219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Park at the River was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (541) 432-8800
CGID3882

Park at the River

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   9   8   3   10   10   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
What a terrific park - a beautiful setting, impeccably maintained, beautiful views. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The sites are spacious and nicely arranged along a winding road among the trees. We had a great spot overlooking the river. The Wi-Fi is blazing!! Even though they didn't have 50 amp service at our site, we still rate it excellent. We just have to be conscious of what electrical we use. Everything else makes up for that!! There are some nice restaurants and shops just outside the park, the lake and state park are a short walk away, and the tram up the mountain is across the street. We drove around the area and didn't see any other parks we would have liked better - definitely a winner!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Very tightly spaced park. We had a lot of trouble backing into the space due to the amount of large trucks hanging out into the narrow road. Spaces are spaced apart with grass between but overall felt very crowded. Lots of families everywhere with lots of kids running around. There were toys everywhere. Owners were friendly. Good spot near the lake and close to Joseph which is a wonderful town, but we probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
Camped here in early November. They had an early snow fall and graded out our spot before we arrived. Extremely friendly. Beautiful spot with snow on the ground. Right on a small stream. Will stay here again, but wish they had better Wi-Fi. It appears it come from their office and isn't strong enough to cover the whole campground. Perhaps they could put in a repeater in the middle of the area. Call ahead for reservations in summer. Very popular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Nice park, very shady and clean. We love this park, but the only things we didn't like is that they have pay showers. We think that for $30 a night you should be able to get a free shower. The second negative was the internet service. We tried to keep getting it at the cafe across the street and their satellite was having problems so we had to go to Joseph to get internet service. Other than these two problems, we would have given this park at 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Sites that backup to the road are extremely close together. No privacy, uneven, no space to put out chairs next to rig, and had to sit at rear of our motorhome. Construction work within 10 feet of our site went on from 6:30 a.m. until 8:30 p.m every night. Lots of noise and dust all day, and not able to leave windows open during daytime. After asking daily to be moved to a larger and more quiet site: on day 4 we were finally moved. Center row of spaces are much nicer, larger and quieter. Would only recommend sites in the middle section of the park if you have a larger rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We absolutely love this RV park. We have made this an annual trip and stay for 8-10 days each year. The park is very clean, has a great staff, and always do whatever they can to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The park has sites that are very large and deep for the really big rigs, and others that are better for the smaller RV's or tent trailers. The one thing that we especially enjoy is watching the deer wander through the park. Across the street from the RV park is the office with an internet cafe to check your e-mail etc. They make great latte's and cinnamon rolls. We take our laptops to the cafe each morning to check e-mails and enjoy a latte and cinnamon roll. For families that want to meet friends or other family members, that don't have an RV, there is a motel and cabins available, not to mention a really nice pool. The kids can be kept happy riding their bikes, playing putt putt golf, or getting an ice cream cone or blackberry milkshake. This is a very peaceful and quiet RV park that just so happens to be in a little piece of heaven, Wallowa Lake and Joseph, Oregon. The scenic beauty is just breathtaking, and makes this RV park that much more special. Less than 200 yards from the RV park entrance is the gondola ride to the top of 9000' Mt. Howard. This is a must do, and is not overly expensive and is affordable for a family outing. The ride to the top is spectacular. Be sure to take some nuts for the squirrels, they are everywhere on top. I hope you can make the trip to Joseph, OR and stay at "Park at the River". Once you have, I would bet you'll leave a bit of your heart there, when you leave for home. It's That special a place!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
The number one best part of this park: NO wood fires allowed. The people here are smart, friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We stayed one weekday night in early August and were lucky to get a spot without a reservation. We got the second to last site at 2PM. This park, and the area in general, is very popular. We had a FHU back-in site with good (40 channel) cable TV. Most sites seem to fit that description. The park is on the Wallowa River just south of its junction with Wallowa Lake. The state park at this location is within a reasonable (15 minute) walking distance. The views are beautiful and the sites are nestled among the pines. When the park is fairly full, getting in these sites may be difficult but worth the effort. WiFi is available only at the office/store across the road and the park has little in the way of any recreational facilities except for a small indoor pool. There may be a couple sites that can get satellite TV but I wouldn't plan on getting a satellite friendly site. There are a couple local places to eat nearby but the town of Joseph is at the north end of the lake about 10 minutes away by car. Deer do walk through the park and I even saw one that parked himself in front of one RV's door and just laid there for at least half an hour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
All of the ladies in the office were very personable and helpful, good experience! Pretty park with old growth trees. The Sites are pretty close together but we didn't have any problems with all our slides. Busy campground with lots of cars coming and going. No campfires were allowed which was nice since sites were too close to each other. The campground's road is paved so there is no dust. Water, power and sewer worked fine. Our site was pretty level so no problems there. Verizon cell and Aircard signal was iffy even using our antenna & signal booster. You can go across the street and sit outside to use their internet access. Lot of families with kids with plenty of things for them to do across the highway. Beautiful lake and the town of Joseph which is about 6 miles away had some nice shops. Road construction was going on at the time and when we arrived at the park our tow car was a mess. You will probably want to unhook and drive your tow car in. We would probably go back during the low season to avoid the crowds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is our second year camping at this campground. It has became very popular with the "senior" crowd since last year with the perfect September weather and beautiful surroundings. The campground owners and staff go out of their way to be helpful, including making a point of coming down each day and bringing treats to our two dogs, contacting local restaurant owners to get dinner reservations, and serving up delicious cinnamon rolls daily. If your looking for a place to relax and enjoy the scenery, then this is the campground to stay when your in the Joseph area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This is our second year for visiting this park, they are probably the most congenial hosts around. When we did some damage to our travel trailer, they offered tools and time to help us out, which was greatly appreciated. Park is clean and nice, when completely full seems a little crowded, but that was only weekends. Close to lots of activities and great scenery. Pretty far off the beaten path, but worth the drive. Did not like to have to pay for showers, at the rate they charge per night, but solved that with using our own. Everyone should check out this area if even close to Northeast Oregon. Beautiful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
A very nice setting and the owners are very nice. We stayed four days would liked to have stayed more. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Friendly staff and good location. A little bit tight between spaces, so not great on a crowded weekend. Trees are beautiful. Biggest negative was that the showers were coin operated and didn't give the time indicated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
We loved this park! It was centrally located, literally across the street from the tram and about a half mile from the lake. The RV park was fantastic and the people were great. We were with 3 other RV's and they did their best to make sure we were close. It is a great place and we will definitely come back. Plan to stay for a few days, it is worth it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Very nice family park in the woods with a resident Roosevelt Elk. Clean facility, sites not too level, dirt or gravel roads with lots of trees! Beautiful location. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Great Park within walking distance of Wallowa Lake and the highest tram in the United States. Great destination spot for the whole family, miniature golf, swimming pool, bumper boats, go carts, fishing, boating. The best part the deer roam freely thru the area, I had a 4 point deer eating out of my hands. If you like a quite out of the way place for the whole family, this is the place to go. If you go, take deer friendly food, cracked corn and or barley seeds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com