214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Jellystone Park at Kansas City was rated 7 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (785) 842-3877
CGID3867

Jellystone Park at Kansas City

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   2   8   5   8   6   5   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
We camped here as an overnite stay passing thru on I-70. It was OK for that purpose other than being expensive. Access was a little challenge as its off the interstate a few miles and not well marked. Half of the park is dedicated to permanent residents. All gravel roads and sites, semi level. Staff was good and its a bit of a drive to a grocery store/restaurants located in the downtown area. Overall not bad for a quick stopover other than the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Stayed here one night. Easy access off the interstate. Very clean and staff helpful. Cable good, Wi-Fi - fine if you don't need to do a download such as upgrade I tunes. The site was level. Negatives were: Train and highway noise. The trains go about every 6 minutes and some are very loud! I am not a light sleeper, but was awakened several times by loud whistles. I will not stay here again because of the train noise and the price. This is geared to small children, but too expensive for late October when it is too cold for swimming, etc. and we have no children traveling with us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
This is definitely a park for smaller rigs and families with children. Sites were long enough for our 40' rig, but barely room for tow. Even with a pull-through site, we will need to back out; not enough turning radius due to trees, other campers, and narrow roadway. Ended our evening with the park's sewer system backing up out of our site's drains. The park responded quickly to fix it and clean up. Still, this park is very over-priced if you don't get involved in the activities. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Had a wonderful stay, but it wasn't long enough. Was clean and well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
We were disappointed in this campground. Was not well maintained. Spots are narrow and neighbors very close. Must unhook toad to get in with a big rig. Limited space for the tow vehicle. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$46
Stayed here Saturday night of Memorial Weekend. Very crowded with lots of families with children. Lots of entertainment for the families. Lot was very long, lots of lush grass, and the fenced dog run was shaded and our dog loved it. Never used the restrooms, but grocery looked like it was well stocked. It was a bit expensive for one night, but we felt very safe and enjoyed our short time there. We would definitely stay here again on our way through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Fine for overnight. Sites narrow, older facility. Able to accommodate our 43 ft coach. Has a fenced pet area. Could use a second dumpster. The one was overflowing by Sunday evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
OVERPRICED! Nice little setting, could use a smile or two from the staff. Never talked to owner, but looks like they might care. Will look into the off season to maybe come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
Staff pleasant and helpful. Restroom and showers have a musty/old smell to them and needs updated. They have three showers, but only one of the three was workable when we were there. I am sure they are fixed by now. The campground was full and had a lot of activity. Grounds were clean, no trash seen. Pool and play area great. Liked the pet area, but would have loved it if there would have been water avalible. Felt price was extremely high for what is offered. Cable is extra (which we did not have). Noticed May 2011 stay was $35 and our July stay was $55 without cable. Little bit of a price hike!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Does the phrase "Reach out and touch someone" bring back any memories? This park epitomizes that! While the park wasn't full, we wound up so close to an Airstream that we could have stuck our hands out the window and handed them a cup of coffee. This is an older park that is going through a transition from KOA to Jellystone. Very accommodating office staff when making reservations however getting directions while lost (make sure you turn North after you exit the toll road!) was a challenge. Not a bad place to stop if just for overnight but crowded none the less. Not sure we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This is a very nice park. Owners are very friendly and helpful. It is located in Lawrence. Very clean, well kept grounds. We stayed an extra night because it was so pleasant. We would definitely stay again. Access for a big rig was easy and sites were more spacious than most. Recent tree trimming provided shade without any danger of damaging a rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$50
This is not a KOA any longer. It changed over to a Jelly Stone Park in July 10. It is also a Good Sam. Nice location and this being our first stay in a camp cabin it was nice. Nice clean showers and rest rooms. Not a lot going on but it was still winter. They rent canoes and have other things to do for those with children. Easy to find off the interstate. Far enough away not to hear the noise. Would stay here again if I pass through. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This CG is now a Jellystone Park franchise, but other than a Yogi Bear statue it looks like a KOA. It is fine for an overnight stay as it is quite close to I-70 (the closest off ramp to the CG is temporarily closed, the toll booth at exit 204 can give you specific directions to the Jellystone/KOA). The staff are very friendly and they honored our KOA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
