220830 User submitted reviews online!!
LaVista RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (432) 364-2683
CGID3854

LaVista RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   9   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
In all fairness it is difficult to provide a balanced review of La Vista. On the one hand if you are looking for a secluded RV site, outside town and away from the noise and bustle that offers a great view, fresh air and wide open skies…La Vista is for you! We enjoyed all of the foregoing aspects of the park very much. For a small park they have a nice, clean and well maintained little common building that, for a 12-14 site park, is more than adequate with 2 showers per gender, one clothes washer, one clothes dryer, and a nice recreation room. Sites are mostly downhill, gravel, but are workable. All are long and will more than accommodate a big rig. There is no pool, no playground equipment and basically no infrastructure any kind. We booked our reservation by e-mail and everything was efficient. Now the downsides, and there are several. There is virtually no cell phone service, TV reception or Wi-Fi. We tried the Wi-Fi several time, had almost no signal, then were dropped. No local TV at all, bring your satellite dish if TV is important to you. Rules regarding pets are loose, with amble “evidence” in sites and common areas. The park had three long term campers when we were there, and I believe there were close to a dozen dogs shared by the group to augment the roaming cats. We never saw a host or owner during our entire stay, so we can not comment about service. Several small but preventable issues detracted from our enjoyment, including long term campers monopolizing the washer/dryer, some construction work disturbing the tranquility, and two very large and scary looking dogs brought by the construction workers that were not on a leash and kept my frightened wife indoors the entire day and resulted in us cutting our trip short. On balance and with all the “warts” we would stay at La Vista again. We would happily take the shortcomings of La Vista over the higher price and somewhat “uppity” park in Town where we had stayed for almost a decade. Butt if TV, cell phone, Wi-Fi and infrastructure are important to you then you had better select another park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This park is not for everyone since it’s small, older, remote, and rugged with no recreational facilities such as a pool or playground. I would not recommend this park for children. Some sites have 50amp connections but not all of them worked when we were there. The sites are long and wide gravel/grass. Most sites have a large picnic table. A single small building houses the bathrooms/showers, laundry, kitchen, and a small sitting area. All were very neat and clean. There’s 1 washer and 1 dryer, $1.00 each. A code is required to enter the building to access the facilities. The park is very dark at night. If you want activity, stay somewhere else. If you want peace and quiet with a beautiful view, this is the place! Very nice owners. Located 6 miles south of Alpine on Texas 118 so it’s away from town but not too far. We had no cell phone service with AT&T. We would definitely stay here again. Free Wi-Fi with a low signal strength but a very steady connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
We camped here for the Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Alpine. The views are awesome! Quiet -- no pool or playground to attract kids, very little highway noise. We were here a week and only saw the owner once, when she came to get our money. Seemed very nice. The little rec room/ laundry was locked but it looked nice peeking through the window. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Alpine is a great little city! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$23
We stayed here for 2 nights on the way out of Big Bend to get groceries in Alpine. It was a great little park to spend a night or two. Just 6 miles down the road from Alpine. Beautiful views of the surrounding hills, very quiet. Nice owner. Best showers we've seen anywhere. Would definitely stay here again. Rate was under $20/night with Escapees discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
The park is very quiet and rural, with a great view and lots of wildlife. WiFi was very good after first day (there had been severe weather that probably knocked the modem offline), and the manager is very friendly. It is close enough to town to run in for dinner or groceries without making it an expedition, but if you want to make expeditions there are plenty of interesting places within an easy day's drive. Our only complaint (not the park's fault) is that our AT&T cellphones got no signal here, but with excellent broadband WiFi we just used VoIP. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$21
Great little park S of Alpine. Nice rec room with cooking facilities and a refrigerator. Wi-fi worked well. Extremely quiet and a great place to watch the stars. Friendly owners who gave a Good Sam discount, even though Good Sam wouldn't officially accept the park because it wasn't big enough. Sites required wood blocks under our leveling jacks, so they could have been a bit more level, but potential drainage issues might necessitate a bit more slope in this area. Would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$18
Great view and very quiet. Especially nice at night as the stars are clear due to no streetlights We found it to be ideal for our purposes as it was conveniently located to make day trips to Big Bend and the MacDonald Observatory as well as the University. The owner was very pleasant and helpful and lives within view of the CG. It had one long term resident and the remaining sites were used by travellers for short term stays. It is at an altitude of one mile and that is 1000 foot climb from Alpine. The only caveat I can think of is that it would not be a great place for children who are accustomed to being entertained as there is no playground pool or cable TV. We will go back there for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
Tthe roads are not paved, but no one speeds. The view is perfect, the nights are cool, and the days are hot. Wild life is everywhere (quail,mule deers,jack rabits,cotton tails,white tails,wild hogs,cows). 6 1/2 miles south of Alpine on highway 118. There is not a lot to do for children, but it's great if you want peace and quite and rest your soul from the hustle of life, sky at night is so nice you just sit and look w/your mouth wide open. It is about 5200 ft. up so you'll need a jacket at night. All sites are pull thru's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com