading to the lake 1/2 mile away. Approximately 75% of sites are leased for long term, but areas are clean and it is apparent that campers take pride in their lots. Mostly pull behind units with most 5th wheels. Recommend reservations. Stayed in site 116. Definitely a destination CG with lots to do in Bloomington (home of IU). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$52
Nice commercial campground. Facilities were clean, but, the showers basically just dribbled water. Tried 3 different ones and all were the same. Sites were crowded together with a mix of gravel and cement. We were there for a rally. Would not stay there again because it's not our type of campground We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$56
Close to Bloomington and IU campus for a visit. Nice setting with good walking/hiking trails and plenty of open space, very clean and sites had choice of gravel or concrete pads with an upcharge for concrete. All facilities were spotless and although the campground is mainly set up for seasonal owners/renters they went out of the way to make us feel welcome at an Oktoberfest party in the pavilion one night. Only downside is price is a little high for this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Nice park for families with plenty of activities for all. On the Labor Day weekend the full timers had a golf cart parade and tossed candy to the children. Fun and a nice touch. We had a corner paved lot with plenty of room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
Main campground area is clean and family oriented. Wi-Fi only half worked. I couldn't connect to most of the towers in range, but ultimately found one that worked. No cable TV makes this pretty pricey at $46 a night ($43 plus $3 more for our 3rd child). Three pools include a kiddy pool outside, what I'll call an “everyone pool” outside, and a smaller indoor pool. There's a well stocked camp store, and small game room. There's a mini golf on site, but don't expect much. It's pretty rough, but the addition of the new bounce pillow made it all fun with the kids regardless. Campground seems to take reservations of any sized coach, but doesn't, and hasn't, put much thought into getting them into a site. We admittedly stayed here in a large 5th wheel, but it was extremely painful to negotiate the 8' wide narrow drives with a tree or a rock at every corner of the park: only 3' off the drives. We dragged going down the drives. Add to that newly planted trees on either side of the site drives, and it's really tough even for small trailers to get in and out. We arrived after hours, and couldn't get in our assigned site. We ended up moving to another spot in the park without permission, and we were never questioned about it while here. You could probably stay here for free without them knowing. Someone clearly hasn't thought much about getting into and out of this place with a truck and a trailer. There's a back lot area for tenting. We checked it out, and there are several dumping areas for misc junk and building materials. I have no idea what that is about, except a good home for critters. While the kids had a good time, we probably will not go back. It's simply too much money for what it is, and way way too tight even for small rigs. Move the trees back off the road Lake Monroe! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This was a stop-off point for us on our way home.The campground is very nice - mostly level, pull-through spots with fire rings and concrete pads. Spots are staggered so we got a nice view of the nearby forest. Trees at the front of the park are new, so there is not established shade, but in a few years that should improve. There are 3 swimming areas; a small, but nice indoor pool, zero-depth to 2 ft kiddie pool with mushroom fountain, and 4 foot outdoor pool. Pools are very well maintained. Free mini-golf is available. The park is well-kept and clean. We stayed here during the weekend, and the park was very quiet and had lots of spaces left. There is a nearby drive-in theater on Old Route 37 that would warrant a visit if we had stayed longer. Staff was not overly friendly/helpful, but were not rude. When we arrived we were handed a map and left to our own devices to find our spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$62
This is a nice campground with clean amenities. That's where the positive feedback ends. Our stay was exorbitantly priced. They pull a bait and switch tactic when reserving sites. It is the only campground I have ever stayed the reserved rate only pays for the first 2 guests. I reserved my site online and disclosed the number of occupants(4). They charged me the fairly high nightly rate of $42. Then when we arrived on Labor Day weekend, they charged me an extra $10 per day each for my 14 and 16 year old children. With no where else to stay, we were stuck at the $62 per night rate. Then, the newly prepared sites we were given were dirt only, no grass, no gravel, no pavement. When it rained on the second day our $62 site became a mud pit. We will never go back to Lake Monroe Village again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
This park is clean & decent, with a lot of long term campers. It seems to appeal to locals a lot - which may help explain their relatively high camping fee and extremely high fee ($10/person) for visitors. Our site was concrete with patio and was quite level; sewer connection was above ground so we had to be hands-on when dumping. Sites can be a bit tight. There is a nice pool on the grounds, and small store, plus a boat launch on Lake Monroe. Security is good; there is a gate at the entry for which they issue you an electronic card, and they monitor those coming & going. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
This is a big park with lots of amenities and close to Lake Monroe. We were excited because it was a 5 Star rated park by Woodalls. Not even close. Restrooms were not maintained for at least 2 days at a time during our week stay and showers were only done about once a day. Not enough for such a big park. Wi-Fi was very spotty and this has been an ongoing problem there for years. Out in the country, about 12 miles from Bloomington. Staff is very friendly and helpful, just not as attentive to the restrooms as they should be. Were told no problems due to the floods but when we arrived, lake access was very limited. Would appreciate more honesty from the staff as it may not have caused us to change destinations but left a bad taste anyway. Not a bad park at all, just not what it is built up to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
We liked this campground but we lucked out and had the nicest site in the place. The people were very nice and the facilities are first rate. There looked to be some tighter sites in a different area but we certainly had no issues. It is rather difficult to get to however, make sure to have a good map or GPS system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$43
This is a nice clean park, but over priced. For my grandson and friend to visit us for one hour it was $9/person. That's right $18! Couldn't get the wireless net to work. Good location and nice grass and some shade. Very helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$47
Our camping arrangements fell through for Memorial Day Weekend and this place was the only site that had availability. This park appears to be a newer park and some areas are still under construction but overall quality was good. Our site (#8) was on rock but level and no additional leveling was required. More shade trees would have been nice. It is a mix of rental and seasonal sites. Seasonal site owners seemed to take pride in their area and were well kept. They can accommodate everything from a tent to a diesel pusher bus conversion. Campground was orderly and quiet considering it was Memorial Day weekend. Pool and playground area was well kept and very refreshing. Unfortunately it was a self enforced rules area. Signs clearly state what the pool rules are but it was up to parents to enforce the rules with their kids, which did not always happen. This did not adversely distract from our experience at the campground though. Going out the back of the primitive area is a road to the lake, sort of. The road goes down near the lake but not to the lake. You stop short of the lake and have to walk down to the lake. The parking area can accommodate about 3 vehicles. The last stretch of the road has a significant grade to it, I had to lock my Grand Cherokee into 4WD to get back up the road. Overall we had a great experience at the campground. With time, the trees will mature and provide additional shade. If I lived in the area, I would consider getting a seasonal site and go as often as I could. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$42
We were very disappointed that most of the sites are grass and not very level. We didn't find the owners to be very friendly, and they charge 9.00 per person if you want to have visitors while camped there. Also, the water pressure seemed very low, and the electric flickered several times a day. This seems to be an older park that is in need of updating in several areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This is a clean quiet family campground with some seasonals. The location is close to Lake Monroe just 2 miles from the beach and boat launch. I would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com