The power was out on arrival after a huge rainstorm and we couldn't get a receipt, but otherwise the office was operational. Pleasant staff. We were escorted to our pull-through, FHU, 30/20 site. We were permitted to use our generator until the power was back on, which happened in 30-60 minutes. Rather impressive was the lots of staff working busily at removing downed branches and other effects of the storm despite our evening arrival. The bathroom and showers were nice and clean. Store stocked good items including ice cream. The WiFi didn’t come back up. We also didn’t try the pool or playground since another storm was incoming. We didn’t use the cable TV since it wasn’t free. There was some road noise from alongside interstate location. It was good for our overnight. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This is a very nice, well maintained park. Has a nice store and friendly, helpful front desk staff. Has a clean small pool (did not use it). Showers/restrooms were uncomfortably warm, low water pressure and poor shower heads. Their pizza was great. Rate is based on weekly special. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Lots of amenities for the kids. Wi-Fi is supposed to work good, but on our visit it was barely acceptable. Pizza available on-site. Typical KOA with wooded camping spaces. Yeah, stay here; it was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
While we were there, the campground was still a KOA. However, the owner mentioned that the campground was in the process of changing over to a Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park as part of its strategy to be a destination campground. We met our daughter and granddaughter for a long weekend and to attend an event in Bonner Springs, KS. They stayed in a cottage while we stayed close by in our trailer. Our reservations were in order; check-in went smoothly and we were escorted to our site. The campground had several activities for kids that our granddaughter enjoyed. The jumping pillow was a big hit along with the swimming pool, bird watching, and hay ride. The common grounds around the campground were pleasant, well kept and nicely landscaped. The owner, hosts, and staff were helpful and friendly. Our site was reasonably level. The width of the interior drives that led into the sites and the sites themselves were a bit tight. During our stay, there was a water outage that lasted a couple of hours. We did notice some low water pressure. We had to rely on our Smart Phone more than Wi-Fi for Internet connectivity. We heard trains often yet they were not a problem for us. Based on some previous reviews, we were prepared for much more invasive train noise than we experienced. The campground seemed to fill to capacity during our stay. As more campers arrived, the bathrooms could have used a little more attention and cleaning throughout the day. We would stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
The Lawrence/Kansas City KOA was a great place for us to unwind as a family. We work conferences on the weekends and visit campgrounds in between. It is a more basic campground, but we still had loads of fun. My son came home each night in desperate need of a bath- a sure sign fun was had. The staff was friendly, but I can't speak to the camp store. They had only just opened for the season when we arrived. They were obviously still getting stock in for the shelves. I read the reviews about the trains and there are a LOT of trains. Probably one an hour or so, even at night. My son who LOVES trains started ignoring them because there were just too many to get excited over. I'm not a particularly light sleeper so it didn't bother me too much, especially after the first night or two. I could see being in a tent would be more bothersome or in a trailer with windows wide open. All in all, we had a great time with the jumping pillow and playground. The pool hadn't opened yet, but my sons and I had a great water gun fight in the grassy area near the pavilion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This was our first experience with KOA. Train whistle, train whistle, clang, clang. The staff was nice and friendly. We had RV trouble and had to cancel our reservation, then ended up being able to make our reservation anyway. Unfortunately, KOA policy dictates you get your reservation fee deducted anyway. That's ok, our fault. Nice paved road leading up to campground, lots of activities for kids. Has a pool, jumping pillow, basketball court, pool. Train whistle, train whistle, clang, clang. Staff friendly and helpful. Cable TV didn't initially work, and staff was quick to come fix it. (Paid extra for the cable TV.) Wi-fi was fine. Laundry was very nice. Did have to wait until some of the semi-permanent residents finished folding their clothes on the washer that I had my clothes in before I could get them out and put them in the dryer. Clang, clang, train whistle, train whistle. Interior roads were rough, not conducive to bicycle riding, our picnic table was rotting and splintered. Neighbor's dog on a twenty foot leash, came and visited us while we were sitting outside in front our camper door. Several dogs were tied up outside of campers, felt sorry for them. Never heard them bark, probably because of train noise. KOA does have policies regarding dogs in the campground, but apparently they are not as important as the cancellation guidelines. Big picture: nice folks, if you like trains, you will LOVE this park. If you don't like trains, day to day, I would say, stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$32
First trip of the year and it was early March. The campground was pretty empty besides the full timers and a few weekend travelers doing a one night stop over. First time to a KOA as well and was impressed with the staff, and having a little RV part shop in the store helped with breaking in a camper for the year. The Pros: First the restrooms were very clean and the showers were private with great water pressure. The staff were very accommodating. (I had to use a chalking gun to fix a leak and they provided me one to use). They had a pizzeria on site and the delivery to your rig was nice (not the best tasting pizza I had, but hey you do have to rough it I guess). Free WiFi, for those that bring their computers, and cable TV is extra of course. Also the park is well kept and they were always leveling the gravel every day I was here. Lawrence is about 5 minutes away and it is a college town (KU) so it has a great downtown area to walk in, and many places to eat and drink. The Cons: They have a dog area, which is just used to let the animals do their business. Not really a dog park or a walking area. The train is within ear shot and does run continuously, it was loud enough to wake me in my rig, so if you are in a tent bring ear plugs. Overall a great place to camp and explore the Lawrence area. If you have kids, there are plenty of fun play ground equipment and they have a pool and a jump pillow. Also could see this being a good site for a family reunion or another gathering. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$33
