224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Kansas City East / Oak Grove KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (816) 690-6660
CGID3865

Kansas City East / Oak Grove KOA

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   7   8   8   10   10   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
Entrance to the campground is through a residential area, so that is always unsettling. Office clerk was friendly, but the escort didn't know much. He took us to a narrow site, and we only had inches...yes inches...to spare on either side of the motorhome. I told him that was unacceptable. By some miracle, and some excellent driving by my husband, we pulled out of the site, barely avoiding the posts in the way. The next spot was as bad. The neighbors' awning was hanging over our site. Strike three: he took us to the most unlevel site we've ever had in decades of RVing. It was so unlevel, the fridge temperature dropped. In the morning, we had to throw away many items that were suspect. Terrible cable and hit/miss wifi. Very poor water pressure to motorhome. Previous reviews complained about highway noise, but that was the least of our problems. I am not renewing my KOA discount card. Not worth it. They are almost all unacceptable and overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Easy to get to from the interstate. Was very close to the freeway and freeway traffic noise but after a while you don't notice it anymore. Sites were level and easy to pull into. Sites are not quite as close as some other KOAs but still close together. Showers were very clean and were put in last winter. Pool was clean and refreshing. Truck stops nearby to fuel up when leaving. WiFi worked pretty good at times before slowing down to where it was unusable. We used this as a base camp while here. We would probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
The restrooms/showers were clean. The staff was friendly. The Wi-Fi was very slow almost un-usable during the day, I have to get up in the middle of the night to use the internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
We stayed her for an overnight on a trip to Wyoming. Have stayed here in the past and this is a standard overnight stop for us. Park is clean, easy to get in and out of, and makes for a great overnight stay. There is a little road noise from I-70, but after a long day on the road it is not noticeable. Overall a decent spot to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
We stayed in this park 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a little noisy because of the highway noise, but we have a sound machine and we couldn't hear the traffic at night. The laundry was big enough and very clean. The restrooms/showers were great. The staff was very friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
Excellent campground with pool, carpet golf, basketball court, playground, and two fenced off-leash dog areas. Very pet friendly. The staff was warm and welcoming and knowledgeable about the sightseeing sites in the area. A very large bonus was the BBQ stand on the premises operated by a lovely young couple. This Bates City BBQ is worth stopping here when anywhere near the area. Super clean, well managed and well staffed campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$39
We called in at the last minute and stayed here in our 30' travel trailer when the winds became so high that we could not continue to travel safely. The office is clean and bright with very friendly staff who escort you to your site help you park. Our site was a pull-through but had no trees. There were other sites that did have trees, however. Roads and sites are gravel and pretty level. There was plenty of space between the sites. The cable was welcome after fighting the wind all day. We didn't use the Internet. We did use the nice fenced pet park. The roads and spaces were impeccably clean and well maintained with clean white rocks. There was some construction on several of the sites while we were there. We did not use the showers, pool or other amenities while there, but overall the campground was great! A little pricey. We would stay there again though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
We stopped here with no reservations, on a holiday weekend, at closing time, and found a full hook up, pull through site that accommodated a 40' diesel pusher with a dinghy. Even though it was closing time the staff could not have been nicer. They were very friendly and helpful. We read reviews about this park which stated the roads and sites were small and tight. We did not find that to be the case. The roads are gravel as are the sites. Ours was clean and level. We did not have any problems getting in or out. There appeared to be a lot of full time residents, small children, and dogs. There are play ground facilities and a dog park. The interstate is a short distance away with a row of trees as a highway barrier. The campground was a bit noisy with all this activity during the day but quieted down after dark. During our stay staff came by several times to make sure we had very thing we needed and that we were settling in OK. They even came by with an Easter basket as a welcome gift. We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
This park is located just off the I-70 with only a row of trees blocking your view of the interstate. Road noise was noticeable during the day, but it went down at night so we could sleep. Campground hosts were friendly and helpful. We came in after dark, but had no problems finding the campground or our campsite. Sites are fairly level. Wi-Fi works good, but we were parked behind the office. Some seasonal campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Good location, close to I-70. Just beyond TA travel center. Friendly hosts. Hot dog stand and KC BBQ offered on the weekends. Good gravel roads. Some shaded campsites. Campsites could have used more gravel. Roads a little narrow and turns into sites tight for longer rigs. We camped here in a 40 ft motorhome and felt more comfortable unhooking and hooking up on entrance road than trying to navigate with a tow. Pool, mini golf and playground for kids. Convenient to Independence. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Based on previous comments new owners have made a big difference. Fresh gravel on roads and sites. Grass areas between sites and no mud or washed out areas. WiFi very strong. Clear cable channels. Escort to site by helpful and friendly staff. Can't do anything about interstate or truck stop but didn't bother me. Rate reflects KOA discount for 50 amp pull through site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
