223558 User submitted reviews online!!
Jumbo Rocks Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (760) 367-5500
CGID3875

Jumbo Rocks Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   10   7   7   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
What a wonderful national park! We came on Sunday and the visitors center said there were about a dozen sites available at Jumbo rocks. We went directly to the campground to claim a site and found many more were available. It is in the heart of the park with a ton of beautiful trails and scenery a short distance away. Just the campground itself is great, with the large bolders all around the sites. We found a spot to fit our 25' trailer and parked the truck beside it. These spots have 2 together so anything much longer would not fit. Spots generally are small as they cater to tent camping but there were many rv's staying there. Next time though we would pay for 2 spots so that we are guaranteed the room to hook up when we leave. No problems this time as the guy who took the spot next to use just needed to park his truck there so we had room. I would love to stay there again as it is a jewel of a park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
Beautiful scenery and setting. We stayed for 7 nights and could not get enough of being right in the heart of the National Park. Busy campground that seems to fill up any night of the week in March with mostly tenters. Only a dozen or so sites that you can pull into comfortably with a trailer or motor home. The best sites are pull outs along the main road towards the end of the park. Lots of traffic coming in an out of the park all day so you feel like your are on the interstate with all the vehicles passing by your site constantly. Our last night once the sun went down there were some shady characters parking their deadbeat vehicles in other peoples sites and wandering into the bush trying to camp for free. We were sure to lock up all of our stuff as we had a feeling anything not secured would be gone in the morning. We stayed site #71 - probably the most secluded and private of all the sites for an RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
Beautiful campground. But it is really popular, even on a weekday. We were really lucky to get in as were were in a 31ft rig, and you can't reserve. We just planned on ensuring that we arrived in the morning. The campsites are between the boulders so even when you go off to explore they are hardly visible. The kids (2 and 4) had an amazing time climbing over the boulders and so did we. We visited in March which was perfect weather wise. Not too hot/not too cold. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$1
I forget the price: we stayed here at half-price because we have an America the Beautiful pass. Really nice dry-camp place. Pit toilets were clean and as nice as a pit toilet can be. We arrived about 2pm on a Friday and only had 5 or 6 sites to choose from. We chose one, set up our camp and THEN went to register. All sites were taken by about 5. Very picturesque and fun place. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$10
Best campground I've ever been to. My kids, who are age 6 and 3 had the time of their lives. Amazingly unique setting with giant rocks surrounding each site. The climbing capabilities are crazy. We went during Spring Break and showed up on a Thursday, late morning and the campground was half full. By sunset all the sites were taken. Never felt crowded as we were all the way at the end. The night sky was also incredible, as it was very near New Moon. We will return. My son and I can't wait to come back here and do some hiking and climbing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$5
National Monument rustic campground. Camped on the Senior Pass so raters were very good. Not crowded and plenty of places to explore. Currently the road from the Cactus garden to Interstate 10 is closed due to a major wash out. Unknown time until repaired. The best part of the park is northern from Jumbo rocks north. Outhouse toilets and plenty of them and clean! No other amenities, you pack everything in with you. No water or phones We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$10
Very pretty campground. It is more geared to the tent camper but there seemed to be plenty of sites for RV's. A large "A" might have trouble finding a site. No hookups but for $10 who can complain. We stayed there 2 days, hiking and sight seeing. Would stay there again. Be sure to come with plenty of water and empty black and gray tanks as there are no dump stations close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
I'm giving this park an 8 rating, simply for the beauty of the place. There are no amenities. Make sure you bring in water. You can run your generators 3 times a day for 2 hours. We had no phone service, but that's really the point. The sites are fairly narrow, and not a level spot in the campground. We were in 25 and it was very nice. The kid loved climbing the rocks. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
We're surprised at the ratings for this park. It's just a bunch of big boulders and shallow parking areas off the main road for RVs. The spots are so shallow that if you put your slides out, you are taking a risk of having the driver's side ones struck by oncoming vehicles. Very tight campground. We have a 39' motorhome and do not recommend anything of this size at this campground. 30' or less. Once you get in, the only way out is through a narrow u-turn at the end of the campground. An RV was sticking part way out, causing me to go off the road onto the uneven dirt side of the driveway. The bang to my motorhome coming off that dirt was so loud, I was convinced I'd struck a boulder or RV. We did not find any spots we were comfortable fitting in. It's frustrating how easy of a fix this would be - just make the spots deeper off the main road, and it would be so much better. Strange park. We prefer Black Rock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$10
Well, the only thing that has changed since my last review of this campground is the fee which has gone from $5 to $10. The rocks are still stunning, the sunsets spectacular and the night sky studded with stars. Get out of the private RV parks for a change and sample the splendors of our National Parks. Keep in mind that this campground has no hook-ups and no water. There are only pit toilets and no showers. Big rigs in the 40' range will find the sites pretty cramped and the park roads narrow but we did fine with our 32' Class A and toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$5
One of the most beautiful campgrounds we've ever stayed in. The campsites are set amid huge boulders and many feature a secluded area in which to pitch a tent. All have picnic tables and fire grills. There are no hook-ups and no water is available, so come with full fresh water tanks and empty holding tanks if you plan to be here awhile. Generators are allowed during limited hours. A lot of the sites are fairly small and really more appropriate for tent campers, but there is an adequate supply of spots for motorhomes too. Most of the sites that can accommodate a larger rig are pull-throughs that line the main campground access road. One of these was fine for us when we were there as the campground wasn't even half-full, but it might be a concern during a busy period as you are parked quite close to passing cars. There is an easy hike that leaves from the middle of the campground and provides a nice introduction to the splendors of Joshua Tree National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$5
the campground is really spectacular at sunset and sunrise. On weekends you need to reserve or get there early on friday morning. The park service is very helpful. Lots of climbers, so be ready for traffic. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$5
Great campground if you want to dry camp. Very dark and quiet at night. Lots of rock formations. We were there the day after the 4th of July weekend and campground was pretty much empty as 107 degrees daytime and 67 at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com