Have you ever been to Lawrence? It's about as all American as any town there is or ever has been. This KOA is only a mile or two from downtown. Quilting stores, darn wholesome home cooking, wicked strong cocktails and squishy cheeked college kids are everywhere. Oh, this KOA is awesome! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Rate reflects discount for KOA. We have stayed at this park a number of times this year as it is close to family, friends, and medical appointments. It is a clean park, with friendly staff and usually quiet neighbors. The staff here try very hard to accommodate any need a camper may have. We had a large site, although a tree was a problem with the awning, table and fire pit. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This campground was great. We camped here with our pop-up camper. The kids enjoyed the super big bouncing pillow. The pool was small but a lot of fun. There was a corn maze and live entertainment. These folks are the friendliest people in the world. They even have pizza delivery to your campsite. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We arrived after driving from southern Illinois- a very long day. We made reservations from the road and our registration was handled promptly. The best was being offered pizza delivered to our campsite- they bake and sell pizzas on site. We ordered a pizza and as soon we finished our hook ups, it was delivered to our door- WHAT A TREAT!!!! It appeared several campers were there for the weekend- lights strung, families gathered under awnings. We had a very nice stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Excellent friendly staff. Park had been there a long time, but well cared for with beautiful trees, even has corn field for Aunty Em or Toto to scamper through. Roads are named after Wizard of Oz places which was so cute. We stayed several nights to visit with family in Overland Park. The city of Lawrence is wonderful and just down the street from KOA, lots of activities, good places to eat, shopping and for us 26 miles to our family. we had a thunderstorm which knocked out the power on a hot summer night, but the temps were comfortable and wondered if we were on a river to be so comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
This is our second stay at this park. It is a typical KOA. The sites are gravel and not all that level. The pool was clean and crowded as the temp was over 100. Getting to the park is very difficult as there is construction on the interstate and the interchange is hard to maneuver. All in all it is a good park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Sites are not level, some even have potholes; lots of birds around will soil your rig with purple droppings; staff not all friendly; bathrooms were not always available as groups would come in and commandeer the entire bathroom; facility charges inflated prices for everything they can - all improvements surround them making more money; utilities are old; water hooks up in a big in-ground hole and during the rainy period mud and water stand in these holes! Would prefer not to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
Nice park, well cared for. WiFi and cable worked well but cable channels are limited. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. MapQuest directions from Hwy 24 were not even close so watch out for this. We would stay here again and would recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$47
Very nice park. Lots of things for the kids to do. We watched a movie outside, the kids loved it. Staff was very friendly and were really nice. The only problem we had was that it was really tight getting our 45 ft coach into our spot. Check your directions, both GPS (Garmin and Streets and Trips) sent us to the wrong place. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
We stayed at this campground for three weeks and had a site near the grassy play area, which was kept well mowed. Campground was clean as were facilities. Nice staff with lots of things to do at the campground. Half way between Kansas City and Topeka provides lots of options. Yes, there was noise from the nearby road construction and the many many trains. Lots to do in the area and wide variety of restaurants in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This was one of the nicest RV parks we stayed at on our 2 week trip. Very neat and clean and the people running the place were very friendly and helpful. We did not stay long (1 night) but it is always nice to stay in a campground that you really feel comfortable in. I saw another post that really flamed this spot and I can't believe they are talking about the same campground. This place is great and the price is right! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
My family stayed July 12-19 in a cabin, and it was a very peaceful and friendly place. The owner treated all the children as if they were his own. We felt like we were all family. I truly can't remember any train noises. I am not sure what the other campers were talking about. I had never stayed in a KOA before, but I can understand now they have much higher standards. The pool was great as was the atmosphere. It was nice having the internet for my laptop as well. The folks in the store were very friendly and the prices were not too bad as well. I can't tell you how much fun we had with the kids and the other campers. The softball game was a blast. I can't wait to come back for another vacation. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Very friendly staff here. A hayride and movie on Friday night. GREAT place for kids. The managers were very helpful and professional. Everything was very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$54