The first thing I would say is that the owner is putting a lot of effort into repairing this place. For now the roads are not in good shape. Our site was not level. The cable tv was out. Owner said he lost an amplifier in a storm. Construction crews applying new gravel to sites creates a lot of dust during the day. Not matter how much the new owner puts into this place, he can't do anything about the road noise from I-70 which is right next to the park. The exit for a major truck stop is right there at the edge of the park so if you love engine brake noise in the middle of the night, this is your place. We sleep with a fan on in our bedroom and it couldn't drown out the noise. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
We arrived at Oak Grove and the entrance was beautiful. And that's were it ended, the people are not very friendly, they bring you to your site like you are on a Nascar raceway. The sites are not very level. They are long but not very wide and have a lot of mud. They need to put proper stone down. There was so much white dust that it gets all over your RV and jeep. No one seems to do anything. It would probably be a good place to work camp because they don't do anything. No one checks the empty campsite after the RV's leave. Next time we need a nightmare this will be the campground to come to. We will never stay here again, not even for one night We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
The road noise from I-70 and the nearby truck stop was incredibly loud, making it difficult to sleep. The staff was very friend.y had helpful and the bathrooms were clean. Don't know if we'd stay here again due to the noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Although it is old and close to the noise of the interstate, I really liked this place. I think it was mainly due to the friendly couple that worked the front desk. These were some of the most helpful folks we met on this trip, and they were great to talk to. The park is clean and most sites are fairly level. The pool was great, and the kids loved it. The other thing I loved was the gas station at the turn off. It was large and had plenty of turning room. That alone made it a perfect stop for me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
We camped here to see some sites in Kansas City with our children. We are full timer's who home-school our 12 and 11 year old children, plus we have two small dogs. We look for quiet campgrounds with ease and accessibility to move around in. We also look for friendliness towards our family in general. When arriving at the campground we first noticed how noisy it is with the expressway noise background. This can be heard around the clock with all of the traffic going to and from Kansas City. We were not greeted as you normally would be at a campground with a smile or a welcoming greeting. The work campers here barely have the tolerance to talk to anyone that comes in to register. We asked to see our site before we paid for this, as we do this full time, and we were questioned in disgust and give dirty looks and snarls. The sites are all gravel, most of them very uneven with big slopes so this makes un-hooking and hooking back up not as easy at times. We talked to some other campers around us as they said they were treated the same way when checking in. There is a decent children's playground for younger kids (possibly up to age 8-9) and two separated fenced in dog runs with free dog toys for all to share and return to the gated area. Workers are not friendly at all during our stay with rude comments and dirty looks to myself, husband, and two children. It may be a good campground to stay for a night if you need, but would not recommend staying longer than this. It needs some updating on their sites and maintenance around the park. The best part of the campground is their laundry facilities, as this is a nice large air conditioned room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Older campground but fine for an overnight stop. Site was easy to get into, but not level. I had to use blocks to level the camper. We got in at dark and left early, so didn't really get to use any of the facilities. For a KOA the price was reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
The staff was not too helpful. I filled my propane here and the fellow told me not to tell the woman we did 2 bottles to waive an extra charge (it took a pound). He said tell her, "You took the minimum." The minimum charge is $18. The spots here were very tight and small. My little 24 ft truck camper filled our site. The bathrooms were clean but too small and limited for the number of sites. Located next to the pool, they seem to be used as changing rooms in addition to restrooms, only 2 stalls. We probably would not return here. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Although an older KOA, we found this campground to be clean with extremely friendly hosts. We were escorted to our nicely shaded level pull-through site for our one night stay. The campground was easy to find from the interstate and easy to access. We would return here if the occasion arose. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Easy access from and return to interstate. Sites are gravel pull-throughs, a little close together. We did require some leveling. Older campground, but clean and staff was very friendly. We visited Truman Home and library. We stayed 2 nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$52
