214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Hunt's Cedar River Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (563) 946-2431
CGID3891

Hunt's Cedar River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
165
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   2   5   5   6   8   3   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This campground sits right on Interstate Highway 80. The traffic noise is horrendous and we were unable to get any sleep at all. The sewer connections sit about six inches above ground, making it difficult to keep the hose in the sewer. The water connection leaked, whether on or off, no matter what I did. The electric connection (50A) was up to standards. The eight tenths of a mile of dusty dirt washboard road leading to the park left me wishing I had chosen another park. It left a thick coating of dust on the rear of our RV and all over our towed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
The highway noise kept us from getting any sleep! The "overnighters" are put in rows literally within a stone's throw of the Interstate highway. We might as well have been parked in the median... We stayed here to have work done on our coach at HWH Industries (leveling jacks/slides); but, we will never stay here, again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
We made a full hookup reservation a month in advance. When we got there they had received our payment, but couldn't find our reservation and had no full hookup site available. They did refund most of our money and find us a site with water and electric. This is a very noisy, dirty campground. It lies right next to the interstate and the traffic is very loud. The roads are sand and gravel and very dusty. The seasonal guests zip around on golf carts day and night going from one party to the next churning up tons of dust. This is NOT a peaceful place to stay. The pool was ok, but crowded. The restrooms were wet and dirty. The bugs were horrible. Some of the staff were rude and unfriendly. I would not recommend this campground and will not be returning there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
Overall not that bad, very nice people. The pool was not heated, fairly clean and open hours should be longer. They have mini golf which was fun but should not be an extra charge considering the high campsite fee. Mini golf and picnic tables really needs repair. Nice pull through lots, big shade trees. Price was the same as a high end RV resort. Next to interstate 80 which you couldn't hear each other over the traffic noise. Would not recommend or return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
Made reservations, but, when we arrived the office was closed and we were instructed to fill out the registration and find a place. Not having been here ever before, we hesitated going down the hill into the park with our 43' RV. The owners sister finally appeared with a golf cart and took my husband down into the park to find a site. The sites were large. The mile long road into the park was dusty and our rig had to be washed. Will definitely not stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Camped here for the 50 amp service on a very hot day before going to HWH for jack service the next day. The mile long gravel road to the RV park was a real wash board and extremely dusty. The 50 amp service was spot on. We didn't need a sewer site for just one night. The pool was refreshing on a very hot day. The site was just grass but was surprisingly level. The noise from the very close by I-80 would have been much worse if we hadn't been using our air conditioners all night. The guy checking us in was nice and helpful. We would stay here again for a night if we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
We stayed at this campground as we were going to have some repairs done at HWH the next day. The check in staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If I could just rate the check in staff I would have given the park a 10. The park was very convenient to the interstate but the road noise was very noticeable. The site was grass, level, typical distance between sites and a pull through. The wi-fi was excellent and Verizon cell service was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
Our first view of the campground should have told us to keep driving. The parking lot is full of old broken down campers. We were tired so we decided to stay since we had reservations...or so we thought. Upon checking in they could not find our reservation. We had reserved a pull through with full hookups. We were given two back in sites to use as a pull through and water and electric only. This campground sits right on I80 and the road noise makes it nearly impossible to sleep. While the staff was very friendly, I would not recommend staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
If you like trees and shade this place is for you. The office was closed when we arrived so we took the form, found a spot where we thought we could get our satellite (wrong) and pulled in. They said they had pull-throughs but we couldn't find any so since there was only 1 person in the campground we pulled through a back in. It had 50 amps. The park is all grass and like I said, full of large trees. We had a site with only W/E. There is a section that is full of what they call seasonals. I would only stay here again if I was in the area. We only stayed here because we were having work done at HWH (makers of hydraulic jacks) and this is the only place we could find since they were not open on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This is an overnight campground that is near the freeway and is noisy. The sites are large and fairly level. We were here in the late Summer so it was not crowded at all. It had good Wi-Fi. The frontage road to get to the campground is a dusty and rough road that leaves your units covered in a fine dust. The owner at the office was very pleasant. We stayed here because it is close to the Herbert Hoover Presidential Museum. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This park apparently has separate sections for over nighties and longer stays. The overnight area is close to the interstate. I didn't notice any problem with road noise. The other area is closer to the river. The park charges (as of this writing) $3 more for FULL hookup (W/E/S) than for just water and electric. The price I am showing is for full hookup, without taxes. These days, finding a campground under $30 is a miracle! Wi-Fi is accessible with an assigned code. Wi-Fi is easy to access, but was extremely slow when I used it. Sites are all grass, not necessarily level. Some of the sites are front and back you will get a pull through if you are lucky and no one is in the back spot. Otherwise, you will back in to the front spot. TV reception via antenna is OK, some of the channels will "pixelate." Each spot has a fire ring and picnic table. At the time I was there, the overnight area was wide open, but I can tell it would be "crowded" if it were full. The longer stay area looked pretty crowded. One good thing, if you use one of those expensive "surge protector" plug ins, the posts are long enough for you to use one. The Laundry room is a bit of a hike from the camping area. Laundry room only has two washers and two dryers for the entire camp. However, the washers are those great front loaders that can handle larger loads. Prices are about average, $1.25 wash, $1.00 dry. There is a pool and mini-golf, but both appeared to be closed during my stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
This is very large, popular campground. There are separate areas for overnighters (we were one), campers and longer stays. The overnight area is huge. Sites are VERY easily accessed even with very large rigs. The overnight area is nearer the Interstate but not necessarily a problem. It has rained relentlessly in this area all summer 2008 but the park looks great. The mosquitoes are friendly and the river view is ominous. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
The other reviews I agree with but the nose from I80 was more than I could stand and the road to the park is a big negative for my new Motorhome. I will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
The noise from I-80 was more than we could stand and the long dirt road to the park is a big negative. Kids were everywhere running through sites driving golf carts and riding bikes all day and into the night. We were not given a site number just told to go down the hill and find a spot. Yes, there are pull throughs if the site in front of you is not taken. Sites are grassy and we were never able to get our site level. Lots of trees but don't plan on getting a satellite signal in the summer months. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
First off, positives. Pool was nice and kid-friendly, mini-golf was fun and arcade was a neat touch. Our spot was shaded and level and easy to access. The playground was also a large sandy area. Lots of grass and space with the sites. However, we were staying at a site that was 75 yards from I-80, so we heard semi-trucks and other traffic all day AND all night long. It didn't bother our sleeping much, but it was a pain during the day when we tried to have conversations outdoors. Also, the regulars (seasonal people) zipped around the place in their golf carts, so while I didn't have to worry much about vehicle traffic, I still had to be wary of golf carts. Finally, I thought I was getting a steal at $25/night with all the great amenities, but it turned out we had to pay $1/person for pool use (4 and under were free) and $1.50/person for mini-golf (4 and under also free)...ultimately, the great deal turned out to be average. Also, the pool and mini-golf areas don't open until 1 pm, but that is not clearly indicated. Bottom line, we probably won't weekend camp here again, and that's only because of how close it is to the Interstate, but I'd consider an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
Although this campground is located right on Interstate 80, and the noise would definitely be bothersome to some, we enjoyed our stay and we would go back. The sites were large, although somewhat unlevel. Seasonals are seperated from non-seasonals. The pool was very clean and the mini-golf was fun too. Easy river access for fishing. The access road (about a half mile) is gravel, dusty and bumpy. If this campground was 5 miles off the Interstate (rather than right on it), it would be an 8 or 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com