This was the worst campground we have ever stayed at in our lives. The hook-ups were not on the correct side of our trailer and management was no where to be found. The actual site was dirty with garbage and the people next to us did not want to move their car from our spot assigned. I would save your money from getting off the turn pike and go to the next campground. We have stayed at other KOA's South Padre Island and it was GREAT! Very disappointing KOA! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Friendly very helpful staff. Typical KOA, very convenient but located close to train tracks with lots of train horns. Sites are mainly pull throughs and not particularly wide. Wifi worked great. Was a good place for an overnight stop but I don't know if I would want to spend a lonf time here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
There is excellent highway access, but no highway noise. Downtown Lawrence is a great commercial area with local businesses and a wide selection of dining choices. KOA staff was very friendly. Wi-Fi worked perfectly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
The campground was clean, the bathhouse and restrooms were clean. Showers had good water pressure and hot water. The pool was clean and there were planned activities for the kids such as a hayride, crafts and movie night. The gravel paths through the campground are not great for bike riding. It was very noisy since it is in close proximity to the highway, an airport and double train tracks. The trains really lay on the horns when passing. There was a monthly rental section that was a bit unkept and the residents were not respectful of other guests or family hours. Due to the noise we will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
OK for a campground to be used for an overnight stop. The trains were noisy all night long, blowing their horns loudly. The noise was really pretty constant, and overpowered the noise of our AC when we tried to see if that would drown it out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This park is the only park for the area. It's odd, the entrance is beautiful and the grounds are extensive, but the rv spaces are very narrow. Each pad runs the opposite direction from the next one and is approximately 10 feet wide. There was alot of needed maintenance on our space and the park caters to kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
Very friendly staff, very nice office/store, and clean restrooms. We stayed here on the "stay one get one free weekend", and were very satisfied with our stay. Lots to do in Lawrence as well. This park is a nice stop over off I-70/Kansas Turnpike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Nice gift shop, and fellow stayed a few minutes late for check in. Just overnighted, but wow, what highway noise. Good campground, poor location if noise is a concern, lots of big rigs braking all night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
OK, I've got to chime in on this park. We read the reviews and felt a few trains wouldn't be a problem. We were wrong! We have been travelling for over a month now and this was, by far, the noisiest park we have been to, bar none. We arrived around 6 pm and set up camp. We heard a few trains at that time. They went all night long. They lay on their whistles through town and are about 200 yards from the KOA. Trains went by every half hour. I don't see how anyone could stay at this park unless they are deaf. I was up at 5:30 am and counted 6 trains before 8:00 am, when I stopped counting (the trains didn't stop coming). It is a nice park otherwise. Nice wide sites. Nice KOA setup. Lots of room. I would never stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
There was a group of kids riding a motorscooter for 4 hours straight without a break. I tried complaining to the manager nicely and also asked the person nicely to ride somewhere else. The lady in the office said they were perfectly in their rights to do anything in the campground that they wanted. Furthermore, if we wanted peace and quiet we needed to go out in the woods. I couldn't believe what I was hearing! Later, they came to our campsite and told us to leave. How do they run a business this way? We had camped there many times, and had probably stayed there many more times since we are local. Do not stay here! You won't be treated fairly if you voice a concern about anything. We asked other people staying in the park that day if the motorscooter bothered them, and they all said yes, I have an idea other people were annoyed but just were too intimidated to say anything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This is a very nice CG. Our grandson especially enjoyed the warm cookies and the pool. We were very interested in the Wi-Fi but it "came and went" at our campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Clean and nice! Nothing exceptional but would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$31
We stayed here three weekends in the fall of 2005. We did not think the campground was nearly as poor as the other reviewer. Kind of liked the sounds of train traffic. It can lull you to sleep. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Nice shade. It is a typical KOA so sites are close together and a bit pricy. Very good location to downtown Lawrence which is a wonderful place to spend a fall afternoon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
We thought the Lawrence/Kansas City KOA would be a nice place to stop on our way from Colorado to Indiana. While it is easy off and on to I-70, it was not worth the visit. The sites are very close together and the entire campground smelled of sewage. The trash dumpster was overflowing which didn't help the smell. There are train tracks very near by with trains running all night and constantly blowing their horns. We had a pull through site but had to back out when it was time to leave in the morning due to numerous vehicles parked in the roadway. If we had not been so tired when we pulled in, we would have asked for our money back and looked for a different campground. The only good thing we can say is the office staff was nice and did take us to our site. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com