Cabin had TV, microwave, refrigerator. Staff was friendly. Two newish bathrooms near cabins. Best of all, on Thursday, Friday and Saturday: "Genuine KC Style BBQ" is on site courtesy of "Smokin Up a Storm." Good prices and delicious. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Not your typical KOA. One block from the Interstate. Need I say more. Great staff. Wi-Fi so so. Gravel/grass sites. Dusty. Fairly close to KC. There is another RV park nearby I will consider if I'm in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We stayed here traveling though on I-70. Nice sites, well graveled, a little grass between most of the sites, some shade trees in the center section of the park, and a very nice dog run area too. All of the connections were in good condition. Check in was quick and management was courteous. Escorted to our site and even helped us line up to the hookups. The driveways are a little tight but we managed just fine in our RV and tow vehicle. A little noise from I-70 but overall a pretty quiet overnight. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We always stay here on our travels going east or west. Quiet even though close to interstate, comfortable, very friendly and helpful associates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Level site. Good overnight stop. Pet run not usable due to horse poo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Enjoy the beautifully landscaped entrance as you arrive. It is going to be the last nice thing you see until you leave. This is a typical tired KOA. Rutted gravel roads and gravel/dirt/grass sites, nowhere close to level. It rained while we were here, not the campgrounds fault. However, I do blame them for allowing the park to become a mud bog due to lack of attention. Very loud traffic noise from I-70. Exit sign from sites direct you to a place where you have to turn about 120 degrees, tough to do with a 30 footer and toad. Cable hookup requires a double female connector, first time I have ever run into this. Doubt I would ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Very nice campground, easy access off of I-70; can hear the traffic a little, but not too bad. Great location to all of Kansas City's attractions. The campground is clean and neat, good gravel roads and level sites. The Wi-Fi is good, our Sprint phone and Hot Spot worked well. Satellite had a good signal. There is cable TV hook-up now. Very nice to walk the dogs, and there is a new dogpark with good grass and pick-up bags provided. The office staff very nice. We stayed for a week. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
Nice dog park and playground. Easy access to the highway, but not close enough to interfere with a good night's sleep. Lots of shade trees, plenty of room for our kids to play. Walmart, travel plaza and restaurants within as couple of miles. Owners were pleasant and professional. Three RV service and sales lots within 10 miles. Lots were gravel and level with easy turns. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We had a nice level site close to the bathrooms. We were tired when we got there so didn't walk around the park much but there was lots of space to walk. Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions of local restaurants. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. No cable but good TV reception. Very pet friendly. We will stay here again when going through Kansas City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Good overnight stop. Next to I-70; good access from freeway. You can hear highway noise. Gravel interior roads. Sites are gravel , wide enough for our 4 slides, and level. Clean park and restrooms. Friendly office staff and escort to our site. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
A very nice KOA. It is easy to find, easy to get into and easy to get around in. We stayed three nights and did the sights in Kansas City. The camp sites are quite level so it didn't take much time setting up. Some are a little narrow and you are close to your neighbors but nothing too bad. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Access off I-70 is very good. Two truckstops at the exit. Interior roads are gravel (and create lots of dust landing on your clean rig). Pads are hard packed gravel. Lots of grassy fields to walk dogs, although no dog run for some reason. No cable TV, but antenna TV from KC is great and satellite reception is good. Minor highway noise. Sites are level and long, but they are really narrow. Wi-Fi is good, but you need a different code for each computer and smart phone. Water pressure is good. Good 50 amp service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Okay place to stay over one night. Most of the "pot holes" mentioned in an earlier review have been filled with gravel. Park was pretty clean. Many full timers, it seemed. Spaces were a little tight for our 65' total length with toad and four slides (we only put out two). This park is a very short distance North of I-70, so you get a little traffic noise, but we still got a good nights sleep and felt safe. Of course it was 105 degrees when we stopped at 7pm, so our air conditioner was running a lot. Yes - we would stay there again just overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Easy access off I-70 but a busy exit with gas, Wal-Mart and restaurants. Check in went smoothly, escorted to sites which like the roads were gravel. The grass had some mud as it had been raining, pool was small but worked for us. Some sites looked liked people lived here. Great price for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Overnighter only: if traffic keeps you awake, then stay away. When busy this will be very tight to park any kind of RV. Operators are friendly and keen to assist. Would use again for overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
Interior roads need some work but are OK. Stopped for overnight and had a nice level, long pull through. Staff in the office very friendly and they led me to my site and helped hook up. All facilities looked to be in good repair. Free WiFi worked well. Some road noise but we had no trouble sleeping. We will use again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Friendly folks in the office. Showed me to my site. I gave it a 6 because of the noise. It is next to the I-70 exit ramp; hear truck Jake brakes and downshifting all night. Also, there is a train somewhere. No other problems. WiFi is good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This KOA needs to change the pictures on the website to reflect the current condition of the park. It is old, not well kept, at least half of the sites are long stay residents and not easy for a 43 ft. rig with a tow to maneuver around. No one obeys the posted speed limit including the workers on the ATVs. The office is closed from 10-2 P.M. and when we checked in at 2:00 the lady at the counter acted like we were interrupting her day. The only nice thing I can say about this park is the gentleman who is a workamper from Texas was so nice and helpful. We normally do not stay at KOAs because they are so over priced and are not as they appear on the website. This one like the others held up to our thinking. We would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
There is awful traffic noise around the clock. Don't stay here unless you like staying awake all night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
It is a fairly nice park. There are very nice people in office. The restrooms seemed clean. The laundry room was clean and reasonably priced. There is a Walmart just across highway. Our site was not level and the site needed more gravel. Like the previous reviewer, our water hookup leaked, too. The site was long enough but very narrow; some sites were wider, though. The really bad part: noise from the highway was very, very loud, 24 hours a day. No cable and wi-fi was weak. I didn't notice a problem with dogs barking, but park is located in a residential area, so it could be dogs belonging to the houses around the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
There is lots of highway noise. The restrooms and showers are old and dank. It has poor to fair gravel roads. The water hook up leaked. There are lots of permanent residents, some with loud barking dogs. We travel with our dogs and understand some barking, but this was quite a bit. The staff is friendly. Our gravel site was not very level. There are some shade trees. The Wi-Fi was OK. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Nice pet friendly campground. There were two separate piles of dog waste at our site when we arrived. We cleaned it up and forgot about it. The restrooms and showers were well maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
We spent two nights at this KOA. The staff was super friendly, guiding us to our site and taking care of us at check-in quickly and efficiently. We were last minute campers on Labor Day weekend. They apologized for not having a full hook up site for us. We were thrilled to get a site with plenty of space for our 40' motorhome with four slides, towing a car. We were not crowded at all. The campground is nicely laid out so each camper has plenty of space. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Friendly staff. Park was clean and sites were spacious. Convenient to I-70 and near the exit. Restaurants were on the other side of the Interstate, but still close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This was a so-so campground, maybe below average, but not much more than most KOAs. Road noise was NOT an issue for us anyway. The pull throughs for overnighters were very adequate and we had no complaints. The office staff was nice, the escort was great. There was a smell in the office however, and I would not want to speculate what it is or was. Maybe it was one of the guests who came and left before I got there, but it was rampant throughout the office. We would stay here again if we were running late and did not want to go through the afternoon rush hour in Kansas City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Pulling into the campground we thought it would be very nice; however we quickly discovered that the larger sites with shade and grass were for monthly or seasonal rentals. While very long sites, the nightly spots were somewhat narrow, leaving little room for picnic tables, etc. Also a lack of grass in these sites; pool area was not very clean, with unfortunately many unescorted children in the pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Close to Wal-Mart, good TV signal are about the only positives. Very close to I-70: road noise is a big issue. Ruts in roads are ankle snappers if you walk much. Pool was nice, but grass around concrete and only 4 chairs. Sites not level, staff seemed to cater to monthly residents vs. over nighters. Good for an overnight stay, but can’t recommend for much longer. Bottom 10 of all KOA’s we’ve ever stayed at (and we’re KOA VIP members, not bashers). My advice is to look elsewhere if staying in Kansas City for more than an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$54
The strength of this KOA is the friendliness of the staff. Check-in process was quick and efficient, and they guided us to our site. The kids spent time at the playground. Overall, the bathrooms were clean. The negatives: the concrete pad was broken and uneven, shower heads are rather low, and you do pick up noise from trucks as other comments have said. Overall, it was fine for an overnight stop. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
It has mostly full time residents. We just spent the night and moved on. It is right off the highway and there is a truck stop and a Walmart and McDonald's. On the downside, it is right off the highway and there is a lot of truck noise from the trucks engine breaking on the exit ramp. Everyone was friendly and the camp was clean and in good repair. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$33
We stayed here for one night. As KOA campgrounds go this is one of the poorer ones. It is okay for a night stay. Sites not to level. People who work here very helpful. I will stay here again as it is convenient. They also let you store your unit for $3.00 a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This campground is right off I-70 ... and you'll know that staying here. The traffic noise is unrelenting so plan on running the AC/fan/heat to drowned it out if that kind of thing bothers you. The kids enjoyed the pool and playground. The restroom/shower was clean but the shower heads are mounted so low on the wall that anyone 5' or taller will have problems getting their head under the spray. Okay for an overnight stay - we've been here twice but we'd like to find a better option. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Too many trees, roads were very poor. Glad it didn't rain as it would have been a big mud hole. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
You can hear the highway noise from the camp area. Bathrooms were OK. Small shower stalls. All gravel roads that do rut with rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
This was a conveniently located campground right off of I-70. It is 1 minute off the Interstate, in a commercial area of truck stops and fast food restaurants. However, none of this is visible from the campground. While the entrance to the campground is set back from the Interstate a bit, once you enter the campground you come back towards the Interstate. While the Interstate was not visible, there was a decent amount of noise from it. The campground was clean, with mostly gravel sites. Leveling was not an issue. The showers were clean and adequate, however they were very small. Each shower cubicle consisted of dressing area and the shower stall. The shower stall was very small. A camper of size would have difficulty. My wife, who is not of size, commented that shaving her legs was a bit of a trick. We would stay at this campground again for an overnight trip given its convenient location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is pretty much a typical KOA. Staff was friendly and everything worked. Right off the interstate, but a fan was adequate to drown the noise at night. No cable, but several over the air channels. Interior roads in bad repair: Ruts from rain wash and there seems to be a couple of water leaks or underground springs that made the way out from our site go through a mud hole. We and others avoided this by going the "wrong way" on another road. However, we would stay here again as a one night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
It was not bad for Missouri in the winter. Look for a site furthest away from I-70. Our site was quiet enough inside the Coach, but we could see where noise would be an issue closer to the road or in a soft sider. The WiFi was great. Don't pull too far forward to register, you may have to back up to make a turn. Roads were tight, tight turns and potholes full of water that I felt I had to probe with a stick to see how deep, be careful. I would stay again on an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Nice campground just off the interstate, yet we didn't hear any traffic noise. Very clean and well kept. Very friendly staff. We made the reservation last minute and online. Staff expected us and had everything ready. Nice store. Pool was nice and clean. The only reason I didn't rate this higher is the full hook up sights were extremely close together. It was fine for a one night stay but it would have been very difficult to stay here for any longer. They did have other sights that were larger and had shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
This campground is well located. The staff was very friendly and efficient. We got great directions to the Truman Library. Entry into the park was uphill. Our site was not very level and it was difficult to level our trailer. We were very close to our neighbors. It was kind of difficult to exit our campsite. The showers and pool were well maintained. This park is well positioned off Interstate 70 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$29
We arrived after hours and found a note on the door directing us to our assigned spot. When we pulled in to the site we found that the power had been severed to the site and was under repair. So we chose another spot. Sites were level and clean. There was no cable available and a poor Wi-Fi signal. We stayed here as an overnight stop. The park serves well for this purpose, but would not be satisfactory for anything longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Nice park. They have obviously put a lot of work into this campground. Even though it is near the interstate, you can't see it through the trees. With the A/C on the traffic sounds were negligible. The pool was warm and inviting, and the playground was very nice--there is a small basketball court for older kids, swings and a play set with deep pea gravel under them (for safety). We passed several other campgrounds in favor of this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Sites were way to close together, even for KOA. Concrete slab for camper's back wheels to go on but it was cracked and not level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
The park is next to the freeway and train. So it was very noisy. The sites are not level. The parks overall appearance was okay. The sites were full of cigarette budds, which we found offensive. The staff was generally nice. The overall looks of the park needs improving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Park is next to freeway and truckstop so you hear jake brakes all night along with the train. Most of the staff are nice a few are devout parking guards and not very nice, they did a lot of yelling at visitors trying to park. It would have been a lot easier to have been courtious since most of them didn't know ALL the parking rules or the people they were visiting didn't have time to explain to them. Probably will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com